DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 12/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant stated that Chae only teaches frequency multiplexing of PSCCH and PSSCH (paragraph page 6 to page 7, citing Chae [0093])
However, Chae teaches monitoring an indicator resource set, (“[0098] For example, the UE may decode a PSCCH including information about the cycle of reserved resources within the sensing window and measure PSSCH RSRP on periodic resources determined based on the PSCCH. The UE may exclude resources with PSCCH RSRP more than a threshold from the selection window.) configured prior to said resource pool; ([0098] “Thereafter, the UE may randomly select sidelink resources from the remaining resources in the selection window.” See Fig. 7 where sensing Window, sensing window including PSSCH is before the selection window for data transmission and new packet transmission for data retransmission)
This mapping, though different from the previous office action, is not a new ground of rejection, but to clarify Chae’s teaching.
Regarding the argument on page 7, that Chae does not teach data channel in the resource pool identified “based on the indicator signal”. The argument is not persuasive because nowhere in the claim recites that the data channel in the resource pool is identified based on an identifier associated with said UE. The claim at most claims “identifying, based on the received indicator signal, a data channel” without specifically relied on an identifier associated said UE.
For the reasons above, the argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 10, 13-14, 17-18 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CHAE; Hyukjin et al. US PGPUB 20210266212 A1.
Regarding claim 1. Chae teaches A method carried out in a user equipment (UE) for monitoring a resource pool configured for direct device-to-device communication, ([0091] FIG. 5 shows an example of a first UE (UE1), a second UE (UE2) and a resource pool used by UE1 and UE2 performing sidelink communication.) comprising:
monitoring an indicator resource set, (“[0098] For example, the UE may decode a PSCCH including information about the cycle of reserved resources within the sensing window and measure PSSCH RSRP on periodic resources determined based on the PSCCH. The UE may exclude resources with PSCCH RSRP more than a threshold from the selection window.) configured prior to said resource pool; ([0098] “Thereafter, the UE may randomly select sidelink resources from the remaining resources in the selection window.” See Fig. 7 where sensing Window, sensing window including PSSCH is before the selection window for data transmission and new packet transmission for data retransmission)
upon receiving, in the monitored indicator resource set, an indicator signal comprising an identifier associated with said UE, ([0087] SCI format 0 may be used for scheduling the PSSCH. SCI format 0 may include … a group destination ID (8 bits), etc.)
identifying, based on the received indicator signal, a data channel ([0085] After transmitting the SCI to UE 2 over the PSCCH, UE 1 may transmit data based on the SCI over the PSSCH) in the resource pool. ([0093] The sidelink data channel (or, physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)) corresponds to a resource pool used by a transmitting UE to transmit user data.)
Regarding claim 2. Chae teaches The method of claim 1, comprising: decoding the indicator signal ([0098] For example, the UE may decode a PSCCH including information about the cycle of reserved resources within the sensing window and measure PSSCH RSRP on periodic resources determined based on the PSCCH.) to detect said identifier. ([0087] SCI format 0 may be used for scheduling the PSSCH. SCI format 0 may include… a group destination ID (8 bits), etc.)
Regarding claim 3. Chae teaches The method of claim 1, wherein said indicator resource set comprises a preconfigured number of indicator resources. ([0087] SCI format 0 may be used for scheduling the PSSCH. SCI format 0 may include a frequency hopping flag (1 bit), a resource block allocation and hopping resource allocation field (the number of bits may vary depending on the number of sidelink RBs), a time resource pattern (7 bits),)
Regarding claim 4. Chae teaches The method of claim 3, comprising: decoding each indicator resource of the indicator resource set, to detect said identifier. ([0196] a plurality of resources may be configured. In this case, a specific resource may be selected from among the plurality of configured resources i) through sensing of the Tx UE and/or Rx UE, ii) by the implementation of the Tx UE and/or Rx UE, or iii) by the ID of the Tx UE and/or Rx UE. For example, the sensing of the Rx UE may mean detecting (or discovering) a plurality of other Rx UEs transmitting feedback signals (or feedback information) or detecting (or discovering) signals (or information) transmitted (or broadcast) from the plurality of other Rx UEs)
Regarding claim 10. Chae teaches The method of claim 1, wherein said identifier identifies a group of UEs to which said UE belongs. ([0087] SCI format 0 may be used for scheduling the PSSCH. SCI format 0 may include … a group destination ID (8 bits), etc.)
