DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the diffuser recited in claim 9 and the bypass valve recited in claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 depends on claim 1; however, claim 6 should instead depend on claim 5 since a heat exchanger 31 is recited, and this heat exchanger is recited for the first time in claim 5. Note: For purpose of examination under 35 USC 103, claim 6 has been examined to depend on claim 5.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a movement unit which is configured to move the process gas along the process gas circuit in claim 6.
The corresponding structures described in the specification are:
movement unit [Wingdings font/0xE0] a blower
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinoshita (CN 102049178 A) in view of Lee (KR 101692830 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Kinoshita discloses (see English translation and Fig. 1 for citations) a plant for drying granular polymer material (para. 37), comprising a hopper (40; abstract), in which granular polymer material is dried, and a process gas circuit (para. 41), which is configured to supply a process gas to the hopper in order to dry the granular polymer material, wherein the process gas circuit comprises:
a dehumidification and heating unit (26+46) which is configured to dehumidify and heat the process gas to predefined humidity and temperature values for supply to the hopper, respectively.
Kinoshita fails to disclose:
a purification group which is positioned at an outlet of the hopper and upstream of the dehumidification and heating unit and which is configured to purify the process gas from contaminating substances which are released by the granular polymer material in the hopper,
a cyclone separator which is positioned at the outlet of the hopper and upstream of the purification group, and which is configured to separate a dust of the polymer material granules from the process gas being introduced into the purification group,
wherein the purification group comprises:
a condenser which is configured to cool the process gas to a predefined condensation temperature of the contaminating substances so as to separate from the process gas the contaminating substances thus condensed,
a filter which is positioned at the outlet of the condenser and which contains activated carbon capable of absorbing non-condensed contaminating substances.
However, Lee teaches an organic waste drying system, comprising:
a purification group (17+19) which is positioned at an outlet of the dryer (11) and which is configured to purify the process gas from contaminating substances which are released by the material in the dryer (middle of pg. 4),
a cyclone separator (13) which is positioned at the outlet of the dryer and upstream of the purification group, and which is configured to separate a dust of the material from the process gas being introduced into the purification group (bottom of pg. 3),
wherein the purification group comprises:
a condenser (17) which is configured to cool the process gas to a predefined condensation temperature of the contaminating substances so as to separate from the process gas the contaminating substances thus condensed (bottom half of pg. 4),
a filter (19) which is positioned at the outlet of the condenser and which contains activated carbon (18a) capable of absorbing non-condensed contaminating substances (top half of pg. 6).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Kinoshita to include a purification group which is positioned at an outlet of the hopper and upstream of the dehumidification and heating unit and which is configured to purify the process gas from contaminating substances which are released by the granular polymer material in the hopper, a cyclone separator which is positioned at the outlet of the hopper and upstream of the purification group, and which is configured to separate a dust of the polymer material granules from the process gas being introduced into the purification group,
wherein the purification group comprises: a condenser which is configured to cool the process gas to a predefined condensation temperature of the contaminating substances so as to separate from the process gas the contaminating substances thus condensed, a filter which is positioned at the outlet of the condenser and which contains activated carbon capable of absorbing non-condensed contaminating substances.
The motivation to include the purification group and cyclone is so that the contaminated process/drying gas can be cleaned before being reintroduced into the drying hopper. The result is improved quality of the product and less contamination of the process gas circuit.
Regarding claim 2, modified Kinoshita discloses the plant according to claim 1, except wherein the condenser is configured to cool the process gas to a temperature between 10 deg.C and 30 deg.C. However, the claimed temperature range is a matter of optimization that can be found through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05. The temperature affects the amount of liquid condensed out of the gas, and the amount of liquid condensed out would affect the drying efficiency since the process gas is reintroduced into the hopper for further drying.
Regarding claim 3, modified Kinoshita discloses the plant according to claim 1, except wherein the condenser is configured to cool the process gas to a temperature between 15 deg.C and 25 deg.C. However, the claimed temperature range is a matter of optimization that can be found through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05. The temperature affects the amount of liquid condensed out of the gas, and the amount of liquid condensed out would affect the drying efficiency since the process gas is reintroduced into the hopper for further drying.
