DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 3-14 are currently pending and are subject to this office action. Claim 1 is amended. Claim 2 is canceled. This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 10/21/2025.
Response to Amendments
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s response filed on 10/21/2025 containing amendments and remarks to the claims and specification.
In response to Applicant’s amendments filed 10/21/2025, the Examiner withdraws the objection to the specification for minor informalities.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, on pages , filed 10/21/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The Applicant has amended claim 1 to include a limitation of now canceled claim 2, specifically, “wherein the valve is configured to adjust the size of the aperture as a function of temperature”. The Applicant argues that Wu only teaches valve closure at a threshold temperature, deformation does not imply aperture size adjustment, and that one of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to combine Liu and Wu.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Wu teaches a valve structure where temperature causes a mechanical deformation that moves a valve component and changes the gap of a pathway. Changing the size of that gap directly affects the flow through the valve. Wu discloses that when the shape memory alloy element of the valve changes due to temperature, a sliding block moves to adjust the gap between the sliding block and the opening [Wu, 0033].
Wu further discloses a system where multiple temperature conditions produce different valve configurations and different flow rates. The shape memory alloy element of the valve deforms at different temperatures, causing different gap sizes between the sliding block and the opening. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that changing the distance between two areas that define a flow path would change the size of that path. As temperature changes, the valve transitions between multiple configurations, each with a different flow rate. Thus, Wu does not merely disclose an on/off valve. Instead, Wu discloses a valve that changes with temperature, resulting in different gap sizes.
Additionally, Liu discloses that airflow rate changes based on pressure differences generated during use, such as those produced by a user’s suction force [Liu, 0036]. However, Liu does not state that user suction must be the only mechanism of which airflow is controlled or discredit the application of Wu (MPEP 2143.01). The proposed modification does not substitute Liu’s valve, instead, it modifies Liu’s valve to use the temperature dependent deformation of Wu to provide an additional way for regulating airflow, helping to increase airflow control in the device of Liu [Liu, 0004].
The following are modified rejections based on Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20150351457 A1, as cited in IDS dated 04/06/2023), further in view of Wu (CN 104964041 A, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation).
With regard to Claim 1, Liu, directed to an electronic cigarette, teaches (i) an electronic cigarette that generates smoke to be inhaled by a user [0032] comprising an outer casing to hold internal components (Fig. 2: “H”), meeting the claim limitation of an aerosol generation device, comprising: a housing. (ii) The electronic cigarette comprises a smoke cavity (Fig. 2: #302) that contains tobacco oil [0033]), inside of an atomizer (Fig. 2: #300), meeting the claim limitation of a heating chamber arranged to receive an aerosol substrate. The smoke cavity (Fig. 2: #302) is part of an atomizer (Fig. 2: #300), used to produce smoke by atomizing the tobacco oil [0033], meeting the claim limitation of the heating chamber operable to heat the aerosol substrate to generate an aerosol.
Liu further teaches (iii) wherein an airflow path is configured to enable the airflow of the electronic cigarette to circulate, flow into the atomizer, and out to the user for inhalation [0033], meeting the claim limitation of a first airflow passage arranged to transport air from a first air inlet in the housing into or through the aerosol generating device. (iv) A pressure regulating valve unit (Fig. 2: #400) is arranged in the airflow path with an intake hole [0009], that becomes opened under suction [0035], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first airflow passage comprises a valve having an aperture. (v) The pressure regulating valve unit (Fig. 2: #400) is configured to adjust a flow rate of the outside air flowing into the electronic cigarette [0034] by opening or closing the valve unit [0035], meeting the claim limitation of wherein a size of the aperture is adjustable to alter through the first airflow passage. Liu teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Wu is silent to:
Wherein the valve is configured to adjust the size of the aperture as a function of temperature
Wu, directed to a temperature control automatic valve, teaches a temperature-controlled automatic valve with a plurality of sub-valves [0008], where each sub-valve has a temperature at which it deforms [0009]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that deformation of a valve component would change the spacing that defines the airflow path, therefore changing the size of the aperture formed by the airflow path and would be motivated to modify the aperture of modified Liu with similar deformation techniques based on temperature to offer a simple structure and higher reliability when it comes to controlling flow rate [0018].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the valve of Liu to be configured to adjust the size of the aperture as a function of temperature because both Liu and Wu are directed to adjusting flow rates using valve components. Wu teaches a plurality of sub-valves with deformation temperatures to offer a simple structure and higher reliability when it comes to controlling flow rate [0018] and this merely involves applying a known size altering technique to a similar valve ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 4, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Wu is silent to:
