DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claims 1 – 14 are presented for examination.
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “applying unit” recited in L2 of claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means (unit) + function (for applying). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is a laser, an LED, an argon ion (Ar) laser, a helium neon (He- Ne) laser, a dye laser, a krypton (Cr) laser, a semiconductor laser, and a solid-state laser combining a semiconductor laser and a wavelength conversion optical element as described in para. [0028]. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as requiring: a laser, an LED, an argon ion (Ar) laser, a helium neon (He- Ne) laser, a dye laser, a krypton (Cr) laser, a semiconductor laser, and a solid-state laser combining a semiconductor laser and a wavelength conversion optical element or its equivalent.
The limitation “detection unit” recited in L4 of claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means (unit) + function (for detection). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is a PMT array or a photodiode array, PMTs and photodiodes are one-dimensionally arranged, CCD, CMOS as described in para. [0033]. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as requiring a PMT array or a photodiode array, PMTs and photodiodes are one-dimensionally arranged, CCD, CMOS or its equivalent.
The limitation “excitation light detection unit” recited in L4 of claim 1 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means (unit) + function (excitation light detection). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is CCD camera, a CMOS camera, various types of imaging elements such as a photoelectric conversion element. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as requiring CCD camera, a CMOS camera, various types of imaging elements such as a photoelectric conversion element or its equivalent.
The limitation “processing unit” recited in L3 of claim 3 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means (unit) + function (for processing). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is not present. Therefore, the claim cannot be interpreted and is indefinite.
The limitation “oscillation element” recited in L3 of claim 4 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means (element) + function (oscillation). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is piezoelectric as described in para. [0045]. Therefore, the limitation is interpreted as requiring a piezoelectric or its equivalent.
The limitation “isolation unit” recited in L5 of claim 4 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means (unit) + function (for isolation). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is not present. Therefore, the claim cannot be interpreted and is indefinite.
The limitation “excitation light calibration unit” recited in L3 of claim 10 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means (unit) + function (for excitation light calibration). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is not present. Therefore, the claim cannot be interpreted and is indefinite.
The limitation “abnormality detection unit” recited in L2 of claim 11 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means (unit) + function (for abnormality detection). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is not present. Therefore, the claim cannot be interpreted and is indefinite.
The limitation “control unit” recited in L3 of claim 12 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means (unit) + function (for control). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is not present. Therefore, the claim cannot be interpreted and is indefinite.
The limitation “information processing device” recited in L10 of claim 13 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) means (device) + function (for information processing). A review of the specification reveals that the corresponding structure is not present. Therefore, the claim cannot be interpreted and is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 3 recites “processing unit”, the corresponding structure is missing in the specification.
Claim 4 recites “isolation unit”, the corresponding structure is missing in the specification.
Claim 10 recites “excitation light calibration unit”, the corresponding structure is missing in the specification.
Claim 11 recites “abnormality detection unit”, the corresponding structure is missing in the specification.
Claim 12 recites “control unit”, the corresponding structure is missing in the specification.
Claim 13 recites “information processing device”, the corresponding structure is missing in the specification.
Claims 4-9 are rejected on the same basis as claim 3 for dependency reasons.
Claim limitation “processing unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. A corresponding structure to “processing unit” is not present in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 4-9 are rejected on the same basis as claim 3 for dependency reasons.
Claim limitation “insolation unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. A corresponding structure to ”isolation unit” is not present in the specification Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim limitation “excitation light calibration unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. A corresponding structure to ”excitation light calibration unit” is not present in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim limitation “abnormality detection unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. A corresponding structure to ”abnormality detection unit” is not present in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim limitation “control unit” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. A corresponding structure to “control unit” is not present in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim limitation “information processing device” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. A corresponding structure to ”information processing device” is not present in the specification. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nitta et al. (US 2023/0039539 A1; pub. Feb. 9, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Nitta et al. disclose: A particle detection device comprising:
a light applying unit (fig.1 item 20) that applies excitation light to a particle contained in fluid (para. [0048]);
a light detection unit (fig.1 item 30) that detects light emitted by application of the excitation light; and
an excitation light detection unit (fig.1 item 50) that has an imaging element that detects the excitation light applied to the particle.
Regarding claim 12, Nitta et al. disclose: a control unit (fig.1 item 5026) that controls the light applying unit in reference to excitation light intensity acquired by the excitation light detection unit.
Regarding claim 13, Nitta et al. disclose: a particle detection device that includes a light applying unit that applies excitation light to a particle contained in fluid, a light detection unit that detects light emitted by application of the excitation light, and an excitation light detection unit that has an imaging element that detects the excitation light applied to the particle; and an information processing device that has a processing unit that processes information detected with time by the excitation light detection unit (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1, plus see para. [0030]).
Regarding claim 14, Nitta et al. disclose: A particle detection method comprising: a light applying step of applying excitation light to a particle contained in fluid; a light detection step of detecting light emitted by application of the excitation light; and an excitation light detection step of detecting, by using an imaging element, the excitation light applied to the particle (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nitta et al. (US 2023/0039539 A1; pub. Feb. 9, 2023) in view of Ortyn et al. (US 2007/0146873 A1; pub. Jun. 28, 2007).
