DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed on 09/11/2025 regarding claims 1, 4-12, 15, 16 and 18 in the remarks are fully considered but not persuasive.
(i) Applicant argues that the cited references to not disclose or suggest the limitation(s) of “determining at least one Doppler shift-related value based on the at least one downlink signal; and transmitting CSI including the at least one Doppler shift-related value to the BS” and “wherein the at least one Doppler shift-related value includes a Doppler shift value normalized based on a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the TRS or the SSB” (please see page 8 under arguments and remarks).
(i) (Response) As indicated in the previous Office Action, examiner maintains that figure 4, step 425 and paragraph [0102] of the previously applied prior art Manolakos (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0344575) address the limitation(s) of “determining at least one Doppler shift-related value based on the at least one downlink signal; and transmitting CSI including the at least one Doppler shift-related value to the BS”. Figure 4, paragraph [0102] disclose the UE determines the Doppler shift value based on the first TRS and second TRS. Paragraph [0102] also discloses the UE reporting the value to the base station and thus, the prior art addresses the above limitation(s). With regard to the limitation(s) examiner relied on Jiang (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0156640) in addressing the limitation(s) “wherein the at least one Doppler shift-related value includes a Doppler shift value normalized based on a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the TRS or the SSB”. According to paragraph [0144] of the prior art, a Doppler frequency shift on a frequency range is normalized for a given subcarrier spacing. Also, paragraph [0234] of Jiang discloses the frequency shift may be performed on one or more subcarriers of the PSS, SSS and PBCH of a first SSB. Therefore, there is a correspondence between the Doppler shift value and the SSB. Thus, examiner maintains that the cited portions of Jiang addresses the above-argued limitation(s).
(ii) Applicant also argues that in Jiang, the Doppler shift values depend on a user’s elevation angle and frequency range band (please see last sentence of page 8 under arguments and remarks).
(ii) (Response) Examiner does not see how elevated angle and frequency range are relevant to the claimed invention especially since synchronization signal blocks (as it is well known in the art) are received in the satellite network by the user terminal irrespective of the user angular position. The claim calls for a normalized Doppler shift value based on a subcarrier spacing and paragraph [0144] of Jiang addresses that.
(iii) Applicant also argues that Jiang does not teach “Doppler shift-related value reported by the UE” which is a Doppler shift value normalized based on a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the TRS or SSB as described in the amended claim (please see page 9 under arguments and remarks).
(iii) (Response) Examiner agrees with applicant that Jiang does not disclose reporting the Doppler shift-related value; however, that limitation is already disclosed in Manolakos (please see section (i)(response) above). The purpose of introducing Jiang was to address the limitation of Doppler shift value normalized based on a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the TRS or SSB and that is disclosed in paragraphs [0144] and [0234]. Therefore, examiner maintains that the combination of both Manolakos and Jiang still address the amended limitation(s).
Response to Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 12, 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos (US PG Pub No. 2023/0344575) in view of Jiang (US PG Pub. No. 2023/0156640).
As per claim 1:
Manolakos teaches a method (see paragraph [0005], teaches a method of performing channel estimation procedure based on the received reference signal) comprising:
