DETAILED ACTION
Formal Matters
Applicant’s claim amendments and arguments in the reply filed on 16 September 2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1, 8-12, 14-23 and 37-39 are pending. Claims 1, 8-12, and 14-18 are under consideration in the instant office action. Claims 19-23 and 37-39 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims. Claims 2-7, 13, 24-36 and 40-41 are canceled. Applicant amended claim 1. Applicant’s claim amendments and arguments did not overcome the rejections under 35 USC 103 set forth in the previous office action for reasons set forth in the previous office action and herein below.
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn as are those rejections and/or objections expressly stated to be withdrawn.
Rejections Maintained
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10-18 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schobel et al. (US2017/0290776, IDS reference).
Applicant Claims
Applicant claims “An oral solid dosage form comprising:
15-70 wt.% of an Epinephrine hormone or pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof; 10-40 wt.% of a matrix former comprising gelatin, pullulan, starch, or combinations thereof; 10-40 wt.% of a structure former comprising mannitol, dextrose, lactose, galactose, cyclodextrin, or combinations thereof; 0.1-1 wt.% a chelating agent comprising edetate disodium; 0.1-5 wt.% an antioxidant comprising sodium metabisulfite; and a pH modifier.” Dependent claims thereof recite limitations further limiting different ingredients.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
Schobel et al. teach a sublingual film with 46.4 wt% EPINEPHRINE bitartrate, 11.54 wt% HPMC, 27.92 wt% PVP, 0.12.wt% stabilizer, and 1.16 wt% artificial sweetener (example 19). Schobel et al. disclose a pharmaceutical composition, comprising: a polymeric matrix; a pharmaceutically active component in the polymeric matrix; and an adrenergic receptor interacter (see claim 1). The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is a film further comprising a polymeric matrix, the pharmaceutically active component being contained in the polymeric matrix (see claim 6). The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the polymer matrix includes a polymer (see claim 20). The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 20, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is a chewable or gelatin based dosage form, spray, gum, gel, cream, tablet, liquid or film (see claim 23). The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 20, wherein the polymeric matrix comprises at least one polymer selected from the group of: pullulan, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyvinyl alcohol, sodium alginate, polyethylene glycol, xanthan gum, tragancanth gum, guar gum, acacia gum, arabic gum, polyacrylic acid, methylmethacrylate copolymer, carboxyvinyl copolymers, starch, gelatin, ethylene oxide, propylene oxide co-polymers, collagen, albumin, poly-amino acids, polyphosphazenes, polysaccharides, chitin, chitosan, and derivatives thereof (see claim 25). The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, further comprising a stabilizer (see claim 26). Additives may be included in the films. Examples of classes of additives include preservatives, antimicrobials, excipients, lubricants, buffering agents, stabilizers, blowing agents, pigments, coloring agents, fillers, bulking agents, sweetening agents, flavoring agents, fragrances, release modifiers, adjuvants, plasticizers, flow accelerators, mold release agents, polyols, granulating agents, diluents, binders, buffers, absorbents, glidants, adhesives, anti-adherents, acidulants, softeners, resins, demulcents, solvents, surfactants, emulsifiers, elastomers, anti-tacking agents, anti-static agents and mixtures thereof. These additives may be added with the pharmaceutically active component(s) (paragraph 0125). As used herein, the term “stabilizer” means an excipient capable of preventing aggregation or other physical degradation, as well as chemical degradation, of the active pharmaceutical ingredient, another excipient, or the combination thereof (paragraph 0126). Stabilizers may also be classified as antioxidants, sequestrants, pH modifiers, emulsifiers and/or surfactants, and UV stabilizers as discussed above and in more detail below (paragraph 0127). Antioxidants (i.e., pharmaceutically compatible compound(s) or composition(s) that decelerates, inhibits, interrupts and/or stops oxidation processes) include, in particular, the following substances: tocopherols and the esters thereof, sesamol of sesame oil, coniferyl benzoate of benzoin resin, nordihydroguaietic resin and nordihydroguaiaretic acid (NDGA), gallates (among others, methyl, ethyl, propyl, amyl, butyl, lauryl gallates), butylated hydroxyanisole (BHA/BHT, also butyl-p-cresol); ascorbic acid and salts and esters thereof (for example, acorbyl palmitate), erythorbinic acid (isoascorbinic acid) and salts and esters thereof, monothioglycerol, sodium formaldehyde sulfoxylate, sodium metabisulfite, sodium bisulfite, sodium sulfite, potassium metabisulfite, butylated hydroxyanisole, butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT), propionic acid. Typical antioxidants are tocopherol such as, for example, α-tocopherol and the esters thereof, butylated hydroxytoluene and butylated hydroxyanisole. The terms “tocopherol” also includes esters of tocopherol. A known tocopherol is α-tocopherol. The term “α-tocopherol” includes esters of α-tocopherol (for example, α-tocopherol acetate) (paragraph 0128). pH modifiers include acids (e.g., tartaric acid, citric acid, lactic acid, fumaric acid, phosphoric acid, ascorbic acid, acetic acid, succininc acid, adipic acid and maleic acid), acidic amino acids (e.g., glutamic acid, aspartic acid, etc.), inorganic salts (alkali metal salt, alkaline earth metal salt, ammonium salt, etc.) of such acidic substances, a salt of such acidic substance with an organic base (e.g., basic amino acid such as lysine, arginine and the like, meglumine and the like), and a solvate (e.g., hydrate) thereof. Other examples of pH modifiers include silicified microcrystalline cellulose, magnesium aluminometasilicate, calcium salts of phosphoric acid (e.g., calcium hydrogen phosphate anhydrous or hydrate, calcium, sodium or potassium carbonate or hydrogencarbonate and calcium lactate or mixtures thereof), sodium and/or calcium salts of carboxymethyl cellulose, cross-linked carboxymethylcellulose (e.g., croscarmellose sodium and/or calcium), polacrilin potassium, sodium and or/calcium alginate, docusate sodium, magnesium calcium, aluminium or zinc stearate, magnesium palmitate and magnesium oleate, sodium stearyl fumarate, and combinations thereof (see paragraph 0130). In other embodiments, stabilizers include ascorbyl palmitate, ascorbic