Regarding claim 13. Chae teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the indicator resource set is monitored with a first, low-power, receiver, comprising: waking up a main receiver for reception in the data channel responsive to the indicator signal comprising the identifier associated with said UE. ([0122] A similar setup can be done for each home, where temperature sensors, window and heating controllers, burglar alarms, and home appliances are all connected wirelessly. Many of these sensors are typically characterized by low data rate, low power, and low cost,)
Regarding claim 14. Chae teaches The method of claim 1, wherein upon not receiving, in the monitored indicator resource set, any indicator signal comprising an identifier associated with said UE, not proceeding with signal reception in the resource pool. ([0393] An SA SCI may carry a UE sidelink ID or a pair ID for a unicast, e.g., SL-C-RNTI-1 for a first UE, SL-C-RNTI-2 for a second UE, or SL-C-RNTI-p for the pair. With the proper ID(s), a UE may detect and decode a desired SA SCI for the transmitted data.)
Regarding claim 17. Chae teaches A method carried out in a user equipment (UE), for transmitting data to a recipient device using a resource pool configured for direct device-to-device communication, comprising:
encoding said data onto a data channel of the resource pool; ([0093] sidelink data channel except SA information may be transmitted only in a resource pool for the sidelink data channel. In other word, REs, which are used to transmit SA information in a specific resource unit of an SA resource pool, may also be used for transmitting sidelink data in a sidelink data channel resource pool.) and
transmitting, in an indicator resource set ,configured prior to said resource pool; ([0098] For example, the UE may decode a PSCCH including information about the cycle of reserved resources within the sensing window and measure PSSCH RSRP on periodic resources determined based on the PSCCH. The UE may exclude resources with PSCCH RSRP more than a threshold from the selection window….Thereafter, the UE may randomly select sidelink resources from the remaining resources in the selection window.” See Fig. 7 where sensing Window, sensing window including PSSCH is before the selection window for data transmission and new packet transmission for data retransmission),
an indicator signal comprising an identifier of said recipient device, ([0087] SCI format 0 may be used for scheduling the PSSCH. SCI format 0 may include … a group destination ID (8 bits), etc.)
wherein said indicator signal is configured to identify said data channel ([0085] After transmitting the SCI to UE 2 over the PSCCH, UE 1 may transmit data based on the SCI over the PSSCH)
Regarding claim 18. Chae teaches The method of claim 17, wherein said indicator resource set comprises a preconfigured number of indicator resources. ([0087] SCI format 0 may be used for scheduling the PSSCH. SCI format 0 may include a frequency hopping flag (1 bit), a resource block allocation and hopping resource allocation field (the number of bits may vary depending on the number of sidelink RBs), a time resource pattern (7 bits),)
Regarding claim 29. Chae teaches A method carried out in a base station of a wireless network for facilitating direct device-to-device communication between user equipment (UE), ([0091] FIG. 5 shows an example of a first UE (UE1), a second UE (UE2) and a resource pool used by UE1 and UE2 performing sidelink communication.) comprising:
configuring a resource pool for use by a receiving UE to receive data transmitted from a transmitting UE; ([0092] UE2 corresponding to a receiving UE receives a configuration of a resource pool in which UE1 is able to transmit a signal and detects a signal of UE1 in the resource pool.
