DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/10/25 has been considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 12/8/25. Claim 1 is amended. The rejection of claim 1 over Yamamoto is withdrawn in light of the amendment; however, a new rejection is made in view of Kim, below. Claim 8 is added. Claims 1-8 are rejected finally for the reasons provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US 2015/0214559) in view of Kim (US 2020/0331212).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto teaches a membrane electrode unit, or MEA (20), for an electrochemical cell (10), wherein the MEA comprises a frame structure (40, 60) for accommodating a membrane (21) coated with electrodes (23, 24), wherein the frame structure comprises first and second films, or gaskets (40, 60), between which an adhesive (90) is disposed (Figures 1-3).
Yamamoto further teaches that the films are melted together, via the adhesive which is a hot-melt adhesive, in bonded portions (81, 82) (Figure 5, [0051]).
Further regarding claim 1, Yamamoto teaches gas diffusion layers (23,24), but is silent on the use of adhesive to arrange the layers on sides of the frame structure.
Kim teaches a membrane-electrode unit, or membrane-electrode assembly (MEA) (3), wherein the MEA (3) comprises a frame structure, or subgasket (4d), and wherein gas diffusion layers (5, 7) are arranged on first and second sides of the frame structure (4d) via further adhesives, or adhesive layers (9) (Figure 2, [0066]-[0075]).
Kim further teaches that providing the further adhesive (9), which is an ultrasonic adhesive, for adhering the diffusion layers (5, 7) to the frame (4d) is desirable for inhibiting the electrolyte membrane of the MEA bas material from being thermally deformed ([0151]), fand for reducing consumption and cost of the further adhesive ([0152]).
It is additionally seen in Figure 2 of Kim that the frame extends beyond the gas diffusion layer, therefore the bonding region protrudes outwards from the further adhesive.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to adhere the gas diffusion layers to the frame of Yamamoto such as suggested by Kim for the reasons discussed above.
As for claims 2-3 and 7, Yamamoto teaches that each of the films, or gaskets, are PEN ([0050]).
Regarding claims 4-5, Yamamoto teaches that the gaskets are bonded over a circumference of the active region (Figure 5). It is seen in Figure 1 that a distribution region, or gas diffusion layers (24, 25), are provided within the circumferential bonding area.
With regard to claim 6, Yamamoto teaches producing the MEA discussed above by melting the films together by a hot punch, or thermal fusing operation with pressing device (123) (Figure 8B, [0081]).
Regarding claim 8, the method by which the depression is formed is considered a product-by-process limitation and therefore is not given patentable weight per MPEP 2113. Specifically, the examiner notes that the method of forming the depression as claimed does not appear to have any specific effect on the overall structure of the membrane-electrode unit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 12/8/58, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim 1 under Yamamoto have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim, as discussed above, for obviating the newly added limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALIX E EGGERDING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729