DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 04/13/2026 have been entered. Claims 1 and 3-20 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claims 18-20 have been withdrawn from consideration, and claim 2 has been cancelled.
The amendments and remarks filed are sufficient to cure the previous drawing objections, claim objections, and 35 USC 112(b) rejection set forth in the Non-Final office action mailed on 01/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-13, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (Pub. No. US 20200251786 A1) in view of Yudi et al. (US 20210098770 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kawai teaches an electrode assembly (electrode assembly, Fig. 1 below) comprising: a separator (14, Fig. 1 below, see [0030], hereinafter components referenced are the components residing within the box outlining the electrode assembly in Fig. 1 below); a positive active material layer (positive electrode material layer 1, Fig. 1 below, see [0040], see [0074] where the active material layer faced the negative electrode active material with the separator in between, Fig. 1 below has been modified to better illustrate the layers based on description of Fig. 1 detailed in [0074] adhered to a first surface (top surface of 14, Fig. 1 below) of the separator (14, Fig. 1 below, see [0030], see [0074] wherein the separator has an adhesive layer on each side therefore positive electrode material layer is adhered to the separator); and a negative electrode active material layer (top negative electrode material layer 1, Fig. 1 below, see [0041]) adhered to a second surface (bottom surface of 14, Fig. 1 below) of the separator (14, Fig. 1 below, see [0030], see [0074] wherein the separator has an adhesive layer on each side therefore the negative electrode material layer 1 is adhered to the separator), wherein the positive electrode active material layer (positive electrode material layer 1, Fig. 1 below, see [0040]) is formed of a first electrode composition (composition of positive electrode material layer, see [0043] describes the composition) in which a positive electrode active material (positive electrode active material, see [0043]), a binder (binder, see [0043]), and a conductive material (conductive aid, see [0043]) are mixed (mixture, see [0067]), and wherein the negative electrode active material layer (top negative electrode material layer, Fig. 1 below, see [0041]) is formed of a second electrode composition (composition of negative electrode material layer, see [0043]) in which a negative electrode active material (negative electrode active material, see [0043]), a binder (binder, see [0043]), and a conductive material (conductive aid, see [0043]) are mixed (mixture, see [0069]), the positive active material layer (positive electrode material layer 1, Fig. 1 above, see [0040]) is configured such that a positive electrode current collector (positive electrode current collector 1, Fig. 1 above, see [0040]) is stacked on a surface (top surface of positive electrode material layer 1, Fig. 1 above, see [0074] where the positive electrode material layer is facing towards the negative electrode material layer with the separator between) opposite to a surface (bottom surface of positive electrode material layer 1, Fig. 1 above, see [0074] where the positive electrode material layer is facing towards the negative electrode material layer with the separator between) in contact with the separator (14, Fig. 1 above, see [0030]), without an adhesive layer therebetween (see [0040] where the positive electrode material layer is provided on the surface of the positive electrode current collector therefore there is no adhesive layer between them) and the negative active material layer (top negative electrode material layer 1, see [0041]) is configured such that a negative electrode current collector (negative electrode current collector 1, Fig. 1 above, see [0041]) is stacked on a surface (lower surface of top negative electrode material layer 1, Fig. 1 above, see [0041]) opposite to the surface (top surface of top negative electrode material layer 1, see Fig. 1 above) in contact with the separator (14, Fig. 1 above, see [0030]), without an adhesive layer therebetween (see [0041] where the negative electrode material layer is on the surface of the negative electrode current collector therefore there is not adhesive layer between them), and an adhesive layer (adhesive layer, see [0074]) is formed between the separator (14, Fig. 1 above, see [0030], see [0074] where the adhesive layer is formed on both sides of the separator) and the positive electrode active material layer (positive electrode material layer 1, Fig. 1 above, see [0040], see [0074] wherein the adhesive layer is coated on both sides of the separator, therefore it is between the separator and the positive electrode material layer 1), and between the separator (14, Fig. 1 above, see [0030], see [0074] where the adhesive layer is formed on both sides of the separator) and the negative electrode active material layer (top negative electrode material layer, Fig. 1 above, see [0041], see [0074] wherein the adhesive layer is coated on both sides of the separator, therefore it is between the separator and the top negative electrode material layer 1), respectively but fails to teach wherein the first electrode composition in which a positive active material, a binder, and a conductive material are dry-mixed and wherein the second electrode composition in which a negative active material, a binder, and a conductive material are dry-mixed.
