DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-4 in the reply filed on January 27, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-7 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 27, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 6, 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 24, 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Office.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 13, 2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rzyman et al. (CS-258701, English translation provided for citations, hereinafter referred to as “Rzyman”).
As to Claim 1: Rzyman teaches a stabilizing composition for polypropylene (i.e., a polyolefin-based resin) (Abstract) comprising an isocyanurate anti-oxidant having a formula represented by the structure:
wherein R may be:
which reads on the claimed General Formula (2) and [chem. 2] (see structures col. 4 of foreign document). Rzyman further teaches that the composition may comprise a compound having the structure of formula (II):
wherein X may be a hydrogen atom or methyl group and A is an acyl radical derived from a saturated or unsaturated carboxylic acid having 2 to 18 carbon atoms (see structure col. 5 of foreign reference, see translated description pg. 2, ln. 14-15 of English translation), which reads on the claimed General Formula (1) and [chem. 1].
As to Claim 2: Rzyman teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Rzyman further teaches that the isocyanurate derivative (that which reads on the claimed General Formula (2), see above) may be used in a concentration in the range of 0.01 to 0.3 by weight and that the piperidine derivative (that which reads on the claimed General Formula (1), see above) may be used in a concentration in the range of 0.05 to 1 wt% (pg. 2, ln. 23-24), the sum of said concentrations, 0.06 to 1.3 wt% total, falls within the claimed range for an amount of light stabilizer (B), which comprises compounds (B-1) and (B-2).
As to Claim 4: Rzyman teaches the composition of claim 1 (supra).
Rzyman teaches that the stabilizing composition is used in polypropylene resins (i.e., a polyolefin-based resin) (Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rzyman et al. (CS-258701, English translation provided for citations, hereinafter referred to as “Rzyman”) in view of Yokota et al. (US20100298473, hereinafter referred to as "Yokota").
As to Claim 3: Rzyman teaches the composition of claim 1 (see above).
Rzyman does not teach wherein the composition comprises an additional benzoate compound having the claimed structure represented by General Formula (3).
Yokota teaches a related stabilized resin composition comprising polypropylene ([0014]), a hindered amine compound, and a benzoate compound ([0008]) represented by the structure ([0032]):
which reads on the claimed General Formula (3) as construed from the instant specification para. ([0046]). Rzyman and Yokota are considered analogous art because they are directed towards the same field of endeavor, namely, stabilized polyolefin resin compositions. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally include a benzoate compound, such as that taught by Yokota, within the composition of Rzyman and the motivation would have been that Yokota teaches that including a benzoate compound having the claimed structure in addition to a hindered amine compound is recognized within the art as suitable for stabilizing polypropylene compositions and is known to improve resistance to deterioration or discoloration of polyolefin/polypropylene materials upon exposure to environmental conditions (e.g., ultraviolet rays from sunlight and elevated temperatures) ([0004] and [0008]).
Correspondence
/C.L.G.D./ Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767