receiving Channel State Information (CSI)-related configuration information from a base station (BS) (see paragraph [0091], UE 115 may receive pre-compensation indication from TRPs 145. Note: TRPs 145 are of the base station 105-a as clearly shown in figure 4 and thus said pre-compensation indication is received from the base station 105-a), wherein the CSI-related configuration information includes CSI report configuration-related information (paragraph [0091] disclose said pre-compensation indication may include configuration such as the range of the pre-compensated Doppler Shift) and/or CSI resource configuration-related information (see paragraph [0091], said indication may also include TRS configuration of RRC signaling. The TRS may be configured as a CSI-RS resource set), the CSI report configuration-related information includes usage information for a Doppler shift (as explained earlier in paragraph [0091], said pre-compensation indication may include configuration such as the range of the pre-compensated Doppler Shift), and the CSI resource configuration-related information includes information about at least one CSI resource set (as explained earlier in paragraph [0091], said indication may also include TRS configuration of RRC signaling. The TRS may be configured as a CSI-RS resource set) corresponding to at least one downlink signal (see paragraph [0124], discloses the TRS configuration indicating at least a first set of resources for the first TRS and a second set of resources for the second TRS. Figure 4 shows first and second pre-compensated TRS 415 and 420 transmitted from TRPs 145-g and 145-h respectively to the UE 115-c. Therefore, TRS 415 and 420 are downlink signals);
receiving, from the BS, the at least one downlink signal (see Figure 4, UE 115-c receiving pre-compensated first TRS 415 and pre-compensated second TRS 420 from TRP 145-g and TRP 145-h respectively of base station 105-a) based on the CSI-related configuration information (as shown in figure 4 and paragraphs [0099]-[0100], prior to receiving the pre-compensated first TRS 415 and pre-compensated second TRS 420 from the base station 105-a, the base station 105-a “Perform precompensation on a first and second tracking reference signal” as clearly illustrated in step 410. Thus, pre-compensated TRS 415 and 420 are received based on the pre-compensation indication 405);
determining at least one Doppler shift-related value based on the at least one downlink signal (see Figure 4, step 425 and paragraph [0102], UE 115-c may determine a Doppler shift value, Doppler Spread value, or a combination thereof between the received first TRS and the received second TRS);
and transmitting CSI including the at least one Doppler shift-related value to the BS (see paragraph [0102] explicitly states: “In some cases, UE 115-a may identify that the determined Doppler shift value, Doppler Spread value, or a combination thereof exceeds a threshold, and may report the value that exceeds the threshold to base station 105-a);
wherein the downlink signal is a tracking reference signal (TRS) or a synchronization block (SSB) (Figure 4 shows first and second pre-compensated TRS 415 and 420 transmitted from TRPs 145-g and 145-h respectively to the UE 115-c).
Manolakos does not teach wherein the at least one Doppler shift-related value includes a Doppler shift value normalized based on a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the TRS or the SSB.
Jiang teaches wherein the at least one Doppler shift-related value includes a Doppler shift value normalized based on a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the TRS or the SSB (see paragraph [0144], “a normalized Doppler frequency shift is 11.23 when an SCS is 120 120kHz”. The shift value corresponds to a synchronization signal sequence, please see paragraph [0030]. Also, paragraph [0234] discloses the frequency shift may be performed on one or more subcarriers of the PSS, SSS and PBCH of a first SSB. Therefore, there is a correspondence between the Doppler shift value and the SSB).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the application of the shift value(s) to the corresponding synchronization signal sequence as a way of meeting a frequency domain mapping relationship (please see paragraph [0030] of Jiang).
As per claim 4:
Manolakos in view of Jiang teaches the method of claim 1.
Manolakos does not teach wherein a range of the normalized Doppler shift value is determined based on at least one of a carrier frequency, a numerology, and/or a maximum velocity.
Jiang teaches wherein a range of the normalized Doppler shift value is determined based on at least one of a carrier frequency, a numerology, and/or a maximum velocity (see paragraph [0144], a Doppler range may reach -83.8 kHz to 83.8 kHz and is determined based on a frequency range band).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the application of the shift value(s) to the corresponding synchronization signal sequence as a way of meeting a frequency domain mapping relationship (please see paragraph [0030] of Jiang).
As per claim 5:
Manolakos in view of Jiang teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the CSI resource configuration related information includes one CSI resource set (Manolakos, see paragraph [0124], “In some cases, the TRS may be configured as a CSI-RS resource set”).