However, Yudi teaches a first electrode composition (electrode film mixture, see [0042]) in which a positive active material (cathode active material, see [0042]), a binder (binder, see [0042]) and a conductive material (conductive carbon additive, see [0042]) are dry-mixed (see [0042] wherein the mixing takes place with no solvents therefore dry mixed) and wherein a second electrode composition (mixture of components in anode electrode film, see [0061]) in which a negative active material (active material, see [0061]), a binder (binder, see [0061]), and a conductive material (conductive additive, see [0061]) are dry-mixed (see [0062] wherein the anode electrode film is a dry self-supporting electrode film, see [0042] wherein the negative electrode film is manufactured using the processes disclosed for the cathode, therefore it is also dry mixed) and further teaches wherein: the binder (binder, see [0042], see [0062]) comprises polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) (polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), see [0027]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kawai such that the composition of positive electrode material layer and the composition of the negative electrode material layer are formed such that the active material, binder and conductive aid are dry mixed and use polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) as the binder as taught by Yudi to improve performance, reduce binder loading while maintaining mechanical strength (see [0028] of Yudi), exhibit a higher C-rate (see [0046] of Yudi), and further enable manufacturing of self-standing films without the aid of a solvent (see [0027] of Yudi). Further Kawai teaches that modifications can be made (see [0065] of Kawai).
Regarding claim 3, Kawai in view of Yudi teaches wherein: at least one of the positive electrode current collector (positive electrode current collector 1, Fig. 1 above, see [0040]) and the negative electrode current collector (negative electrode current collector 1, Fig. 1 above, see [0041]) is formed of a planar sheet (sheet-shaped metal member, see [0050] where both current collectors are sheet-shaped metal member in form of a metal foil).
Regarding claim 7, Kawai in view of Yudi teaches wherein: a content of the binder (binder, see [0043]) contained in the first electrode composition (composition of positive electrode material layer, see [0043] describes the composition) is 1% by weight or more and 5% by weight or less (1.5% by weight, see [0067] gives a specific example of binder at 1.5% by weight based on a total weight of the first electrode composition (composition of positive electrode material layer, see [0043] describes the composition, see [0067] where active material, conductive aid, and binder make up 100% by weight), and a content of the binder (binder, see [0043]) contained in the second electrode composition (composition of negative electrode material layer, see [0043]) is 1% by weight or more and 5% by weight or less (2% by weight, see [0069] gives a specific example with binder being 2% by weight) based on a total weight of the second electrode composition (composition of negative electrode material layer, see [0043]).
Regarding claim 8, Kawai in view of Yudi teaches wherein: the binder (binder, see [0043]) comprises polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) (polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), see [0027] of Yudi, see modification above).
Regarding claim 9, Kawai in view of Yudi teaches wherein: a content of the positive electrode active material (positive electrode active material, see [0043]) contained in the first electrode composition (composition of positive electrode material layer, see [0043] describes the composition) is 90% by weight or more and 98% by weight or less (97.5% by weight, see [0067] gives a specific example) based on a total weight of the first electrode composition (composition of positive electrode material layer, see [0043] describes the composition).
Regarding claim 10, Kawai in view of Yudi teaches, wherein: the positive electrode active material (positive electrode active material, see [0043]) comprises at least one of lithium cobalt oxide (LiCoO.sub.2) (lithium cobalt oxide, see [0044]), lithium nickel oxide (LiNiO.sub.2) (lithium nickel oxide, see [0044]), lithium manganese oxide (LMO) (lithium manganese oxide, see [0044]), lithium copper oxide (Li.sub.2CuO.sub.2), vanadium oxide, a Ni-site type lithium nickel oxide, lithium manganese composite oxide, lithium manganese composite oxide having a spinel structure, LiMn.sub.2O.sub.4 in which a part of Li in formula is substituted with an alkaline earth metal ion, a disulfide compound; Fe.sub.2(MoO.sub.4).sub.3.
Regarding claim 11, Kawai in view of Yudi teaches wherein: a content of the negative active material (negative electrode active material, see [0043]) contained in the second electrode composition (composition of negative electrode material layer, see [0043]) is 90% by weight or more and 98% by weight or less (97.0% by weight, see [0069] gives a specific example) based on a total weight of the second electrode composition (composition of negative electrode material layer, see [0043]).