acid, alpha tocopherol, butylated hydroxytoluene, buthylated hydroxyanisole, cysteine HCl, citric acid, ethylenediamine tetra acetic acid (EDTA), methionine, sodium citrate, sodium ascorbate, sodium thiosulfate, sodium metabisulfite, sodium bisulfite, etc., “Metal chelators” include, but are not limited to, EDTA, EGTA, o-phenanthroline, and citrate. “Detergents” include, but are not limited to, SDS and sodium lauroyl sarcosyl. “Chaotropes” include, but are not limited to guandinium hydrochloride, isothiocyanate, urea, and formamide. As discussed herein, stabilizers can be present in 0.0001%-50% by weight, including greater than 0.0001%, greater than 0.001%, greater than 0.01%, greater than 0.1%, greater than 1%, greater than 5%, greater than 10%, greater than 20%, greater than 30%, greater than 40%, greater than 50%, less than 50%, less than 40%, less than 30%, less than 20%, less than 10%, less than 1%, less than 0.1%, less than 0.01%, less than 0.001%, or less than 0.0001% by weight (see paragraph 0133). The examiner notes that these amounts cover the amounts of antioxidants and chelating agents. Useful additives can include, for example, gelatin, vegetable proteins such as sunflower protein, soybean proteins, cotton seed proteins, peanut proteins, grape seed proteins, whey proteins, whey protein isolates, blood proteins, egg proteins, acrylated proteins, water-soluble polysaccharides such as alginates, carrageenans, guar gum, agar-agar, xanthan gum, gellan gum, gum arabic and related gums (gum ghatti, gum karaya, gum tragancanth), pectin, water-soluble derivatives of cellulose: alkylcelluloses hydroxyalkylcelluloses and hydroxyalkylalkylcelluloses, such as methylcellulose, hydroxymethylcellulose, hydroxyethylcellulose, hydroxypropylcellulose, hydroxyethylmethylcellulose, hydroxypropylmethylcellulose, hydroxybutylmethylcellulose, cellulose esters and hydroxyalkylcellulose esters such as cellulose acetate phthalate (CAP), hydroxypropylmethylcellulose (HPMC), carboxyalkylcelluloses, carboxyalkylalkylcelluloses, carboxyalkylcellulose esters such as carboxymethylcellulose and their alkali metal salts; water-soluble synthetic polymers such as polyacrylic acids and polyacrylic acid esters, polymethacrylic acids and polymethacrylic acid esters, polyvinylacetates, polyvinylalcohols, polyvinylacetatephthalates (PVAP), polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), PVA/vinyl acetate copolymer, or polycrotonic acids; also suitable are phthalated gelatin, gelatin succinate, crosslinked gelatin, shellac, water-soluble chemical derivatives of starch, cationically modified acrylates and methacrylates possessing, for example, a tertiary or quaternary amino group, such as the diethylaminoethyl group, which may be quaternized if desired; or other similar polymers (paragraph 0134). Other ingredients can include binders which contribute to the ease of formation and general quality of the films. Non-limiting examples of binders include starches, natural gums, pregelatinized starches, gelatin, polyvinylpyrrolidone, methylcellulose, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, ethylcellulose, polyacrylamides, polyvinyloxoazolidone, or polyvinylalcohols (paragraph 0136). Further potential additives include solubility enhancing agents, such as substances that form inclusion compounds with active components. Such agents may be useful in improving the properties of very insoluble and/or unstable actives. In general, these substances are doughnut-shaped molecules with hydrophobic internal cavities and hydrophilic exteriors. Insoluble and/or instable pharmaceutically active components may fit within the hydrophobic cavity, thereby producing an inclusion complex, which is soluble in water. Accordingly, the formation of the inclusion complex permits very insoluble and/or unstable pharmaceutically active components to be dissolved in water. A particularly desirable example of such agents are cyclodextrins, which are cyclic carbohydrates derived from starch. Other similar substances, however, are considered well within the scope of the present invention (paragraph 0137). The additional components can range up to about 80%, desirably about 0.005% to 50% and more desirably within the range of 1% to 20% based on the weight of all composition components, including greater than 1%, greater than 5%, greater than 10%, greater than 20%, greater than 30%, greater than 40%, greater than 50%, greater than 60%, greater than 70%, about 80%, greater than 80%, less than 80%, less than 70%, less than 60%, less than 50%, less than 40%, less than 30%, less than 20%, less than 10%, less than 5%, about 3%, or less than 1% (paragraph 0135). Schobel et al. teach the sweeteners may be chosen from the following non-limiting list: glucose (corn syrup), dextrose, invert sugar, fructose, and combinations thereof, saccharin and its various salts such as the sodium salt; dipeptide based sweeteners such as aspartame, neotame, advantame; dihydrochalcone compounds, glycyrrhizin; Stevia rebaudiana (Stevioside); chloro derivatives of sucrose such as sucralose; sugar alcohols such as sorbitol, mannitol, xylitol, and the like. The examiner notes that dextrose and mannitol are designated as structure former in the instant application (see specification paragraph 0101 and claim 10). Emulsifiers typically used in the water-based emulsions described above are, preferably, either obtained in situ if selected from the linoleic, palmitic, myristoleic, lauric, stearic, cetoleic or oleic acids and sodium or potassium hydroxide, or selected from the laurate, palmitate, as stearate, or oleate esters of sorbitol and sorbitol anhydrides, polyoxyethylene derivatives including monooleate, monostearate, monopalmitate, monolaurate, fatty alcohols, alkyl phenols, allyl ethers, alkyl aryl ethers, sorbitan monostearate, sorbitan monooleate and/or sorbitan monopalrnitate (paragraph 0148). The amount of pharmaceutically active component to be used depends on the desired treatment strength and the composition of the layers, although preferably, the pharmaceutical component comprises from about 0.001% to about 99%, more preferably from about 0.003 to about 75%, and most preferably from about 0.005% to about 50% by weight of the composition, including, more than 0.005%, more than 0.05%, more than 0.5%, more than 1%, more than 5%, more than 10%, more than 15%, more than 20%, more than 30%, about 50%, more than 50%, less than 50%, less than 30%, less than 20%, less than 15%, less than 10%, less than 5%, less than 1%, less than 0.5%, less than 0.05%, or less than 0.005%. The amounts of other components may vary depending on the drug or other components but typically these components comprise no more than 50%, preferably no more than 30%, and most preferably no more than 15% by total weight of the composition (paragraph 0149).
