DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 8 are objected to because of the following reasons:
With respect to claim 1, the use of different terms to refer to refer to a formula is improper. For instance, both “General Formula (1)” and “[chem. 1]” are used to refer to the first formula. The second formula is similarly improper.
With respect to claims 1, 2, 7, and 8, they are not complete sentences because the steps (1), (2), (3), and (4) are not separated with commas and an “and” after step (3).
With respect to claims 1 and 7, including heading “[a calculation method for L* (0 h) and L* (2,040 h)]” is improper because a claim is a sentence and should not include headings.
With respect to claim 2, the use of different terms to refer to refer to a formula is improper. For instance, “General Formula (1)” and “[chem. 3]” are used to refer to the first formula. The second formula is similarly improper.
With respect to claims 2 and 8, including heading “[a calculation method for ΔE]” is improper because a claim is a sentence and should not include headings.
With respect to claim 4, the use of different terms to refer to refer to a formula is improper. Specifically, “General Formula (3)” and “[chem. 5]” are used.
With respect to claim 7, the use of different terms to refer to refer to a formula is improper. For instance, “General Formula (1)” and “[chem. 6]” are used to refer to the first formula. The second formula is similarly improper.
With respect to claim 8, the use of different terms to refer to refer to a formula is improper. For instance, “General Formula (1)” and “[chem. 8]” are used to refer to the first formula. The second formula is similarly improper.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 1, 2, 7, and 8, the phrase with parentheses” (including regularly reflected light)” is indefinite because it is not clear if the limitation is mandatorily present. If not, then it is indefinite for including a preferred embodiment in a single claim.
With respect to claims 3-6, they are rejected for failing to cure the deficiency of the claim from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3 and 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sukigara (JP 2014-240473, machine translation).
With respect to claims 1-3, 5, 7, and 8, and 8, Sukigara discloses a sealing resin sheet containing a polyolefin resin (paragraph 0014) such as polypropylene resin (paragraph 0024). The exemplified formulations are prepared from a masterbatch comprising 90 parts by mass of polyolefin resin, 2.5 parts by mass of a light stabilizer that is bis(2,2,6,6-tetramethyl-4-piperidyl) sebacate (reads on claimed formula (1) when R has 10 carbon atoms) and 2.5 parts by mass of an antioxidant that is n-octadecyl-3-(3,5-di-t-butyl-4-hydroxyphenyl)propionate (reads on claimed formula (2) when R has 18 carbon atoms) (paragraph 0156). In Table 2 of the original document in Japanese, this exemplified masterbatch (
) is added in an amount of 4.0 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of jpolyethylene. Sukigara teaches that the stabilizers improve weather resistance (paragraph 0055).
Sukigara teaches that the stabilizers improve weather resistance (paragraph 0055) but does not explicitly disclose L* (0 h) or LI (2,040 h) or ΔE, i.e., claimed properties which are related to weather resistance.
Sukigara anticipates the claimed ingredients of the composition, and the properties are evidently dependent upon the nature of the composition used. Case law holds that a material and its properties are inseparable. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, Sukigara inherently has the claimed properties.
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the claimed properties given that Sukigara exemplifies a polyolefin formulation comprising the two light stabilizers and teaches that weather resistance is improved.
With respect to claim 6, Sukigara teaches that the composition is formed into a molded article by extrusion (paragraph 0103).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sukigara (JP 2014-240473, machine translation) in view of Ayabe (US 2015/0353710).
The discussion with respect to Sukigara in paragraph 3 above is incorporated here by reference.
Sukigara teaches uses other monophenol-based antioxidants (paragraph 0069), however, it fails to disclose a hydroxybenzoate as in formula (3).
Ayabe discloses a polyolefin resin composition comprising a hydroxybenzoate of formula
wherein R3 is an alkyl group having 8-30 carbon atoms (abstract) and teaches that this compound in combination with a hindered amine-based light stabilizer which suppresses initial coloration and has excellent weather resistance (paragraph 0008).
Given that Sukigara is open to the use of a plurality of light stabilizers such as phenol based antioxidants and further given that the claimed compound of formula (3) is particularly useful in polyolefins when used with hindered amines as taught by Ayabe, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add an additional light stabilizer to the polyolefin composition taught by Sukigara to further improve claimed weather resistance properties.
Conclusion
/Vickey Nerangis/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763
vn