DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
This action is written in response to applicant’s correspondence received 20 April 2026. Claims 1-8, 10-11, 14-16, 20, and 22-30 are currently pending. Claims 7-8, 10-11, 14-16, 20, and 30 are withdrawn from prosecution as being drawn to non-elected subject matter. Accordingly, claims 1-6 and 22-29 are examined herein. The restriction requirement mailed 10 October 2025 is still deemed proper. Applicant's elected Group I without traverse in the reply filed 8 December 2025.
Any rejection or objection not reiterated herein has been overcome by amendment.
Applicant' s amendments have been thoroughly reviewed, but are not persuasive to place the
claims in condition for allowance for the reasons that follow.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1, 22, and 25, it is noted that the instant specification teaches that “Cas10d used in the present invention may be a polypeptide containing at least the N-terminal HD domain. For example, the Cas10d may be the full-length Cas10d protein, a polypeptide containing a region extending from the N-terminal HD domain to one or more C-terminal α-helix regions of Cas10d, or a polypeptide containing the N- terminal HD domain of Cas10d and lacking one or more C-terminal α-helix regions of Cas10d. The Cas10d may lack all of the C- terminal α-helix regions. As used herein, the term ‘Cas10d’ includes the full-length Cas10d polypeptide and Cas10d fragments containing the N-terminal HD domain as described above” (Instant specification; [0023]).
Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, part (i) of claims 1, 22, and 25 are interpreted as being directed towards CRISPR type I-D proteins Cas5d, Cas6d, Cas7d, and a Cas10d fragment comprising only an N-terminal HD domain.
Applicable Prior Art
Additionally, it is noted that the instant specification teaches that background art applicable to the instant application includes the subsequently referenced McBride reference in this Office Action ([0004]-[0011]). Further, the IDS filed 24 May 2023 teaches that the McBride reference was first available online 11/27/2020.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code in paragraph [0011]. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. This is a new rejection necessitated by amendment.
Regarding claims 4 and 28, the claims recite that the C-terminal partial sequence of Cas10d comprises an amino acid sequence consisting of 100-400 amino acids (see Claims 4 and 28). However, claim 1 (i.e., the claim from which both claims 4 and 28 ultimately depend) already recites that the C-terminal partial sequence of Cas10d contains 135-170 amino acids (see Claim 1). Therefore, claims 4 and 28 fail to further limit the subject matter of claim 1 because claim 1 already defines the length of the C-terminal partial sequence as falling within the broader ranges recited in claims 4 and 28.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 22-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osakabe (PG Pub No: CA 3,073,372, published 19 February 2019) in view of McBride ("Diverse CRISPR-Cas complexes require independent translation of small and large subunits from a single gene." Molecular cell 80.6 (2020): 971-979). This is a new rejection necessitated by amendment.
Regarding claims 1, 22, and 25, Osakabe is drawn towards a method for targeting a target nucleotide sequence (Abstract). Osakabe teaches a method for altering a target nucleotide sequence on the genomic DNA of a eukaryotic cell, the method comprising introducing into the eukaryotic cell an expression vector encoding (i) CRISPR type I-D associated proteins Cas3d, Cas5d, Cas6d, Cas7d and Cas10d, and (ii) a guide RNA comprising a sequence complementary to a target nucleotide sequence, and common repetitive sequences derived from a CRISPR locus, preceding and following the complementary sequence (i.e., a crRNA) ([0061]; pg. 70; see Claims 1, 6, and 8). Osakabe teaches the use of a plasmid encoding the Cas3d, Cas5d, Cas6d, Cas7d, Cas10d, and a crRNA (pg. 12; see FIG. 2). Osakabe teaches that the method may be performed in vitro or in vivo (i.e., the target nucleotide sequence may be isolated and present within a target cell) ([0026]).
Osakabe does not teach or suggest the use of a polypeptide consisting of a C-terminal partial sequence of Cas10d that does not contain the N-terminal HD domain of Cas10d and contains 135-170 amino acids from the C-terminus of the full-length amino acid sequence (Claims 1, 22, and 25).
