DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 12/26/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Skotheim et al. (US 2002/0012846).
Regarding claim 1, Skotheim et al. discloses in Figs 1-8, a negative electrode ([0025]) for a lithium secondary battery ([0002]), the negative electrode ([0025]) comprising: a plurality of lithium thin films (refs 10, 11, 12, Fig 7 below); and a salt ([0067], [0100], [0108]) coating layer (ref 90, [0045], [0046], [0067] – layer 90 may include lithium salts, polymers, etc.) formed between (Fig 7, below) the plurality of lithium thin films (refs 10, 11, 12, Fig 7).
Regarding claim 2, Skotheim et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the salt coating layer comprises a lithium salt and an additive ([0045], [0046], [0067], [0100], [0108]).
Regarding claim 7, Skotheim et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the lithium thin film has a thickness of 10 – 50 microns ([0034]).
Regarding claim 9, Skotheim et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a number of the plurality of lithium thin films is 2 to 4 (3 in Fig 7, above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skotheim et al. (US 2002/0012846) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above.
Regarding claim 3, Skotheim et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Further, the reference discloses lithium salts included in the salt coating layer above ([0067], [0100], [0108]), but does not explicitly disclose one of the lithium salts of the instant claim as part of the salt coating layer. However, the reference discloses a number of lithium salts, including LiPF6, increases ionic conductivity and thus enhances battery performance ([0182], [0183]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the lithium salt as LiPF6 to increase ionic conductivity and overall battery performance.
Regarding claim 6, Skotheim et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Further, the reference discloses the salt coating layer has a thickness overlapping that of the instant claimed range of 100 nm to 3 microns ([0040], [0047], [0061], [0062]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skotheim et al. (US 2002/0012846) as applied to claim 1- above, and further in view of Gan et al. (US 6,027,827).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Skotheim et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the additive comprises at least one of LiNO3, LiNO2, CH3NO2, CH3NO3, and the salt coating layer comprises 40 – 80 wt% of the lithium salt and 20 – 60 wt% of the additive.
Gan et al. discloses in Figs 1-3, a lithium battery (Abstract) including a negative electrode comprising lithium nitrate additive on a surface thereof (C2/L60-67 – C3/L1-5). This configuration enhances the performance of the battery (C2/L59-67 – C3/L1-8).
Gan et al. and Skotheim et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, lithium batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the lithium nitrate disclosed by Skotheim et al. onto the negative electrode of Gan et al. to enhance electrical performance of the battery.
Further, Gan et al. discloses an amount of lithium nitrate additive utilized (C7/L5-15), but does not explicitly disclose the salt coating layer comprises 40 – 80 wt% of the lithium salt and 20 – 60 wt% of the additive. However, the mix of salt to additive is not considered to confer patentability to the claims. Gan et al. (see C2/L59-67 – C3/L1-8 and C7/L5-15) teaches that it was known in the art at the time of the invention that varying the amount of salt additive will vary the electrical performance of said electrode. Therefore the electrical performance is a variable that can be modified, among others, by varying the amount of said salt additive. For that reason, the amount of salt additive, would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed. As such, without showing unexpected results, the relative amount of salt additive cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the relative amount of salt additive in the electrode of Skotheim et al. as taught by Gan et al. to obtain the desired electrical performance (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skotheim et al. (US 2002/0012846) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Prieto et al. (US 2013/0196235).
Regarding claim 8, Skotheim et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the lithium film is porous.
Prieto et al. discloses in Figs 1-13, a lithium battery ([0035]) including a negative electrode comprising a porous lithium coated structure ([0035]). This porous lithium coating structure enhances battery performance ([0035]).
Prieto et al. and Skotheim et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the porous structure disclosed by Prieto et al. into the lithium structure of Skotheim et al. to enhance overall battery performance.
Conclusion
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725