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
Schobel et al. teach the type and amounts of antioxidant, chelating agents, structure former, pH modifiers, and sweeteners in obvious manner. The prima facie arguments set forth below addresses the solo 103 nature of the rejections of the claims.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to produce the instant invention because Schobel et al. teach a sublingual film with 46.4 wt% EPINEPHRINE bitartrate, 11.54 wt% HPMC, 27.92 wt% PVP, 0.12.wt% stabilizer, and 1.16 wt% artificial sweetener (example 19). Schobel et al. disclose a pharmaceutical composition, comprising: a polymeric matrix; a pharmaceutically active component in the polymeric matrix; and an adrenergic receptor interacter (see claim 1). The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is a film further comprising a polymeric matrix, the pharmaceutically active component being contained in the polymeric matrix (see claim 6). The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, wherein the polymer matrix includes a polymer (see claim 20). The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 20, wherein the pharmaceutical composition is a chewable or gelatin based dosage form, spray, gum, gel, cream, tablet, liquid or film (see claim 23). The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 20, wherein the polymeric matrix comprises at least one polymer selected from the group of: pullulan, polyvinyl pyrrolidone, polyvinyl alcohol, sodium alginate, polyethylene glycol, xanthan gum, tragancanth gum, guar gum, acacia gum, arabic gum, polyacrylic acid, methylmethacrylate copolymer, carboxyvinyl copolymers, starch, gelatin, ethylene oxide, propylene oxide co-polymers, collagen, albumin, poly-amino acids, polyphosphazenes, polysaccharides, chitin, chitosan, and derivatives thereof (see claim 25). The pharmaceutical composition according to claim 1, further comprising a stabilizer (see claim 26). Additives may be included in the films. Examples of classes of additives include preservatives, antimicrobials, excipients, lubricants, buffering agents, stabilizers, blowing agents, pigments, coloring agents, fillers, bulking agents, sweetening agents, flavoring agents, fragrances, release modifiers, adjuvants, plasticizers, flow accelerators, mold release agents, polyols, granulating agents, diluents, binders, buffers, absorbents, glidants, adhesives, anti-adherents, acidulants, softeners, resins, demulcents, solvents, surfactants, emulsifiers, elastomers, anti-tacking agents, anti-static agents and mixtures thereof. These additives may be added with the pharmaceutically active component(s) (paragraph 0125). As used herein, the term “stabilizer” means an excipient capable of preventing aggregation or other physical degradation, as well as chemical degradation, of the active pharmaceutical ingredient, another excipient, or the combination thereof (paragraph 0126). Stabilizers may also be classified as antioxidants, sequestrants, pH modifiers, emulsifiers and/or surfactants, and UV stabilizers as discussed above and in more detail below (paragraph 0127). Antioxidants (i.e., pharmaceutically compatible compound(s) or composition(s) that decelerates, inhibits, interrupts and/or stops oxidation processes) include, in particular, the following substances: tocopherols and the esters thereof, sesamol of sesame oil, coniferyl benzoate of benzoin resin, nordihydroguaietic resin and nordihydroguaiaretic acid (NDGA), gallates (among others, methyl, ethyl, propyl, amyl, butyl, lauryl gallates), butylated hydroxyanisole (BHA/BHT, also butyl-p-cresol); ascorbic acid and salts and esters thereof (for example, acorbyl palmitate), erythorbinic acid (isoascorbinic acid) and salts and esters thereof, monothioglycerol, sodium formaldehyde sulfoxylate, sodium metabisulfite, sodium bisulfite, sodium sulfite, potassium metabisulfite, butylated hydroxyanisole, butylated hydroxytoluene (BHT), propionic acid. Typical antioxidants are tocopherol such as, for example, α-tocopherol and the esters thereof, butylated hydroxytoluene and butylated hydroxyanisole. The terms “tocopherol” also includes esters of tocopherol. A known tocopherol is α-tocopherol. The term “α-tocopherol” includes esters of α-tocopherol (for example, α-tocopherol acetate) (paragraph 0128). pH modifiers include acids (e.g., tartaric acid, citric acid, lactic acid, fumaric acid, phosphoric acid, ascorbic acid, acetic acid, succininc acid, adipic acid and maleic acid), acidic amino acids (e.g., glutamic acid, aspartic acid, etc.), inorganic salts (alkali metal salt, alkaline earth metal salt, ammonium salt, etc.) of such acidic substances, a salt of such acidic substance with an organic base (e.g., basic amino acid such as lysine, arginine and the like, meglumine and the like), and a solvate (e.g., hydrate) thereof. Other examples of pH modifiers include silicified microcrystalline cellulose, magnesium aluminometasilicate, calcium salts of phosphoric acid (e.g., calcium hydrogen phosphate anhydrous or hydrate, calcium, sodium or potassium carbonate or hydrogencarbonate and calcium lactate or mixtures thereof), sodium and/or calcium salts of carboxymethyl cellulose, cross-linked carboxymethylcellulose (e.g., croscarmellose sodium and/or calcium), polacrilin potassium, sodium and or/calcium alginate, docusate sodium, magnesium calcium, aluminium or zinc stearate, magnesium palmitate and magnesium oleate, sodium stearyl fumarate, and combinations thereof (see paragraph 0130). In other embodiments, stabilizers include ascorbyl palmitate, ascorbic acid, alpha tocopherol, butylated hydroxytoluene, buthylated hydroxyanisole, cysteine HCl, citric acid, ethylenediamine tetra acetic acid (EDTA), methionine, sodium citrate, sodium ascorbate, sodium thiosulfate, sodium metabisulfite, sodium bisulfite, etc., “Metal chelators” include, but are not limited to, EDTA, EGTA, o-phenanthroline, and citrate. “Detergents” include, but are not limited to, SDS and sodium lauroyl sarcosyl. “Chaotropes” include, but are not limited to guandinium hydrochloride, isothiocyanate, urea, and formamide. As discussed herein, stabilizers can be present in 0.0001%-50% by weight, including greater than 0.0001%, greater than 0.001%, greater than 0.01%, greater than 0.1%, greater than 1%, greater than 5%, greater than 10%, greater than 20%, greater than 30%, greater than 40%, greater than 50%, less than 50%, less than 40%, less than 30%, less than 20%, less than 10%, less than 1%, less than 0.1%, less than 0.01%, less than 0.001%, or less than 0.0001% by weight (see paragraph 0133). The examiner notes that these amounts cover the amounts of antioxidants and chelating agents. Useful additives can include, for example, gelatin, vegetable