DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-9 are pending:
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected.
Claims 5-8 have been withdrawn.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IN202021043600, filed on 10/07/2020.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5-8 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/24/2025.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged.
On pgs. 8-9 of Applicant’s arguments, Applicant argues that:
The Applicant respectfully submits that Heinzl and McGinnis, neither alone nor in combination, teaches or suggests the limitations:
a) A gasket (22, 23) is positioned adjacent to the modular frame (20) to provide a sealing between the modular frame with another frame.
b) A distance bar (21) extending away from a periphery of the modular frame (20), wherein the distance bar (21) is configured to provide a predefined gap between two modular frames (20) for flow without welding, and to maintain the gasket (22, 23) in a compressed position up to an extent level between two modular frames.
c) The outer section (1) further comprises an outer frame (27) and an inner frame (26), wherein a plurality of cross-members (40) are positioned between outer frame (27) and an inner frame (26).
d) The active section (3) further comprises a grid (14) consisting of a plurality of flow channels.
e) The flow section (2) further comprises at least one internal flow passage (15,16) and at least one external flow passage (17, 18), wherein the at least one internal flow passage (15, 16) and the at least one external flow passage (17, 18) are connected to the grid (14) in the active section (3).
Hence, the Applicant respectfully submits that Heinzl and McGinnis, either alone, or in combination, fails to disclose, teach or suggest at least these features of claim 1. Therefore, Heinzl and McGinnis, either alone or in combination, fail to disclose, teach or suggest all the features of Claim 1. Claims 2-4 and new claim 9 depend from independent claim 1 and therefore include each and every patentable feature of claim 1. Accordingly, the Applicant respectfully requests favorable consideration and allowance of the claims 1-4 and 9.
This is not found persuasive because McGinnis teaches the claimed gasket and distance bar. The silicon seal 47 shown in Fig. 4C of McGinnis reads on the claimed gasket and distance bar (see annotated Fig. 4M below); additionally, McGinnis teaches that the seal includes compressible or adhesive sealing materials (see ¶57 of McGinnis). Additionally, the claims nor the instant specification restricts gaskets to exclude seals. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
[AltContent: textbox (distance bar)][AltContent: arrow]
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. IN202021043600, filed on 10/07/2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinzl (WO 2019/233611) in view of McGinnis (US 2015/014232).
Regarding claim 1, Heinzl teaches a modular frame (20) (condensation/evaporation element 101, see ABS) for use in a fluid separation system, comprising: at least three sections between an outer edge and an inner area of the modular frame (see Figs. 2-3), wherein three sections comprise an outer section (1) (openings 14, 15), a flow section (2) (central inner region 40), and an active section (3) (channels 17, 18), wherein the flow section (2) is positioned between the outer section (1), and the active section (3) (see Figs. 2-3)…
the outer section (1) further comprises an outer frame (27) (outer frame 39) and an inner frame (26) (inner frame 43), wherein a plurality of cross-members (40) are positioned between outer frame (27) and an inner frame (26) (see Fig. 2); the active section (3) further comprises a grid (14) consisting of a plurality of flow channels (drain channel openings 22c and these openings 22c are in the form of a grid); and the flow section (2) further comprises at least one internal flow passage (15, 16) and at least one external flow passage (17, 18) (the flow path is implied in Figs. 4A-4C), wherein the at least one internal flow passage (15, 16) and the at least one external flow passage (17, 18) are connected to the grid (14) in the active section (3) (see Figs. 4A-4C).
Heinzl does not teach a gasket (22, 23) is positioned adjacent to the modular frame (20) to provide a sealing between the modular frame with another frame; a distance bar (21) extending away from a periphery of the modular frame (20),wherein the distance bar (21) is configured to provide a predefined gap between two modular frames (20) for flow without welding, and to maintain the gasket (22, 23) in a compressed position up to an extent level between two modular frames.
In a related field of endeavor, McGinnis teaches a membrane module (see ABS) comprising a gasket (22, 23) (silicon seal 47) is positioned adjacent to the modular frame (20) to provide a sealing between the modular frame with another frame (see Fig. 4C of silicon seal 47 in groove frame which is provided as an alternative too welding; see ¶38); and a distance bar (21) (see annotated Fig. 4M below) extending away from a periphery of the modular frame (20), wherein the distance bar (21) is configured to provide a pre- defined gap between two modular frames (20) for flow without welding, and to maintain the gasket (22, 23) in a compressed position up to an extent level between two modular frames (see ¶38).
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (distance bar)]
It would have been obvious to one ordinary of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify to Heinzl by including the gasket and distance bar as disclosed by McGinnis because the combination of elements creates a reliable seal between two surfaces for the benefit of preventing leaks and protecting components from contaminants.
Regarding claim 2, Heinzl and McGinnis teach the modular frame (20) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the inner frame (26) has a plurality of bends positioned along an entire periphery of the inner frame (26) (Heinzl, i.e. inner frame 43), each bend is positioned at a pre-set distance with an angle on the periphery of the inner frame (26), positioned at a distance with an angle on the periphery of the inner frame (26) (Heinzl, i.e. inner frame 43).
Regarding claim 3, Heinzl and McGinnis teach the modular frame (20) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the flow section (2) further comprises a plurality of chambers (4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 and 13) positioned adjacent to each other (Heinzl, the central inner region 40 may comprise grid-like spacer, see ¶354).
Regarding claim 4, Heinzl and McGinnis teach the modular frame (20) as claimed in claim 1, wherein the modular frame (20) further comprises a groove (24) configured to receive the gasket (22, 23) (McGinnis, silicon seal 47 is in a groove in Fig. 4C).
Regarding claim 9, Heinzl and McGinnis teach the modular frame (20) as claimed in claim 1, wherein a plurality of modular frames (20) (Heinzl, first and second frames 101, 102) are fastened together without welding, forming a fluid separation system (Heinzl, modular stack).
Heinzl further discloses welding as an exemplary means to combine the modular stack, but does not explicitly teach fastened together without welding however Heinzl does not particularly limit fastening methods to welding; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the fastening means of Heinzl with a fastening means without welding as conventionally known in the art because it is the simple substitution of one known means with another known means without welding for the benefit of providing an assembly that is cost-effective, high flexibility and easily repairable. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
Conclusion
/EKANDRA S. MILLER-CRUZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773