As per claim 12:
Manolakos teaches a user equipment (UE) (see paragraph [0005], UE performs said channel estimation procedure), the UE (see Figure 8, paragraph [0130], system 800 includes device 805. Device 805 could be UE 115) comprising:
at least one transceiver (see Figure 8, transceiver 820);
at least one processor (see Figure 8, processor 840);
and at least one memory operatively connected to the at least one processor (see Figure 8, memory 830 coupled to processor 840 via bus 845) and storing instructions for performing operations based on being executed by the at least one processor (see paragraph [0136], processor 840 executing instructions stored in memory 830), wherein the operations include
receiving Channel State Information (CSI)-related configuration information from a BS (see paragraph [0091], UE 115 may receive pre-compensation indication from TRPs 145. Note: TRPs 145 are of the base station 105-a as clearly shown in figure 4 and thus said pre-compensation indication is received from the base station 105-a), wherein the CSI-related configuration information includes CSI report configuration-related information (paragraph [0091] disclose said pre-compensation indication may include configuration such as the range of the pre-compensated Doppler Shift) and/or CSI resource configuration-related information (see paragraph [0091], said indication may also include TRS configuration of RRC signaling. The TRS may be configured as a CSI-RS resource set), the CSI report configuration-related information includes usage information for a Doppler shift (as explained earlier in paragraph [0091], said pre-compensation indication may include configuration such as the range of the pre-compensated Doppler Shift), and the CSI resource configuration-related information includes information about at least one CSI resource set (as explained earlier in paragraph [0091], said indication may also include TRS configuration of RRC signaling. The TRS may be configured as a CSI-RS resource set) corresponding to at least one downlink signal (see paragraph [0124], discloses the TRS configuration indicating at least a first set of resources for the first TRS and a second set of resources for the second TRS. Figure 4 shows first and second pre-compensated TRS 415 and 420 transmitted from TRPs 145-g and 145-h respectively to the UE 115-c. Therefore, TRS 415 and 420 are downlink signals);
receiving, from the BS, the at least one downlink signal (see Figure 4, UE 115-c receiving pre-compensated first TRS 415 and pre-compensated second TRS 420 from TRP 145-g and TRP 145-h respectively of base station 105-a) based on the CSI-related configuration information (as shown in figure 4 and paragraphs [0099]-[0100], prior to receiving the pre-compensated first TRS 415 and pre-compensated second TRS 420 from the base station 105-a, the base station 105-a “Perform precompensation on a first and second tracking reference signal” as clearly illustrated in step 410. Thus, pre-compensated TRS 415 and 420 are received based on the pre-compensation indication 405);
determining at least one doppler-shift related value based on the at least one downlink signal (see Figure 4, step 425 and paragraph [0102], UE 115-c may determine a Doppler shift value, Doppler Spread value, or a combination thereof between the received first TRS and the received second TRS);
and transmitting CSI including the at least one Doppler shift-related value to the BS (see paragraph [0102] explicitly states: “In some cases, UE 115-a may identify that the determined Doppler shift value, Doppler Spread value, or a combination thereof exceeds a threshold, and may report the value that exceeds the threshold to base station 105-a),
wherein the downlink signal is a tracking reference signal (TRS) or a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Figure 4 shows first and second pre-compensated TRS 415 and 420 transmitted from TRPs 145-g and 145-h respectively to the UE 115-c).
Manolakos does not teach and wherein the at least one Doppler shift-related value includes a Doppler shift value normalized based on a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the TRS or the SSB.
Jiang teaches and wherein the at least one Doppler shift-related value includes a Doppler shift value normalized based on a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the TRS or the SSB (see paragraph [0144], “a normalized Doppler frequency shift is 11.23 when an SCS is 120 120kHz”. The shift value corresponds to a synchronization signal sequence, please see paragraph [0030]. Also, paragraph [0234] discloses the frequency shift may be performed on one or more subcarriers of the PSS, SSS and PBCH of a first SSB. Therefore, there is a correspondence between the Doppler shift value and the SSB).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the application of the shift value(s) to the corresponding synchronization signal sequence as a way of meeting a frequency domain mapping relationship (please see paragraph [0030] of Jiang).
Claim 15 is rejected in the same scope as claim 4.
As per claim 18:
Manolakos teaches a base station (BS) (see paragraph [0092], TRP 145 receiving a CSI report from the UE 115. See Figure 12, paragraph [0167], device 1205 could be a base station 105) comprising:
at least one transceiver (see Figure 12, transceiver 1220);
at least one processor (see Figure 12, processor 1240);
and at least one memory operatively connected to the at least one processor (see Figure 12, processor 1240 coupled to memory 1230 via bus 1250) and storing instructions for performing operations based on being executed by the at least one processor (see paragraph [0172], processor 1240 for executing instructions stored in memory 1230), wherein the operations include