proteins such as sunflower protein, soybean proteins, cotton seed proteins, peanut proteins, grape seed proteins, whey proteins, whey protein isolates, blood proteins, egg proteins, acrylated proteins, water-soluble polysaccharides such as alginates, carrageenans, guar gum, agar-agar, xanthan gum, gellan gum, gum arabic and related gums (gum ghatti, gum karaya, gum tragancanth), pectin, water-soluble derivatives of cellulose: alkylcelluloses hydroxyalkylcelluloses and hydroxyalkylalkylcelluloses, such as methylcellulose, hydroxymethylcellulose, hydroxyethylcellulose, hydroxypropylcellulose, hydroxyethylmethylcellulose, hydroxypropylmethylcellulose, hydroxybutylmethylcellulose, cellulose esters and hydroxyalkylcellulose esters such as cellulose acetate phthalate (CAP), hydroxypropylmethylcellulose (HPMC), carboxyalkylcelluloses, carboxyalkylalkylcelluloses, carboxyalkylcellulose esters such as carboxymethylcellulose and their alkali metal salts; water-soluble synthetic polymers such as polyacrylic acids and polyacrylic acid esters, polymethacrylic acids and polymethacrylic acid esters, polyvinylacetates, polyvinylalcohols, polyvinylacetatephthalates (PVAP), polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP), PVA/vinyl acetate copolymer, or polycrotonic acids; also suitable are phthalated gelatin, gelatin succinate, crosslinked gelatin, shellac, water-soluble chemical derivatives of starch, cationically modified acrylates and methacrylates possessing, for example, a tertiary or quaternary amino group, such as the diethylaminoethyl group, which may be quaternized if desired; or other similar polymers (paragraph 0134). Other ingredients can include binders which contribute to the ease of formation and general quality of the films. Non-limiting examples of binders include starches, natural gums, pregelatinized starches, gelatin, polyvinylpyrrolidone, methylcellulose, sodium carboxymethylcellulose, ethylcellulose, polyacrylamides, polyvinyloxoazolidone, or polyvinylalcohols (paragraph 0136). Further potential additives include solubility enhancing agents, such as substances that form inclusion compounds with active components. Such agents may be useful in improving the properties of very insoluble and/or unstable actives. In general, these substances are doughnut-shaped molecules with hydrophobic internal cavities and hydrophilic exteriors. Insoluble and/or instable pharmaceutically active components may fit within the hydrophobic cavity, thereby producing an inclusion complex, which is soluble in water. Accordingly, the formation of the inclusion complex permits very insoluble and/or unstable pharmaceutically active components to be dissolved in water. A particularly desirable example of such agents are cyclodextrins, which are cyclic carbohydrates derived from starch. Other similar substances, however, are considered well within the scope of the present invention (paragraph 0137). The additional components can range up to about 80%, desirably about 0.005% to 50% and more desirably within the range of 1% to 20% based on the weight of all composition components, including greater than 1%, greater than 5%, greater than 10%, greater than 20%, greater than 30%, greater than 40%, greater than 50%, greater than 60%, greater than 70%, about 80%, greater than 80%, less than 80%, less than 70%, less than 60%, less than 50%, less than 40%, less than 30%, less than 20%, less than 10%, less than 5%, about 3%, or less than 1% (paragraph 0135). Schobel et al. teach the sweeteners may be chosen from the following non-limiting list: glucose (corn syrup), dextrose, invert sugar, fructose, and combinations thereof, saccharin and its various salts such as the sodium salt; dipeptide based sweeteners such as aspartame, neotame, advantame; dihydrochalcone compounds, glycyrrhizin; Stevia rebaudiana (Stevioside); chloro derivatives of sucrose such as sucralose; sugar alcohols such as sorbitol, mannitol, xylitol, and the like. The examiner notes that dextrose and mannitol are designated as structure former in the instant application (see specification paragraph 0101 and claim 10). Emulsifiers typically used in the water-based emulsions described above are, preferably, either obtained in situ if selected from the linoleic, palmitic, myristoleic, lauric, stearic, cetoleic or oleic acids and sodium or potassium hydroxide, or selected from the laurate, palmitate, as stearate, or oleate esters of sorbitol and sorbitol anhydrides, polyoxyethylene derivatives including monooleate, monostearate, monopalmitate, monolaurate, fatty alcohols, alkyl phenols, allyl ethers, alkyl aryl ethers, sorbitan monostearate, sorbitan monooleate and/or sorbitan monopalrnitate (paragraph 0148). The amount of pharmaceutically active component to be used depends on the desired treatment strength and the composition of the layers, although preferably, the pharmaceutical component comprises from about 0.001% to about 99%, more preferably from about 0.003 to about 75%, and most preferably from about 0.005% to about 50% by weight of the composition, including, more than 0.005%, more than 0.05%, more than 0.5%, more than 1%, more than 5%, more than 10%, more than 15%, more than 20%, more than 30%, about 50%, more than 50%, less than 50%, less than 30%, less than 20%, less than 15%, less than 10%, less than 5%, less than 1%, less than 0.5%, less than 0.05%, or less than 0.005%. The amounts of other components may vary depending on the drug or other components but typically these components comprise no more than 50%, preferably no more than 30%, and most preferably no more than 15% by total weight of the composition (paragraph 0149). The examiner reminds Applicant that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol.) Stabilizers such as antioxidants and metal chelators, pH modifiers, and other pharmaceutical ingredients are conventional pharmaceutical ingredients known to perform a known function. Selection of such ingredients based on their known intended use is prima facie obvious even if the list is long. A prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have very close structural similarities and similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979). See In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963) (discussed in more detail below) and In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussed below and in MPEP § 2144) for an extensive review of the case law pertaining to obviousness based on close structural similarity of chemical compounds. See also MPEP § 2144.08, subsection II.A.4.