Wherein the valve is configured such that the aperture closes below a threshold temperature
Wu teaches wherein when a second gap is zero, a second cavity is not connected to a third cavity, and the temperature-controlled automatic valve is closed [0013]. When the second gap is zero, a memory elastic element is affected by a specific deformation temperature [0012] and a sliding block moves in a first direction driven by the memory elastic element to cover an opening [0008]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the valve of Liu to close based on a temperature to better adjust the flow rate of the temperature-controlled automatic [0038], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the valve is configured such that the aperture closes below a threshold temperature.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the valve of Liu to wherein the valve is configured such that the aperture closes below a threshold temperature because both Liu and Wu are directed adjusting flow rate using valve components. Wu teaches a wherein a temperature-controlled automatic valve is closed based on reaching a deformation temperature to better adjust the flow rate of the temperature-controlled automatic [0038] and this merely involves applying a known temperature threshold technique to a similar valve ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 8, Liu teaches wherein the pressure regulating valve unit (Fig. 3: #400) comprises an inlet, for external air, on an open end defined at the bottom of a sealing part (Fig. 3: #426, [0046]), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the valve is located at the first air inlet.
With regard to Claim 10, Liu teaches wherein an open end defined at the bottom of the sealing part (Fig. 3: #426), comprising an inlet, allows air to flow from the inlet, through an intake hole, eventually flowing into the atomizer [0046], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first airflow passage is arranged to transport air from the first air inlet in the housing to the heating chamber.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20150351457 A1, as cited in IDS dated 04/06/2023) and Wu (CN 104964041 A), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Propheter-Hinckley (US 20190003333 A1).
With regard to Claim 3, Liu teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however Wu is silent to:
Wherein the valve is configured such that the aperture is always at least partially open
Propheter-Hinckley, directed to a thermally driven spring valve, teaches where in various embodiments a thermally driven spring valve disposed in an air gas path may be at least partially open or at least partially closed [0031]. A person of ordinary skill in the would be motivated to modify the valve of Wu to be partially opened or partially closed for selectivity of a greater or reduced flow rate of air through the gas path [0031], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the valve is configured such that the aperture is always at least partially open.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the valve of modified Wu to wherein the valve is configured such that the aperture is always at least partially open because both Liu and Propheter-Hinckley are directed to using valves for controlling flow in air passages. Propheter-Hinckley teaches a thermally driven spring valve that may be at least partially open or partially closed to allow for a greater or reduced flow rate of air through the gas path [0031] and this merely involves the use of a known actuation technique to improve similar valves in the same way.
Claims 5, 6, 7, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20150351457 A1, as cited in IDS dated 04/06/2023) and Wu (CN 104964041 A), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ruider (DE 102018207582 A1, hereinafter citations referring to English Machine Translation)
With regard to Claim 5, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Liu is silent to:
Wherein the valve comprises a shape memory alloy in which the aperture is located
The shape memory alloy being configured to change shape as a function of temperature to adjust the size of the aperture
Ruider, directed to a valve regulating mass flow, (i) teaches a valve, wherein an aperture is located [0016], comprising an actuating spring made of shape memory alloy [0011], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the valve comprises a shape memory alloy in which the aperture is located. (ii) The shape memory alloy can be used to form or deform the position of an actuating spring based on temperature [0013], which forms or deform the orifice [0011]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the valve of modified Liu with the shape memory alloy of Ruider to provide a similar function of controlling the rate of mass flow in the device [0013-0014], meeting the claim limitation of the shape memory alloy being configured to change shape as a function of temperature to adjust the size of the aperture.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the valve of modified Liu to comprise a shape memory alloy in which the aperture is located, being configured to change shape as a function of temperature to adjust the size of the aperture because both Liu and Ruider are directed to controlling flow using valve components. Ruider teaches a valve, wherein the valve orifice comprising an actuating spring made of shape memory alloy to form or deform the position of the actuating spring based on temperature to control flow [0013] and this merely involves the use of a known material to improve similar valves in the same way.