[0093] The sidelink data channel (or, physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH)) corresponds to a resource pool used by a transmitting UE to transmit user data.) and
configuring an indicator resource set prior to said resource pool, ([0098] (“[0098] For example, the UE may decode a PSCCH including information about the cycle of reserved resources within the sensing window and measure PSSCH RSRP on periodic resources determined based on the PSCCH. The UE may exclude resources with PSCCH RSRP more than a threshold from the selection window. Thereafter, the UE may randomly select sidelink resources from the remaining resources in the selection window.” See Fig. 7 where sensing Window, sensing window including PSSCH is before the selection window for data transmission and new packet transmission for data retransmission).
for use by the receiving UE to monitor reception of an indicator signal ([0196] In this case, a specific resource may be selected from among the plurality of configured resources i) through sensing of the Tx UE and/or Rx UE, ii) by the implementation of the Tx UE and/or Rx UE,) comprising an identifier associated with said receiving UE. ([0087] SCI format 0 may be used for scheduling the PSSCH. SCI format 0 may include … a group destination ID (8 bits), etc.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9, 11, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae as applied to claim 1 and 17 above, further in view of LI; Qing et al. US PGPUB 20210219268 A1.
Regarding claim 5. Chae teaches The method of claim 1, but it does not teach wherein information in the indicator signal points to at least one proceeding resource in the resource pool.
However, Li teaches
information in the indicator signal points to at least one proceeding resource in the resource pool. ([0201] The resource pool configurations may also be sent on a separate unicasted message from the platoon lead, e.g. on a PSSCH pointed by a SA-SCI specifically to the UE (e.g. using the UE's group member ID).)
in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency ([0140])
Chae and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Chae with the technique of resource pool indication in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency.
Regarding claim 6. Chae and Li teach The method of claim 5, and Chae teach wherein said identifier is received in a first indicator resource of the indicator resource set; ([0087] SCI format 0 may be used for scheduling the PSSCH. SCI format 0 may include … a group destination ID (8 bits), etc. ) and Chae do not teach wherein the at least one proceeding resource is determined based on preconfigured mapping from said first indicator resource.
However Li teaches
the at least one proceeding resource is determined based on preconfigured mapping from said first indicator resource. ([0388] For SA SCI and data NR-PSSCH, the resource mapping may be frequency first, e.g., filling in the Resource Elements (RE) along the frequency dimension of a first symbol, then filling in the REs along the frequency dimension of a second symbol, and so on. For example, the SA SCI1 fills in the first symbol of the control region, and the SA SCI2 fills in the second symbol of the control region. Similarly, NR-PSSCH1 and NR-PSSCH2 are mapped with frequency first. The 1-bit HARQ ACK/NACK carried on SCI FB1 may be a sequence based design.)
in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency ([0140])
Chae and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Chae with the technique of resource pool indication in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency.
Regarding claim 7. Chae and Li teach The method of claim 5, and Chae teach wherein the proceeding resource is a control resource carrying control information, (([0087] SCI format 0 may be used for scheduling the PSSCH. SCI format 0 may include …)
but Chae do not teach comprising: determining the control resource based on the indicator signal, and decoding control information in the resource pool to identify said data channel.
determining the control resource based on the indicator signal, and decoding control information in the resource pool to identify said data channel. ([0393] An SA SCI may carry a source ID for a broadcast, e.g., SL-BA-RNTI for application, SL-BT-RNTI for the transmitter. An SA SCI may carry a group ID for a multicast, e.g., SL-M-RNTI for a multicast, SL-G-RNTI for a group or a group lead. An SA SCI may carry a UE sidelink ID or a pair ID for a unicast, e.g., SL-C-RNTI-1 for a first UE, SL-C-RNTI-2 for a second UE, or SL-C-RNTI-p for the pair. With the proper ID(s), a UE may detect and decode a desired SA SCI for the transmitted data.)
in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency ([0140])
Chae and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Chae with the technique of resource pool indication in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency.
