DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim 1 is amended.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 3/25/2026 have been entered.
102 rejections from previous office action have been withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz et al (US 2019/0319279 A1) in view of Ogino et al (US 2006/0257704 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
Kunz teaches a bipolar plate for an electrochemical system (a fuel cell system). Per annotated figure 4A, the main flow direction has been shown for the reactants and coolant on a main extension plane. The first bipolar plate and second bipolar plate have been shown in annotated figure 6 (elements 200a, 200b). The annotated figure 4A shows the active field (element 17), a distribution region (element 20), and a port region (through opening 11a, 11b, 11c).
Kunz teaches that the channels 18 of the distribution or collection region 20 of the first separator plate 10a are in fluid connection with the through-opening 11a or with the duct formed by the through-opening 11a. The through-opening 11b, or the duct formed by the through-opening 11b, through the stack 2 is accordingly in fluid connection with a distribution or collection region 20. In contrast, the through-opening 11c, or the duct formed by the through-opening 11c, through the stack 2 is in fluid connection with an intermediate space 22, which is enclosed or surrounded by the separator plates 10a, 10b and which is designed to conduct a coolant through the bipolar plate 10 (Paragraph 0052, 0053). As can be seen in Figure 6, the fuel channel 18 and the intermediate space 22 for coolant channels exists in the active field and the distribution region. Kunz teaches that at least one feed opening and one discharge opening are present for each medium, that is, for example, two through-openings each for fuel, reaction gas and coolant (Paragraph 0025). From figure 6, it can be seen that the cooling fluid and the fuel fluid is capable of moving from the right side of the plate to the left side of the plate which is essentially in the main flow direction as claimed. Hence, Kunz teaches that the cooling fluid (KF) flows through the at least one cooling fluid channel structure (42) in the main flow direction (HR),wherein the at least one fluid (F) flows through the at least one fluid channel (44) in the main flow direction (HR).
In annotated Figure 6, the first and second bipolar plates form a distribution channel structure in the distribution region. In annotated Figure 6, Kunz shows that the thickness of the bipolar plate is greater in the distribution region than in the active region. Kunz states that the variation of the depth of the channels can positively influence the distribution of the coolant (Paragraph 0032).
In annotated Figure 4a, the coolant channels in the distribution region can be seen to approach the active field at an angle to the main flow direction in the active field region. Kunz does not teach that the cooling fluid flows through the distribution channel structure in a direction orthogonal to the main flow direction on the main extension plane.
However, Ogino teaches a coolant channel 5 in the distribution region (annotated figure 14 below). The coolant channel has a communicating section 62 that is formed at a section at the inlet side of the coolant channel 5. This is akin to the cooling fluid supply channel structure such that it is configured to be in the shape of a hollow bar in the direction perpendicular to the main flow direction (shown by arrows in Figure 14). A perpendicular direction is akin to an orthogonal direction to the main flow direction. Ogino teaches that the coolant channel is spread in the direction substantially orthogonal to the coolant flow direction (Paragraph 0146). Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the coolant channel bar structure of Ogino into the coolant channel distribution structure of Kunzo in order to make the internal flow distribution more uniform in the coolant channel (Paragraph 0146).
Regarding Claim 2,
Kunz teaches that the channels in the distribution region are in fluid connection with a flow field active region via a transition region (Paragraph 0010-0012). Kunz also teaches that the intermediate space 22 which is enclosed by the separator plates is designed to conduct a coolant through the bipolar plate (Paragraph 0053). It can also be seen in Figure 4a that the channel structure in the distribution region is in fluidic communication with the channel structure in the flow field.
Regarding Claim 3,
Kunz teaches that the through openings 11a and 11b are used to supply the fuel cell stack with fuel and with reaction gas (Paragraph 0049). This is akin to the port for supplying fluid. The channels 18 of the distribution or collection region 20 of the first separator plate 10a are in fluid connection with the through-opening 11a. The channels 18 of the distribution or collection region 20 are in fluid connection with the channels 16 of the flow field 17. In this way, a medium conducted through the through-opening 11a, by way of the channels 18 of the distribution or collection region 20, can be conducted into the channels 16 of the flow field 17 in the active region 13 of the bipolar plate 10.