(c). The examiner reminds Applicant that let alone under 35 USC 103, the Board found that A genus does not always anticipate a claim to a species within the genus. However, when the species is clearly named, the species claim is anticipated no matter how many other species are additionally named. See Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990) (The claimed compound was named in a reference which also disclosed 45 other compounds. The Board held that the comprehensiveness of the listing did not negate the fact that the compound claimed was specifically taught. The Board compared the facts to the situation in which the compound was found in the Merck Index, saying that "the tenth edition of the Merck Index lists ten thousand compounds. In our view, each and every one of those compounds is ‘described’ as that term is used in [pre-AIA ] 35 U.S.C. 102(a), in that publication."). Id. at 1718. See also In re Sivaramakrishnan, 673 F.2d 1383, 213 USPQ 441 (CCPA 1982) (The claims were directed to polycarbonate containing cadmium laurate as an additive. The court upheld the Board’s finding that a reference specifically naming cadmium laurate as an additive amongst a list of many suitable salts in polycarbonate resin anticipated the claims. The applicant had argued that cadmium laurate was only disclosed as representative of the salts and was expected to have the same properties as the other salts listed while, as shown in the application, cadmium laurate had unexpected properties. The court held that it did not matter that the salt was not disclosed as being preferred, the reference still anticipated the claims and because the claim was anticipated, the unexpected properties were immaterial.). When a claimed compound is not specifically named in a reference, but instead it is necessary to select portions of teachings within the reference and combine them, e.g., select various substituents from a list of alternatives given for placement at specific sites on a generic chemical formula to arrive at a specific composition, anticipation can only be found if the classes of substituents are sufficiently limited or well delineated. Ex parte A, 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990). If one of ordinary skill in the art is able to "at once envisage" the specific compound within the generic chemical formula, the compound is anticipated. One of ordinary skill in the art must be able to draw the structural formula or write the name of each of the compounds included in the generic formula before any of the compounds can be "at once envisaged." One may look to the preferred embodiments to determine which compounds can be anticipated. In re Petering, 301 F.2d 676, 133 USPQ 275 (CCPA 1962). In a similar analogy selecting a known agent from a list of agents performing the same purpose is prima facie obvious. The examiner also brings applicant’s attention to the concept of picking known agents from a prior art disclosed generic teachings. The specific ingredients claimed are disclosed by Schobel et al. as described above in detail. If applicants resort to argue the reference does not provide any motivation to select the specific ingredients and their combinations, it must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. The examiner reminds Applicant that for Schobel et al. to be a qualified prior art do not have to teach the claimed elements in single embodiments. Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). "A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use." In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (The invention was directed to an epoxy impregnated fiber-reinforced printed circuit material. The applied prior art reference taught a printed circuit material similar to that of the claims but impregnated with polyester-imide resin instead of epoxy. The reference, however, disclosed that epoxy was known for this use, but that epoxy impregnated circuit boards have "relatively acceptable dimensional stability" and "some degree of flexibility," but are inferior to circuit boards impregnated with polyester-imide resins. The court upheld the rejection concluding that applicant’s argument that the reference teaches away from using epoxy was insufficient to overcome the rejection since "Gurley asserted no discovery beyond what was known in the art." Id. at 554, 31 USPQ2d at 1132.). Furthermore, "[t]he prior art’s mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed…." In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201, 73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004). A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Assoc., Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984) (Claims were directed to a process of producing a porous article by expanding shaped, unsintered, highly crystalline poly(tetrafluoroethylene) (PTFE) by stretching said PTFE at a 10% per second rate to more than five times the original length. The prior art teachings with regard to unsintered PTFE indicated the material does not respond to conventional plastics processing, and the material should be stretched slowly. A reference teaching rapid stretching of conventional plastic polypropylene with reduced crystallinity combined with a reference teaching stretching unsintered PTFE would not suggest rapid stretching of highly crystalline PTFE, in light of the disclosures in the art that teach away from the invention, i.e., that the conventional polypropylene should have reduced crystallinity before stretching, and that PTFE should be stretched slowly). Allied Erecting v. Genesis Attachments, 825 F.3d 1373, 1381, 119 USPQ2d 1132, 1138 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("Although modification of the movable blades may impede the quick change functionality disclosed by Caterpillar, ‘[a] given course of action often has simultaneous advantages and disadvantages, and this does not necessarily obviate motivation to combine.’" (quoting Medichem, S.A. v. Rolabo, S.L., 437 F.3d 1157, 1165, 77 USPQ2d 1865, 1870 (Fed Cir. 2006) (citation omitted))). Furthermore, in the case where the claimed concentration or amount "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 783, 227 USPQ 773, 779 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Furthermore, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955). One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the instant invention by following the teachings of Schobel et al. because Schobel et al. teach a substantially similar or identical compositions as the instant invention as per the detailed teachings of Schobel et al. that are described above.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the instant invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schobel et al. (US2017/0290776, IDS reference) as applied to claims 1 and 10-18 above, and further in view of Wong et al. (US Patent No. 7972621, newly cited).