Regarding claim 8. Chae and Li teach The method of claim 5, Chae do not teach wherein the proceeding resource is a shared resource carrying data.
However, Li teaches wherein the proceeding resource is a shared resource carrying data. ([0153] When NR-PSCCH and NR-PSSCH are TDMed as shown in FIG. 4, the PSCCH carrying SCI may be allocated over same or different locations in frequency. )
in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency ([0140])
Chae and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Chae with the technique of resource pool indication in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency.
Regarding claim 9. Chae and Li teach The method of claim 1, Chae does not teach wherein said identifier uniquely identifies said UE.
However, Li teaches said identifier uniquely identifies said UE. ([0270] The resource allocation may be indicated by an SA SCI carried on a NR-PSCCH scrambled or carried with the group member ID or the UE's sidelink ID, e.g., SL-CRNTI, or a location zone-ID, or by a multicast or unicast NR-PSSCH indicated by an SA SCI carried on a NR-PSCCH.)
in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency ([0140])
Chae and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Chae with the technique of resource pool indication in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency.
Regarding claim 11. Chae teaches method of claim 1, Chae does not teach wherein said resource pool is periodically or semi-statically configured.
However, Li teaches wherein said resource pool is periodically or semi-statically configured.
([0175] The resource pool configurations may be updated semi-statically by RRC or SL-RRC message or Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) or SL-MAC CE )
in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency ([0140])
Chae and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Chae with the technique of resource pool indication in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency.
Regarding claim 15. Chae teaches The method of claim 1, but it doesn’t teach wherein said resource pool is configured by a wireless network provider.
However, Li teaches wherein said resource pool is configured by a wireless network provider.
([0166] Sidelink resource or resource pool configuration or allocation in frequency and time may be configured with Radio Resource Control (RRC) message for each BWP for each cell carrier or cell, over Uu with network control (e.g. gNB or eNB managed) or with Sidelink RRC (SL-RRC) over sidelink (PC5) interface without network control (e.g. UE managed).)
in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency ([0140])
Chae and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Chae with the technique of resource pool indication in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency.
Regarding claim 19. Chae teaches The method of claim 17, but it does not teach wherein information in the indicator signal points to at least one proceeding resource in the resource pool.
However, Li teaches
information in the indicator signal points to at least one proceeding resource in the resource pool. ([0201] The resource pool configurations may also be sent on a separate unicasted message from the platoon lead, e.g. on a PSSCH pointed by a SA-SCI specifically to the UE (e.g. using the UE's group member ID).)
in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency ([0140])
Chae and Li are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Chae with the technique of resource pool indication in order to optimize resource structure to reduce latency.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae as applied to claim 1 and 17 above, further in view of Chen; Wei-Yu et al. US PGPUB 20200053699 A1.
Regarding claim 12. Chae teaches The method of claim 1, Chae does not teach wherein the indicator resource set occupies a narrower frequency band of than the resource pool.
However, Chen teaches
([0118] if transmission based on random selection is configured by upper layers: [0119] randomly select the time and frequency resources for one transmission opportunity of SCI and SL-SCH from the resource pool, according to the amount of selected frequency resources. )
In order to increase signal reliability by using multiple resource pools.
Chae and Chen are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Chae with resource pool selection in Chen in order to increase signal reliability.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chae as applied to claim 1 and 17 above, further in view of LEE; Youngdae et al. US PGPUB 20200169986 A1.
Regarding claim 16. Chae teaches The method of claim 1, Chae does not teach wherein said resource pool is an Rx resource pool configured for sidelink communication.
However, Lee teaches wherein said resource pool is an Rx resource pool configured for sidelink communication. ([0069] A set of transmission and reception resource pools for SCI information when the UE is out of coverage for sidelink communication is pre-configured in the UE)
In order to reduce the transmission interruption. ([0074])
Chae and Lee are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Chae with the technique of Rx resource pool in Lee in order to reduce the transmission interruption.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHAOHUI YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468