McBride is drawn towards a study concerned with the characterization of a previously uncharacterized type I-D CRISPR system (Abstract). McBride teaches the co-expression of Cas3′, Cas10d, Cas7d, Cas5d, and Cas6d from Synechocystis with the first repeat-spacer-repeat of the associated CRISPR array in E. coli (pg. 972; Figure 1A). McBride teaches that the C-terminus of Cas10d, a subunit referred to as “Cas11d”, results from an internal translational initiation site present within Cas10d (pg. 973; see Figure 2A). McBride teaches that Cas11d maps to residues 830-975 of Cas10d (i.e., Cas11d is 146 amino acids in length) (pg. e4). McBride teaches that a Cas10d construct lacking the Cas11d subunit, termed “ΔCas11d”, (i.e., a Cas10d N-terminal fragment reading on the claimed Cas10d protein as discussed above in the “Claim Interpretation”) only showed DNA binding comparable to the wildtype Cas10d when a complementation with Cas11d expressed from a separate plasmid restored the protein constituents of the wild-type complex (pg. 973).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the nucleic acid encoding the Cas10d of Osakabe for the ΔCas11d construct of McBride (i.e., a construct that comprises nucleic acids encoding the claimed Cas10d protein as described above), alongside the expression of a separate plasmid expressing Cas11d because it would have merely amounted to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Because McBride teaches that the Cas11d subunit can be expressed from a second nucleic acid and associate with the Cas10d protein lacking the Cas11d subunit in order to restore wildtype binding affinities of the CRISPR system, one would have expected that utilizing the nucleic acids encoding the ΔCas11d protein and Cas11d protein to have behaved identically to the Cas10d protein present within the method of Osakabe when expressed. Additionally, because both references teach the use of nucleic acids encoding the Cas10d proteins, one would have expected the substitution to have predictably resulted in the successful expression of the ΔCas11d protein and Cas11d protein, wherein the expression results in wildtype Cas10d activity.
Regarding claims 2 and 26, Osakabe teaches the use of a Cas3d protein ([0061]; pg. 70; see Claim 6).
Regarding claims 3 and 27, Osakabe teaches that the method can be utilized to alter gene expression via transcriptional activation or inactivation ([0085]).
Regarding claims 4 and 28, McBride teaches that the Cas11d subunit is 146 amino acids in length (pg. e4).
Regarding claims 5 and 29, Osakabe teaches that the method can be performed in a eukaryotic cell ([0015]).
Regarding claim 6, Osakabe teaches that the alternation can be a deletion, insertion, or substitution ([0036]).
Regarding claim 23, Osakabe teaches that the method may be performed in a plant cell ([0015]).
Regarding claim 24, Osakabe teaches that the method may be performed in a non-human animal cell ([0015]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 22, and 28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,012,596 in view of McBride ("Diverse CRISPR-Cas complexes require independent translation of small and large subunits from a single gene." Molecular cell 80.6 (2020): 971-979). This is a new rejection necessitated by amendment.
Regarding claims 1, 22, and 25, patented claim 1 claims a method for altering a target nucleotide sequence, the method comprising (a) introducing into a cell: (i) one or more expression cassettes comprising nucleic acids encoding CRISPR type I-D associated proteins Cas3d, Cas5d, Cas6d, Cas7d and Cas10d, and (ii) a guide RNA comprising (1) a sequence complementary to the target nucleotide sequence and (2) common repetitive sequences derived from a CRISPR locus, preceding and following the complementary sequence, or a DNA encoding the guide RNA (see patented Claim 1).
Patented claim 1 does not claim the use of a polypeptide consisting of a C-terminal partial sequence of Cas10d that does not contain the N-terminal HD domain of Cas10d and contains 135-170 amino acids from the C-terminus of the full-length amino acid sequence (Claims 1, 22, and 25).
The applicable teachings of McBride are discussed above as applied to claims 1, 22, and 25.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for the same reasons as discussed above in the currently pending 35 USC 103 rejections of record of claims 1-6 and 22-29 to have substituted the nucleic acid encoding the Cas10d of Osakabe for the ΔCas11d construct of McBride (i.e., a construct that comprises nucleic acids encoding the claimed Cas10d protein as described above), alongside the expression of a separate plasmid expressing Cas11d.
Regarding claims 2 and 26, patented claim 1 claim the use of a Cas3d protein.
Regarding claims 4 and 28, McBride teaches that the Cas11d subunit is 146 amino acids in length (pg. e4).
Regarding claim 6, patented claim 3 claims that the alternation can be a deletion, insertion, or substitution.
Claims 3, 5, 23-27, and 29 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,012,596 in view of McBride ("Diverse CRISPR-Cas complexes require independent translation of small and large subunits from a single gene." Molecular cell 80.6 (2020): 971-979) as described above, further in view of Osakabe (PG Pub No: CA 3,073,372, published 19 February 2019). This is a new rejection necessitated by amendment.
Regarding claims 3, 5, 23-27, and 29, claims 1 and 3 of US Patent No. 12,012,596 in view of McBride renders obvious claims 1-2, 4, 6, 22, 25-26, and 28 as described above.