Applicant Claims
Applicant claims an oral solid dosage form comprising the ingredients as recited. Instant claims 8-9 recite different types of gelatin as the matrix material.
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art (MPEP §2141.01)
The teachings of Schobel et al. are described above in detail and are incorporated herein by reference. Additionally, Schobel et al. teach mucosal surfaces, such as the oral mucosa, are a convenient route for delivering drugs to the body due to the fact that they are highly vascularized and permeable, providing increased bioavailability and rapid onset of action because it does not pass through the digestive system and thereby avoids first pass metabolism. In particular, the buccal and sublingual tissues offer advantageous sites for drug delivery because they are highly permeable regions of the oral mucosa, allowing drugs diffusing from the oral mucosa to have direct access to systemic circulation. This also offers increased convenience and therefore increased compliance in patients. For certain drugs, or pharmaceutically active components, a permeation enhancer can help to overcome the mucosal barrier and improve permeability. Permeation enhancers reversibly modulate the penetrability of the barrier layer in favor of drug absorption. Permeation enhancers facilitate transport of molecules through the epithelium. Absorption profiles and their rates can be controlled and modulated by a variety of parameters, such as but not limited to film size, drug loading, enhancer type/loading, polymer matrix release rate and mucosal residence time.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope of the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
Schobel et al. do not specifically teach the different types of gelatin recited in claim 8 and the high molecular weight fish gelatin recited in claim 9. These deficiencies are cured by the teachings of Wong et al.
Wong et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a carrier and an active ingredient, wherein the carrier is at least one fish gelatin predetermined on the basis of the molecular weight profile of the gelatin. In some embodiments, particularly when the concentration of carrier comprises a relatively lower percentage of the total composition, the carrier may be exclusively a high molecular weight fish gelatin, or may be comprised of a mixture with standard molecular weight gelatin in which high molecular weight gelatin comprises a predominant portion. In those embodiments where the concentration of carrier comprises a relatively larger percentage of the total composition, the carrier may be an exclusively standard molecular weight fish gelatin, or may be comprised of a mixture in which standard molecular weight gelatin comprises a predominant portion. Thus, compositions may be designed to optimize performance for various required gelatin concentration formulations (see abstract). In some embodiments, the at least one fish gelatin carrier further comprises a first gelatin further comprising a high molecular weight gelatin in which more than 50%, preferably more than 60% and most preferably more than 70% of the molecular weight distribution of the gelatin is greater than 30,000 daltons. In other embodiments, the at least one fish gelatin carrier further comprises a second gelatin further comprising a standard molecular weight gelatin in which more than substantially 50%, preferably more than 60% and most preferably more than 70% of the molecular weight distribution of the gelatin is below than 30,000 daltons (column 4, lines 7-17). The fast dispersing dosage forms containing a single grade of fish gelatin, or combinations of fish gelatins differing in molecular weight profiles, of the instant invention enables a significant advance in the state of the art. The preferred embodiments of the dosage forms accomplish this by new and novel combinations of elements that demonstrate previously unavailable but preferred and desirable capabilities (column 4, lines 40-46). Particularly for pharmaceutical formulations, an advantageous alternative to the use of mammalian derived gelatin is the use of fish gelatin, especially non-gelling fish gelatin. Non-gelling fish gelatin is preferably obtained from cold water fish and has a sol-gel transition temperature, that is, the temperature at which a given solution of gelatin in water, transitions between a liquid and a gel state, that is lower than that of most mammalian derived gelatins. There appears to be a relationship between the temperature at which the animal or fish metabolizes food and the properties of the skin and resultant extracted gelatins (column 2, lines 47-57).
