DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Claims 16-18, 21, 24-32, and 34-37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16, 18-21, and 24-33 of copending Application No. 18/030,681 (reference application).
Claims 16-18, 21, 24-32, and 34-37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-17, 19-20, and 24-33 of copending Application No. 18/030,655 (reference application).
Claims 16-18, 21, 24-32, and 34-37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-16, 18, 20, 23, and 25-32 of copending Application No. 18/030,670 (reference application).
Claims 16-18, 21, 24-32, and 34-37 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-16, 20-28, and 30-32 of copending Application No. 18/030,661 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of each of the copending applications are directed to substantially similar subject matter and any difference would have been obvious. Claim 16 of the copending 18/030,681 requiring a HIGH LOAD CAPACITY type renders obvious LI ≥ LI’ + 1 wherein LI’ being a load index of an EXTRA LOAD tire having a same size in accordance with standard ETRTO 2019 required by the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-18, 21, 24-31, and 34-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pirotte et al. (US 2015/0202924) in view of at least one of: Continental (https://www.continental.com/en/press/press-releases/2021-01-21-load-index-code/), Murata (US 2010/0212795), and Yukawa (US 2009/0277551), and Yoshimi (US 2012/0247639).
Regarding claim 16-18, 24, and 30, FIG. 6 teaches a tire-rim assembly wherein the tire for a passenger vehicle comprising a crown, two beads, two sidewalls, a carcass reinforcement, a crown reinforcement, and a tread (FIG.3 and [0002]).
Pirotte et al. teaches a tire having a load index LI lying in the range between 65 and 105 and satisfying the following inequality:
OD/SW > -.00082641 LI2 + 0.11266 LI – 0.185 (abstract).
Pirotte et al. does not recite the claimed tire sizes. However, Continental discloses a tire size of HL 245/40R19 101 Y. Murata teaches a known passenger car tire size being 255/40R20 [0082]. Yukawa teaches a tire size of 245/35R20 [0022]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tire Pirotte et al. with the claimed tire size/dimension and load because (1) Pirotte et al. teaches a tire for a passenger car vehicle having a load index L1 ranging between 65 and 105 and OD/SW > -.00082641 LI2 + 0.11266 LI – 0.185, (2) Continental, Murata, and Yukawa each teaches a known tire size for passenger car vehicle, and (3) providing a known and suitable tire size for a passenger car vehicle for the tire of Pirotte et al. yields predictable results.
Continental teaches HL (HIGH LOAD CAPACITY) tire size 245/40R19 101 Y which satisfies Pirotte et al.’s load rating and OD/SW relationship; H = 245 x 40/ 100 = 98 and H/LI = 98/101 = 0.97,
Murata teaches a tire size of 255/40R20 having SW = 255 mm, OD = 711 mm, and OD/SW = 711/255 ≈ 2.8. Pirotte et al. teaches an OD/SW inequality should have a load capacity between 65 and 105. For a load capacity of LI =104, OD/SW > 2.6. H = 255 x 40 / 100 = 102. H/LI = 102/104 = 0.98. Murata teaches a tire size for a passenger vehicle which satisfies Pirotte et al. requirement of OD/SW.
Yukawa teaches a tire size of 245/35R20 having SW = 245 mm, OD = 681 mm, and OD/SW = 681/245 ≈ 2.8. Pirotte et al. teaches an OD/SW inequality should have a load capacity between 65 and 105. For a load capacity of LI = 105, OD/SW > 2.5. H = 245 x 35 / 100 = 85.75. H/LI = 85.75/105 ≈ 0.82. Yukawa teaches a tire size for a passenger vehicle which satisfies Pirotte et al. requirement of OD/SW.
As to the claimed ratio of T2/A, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tire of Pirotte et al. with 0.90 ≤ T2/A ≤ 1.00 and 0.93 ≤ T2/A ≤ 1.00 because FIG. 3 of Pirotte et al. illustrates the narrowest working layer 90 and a bead portion, FIG. 6 of Pirotte et al. shows the tire mounted on the rim; such that, Pirotte et al.’s tire should necessarily satisfy the claimed relationship.