transmitting Channel State Information (CSI)-related configuration information to a UE (see paragraph [0091], UE 115 may receive pre-compensation indication from TRPs 145. Note: TRPs 145 are of the base station 105-a as clearly shown in figure 4 and thus said pre-compensation indication is received from the base station 105-a), wherein the CSI-related configuration information includes CSI report configuration-related information (paragraph [0091] disclose said pre-compensation indication may include configuration such as the range of the pre-compensated Doppler Shift) and/or CSI resource configuration-related information (see paragraph [0091], said indication may also include TRS configuration of RRC signaling. The TRS may be configured as a CSI-RS resource set), the CSI report configuration- related information includes usage information for a Doppler shift (as explained earlier in paragraph [0091], said pre-compensation indication may include configuration such as the range of the pre-compensated Doppler Shift), and the CSI resource configuration-related information includes information about at least one CSI resource set (as explained earlier in paragraph [0091], said indication may also include TRS configuration of RRC signaling. The TRS may be configured as a CSI-RS resource set) corresponding to at least one downlink signal (see paragraph [0124], discloses the TRS configuration indicating at least a first set of resources for the first TRS and a second set of resources for the second TRS. Figure 4 shows first and second pre-compensated TRS 415 and 420 transmitted from TRPs 145-g and 145-h respectively to the UE 115-c. Therefore, TRS 415 and 420 are downlink signals);
transmitting, to the UE, the at least one downlink signal (see Figure 4, UE 115-c receiving pre-compensated first TRS 415 and pre-compensated second TRS 420 from TRP 145-g and TRP 145-h respectively of base station 105-a) based on the CSI-related configuration information (as shown in figure 4 and paragraphs [0099]-[0100], prior to receiving the pre-compensated first TRS 415 and pre-compensated second TRS 420 from the base station 105-a, the base station 105-a “Perform precompensation on a first and second tracking reference signal” as clearly illustrated in step 410. Thus, pre-compensated TRS 415 and 420 are received based on the pre-compensation indication 405), wherein at least one Doppler shift-related value is determined based on the at least one downlink signal (see Figure 4, step 425 and paragraph [0102], UE 115-c may determine a Doppler shift value, Doppler Spread value, or a combination thereof between the received first TRS and the received second TRS);
and receiving, from the UE, CSI including the at least one Doppler shift-related value (see paragraph [0102] explicitly states: “In some cases, UE 115-a may identify that the determined Doppler shift value, Doppler Spread value, or a combination thereof exceeds a threshold, and may report the value that exceeds the threshold to base station 105-a),
wherein the downlink signal is a tracking reference signal (TRS) or a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Figure 4 shows first and second pre-compensated TRS 415 and 420 transmitted from TRPs 145-g and 145-h respectively to the UE 115-c).
Manolakos does not teach and wherein the at least one Doppler shift-related value includes a Doppler shift value normalized based on a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the TRS or the SSB.
Jiang teaches and wherein the at least one Doppler shift-related value includes a Doppler shift value normalized based on a subcarrier spacing corresponding to the TRS or the SSB (see paragraph [0144], “a normalized Doppler frequency shift is 11.23 when an SCS is 120 120kHz”. The shift value corresponds to a synchronization signal sequence, please see paragraph [0030]. Also, paragraph [0234] discloses the frequency shift may be performed on one or more subcarriers of the PSS, SSS and PBCH of a first SSB. Therefore, there is a correspondence between the Doppler shift value and the SSB).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the application of the shift value(s) to the corresponding synchronization signal sequence as a way of meeting a frequency domain mapping relationship (please see paragraph [0030] of Jiang).
4. Claims 6-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos in view of Jiang and further in view of Zhang (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0376855).
As per claim 6:
Manolakos in view of Jiang teaches the method of claim 5 with the exception of:
further comprising:
receiving information on a correspondence relationship between CSI resource sets from the BS,
wherein the other CSI resource set is determined based on the correspondence relationship,
and wherein the at least one Doppler shift related value is an offset value between a Doppler shift value of a downlink signal corresponding to the one CSI resource set and a Doppler shift value of a downlink signal corresponding to the other CSI resource set.
Zhang teaches further comprising:
receiving information on a correspondence relationship between CSI resource sets from the BS (see paragraphs [0092], [0093], a determination of whether UE 1005 reports Doppler offset measurement for each periodic TRS (construed as said CSI resource sets) can be configured by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) or via DCI. In other words, the UE determines the correspondence between each periodic TRS and the measured Doppler offset),
wherein the other CSI resource set is determined based on the correspondence relationship (see paragraphs [0092], [0093], since the TRS is periodic for each gNB (i.e., gNB1 1010 and gNB2 1015) other periodic TRS can be determined based on the received higher layer signaling),
and wherein the at least one Doppler shift related value is an offset value between a Doppler shift value of a downlink signal corresponding to the one CSI resource set and a Doppler shift value of a downlink signal corresponding to the other CSI resource set (see paragraphs [0092], [0093], a report is determined for each periodic TRS independently; in some embodiments, the UE can report the Doppler offset measured for multiple periodic TRS resource sets. The UE can report a differential Doppler offset measurement between two TRPs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the measurement and report of differential Doppler offset between two transmission-reception points (TRPs) (as disclosed in Zhang) into both Manolakos and Jiang as a way of enabling the base station/gNB to determine a pre-compensated Doppler offset based on the received report (please see paragraph [0094] of Zhang).