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the teachings of Schobel et al. by utilizing high molecular weight fish gelatin because Wong et al. teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a carrier and an active ingredient, wherein the carrier is at least one fish gelatin predetermined on the basis of the molecular weight profile of the gelatin. In some embodiments, particularly when the concentration of carrier comprises a relatively lower percentage of the total composition, the carrier may be exclusively a high molecular weight fish gelatin, or may be comprised of a mixture with standard molecular weight gelatin in which high molecular weight gelatin comprises a predominant portion. In those embodiments where the concentration of carrier comprises a relatively larger percentage of the total composition, the carrier may be an exclusively standard molecular weight fish gelatin, or may be comprised of a mixture in which standard molecular weight gelatin comprises a predominant portion. Thus, compositions may be designed to optimize performance for various required gelatin concentration formulations (see abstract). In some embodiments, the at least one fish gelatin carrier further comprises a first gelatin further comprising a high molecular weight gelatin in which more than 50%, preferably more than 60% and most preferably more than 70% of the molecular weight distribution of the gelatin is greater than 30,000 daltons. In other embodiments, the at least one fish gelatin carrier further comprises a second gelatin further comprising a standard molecular weight gelatin in which more than substantially 50%, preferably more than 60% and most preferably more than 70% of the molecular weight distribution of the gelatin is below than 30,000 daltons (column 4, lines 7-17). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize high molecular weight fish gelatin because Wong et al. teach that the fast dispersing dosage forms containing a single grade of fish gelatin, or combinations of fish gelatins differing in molecular weight profiles, of the instant invention enables a significant advance in the state of the art. The preferred embodiments of the dosage forms accomplish this by new and novel combinations of elements that demonstrate previously unavailable but preferred and desirable capabilities (column 4, lines 40-46). Particularly for pharmaceutical formulations, an advantageous alternative to the use of mammalian derived gelatin is the use of fish gelatin, especially non-gelling fish gelatin. Non-gelling fish gelatin is preferably obtained from cold water fish and has a sol-gel transition temperature, that is, the temperature at which a given solution of gelatin in water, transitions between a liquid and a gel state, that is lower than that of most mammalian derived gelatins. There appears to be a relationship between the temperature at which the animal or fish metabolizes food and the properties of the skin and resultant extracted gelatins (column 2, lines 47-57). It should be also noticed that Schobel et al. teach mucosal surfaces, such as the oral mucosa, are a convenient route for delivering drugs to the body due to the fact that they are highly vascularized and permeable, providing increased bioavailability and rapid onset of action because it does not pass through the digestive system and thereby avoids first pass metabolism. In particular, the buccal and sublingual tissues offer advantageous sites for drug delivery because they are highly permeable regions of the oral mucosa, allowing drugs diffusing from the oral mucosa to have direct access to systemic circulation. This also offers increased convenience and therefore increased compliance in patients. For certain drugs, or pharmaceutically active components, a permeation enhancer can help to overcome the mucosal barrier and improve permeability. Permeation enhancers reversibly modulate the penetrability of the barrier layer in favor of drug absorption. Permeation enhancers facilitate transport of molecules through the epithelium. Absorption profiles and their rates can be controlled and modulated by a variety of parameters, such as but not limited to film size, drug loading, enhancer type/loading, polymer matrix release rate and mucosal residence time. Furthermore, the examiner reminds Applicant that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (Claims to a printing ink comprising a solvent having the vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol so that the ink would not dry at room temperature but would dry quickly upon heating were held invalid over a reference teaching a printing ink made with a different solvent that was nonvolatile at room temperature but highly volatile when heated in view of an article which taught the desired boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of a solvent for printing inks and a catalog teaching the boiling point and vapor pressure characteristics of butyl carbitol.) The skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Schobel et al. and Wong et al. because all of the references are drawn to an oral solid dosage form for rapid release of active agent to the buccal or sublingual route.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the instant invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 16 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues as explained in the specification, during development of the epinephrine oral solid dosage form, there was an inability to achieve suitable stability for a freeze-dried, solution-based epinephrine product so Applicant turned to a "suspension-based" formulation because the epinephrine API is known to be stable when it's in its solid/crystalline state. (Publication, [0005]-[0006]). Specifically, Applicant determined that the inclusion of a specific amount of an antioxidant (e.g., sodium metabisulfite) and a specific amount of a chelating agent (e.g., edetate disodium) can protect the Epinephrine from oxidative degeneration. (See id. at [0097].) In addition, Applicant discovered a formulating pH at which the vast majority of the API can be present in its solid/crystalline form, in which it is considerably more stable both during the suspension formulation processing stages as well as the final dosage form. (Id.). The references cited by the Examiner do not disclose or suggest an oral solid dosage form as currently recited in claim 1. At the very least, a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have a reason based on the teachings of Schobel to modify or combine its disclosure to arrive at the claimed oral solid dosage form with "15-70 wt.% of an Epinephrine hormone or pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof," "0.1-1 wt.% a chelating agent comprising edetate disodium," and "0.1-5 wt.% an antioxidant comprising sodium metabisulfite."
The above assertions are not found persuasive because Schobel et al. indeed teach the inclusion of the claimed components in amounts that overlap with the claimed ranges as described above which are incorporated herein by reference. Applicant did not explain how and where the examiner erred and which ingredients and their respective claimed amounts are not taught by Schobel et al. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. With regard to the stability of the composition since Schobel et al. met the claimed composition in obvious manner, the stability of the composition would necessarily be there. "[I]nherency may supply a missing claim limitation in an obviousness analysis." PAR, 773 F.3d at 1194-1195 ; see also Endo Pharms. Sols., Inc. v. Custopharm Inc., 894 F.3d 1374 , 1381 , 127 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1409 (Fed. Cir. 2018) ("An inherent characteristic of a formulation can be part of the prior art in an obviousness analysis even if the inherent characteristic was unrecognized or unappreciated by a skilled artisan."). It is long settled that in the context of obviousness, the "mere recitation of a newly discovered function or property, inherently possessed by things in the prior art, does not distinguish a claim drawn to those things from the prior art." In re Oelrich, 666 F.2d 578 , 581 (C.C.P.A. 1981). The Supreme Court explained long ago that "[i]t is not invention to perceive that the product which others had discovered had qualities they failed to detect." Gen. Elec. Co. v. Jewel Incandescent Lamp Co., 326 U.S. 242 , 249 , 66 S. Ct. 81 , 90 L. Ed. 43 , 1946 Dec. Comm'r Pat. 611 (1945).