Regarding claim 2, Nitta et al. disclose: the light applying unit is configured to apply multiple rays of excitation light having different wavelengths from different positions in a flow direction of the fluid (para. [0050]).
Nitta et al. are silent about: the excitation light detection unit detects position information associated with the multiple rays of excitation light.
In a similar field of endeavor, Ortyn et al. discloses: the excitation light detection unit detects position information associated with the multiple rays of excitation light (para. [0076]-[0077]) motivated by the benefits to better visualization of the sample (Ortyn et al. para. [0076]).
In light of the benefits for better visualization of the sample as taught by Ortyn et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Nitta et al. with the teachings of Ortyn et al.
Regarding claim 3, Nitta et al. and Ortyn et al. disclose: a processing unit that identifies an interval of the multiple rays of excitation light in reference to the position information detected by the excitation light detection unit (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 2).
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nitta et al. (US 2023/0039539 A1; pub. Feb. 9, 2023) in view of Ortyn et al. (US 2007/0146873 A1; pub. Jun. 28, 2007) and further in view of Kanda (US 2010/0297759 A1; pub. Nov. 25, 2010).
Regarding claim 4, the combined references are silent about: an oscillation element that applies oscillation to the fluid; and
an isolation unit that isolates a droplet containing the particle and formed by the oscillation, wherein
the processing unit identifies a delay time from excitation light application to the particle to formation of the droplet containing the particle in reference to the identified interval of the multiple rays of excitation light.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kanda discloses: an oscillation element that applies oscillation to the fluid (para. [0043]); and
an isolation unit that isolates a droplet containing the particle and formed by the oscillation (para. [0043]), wherein
the processing unit identifies a delay time from excitation light application to the particle to formation of the droplet containing the particle in reference to the identified interval of the multiple rays of excitation light (para. [0079]) motivated by the benefits for an improved particle sorter (Kanda para. [0009]).
In light of the benefits for an improved particle sorter as taught by Kanda, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Nitta et al. and Ortyn et al. with the teachings of Kanda.
Regarding claim 5, Nitta et al., Ortyn et al. and Kanda disclose: the processing unit determines a speed of the particle in reference to the interval of the multiple rays of excitation light and detection timing at which the particle is detected by the light detection unit, and
the processing unit identifies the delay time in reference to the speed of the particle (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 4, especially see para. [0076], [0084] of Kanda).
Regarding claim 6, Nitta et al., Ortyn et al. and Kanda disclose: the processing unit identifies the delay time during isolation by using a feature value identified in reference to two or more delay times calculated for two or more different particle speeds (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 4, especially see para. [0079] of Kanda).
Regarding claim 7, Nitta et al., Ortyn et al. and Kanda disclose: the processing unit identifies the delay time during isolation by using a feature value identified in reference to a first delay time calculated in a condition of a constant particle speed and a second delay time calculated in a condition where a particle speed difference is produced (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 4, especially see para. [0053]-[0054], [0061] of Kanda).
Regarding claim 8, Nitta et al., Ortyn et al. and Kanda disclose: the second delay time is a delay time calculated with use of light information from particles flowing at two or more different particle speeds in the condition where a particle speed difference is produced (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 7).
Regarding claim 9, Nitta et al., Ortyn et al. and Kanda disclose: the processing unit identifies the delay time during isolation by using a feature value identified in reference to two or more delay times calculated for two or more different particle speeds in a condition where a particle speed difference is produced (the claim is rejected on the same basis as claim 7).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nitta et al. (US 2023/0039539 A1; pub. Feb. 9, 2023) in view of Ortyn et al. (US 2007/0146873 A1; pub. Jun. 28, 2007) and further in Church et al. (US 2019/0209718 A1; pub. Jul. 11, 2019).
Regarding claim 10, the combined references are silent about: an excitation light calibration unit that calibrates an interval of the rays of excitation light applied to the particle.
In a similar field of endeavor, Church et al. disclose: an excitation light calibration unit that calibrates an interval of the rays of excitation light applied to the particle (para. [0017]-[0018]) motivated by the benefits for inactivating pathogen in a biological fluid (Church et al. para. [0042]).
In light of the benefits for inactivating pathogen in a biological fluid as taught by Church et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Nitta et al. and Ortyn et al. with the teachings of Church et al.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nitta et al. (US 2023/0039539 A1; pub. Feb. 9, 2023) in view of Krelboim et al. (US 2019/0346537 A1; pub. Nov. 14, 2019).
Regarding claim 11, the combined references are silent about: an abnormality detection unit that detects abnormality of the light applying unit in reference to excitation light intensity acquired by the excitation light detection unit.
In a similar field of endeavor, Krelboim et al. disclose: an abnormality detection unit that detects abnormality of the light (para. [0090]-[0091]) motivated by benefits for preventing system performance degradation (Krelboim et al. para. [0091]).
In light of the benefits for preventing system performance degradation as taught by Krelboim et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Nitta et al. with the teachings of Krelboim et al.
Conclusion
/DAVID P PORTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/MAMADOU FAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2884