Regarding Claim 4, and Claim 5,
As seen in annotated Figure 6, the channel 18 which holds fuel is arranged above the distribution channel structure.
Furthermore, it is also seen in above figure that the first and second bipolar plate are double angled in the main flow direction.
Regarding Claim 6,
Kunz teaches a cooling fluid supply channel structure (Figure 4a, Element 13a) that fluidically communicates between the port 11 and the distribution channel structure in the distribution region.
Regarding Claim 7,
Kunz teaches a cooling fluid supply channel structure, but does not teach that it is configured in the shape of a hollow bar, wherein the thickness of the bipolar plate in the distribution region is defined by virtue of the atleast one cooling fluid supply channel structure.
However, Ogino teaches a coolant channel 5 in the distribution region (annotated figure 14 below). The coolant channel has a communicating section 62 that is formed at a section at the inlet side of the coolant channel 5. This is akin to the cooling fluid supply channel structure such that it is configured to be in the shape of a hollow bar in the direction perpendicular to the main flow direction (shown by arrows in Figure 14). From Figure 14 it can seen that the thickness in the distribution region includes the thickness of the cooling fluid supply channel structure. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teachings of Ogino in combination with Kunz in order to reduce heat transmission area in the inlet side (Paragraph 0201), improve the energy efficiency of the system, and reduce deviation in temperature distribution (Paragraph 0060).
Regarding Claim 8,
Kunz does not teach that the cooling fluid supply channel structure separates two fuel supply channels.
However, Ogino shows in Figure 14 above that the coolant channel 5 and the channel structure 62 separates the fuel supply channels marked as Go and GH. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the configuration of fuel supply channels and coolant fluid supply channel of Ogino in order to provide the necessary reactants and coolants to the fuel cell stack.
Regarding Claim 9,
Kunz does not teach that the cooling fluid supply channel structure is arranged at least partially above the distribution channel structure, wherein the cooling fluid supply channel structure in particular is in fluidically downward communicating connection with the distribution channel structure.
However, in Figure 14 there is a portion of the distribution channel 5 that is arranged below the cooling fluid supply channel structure. A communicating section 62 can be formed on the bulkhead 6 by providing a slit in the flow direction of the coolant C (Paragraph 0201). The movement of the coolant fluid due to the presence of the slit would be such that it is in downward fluidic communication with the supply channel structure. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrange the cooling fluid supply channel structure partially above the distribution channel structure, wherein the cooling fluid supply channel structure in particular is in fluidically downward communicating connection with the distribution channel structure in order to form a low heat conducting section at the inlet side of the coolant channel (Paragraph 0198).
Regarding Claim 10,
Kunz teaches a fuel cell system comprising a plurality of stacked bipolar plates and a plurality of MEAs arranged between the stacked bipolar plates (Paragraph 0033). Kunz also shows in Figure 6, that the thickness of the MEA (26+27 layers) is the difference between the thickness of the bipolar plates in the distribution region and the thickness of the bipolar plates in the active field region.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Kunz does not teach or disclose a bipolar plate in which a cooling fluid flows through a cooling fluid channel structure in a main flow direction, and through a distribution channel structure in a direction orthogonal to the main flow direction. Examiner agrees but in relation to the 103 rejection of Claim 1 in this office action, Kunz does teach the cooling channel structure at an angle to the main flow direction, and also teaches about the separator plate comprising a bead which can include passages for conducting a medium through the bead in order to enable fluid connection with the distribution region channels. These channel structures can be modified based on Ogino as explained above in order to arrive at a structure where a distribution channel structure direction is orthogonal to the main flow direction as claimed.
Applicant's arguments with respect to Claim 9 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Kunz and Ogino do not teach or suggest a cooling fluid supply channel structure that is in fluidically downward communicating connection with a distribution channel structure. Examiner disagrees with this because Ogino shows in Figure 14 a communicating section 62 can be formed on the bulkhead 6 by providing a slit in the flow direction of the coolant C (Paragraph 0201). The coolant from the bulkhead would flow in a downward direction from the slit. Applicant is showing Figure 3 to support the argument, but the rejection is based on embodiment represented by Figure 14.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783