With regard to Claim 6, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Liu is silent to:
Wherein the valve comprises a flexible rim surrounding the shape memory alloy
The flexible rim being configured to expand or contract to accommodate the change in shape of the memory alloy
Ruider teaches (i) wherein the valve comprises an adaptive valve orifice (Fig. 6: #1) comprising an actuating spring made of shape memory alloy [0011], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the valve comprises a flexible rim surrounding the shape memory alloy. (ii) The cross-sectional area of the valve orifice can be adjusted based on a flow medium activating a change in the shape memory alloy [0015], meeting the claim limitation of the flexible rim being configured to expand or contract to accommodate the change in shape of the memory alloy. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the valve of modified Liu with the valve orifice of Ruider to regulate or control the mass flow of the medium as a function of a temperature of the flow [0006].
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the valve of modified Liu to comprise a flexible rim surrounding the shape memory alloy, configured to expand or contract to accommodate the change in shape of the memory alloy because both Liu and Ruider are directed to controlling flow using valve components. Ruider teaches a shape memory alloy with a surrounding valve orifice, of a valve, that adapts with the shape of the shape memory alloy to regulate or control the mass flow of the medium as a function of a temperature of the flow [0006] and this merely involves applying a known outer structure to a known valve with a shape memory alloy ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 7, Liu teaches wherein a shape of the intake hole can be circular [0041], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the aperture is circular. Modified Liu teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Liu is silent to:
Wherein a radius of the aperture is adjustable to alter the airflow through the first airflow passage
Ruider teaches wherein the aperture may have a large spring diameter or a small spring diameter [0010], based on temperature, to have high or low mass flow [0013-0014]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would realize that an increase or decrease in diameter would directly correlate to an increase or decrease in radius of the aperture, since diameter is determined by radius. One would be motivated to modify the aperture of modified Liu with the adjustable characteristics of Ruider to regulate or control the mass flow of the medium as a function of a temperature of the flow [0006], meeting the claim limitation of wherein a radius of the aperture is adjustable to alter the airflow through the first airflow passage.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the aperture of modified Liu to wherein a radius of the aperture is adjustable to alter the airflow through the first airflow passage because both Liu and Ruider are directed to controlling flow using valve components. Ruider teaches an aperture that changes from large and small diameters based on temperature to regulate or control the mass flow of the medium as a function of a temperature of the flow [0006] and this merely involves applying a known size adjustable technique to a known aperture of a valve ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
With regard to Claim 13, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Liu is silent to:
An actuator, wherein the size of the aperture is adjustable by the actuator
Ruider teaches wherein the valve may have an actuating spring that changes size at a predetermined temperature [0013]. The actuating spring can support the aperture [0018] and correspond to the size of the aperture [0011]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the aperture of modified Liu to include the actuating spring of Ruider to serve as a temperature sensor and/or convert energy to motion [0015], in regards to the aperture, to adjust rate of flow.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the aperture of modified Liu to wherein the size of the aperture is adjustable by an actuator because both Liu and Ruider are directed to regulating flow using valve components. Ruider teaches an actuating spring that corresponds to the size of the aperture to Ruider to serve as a temperature sensor and/or convert energy to motion [0015] and this merely involves the use of a known actuating technique to improve similar valves in the same way.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20150351457 A1, as cited in IDS dated 04/06/2023) and Wu (CN 104964041 A), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Batista (WO 2019138045 A1).
With regard to Claim 9, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Liu is silent to:
Wherein the first air inlet is at an insertion opening for the aerosol substrate
Batista, directed to an aerosol-generating device, teaches air inlets (Fig. 2b: #52) provided at a cavity (Fig. 2b: #22) meant for receiving an aerosol-forming substrate (Fig. 1: #102). A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the first air inlet of Liu to be at an insertion opening for the aerosol substrate to draw in an external air supply directly to an air flow passage (Pg. 23, Lines 1-3), meeting the claim limitation of wherein the first air inlet is at an insertion opening for the aerosol substrate.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the location of the first air inlet of modified Liu to be at an insertion opening for the aerosol substrate because both Liu and Batista are directed to aerosol forming devices with air inlets to draw in external air. Batista teaches air inlets provided at a cavity for receiving an aerosol forming substrate to drawn in external air and this merely involves the use of known air inlet techniques to improve a similar aerosol generating device in the same way.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20150351457 A1, as cited in IDS dated 04/06/2023) and Wu (CN 104964041 A), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Atkins (US 20200022417 A1).