Regarding claim 4, modified Kinoshita discloses the plant according to claim 1, except wherein the condenser is configured to cool the process gas to a temperature of substantially 20 deg.C. However, the claimed temperature range is a matter of optimization that can be found through routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05. The temperature affects the amount of liquid condensed out of the gas, and the amount of liquid condensed out would affect the drying efficiency since the process gas is reintroduced into the hopper for further drying.
Regarding claim 5, modified Kinoshita discloses the plant according to claim 1, wherein the purification group comprises a first pipe (Fig. 1 of Lee; pipe supplying gas to purification group 19 + inlet 24) for the process gas which is being discharged from the hopper (Kinoshita; 40) and upstream of the condenser (Lee; 17), a second pipe (Lee; 36 + outlet 25) for the process gas which is being discharged from the filter (Lee; 19) and upstream of the dehumidification and heating unit (Kinoshita; 26+46), and a heat exchanger (Lee teaches a cooling jacket with inlet 53 and outlet 54, and a steam jacket 29) which includes the first pipe (34) and second pipe (35), the heat exchanger being configured to exchange heat between the process gas being introduced into the purification group through the first pipe and the process gas being discharged from the purification group through the second pipe.
Regarding claim 6, modified Kinoshita discloses the plant according to claim 1, wherein the process gas circuit comprises a movement unit (blower 18 of Kinoshita and/or blower 45 of Lee) which is configured to move the process gas along the process gas circuit between the dehumidification and heating unit, the hopper and the purification group, and to move the process gas in the purification group between the heat exchanger, the condenser and the filter.
Regarding claim 7, modified Kinoshita discloses the plant according to claim 1, wherein the process gas circuit is a closed circuit (see Fig. 1 of Kinoshita).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kinoshita discloses the plant according to claim 1, wherein further comprising, downstream of the dehumidification and heating unit,there is provided an inlet pipe (Fig. 1 of Kinoshita discloses a pipe with temperature sensor 11b), by means of which the process gas is introduced into the hopper, and a sampling location (Kinoshita, 44), along the inlet pipe, for sampling the process gas (the gas can be sampled at said location).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kinoshita discloses the plant according to claim 1, wherein further comprising, downstream of the dehumidification and heating unit, there is provided an inlet pipe (Fig. 1 of Kinoshita discloses a pipe with temperature sensor 11b), by means of which the process gas is introduced into the hopper, and a diffuser (Kinoshita, 44) mounted at the end of the inlet pipe which is introduced into the granular polymer material contained in the hopper.
Regarding claim 10, modified Kinoshita discloses the plant according to claim 1, except further comprising a bypass valve of the process gas which allows the purification group to be excluded from the process gas circuit. However, Official Notice is taken that a bypass valve for circumventing a device, such as a purification device, is well-known and common knowledge. And it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time of effective filing of the application to modify Kinoshita to include a bypass valve of the process gas which allows the purification group to be excluded from the process gas circuit. The motivation to combine is so that the process gas can bypass the purification device if the process gas has little to no contamination.
Regarding claim 11, modified Kinoshita discloses the plant according to claim 1, wherein the filter comprises a plurality of filtering elements which contain activated carbon (see Fig. 3 of Lee showing a plurality of filters 18a containing activated carbon).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kinoshita discloses the plant according to claim 11, and suggests wherein the filtering elements are cylindrical. Lee, at the top of pg. 5, discloses where the purification group 19 has a cylindrical top, which suggests the main body and the filter elements inside the main body are also cylindrical. However, even if Lee does not disclose or suggest a cylindrical filter element, the particular shape of the filter element was a matter of obvious design choice with no particular significance. See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(B).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kinoshita discloses the plant according to claim 1, wherein the condenser is connected to a cooling water line (Fig. 2 of Lee; line connected to inlet 53).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kinoshita discloses the plant according to claim 1, wherein the process gas circuit comprises a movement unit, comprising at least one blower (Kinoshita; 18), in order to move the process gas along the process gas circuit.
Regarding claim 15, modified Kinoshita discloses the plant according to claim 1, wherein the movement unit (Kinoshita; 30) is connected downstream of the cyclone separator (see rejection of claim 1) with respect to the process gas flow.
Conclusion
/JASON LAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762