As per claim 7:
Manolakos in view of Jiang teaches the method of claim 5 with the exception of:
further comprising:
receiving information on a reference downlink signal from the BS,
wherein the at least one Doppler shift related value is an offset value between the Doppler shift value of the downlink signal corresponding to the one CSI resource set and the Doppler shift value of the reference downlink signal.
Zhang teaches further comprising:
receiving information on a reference downlink signal from the BS (see Figure 10, step 1020, paragraph [0087], periodicity of periodic TRS, slot offsets and other parameters can be configured. For example, a gNB can configure a report quantity as a Doppler-Shift for each report when a channel measurement resource is based on a periodic TRS),
wherein the at least one Doppler shift related value is an offset value between the Doppler shift value of the downlink signal corresponding to the one CSI resource set and the Doppler shift value of the reference downlink signal (see paragraphs [0092], [0093], a report is determined for each periodic TRS independently; in some embodiments, the UE can report the Doppler offset measured for multiple periodic TRS resource sets. The UE can report a differential Doppler offset measurement between two TRPs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the measurement and report of differential Doppler offset between two transmission-reception points (TRPs) (as disclosed in Zhang) into both Manolakos and Jiang as a way of enabling the base station/gNB to determine a pre-compensated Doppler offset based on the received report (please see paragraph [0094] of Zhang).
As per claim 8:
Manolakos in view of Jiang teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the CSI resource configuration related information includes two CSI resource sets,
and wherein the at least one Doppler shift related value is an offset value between a Doppler shift value of a downlink signal corresponding to one of the two CSI resource sets and a Doppler shift value of a downlink signal corresponding to the other one of the two CSI resource sets.
Zhang teaches wherein the CSI resource configuration related information includes two CSI resource sets (see paragraphs [0092], [0093], a determination of whether UE 1005 reports Doppler offset measurement for each periodic TRS (construed as said CSI resource sets) can be configured by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) or via DCI. In other words, the UE determines the correspondence between each periodic TRS and the measured Doppler offset),
and wherein the at least one Doppler shift related value is an offset value between a Doppler shift value of a downlink signal corresponding to one of the two CSI resource sets and a Doppler shift value of a downlink signal corresponding to the other one of the two CSI resource sets (see paragraphs [0092], [0093], a report is determined for each periodic TRS independently; in some embodiments, the UE can report the Doppler offset measured for multiple periodic TRS resource sets. The UE can report a differential Doppler offset measurement between two TRPs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the measurement and report of differential Doppler offset between two transmission-reception points (TRPs) (as disclosed in Zhang) into both Manolakos and Jiang as a way of enabling the base station/gNB to determine a pre-compensated Doppler offset based on the received report (please see paragraph [0094] of Zhang).
As per claim 9:
Manolakos in view of Jiang teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of:
further comprising:
wherein the CSI resource configuration related information includes a plurality of CSI resource sets,
receiving, from the BS, information for two CSI resource sets among the plurality of CSI resource sets,
wherein the at least one Doppler shift related value is the offset value between the Doppler shift value of the downlink signal corresponding to one of the two CSI resource sets and the Doppler shift value of the downlink signal corresponding to the other one of the two CSI resource sets.
Zhang teaches further comprising:
wherein the CSI resource configuration related information includes a plurality of CSI resource sets (see paragraphs [0092], [0093], a determination of whether UE 1005 reports Doppler offset measurement for each periodic TRS (construed as said CSI resource sets) can be configured by higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling) or via DCI. In other words, the UE determines the correspondence between each periodic TRS and the measured Doppler offset),
receiving, from the BS, information for two CSI resource sets among the plurality of CSI resource sets (see paragraphs [0092], [0093], since the TRS is periodic for each gNB (i.e., gNB1 1010 and gNB2 1015) other periodic TRS can be determined based on the received higher layer signaling),
wherein the at least one Doppler shift related value is the offset value between the Doppler shift value of the downlink signal corresponding to one of the two CSI resource sets and the Doppler shift value of the downlink signal corresponding to the other one of the two CSI resource sets (see paragraphs [0092], [0093], a report is determined for each periodic TRS independently; in some embodiments, the UE can report the Doppler offset measured for multiple periodic TRS resource sets. The UE can report a differential Doppler offset measurement between two TRPs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the measurement and report of differential Doppler offset between two transmission-reception points (TRPs) (as disclosed in Zhang) into both Manolakos and Jiang as a way of enabling the base station/gNB to determine a pre-compensated Doppler offset based on the received report (please see paragraph [0094] of Zhang).