Regarding claim 12, Kawai in view of Yudi teaches wherein: the negative active material (negative electrode active material, see [0043]) comprises at least one of lithium metal, lithium alloy (lithium alloy, see [0047]), petroleum coke, activated carbon, graphite (graphite, see [0047]), silicon, tin, or a metal oxide (tin oxide/indium oxide/lithium oxide/zinc oxide, see [0047]).
Regarding claim 13, Kawai in view of Yudi fails to teach wherein: the positive active material layer and the negative active material layer are produced from a freestanding film, respectively.
However, Yudi further teaches wherein: the positive active material layer (cathode electrode film, see [0031]) and the negative active material layer (anode electrode film, see [0031]) are produced from a freestanding film, respectively (self-supporting, see [0031] wherein the anode and cathode electrode film are self-supporting which is free-standing).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kawai in view of Yudi such that the positive electrode material layer and the negative electrode material layer are formed into a free-standing film and therefore produced from a free-standing film as taught by Yudi for improved performance, improved first cycle efficiency, and reducing binder loading while maintaining mechanical strength (see [0028] of Yudi). Further Kawai in view of Yudi teaches that modifications can be made (see [0065] of Kawai).
Regarding claim 15, Kawai in view of Yudi teaches a battery cell (lithium ion secondary battery, see [0074]) comprising the electrode assembly (electrode assembly, Fig. 1 above, see [0074] where the battery comprises the structure illustrated in Fig. 1) as set forth in claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and at least one additional electrode assembly (electrode assembly 2, see Fig. 1 below, see electrode assembly 2 is the same structure as electrode assembly 1), so that at least two electrode assemblies are included (electrode assembly/electrode assembly 2, see Fig. 1 below where 2 electrode assemblies are included).
Regarding claim 16, Kawai in view of Yudi teaches wherein: the battery cell (lithium ion secondary battery, see [0074]) is formed by stacking the least two electrode assemblies (electrode assembly/electrode assembly 2, see Fig. 1 above where 2 electrode assemblies are included, see Fig. 1 above where the electrode assemblies are stacked), and the at least two electrode assemblies (electrode assembly/electrode assembly 2, see Fig. 1 above where 2 electrode assemblies are included) are disposed such that the positive active material layers (positive electrode material layer 1/positive electrode material 3, see Fig. 1 above, see [0040]) contained in each electrode assembly (electrode assembly/electrode assembly 2 respectively, see Fig. 1 above) face each other (see Fig. 1 above where the positive electrode material layer 1 faces down toward positive electrode active material layer 3, and positive electrode active material 3 faces up toward positive electrode active material layer 1) or the negative active material layers face each other.
Regarding claim 17, Kawai in view of Yudi teaches wherein: the at least two of the electrode assemblies (electrode assembly/electrode assembly 2, see Fig. 1 above where 2 electrode assemblies are included) are configured such that a positive electrode current collector (positive electrode current collector 2, Fig. 1 above) is stacked between the respective positive electrode active material layers (positive electrode material layer 1/positive electrode material 3, see Fig. 1 above where positive electrode current collector 2 is between the positive electrode material layer 1 and 3), and a negative electrode current collector (negative electrode current collector 1, see Fig. 1 above) is stacked between the respective negative electrode active material layers (top negative electrode material layer 1/bottom negative electrode material layer 2, see Fig. 1 above where the negative electrode current collector 1 is between the top negative electrode material layer 1 and the bottom negative electrode material layer 2).
4. Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (Pub. No. US 20200251786 A1) in view of Yudi et al. (US 20210098770 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (Pub. No. US 20160111729 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kawai in view of Yudi fails to teach wherein: at least one of the positive electrode current collector and the negative electrode current collector is formed of at least two or more linear sheets, the linear sheets are spaced apart from each other, and comprise at least one of a fibrous type, a rode type, or a thin plate type, and wherein the thin plate type defines a planar surface without any protrusions extending transversely therefrom.