FIG. 3 of Pirotte et al. teaches a single carcass layer but is silent to the claimed reinforcing elements of the single carcass layer. Yoshimi, directed to the same field of endeavor of passenger car tires, teaches a carcass including one or more carcass plies [0012] reinforced with polyester cords (i.e. organic fiber/textile fiber) wherein TABLE 1 teaches several examples of the thickness of the carcass cord (diameter) being 0.77 mm, 0.78 mm, 0.80 mm, and 0.81 mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the tire of Pirotte et al. with carcass cords having a diameter ≤ 1.10 mm because Yoshimi teaches carcass cords having a diameter value; such as, 0.77 mm, 0.78 mm, 0.80 mm, and 0.81 mm and providing a suitable diameter for the same tire constituent of the same type of tire yields predictable results.
As to the claimed SW and T2 relationship (i.e. last two lines of claim 16), this claimed relationship would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because FIG. 3 of Pirotte et al. illustrates a proportional relationship between the narrowest working layer 90 (T2) and tire width (SW) and Continental, Murata, and Yukawa each teaches a known tire size having a tire width.
Regarding claim 21, see [0045] of Pirotte et al.
Regarding claim 25, Pirotte et al. is silent to the inflation pressure being from 200 kPa to 350 kPa; however, this inflation pressure in the passenger vehicle tire of Pirotte et al. would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because [0036] of Pirotte teaches the conditions of use of the tire is defined by the ETRTO standard including the inflation pressure, Murata teaches a tire for a passenger car mounted on a rim under an inner pressure of 230 kPa [0083]; alternatively, Yukawa teaches a tire for passenger car mounted on a rim and inflated to an internal pressure of 200 kPa [0037].
Regarding claims 26-28 and 34, see [0038] of Pirotte et al. The reinforcing elements orientated circumferentially and spirally wound render obvious an angle of less than or equal to 10 degrees.
Regarding claim 29, Pirotte et al. teaches a radial carcass and refer to [0060] of Yukawa.
Regarding claim 31, see FIG. 3 of Pirotte et al.
Regarding claim 35, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the mounted assembly of Pirotte et al. to a passenger vehicle since Pirotte et al. teaches a tire for a passenger vehicle.
Regarding claims 36-37, refer to the rejection of claim 16. Pirotte et al. does not recite: a carcass reinforcement comprising first and second carcass layers, each first and second carcass layer being delimited axially by two axial edges of each first and second carcass layer, and textile carcass filamentary reinforcement element of each first and second carcass layer, each textile carcass filamentary reinforcing element of each first and second carcass layer having a diameter D1 and D2 respectively such that D1 and D2 ≤ 0.90 mm. However, Yoshimi, directed to the same field of endeavor of passenger car tires, teaches a carcass including one or more carcass plies [0012] reinforced with polyester cords (i.e. organic fiber/textile fiber) wherein TABLE 1 teaches several examples of the thickness of the carcass cord (claimed diameter) being 0.77 mm, 0.78 mm, 0.80 mm, and 0.81 mm. Yoshimi explicitly contemplates two or more carcasses [0020]. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide first and second carcass layers in the tire of Pirotte et al. wherein the carcass cords of each layer has a diameter of D1 and D2 ≤ 0.90 mm because Yoshimi teaches two carcass layers and carcass cords having a diameter value; such as, 0.77 mm, 0.78 mm, 0.80 mm, and 0.81 mm and providing known carcass configuration and a suitable diameter for the same tire constituent of the same type of tire yields predictable results.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pirotte et al. (US 2015/0202924) in view of at least one of: Continental (https://www.continental.com/en/press/press-releases/2021-01-21-load-index-code/), Murata (US 2010/0212795), and Yukawa (US 2009/0277551), and Yoshimi (US 2012/0247639), as applied to claim 16, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2020/0324582).
Regarding claim 32, Pirotte et al. is silent to each axial end of the single carcass layer arranged radially on an inside of each radially outer end of each circumferential reinforcing element of each bead. However, providing this claimed feature in the tire of Pirotte et al. would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because Kim et al. demonstrates a pneumatic radial tire for a passenger car comprising a carcass layer with turn up portions each terminating within a height of a bead core is well-known (FIG. 4, reference character 31, and [0017]) and providing known carcass configuration for the same type of tires yields predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered and are moot the new ground of rejection applied in this office action.
Conclusion
/KENDRA LY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749