As per claim 16:
Manolakos in view of Jiang teaches the UE of claim 12 with the exception of:
wherein the CSI resource configuration related information includes two CSI resource sets,
and wherein the at least one Doppler shift related value is the offset value between the Doppler shift value of the downlink signal corresponding to one of the two CSI resource sets and the Doppler shift value of the downlink signal corresponding to the other one of the two CSI resource sets.
Zhang teaches wherein the CSI resource configuration related information includes two CSI resource sets (see paragraphs [0092], [0093], since the TRS is periodic for each gNB (i.e., gNB1 1010 and gNB2 1015) other periodic TRS can be determined based on the received higher layer signaling),
and wherein the at least one Doppler shift related value is the offset value between the Doppler shift value of the downlink signal corresponding to one of the two CSI resource sets and the Doppler shift value of the downlink signal corresponding to the other one of the two CSI resource sets (see paragraphs [0092], [0093], a report is determined for each periodic TRS independently; in some embodiments, the UE can report the Doppler offset measured for multiple periodic TRS resource sets. The UE can report a differential Doppler offset measurement between two TRPs).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the measurement and report of differential Doppler offset between two transmission-reception points (TRPs) (as disclosed in Zhang) into both Manolakos and Jiang as a way of enabling the base station/gNB to determine a pre-compensated Doppler offset based on the received report (please see paragraph [0094] of Zhang).
5. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos in view of Jiang and further in view of Nigam (US PG Pub. No. 2018/0302864).
As per claim 10:
Manolakos in view of Jiang teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the CSI including the at least one Doppler shift related value has a higher priority than CSI constituted by at least one of a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), a channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicator (CRI), a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SS/PBCH block) resource indicator (SSBRI), a layer indicator (LI), a rank indicator (RI), and/or a layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP).
Nigam teaches wherein the CSI including the at least one Doppler shift related value has a higher priority than CSI constituted by at least one of a channel quality indicator (CQI) (see paragraph [0044] discloses selecting a power management mode based on channel conditions. The selection of the power management mode may be based on determination of the channel condition (e.g., based on CQI) that identifies the SNR and Doppler parameters associated with the channel between the UE 115 and the base station 105. Furthermore, performance is prioritized by choosing PM1 over PM2. PM1 involves selecting either a low SNR or a higher Doppler so as to improve performance), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art), a channel state information- reference signal (CSI-RS) resource indicator (CRI) (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art), a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SS/PBCH block) resource indicator (SSBRI) (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art), a layer indicator (LI) (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art), a rank indicator (RI) (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art), and/or a layer 1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) (Note: Limitation(s) is/are recited in alternate form and thus not addressed by the prior art).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the selection of one power management mode over the other (as disclosed in Nigam) into both Manolakos and Jiang as a way of improving performance (please see paragraph [0044] of Nigam).
7. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manolakos in view Jiang and further in view of Chavva (US PG Pub. No. 2022/0070026).
As per claim 11:
Manolakos in view of Jiang teaches the method of claim 1 with the exception of:
wherein the at least one Doppler shift related value includes a Doppler shift value or an offset value of Doppler shift values for each receiving panel or each receiving beam.
Chavva teaches wherein the at least one Doppler shift related value includes a Doppler shift value or an offset value of Doppler shift values for each receiving panel or each receiving beam (see paragraph [0104], discloses determining whether a value of Doppler shift of one or more receiver beams, corresponding to a current transmitter beam is estimated. Estimating the values of Doppler shift of each of the plurality of receiver beams corresponding to the previous transmitter beam based on the value of the Doppler shift of the one of the receiving beams, please see paragraph [0105]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the estimation of Doppler values of one or more receiver beams corresponding to previous transmitter beam (as disclosed in Chavva) into both Manolakos and Jiang as way of determining an optimal beam for communicating with the base station (please see paragraph [0091] of Chavva).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PRINCE AKWASI. MENSAH
Examiner
Art Unit 2474
/PRINCE A MENSAH/ Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474