However, Kim teaches wherein: at least one of the positive electrode current collector (100, Fig. 1A, see [0033], see [0014] wherein the positive electrode includes the current collector of the embodiments) and the negative electrode current collector (100, Fig. 1A, see [0035], see [0014] wherein the negative electrode includes the current collector of the embodiments) is formed of at least two or more linear sheets (10P_1, Fig. 1A, see [0050]), the linear sheets (10P_1, Fig. 1A, see [0050]) are spaced apart from each other (see Fig. 1A where each 10P_1 is spaced apart from each other, see [0054] they are linear patterns spaced apart from one another), and comprise at least one of a fibrous type, a rode type, or a thin plate type (see Fig. 1A, where each 10P_1 is a thin plate), and wherein the thin plate (see Fig. 1A, where each 10P_1 is a thin plate) type defines a planar surface without any protrusions extending transversely therefrom (see the top surface of 10P_1 is a planar surface with no protrusions extending transversely therefrom).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kawai in view of Yudi to substitute the positive electrode current collector and/or the negative electrode current collector as taught by Kawai in view of Yudi for the current collector 100 as taught by Kim to improve energy density, improve charging/discharging speed, and improve mechanical tensile strength (see [0015] of Kim). Further Kawai in view of Yudi teaches that modifications can be made (see [0065] of Kawai).
Regarding claim 5, Kawai in view of Yudi and further in view of Kim teaches wherein: the linear sheets (10P_1, Fig. 1A, see [0050] of Kim, see modifications above) have the same pattern as each other (see Fig. 1A of Kim where the 10P_1 all have the same pattern as each other, see modification above).
Regarding claim 6, Kawai in view of Yudi fails to teach wherein: at least one of the positive electrode current collector and the negative electrode current collector is formed of a fibrous sheet having a random arrangement.
However, Kim teaches a positive electrode current collector (100, Fig. 1A, see [0033], see [0126] wherein the collector can be applied to a cathode or anode) and a negative electrode current collector (100, Fig. 1A, see [0033], see [0126] wherein the collector can be applied to a cathode or anode) is formed of a fibrous sheet having a random arrangement (non-woven fabric current collector, see [0033] where 100 is a non-woven fabric current collector, see [0034] where the conductive fibers are randomly tangled).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kawai in view of Yudi to substitute the positive electrode current collector and/or the negative electrode current collector as taught by Kawai in view of Yudi for the non-woven fabric current collector as taught by Kim as an art effective equivalent current collector (see [0033] of Kim where the sheet replaces metal current collecting foils) to improve energy density, reduce internal resistance, and increase interface (see [0015] of Kim). Further Kawai in view of Yudi teaches that modifications can be made (see [0065] of Kawai).
5. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawai (Pub. No. US 20200251786 A1) in view of Yudi et al. (US 20210098770 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sakurai et al. (Pub. No. US 20220190441 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Kawai in view of Yudi fails to teach wherein: the adhesive layer has a porous structure.
However, Sakurai teaches wherein the adhesive layer (adhesive porous layer, see [0035]) has a porous structure (see [0035] where the adhesive porous layer is porous as denoted by the name adhesive porous layer).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kawai in view of Yudi such that the adhesive layer is formed to have a porous structure as taught by Sakurai to ensure the separator exhibits excellent adhesion to electrodes (see [0009] of Sakurai). Further Kawai in view of Yudi teaches that modifications can be made (see [0065] of Kawai).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 04/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicants’ arguments that Kawai nor Yudi teach a configuration wherein an adhesive layer is formed between the active material layer and the separator while no adhesive layer is formed between the current collector and the active material layer. The Examiner respectfully disagrees as seen in paragraph [0074] of Kawai the adhesive layer is coated on both sides of the separator, therefore it is between the separator and the positive electrode material layer 1, and between the separator and the top negative electrode material layer 1. Further, as seen in paragraphs [0040-0041] of Kawai the positive and negative active material layers are applied to the current collector directly, and even described in [0057] and [0068] of Yudi when the active material layer is dry mixed it is applied to the current collector with no description of an adhesive layer in between. Further see MPEP 2144.04 states omission of an element and its function is obvious if the function of the element is not desired.
In response to applicant's argument that having an adhesive layer between the separator and the positive and negative electrode active material layer while there is no adhesive layer between the positive and negative current collector and their respective active materials provides superior adhesive strength between the separator and the active material layer and the electron transfer between the current collector and the active material layer is smooth resulting in superior discharge capacity, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Regarding applicants’ argument that the amendments to claim 4 of the linear sheets spaced apart from each other and comprise at least one of a fibrous type, a rod type, or a thin plate type, and wherein the thin plate type defines a planar surface without any protrusions extending transversely therefrom structurally distinguished over the prior art. This argument is moot as the current rejection does not rely on the same combination or interpretation of references previously applied for claim 4.
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723