Regarding claims 3 and 27, claims 1 and 3 of US Patent No. 12,012,596 in view of McBride does not teach or suggest that the method can be utilized to alter gene expression via transcriptional activation or inactivation (Claims 3 and 27).
The applicable teachings of Osakabe are discussed above as applied to claims 1-6 and 22-29.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modify the method rendered obvious by claims 1 and 3 of US Patent No. 12,012,596 in view of McBride such that the method was utilized to alter gene expression via transcriptional activation or inactivation, as described by Osakabe, because it would have merely amounted to a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Because both the patented claims and Osakabe teach the use of CRISPR type I-D systems for the targeting and editing of nucleic acids of interest within cells, one would have expected modifying the method of the patented claims such that it transcriptionally activated or inactivated a target gene would have predictably resulted in the modulation of the genes expression. And because Osakabe teaches that the system can be used to control gene expression of a gene of interest, one would have been motivated to have modified the patented method to have done so.
Regarding claims 5 and 29, claims 1 and 3 of US Patent No. 12,012,596 in view of McBride does not teach or suggest that the method can be performed in a eukaryotic cell (Claims 5 and 29). Regarding claim 23, claims 1 and 3 of US Patent No. 12,012,596 in view of McBride does not teach or suggest that the method can be performed in a plant cell (Claim 23). Regarding claim 24, claims 1 and 3 of US Patent No. 12,012,596 in view of McBride does not teach or suggest that the method can be performed in a non-human animal cell (Claim 24). Regarding claims 25-26, claims 1 and 3 of US Patent No. 12,012,596 in view of McBride does not teach or suggest that the method can be utilized to bring the system into contact with an isolated nucleic acid (Claims 25-26).
The applicable teachings of Osakabe are discussed above as applied to claims 1-6 and 22-29.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the cell rendered obvious by claims 1 and 3 of US Patent No. 12,012,596 in view of McBride for a eukaryotic cell, a plant cell, a non-human animal cell, or an in vitro environment, as described by Osakabe, because it would have merely amounted to simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Because both Osakabe and the patented claims teach that the type I-D system can be used in different environments and cells, one would have expected modifying the patented method such that the system was introduced into the claimed environments to have successfully resulted in the editing of a target nucleic acid within the environments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the previously utilized Lin reference in the previous rejection of claim(s) 1-6 and 22-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Insofar as Applicant’s arguments pertain to the newly recited 35 USC 103 and double patenting rejections of record, Applicant alleges that the references do not teach the expression of a Cas10d protein and a polypeptide consisting of a C-terminal, partial sequence of type I-D Cas10d for targeting a target nucleotide sequence (Remarks; pg. 2-3).
This argument is not found persuasive because, as discussed above, the instant specification teaches that “Cas10d used in the present invention may be a polypeptide containing at least the N-terminal HD domain. For example, the Cas10d may be the full-length Cas10d protein, a polypeptide containing a region extending from the N-terminal HD domain to one or more C-terminal α-helix regions of Cas10d, or a polypeptide containing the N- terminal HD domain of Cas10d and lacking one or more C-terminal α-helix regions of Cas10d. The Cas10d may lack all of the C- terminal α-helix regions. As used herein, the term ‘Cas10d’ includes the full-length Cas10d polypeptide and Cas10d fragments containing the N-terminal HD domain as described above” (Instant specification; [0023]).
Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims, part (i) of claims 1 and 22 are interpreted as being directed towards CRISPR type I-D proteins Cas5d, Cas6d, Cas7d, and a Cas10d fragment comprising only an N-terminal HD domain as rendered obvious by the combination of Osakabe and McBride.
Applicant alleges that the instant specification provides the unexpected result of the C-terminal partial sequence of Cas10d alongside the Cas10d protein resulted in a 2.5 fold increase in genome editing activity compared to the genome editing activity of Cas3d, Cas5d, Cas6d, Cas7d, and Cas10d alone (Remarks; pg. 5).
This argument is not found persuasive because McBride teaches that a Cas10d construct lacking the Cas11d subunit, termed “ΔCas11d”, (i.e., a Cas10d N-terminal fragment reading on the claimed Cas10d protein as discussed above in the “Claim Interpretation”) only showed DNA binding comparable to the wildtype Cas10d when a complementation with Cas11d expressed from a separate plasmid restored the protein constituents of the wild-type complex (pg. 973). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected that the expression of the C-terminal partial sequence to result in an increased in genome editing because McBride teaches that the C-terminal partial sequence is required by the ΔCas11d construct in order to bind to DNA.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE T REGA/Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/NEIL P HAMMELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1636