With regard to Claim 11, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Liu is silent to:
Wherein the first airflow passage is arranged to transport air from the first air inlet in the housing through the aerosol generating device to mix with aerosol emerging from the heating chamber
Atkins, directed to a vaporizer device, teaches a secondary inlet that includes airflow that does not pass through the heater or vaporization chamber and, instead, merges with the airflow containing aerosol that has already passed through the vaporization chamber [0132]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to apply the airflow technique of Atkins to the first airflow passage and first air inlet of modified Liu to allow for a greater flow rate before the airflow reaches the user [0133], meeting the claim limitation of wherein first airflow passage is arranged to transport air from the first air inlet in the housing through the aerosol generating device to mix with aerosol emerging from the heating chamber.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first airflow passage and first air inlet of modified Liu to wherein the first airflow passage is arranged to transport air from the first air inlet in the housing through the aerosol generating device to mix with aerosol emerging from the heating chamber because both Liu and Atkins are directed to aerosol generating device comprising inlets to bring external air into the device. Atkins teaches an air inlet that does not pass through a vaporization chamber before merging with airflow that did go through the vaporization chamber to allow for a greater flow rate before the airflow reaches the user [0133] and this merely involves the use of a known airflow merging technique to improve a similar aerosol generating device in the same way.
With regard to Claim 12, modified Liu teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Liu is silent to:
A second air flow passage arranged to transport air from a second air inlet in the housing to the heating chamber
Atkins teaches first and secondary inlets and airflow passageways, wherein air enters the device through the first inlet, through an airflow passageway, then through a heater [0132]. A person of ordinary skill in the art would art would be motivated to apply the function of the first air inlet and passageway of Atkins to the second inlet and passageway to effectively trigger a pressure sensor to activate a heating element and generate aerosol [0062, 0066], meeting the claim limitation of a second air flow passage arranged to transport air from a second air inlet in the housing to the heating chamber.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of modified Liu to wherein a second air flow passage is arranged to transport air from a second air inlet in the housing to the heating chamber because both Liu and Atkins are directed to aerosol generating device comprising inlets to bring external air into the device. Atkins teaches an air inlet, of two air inlets, that brings external air into the device and through the heater for vaporization to effectively trigger a pressure sensor to activate a heating element and generate aerosol [0062, 0066] and this merely involves applying a known inlet technique to a similar aerosol generating device ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20150351457 A1, as cited in IDS dated 04/06/2023), Wu (CN 104964041 A), and Ruider (DE 102018207582 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 13, and further in view of Sebastian (US 20180206552 A1).
With regard to Claim 14, modified Lui teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Liu is silent to:
Wherein the actuator comprises one of: a magnetic actuator; an electrical actuator; or an electro-mechanical actuator
Sebastian, directed to an aerosol delivery device, teaches an actuator that is configured to be heated with electrical current [0069]. The actuator is configured to change shape in response to the heat produced to displace an aerosol precursor composition toward an atomizer [0066], meeting the claim limitation of wherein the actuator comprises one of: a magnetic actuator; an electrical actuator; or an electro-mechanical actuator. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the type of actuator of modified Liu to include the electro-mechanical characteristics of the actuator of Sebastian because it offers an effective way of block flow from the reservoir to an atomizer [0067], similar to the path of airflow to a heating chamber in the claimed invention.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the type of actuator of modified Liu to be a magnetic actuator, electrical actuator, or an electro-mechanical actuator because both Liu and Sebastian are directed aerosol generating devices using valve components to regulate flow. Sebastian teaches an actuator that moves and changes shape based on electrical current it receives from a power source to block flow from the reservoir to an atomizer [0067] and this merely involves applying a known actuation type to a known actuator ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.O.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755