We too have previously explained that "an obvious formulation cannot become nonobvious simply by administering it to a patient and claiming the resulting serum concentrations," because "[t]o hold otherwise would allow any formulation—no matter how obvious—to become patentable merely by testing and claiming an inherent property." Santarus, Inc. v. Par Pharm., Inc., 694 F.3d 1344 , 1354 (Fed. Cir. 2012). In In re Kao, we found that the claimed controlled-release oxymorphone formulation was obvious because an inherent pharmacokinetic property of oxymorphone that was present in controlled-release oxymorphone "add[ed] nothing of patentable consequence." In re Huai-Hung Kao, 639 F.3d 1057 , 1070 , 98 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1799 (Fed. Cir. 2011). In In re Kubin, we found an inherent property obvious, explaining that "[e]ven if no prior art of record explicitly discusses the [limitation], the . . . application itself instructs that [the limitation] is not an additional requirement imposed by the claims on the [claimed protein], but rather a property necessarily present in [the claimed protein]." In re Kubin, 561 F.3d 1351 , 1357 , 90 U.S.P.Q.2D (BNA) 1417 (Fed. Cir. 2009). Our predecessor court similarly concluded that it "is not the law" that "a structure suggested by the prior art, and, hence, potentially in the possession of the public, is patentable . . . because it also possesses an [i]nherent, but hitherto unknown, function which [the patentees] claim to have discovered." In re [*1191] Wiseman, 596 F.2d 1019 , 1023 (C.C.P.A. 1979).
Inherency, however, is a "high standard," that is "carefully circumscribed in the context of obviousness." PAR, 773 F.3d at 1195 . Inherency "may not be established by probabilities or possibilities," and "[t]he mere fact that a certain thing may result from a given set of circumstances is not sufficient." Oelrich, 666 F.2d at 581 (emphasis added) (quoting Hansgirg v. Kemmer, 102 F.2d 212 , 214 , 26 C.C.P.A. 937 , 1939 Dec. Comm'r Pat. 327 (C.C.P.A. 1939); see also In re Rijckaert, 9 F.3d 1531 , 1533-1534 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Rather, inherency renders a claimed limitation obvious only if the limitation is "necessarily present," or is "the natural result of the combination of elements explicitly disclosed by the prior art." PAR, 773 F.3d at 119511 -96; see also Alcon Research, Ltd. v. Apotex Inc., 687 F.3d 1362 , 1369 (Fed. Cir. 2012) (relying on inherency where the claims recited "a property that is necessarily present" in the prior art). "If . . . the disclosure is sufficient to show that the natural result flowing from the operation as taught would result in the performance of the questioned function, it seems to be well settled that the disclosure should be regarded as sufficient" to render the function inherent. Oelrich, 666 F.2d at 581 (quoting Hansgirg v. Kemmer, 102 F.2d 212 , 214 , 26 C.C.P.A. 937 , 1939 Dec. Comm'r Pat. 327 (C.C.P.A. 1939)).
On appeal, Persion contends that the district court erred in applying the inherency doctrine in its obviousness analysis because Devane does not teach administering its hydrocodone-only formulation to patients with mild or moderate hepatic impairment. Thus, Persion asserts, "'the natural result flowing from the operation as taught' in Devane cannot be the claimed [pharmacokinetic] values for [hepatically impaired] patients." Appellant's Br. 37 (quoting Oelrich, 666 F.2d at 581 ); Reply Br. 19.
To the extent Persion contends that inherency can only satisfy a claim limitation when all other limitations are taught in a single reference, that position is contrary to our prior recognition that "inherency may supply a missing claim limitation in an obviousness analysis" where the limitation at issue is "the natural result of the combination of prior art elements." PAR, 773 F.3d at 1194-1195 (emphasis added, internal quotations omitted). Here, the district court specifically found that Devane, together with Jain, the state of the prior art at the time of invention, and the Vicodin and Lortab labels, taught the combination of elements that inherently result in the claimed pharmacokinetic parameters. The district court found that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, with reasonable expectation of success, to administer an unadjusted dose of the Devane formulation to hepatically impaired patients. There was also no dispute that the Devane formulation, which was identical to the Zohydro ER formulation described in the patents in suit, necessarily exhibited the claimed parameters under these conditions. Pernix, 323 F. Supp. 3d at 607 , 610 . In this context, the district court did not err by finding that the pharmacokinetic limitations of the asserted claims were inherent and added no patentable weight to the pharmacokinetic claims.
Any differences between the claimed invention and the prior art may be expected to result in some differences in properties. The issue is whether the properties differ to such an extent that the difference is really unexpected. In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (differences in sedative and anticholinergic effects between prior art and claimed antidepressants were not unexpected). In In re Waymouth, 499 F.2d 1273, 1276, 182 USPQ 290, 293 (CCPA 1974), the court held that unexpected results for a claimed range as compared with the range disclosed in the prior art had been shown by a demonstration of "a marked improvement, over the results achieved under other ratios, as to be classified as a difference in kind, rather than one of degree." Compare In re Wagner, 371 F.2d 877, 884, 152 USPQ 552, 560 (CCPA 1967) (differences in properties cannot be disregarded on the ground they are differences in degree rather than in kind); Ex parte Gelles, 22 USPQ2d 1318, 1319 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) ("we generally consider a discussion of results in terms of ‘differences in degree’ as compared to ‘differences in kind’ . . . to have very little meaning in a relevant legal sense"). In the instant case, Schobel et al. teach the claimed structure as described above. Therefore, the alleged stability would necessarily be there.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIGABU KASSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619