DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants' election with traverse of Group I (claims 13-15) in the reply filed on December 31, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that at least the additional claims 22 and 23 (Group IV) should be included in search and examination of the elected claims due to the claims not being subject to restriction under the unity of invention standard at the PCT level and that these groups of inventions would share a common inventive concept, contrary to the reasons set forth by the examiner in the restriction requirement mailed November 3, 2025. This is not found persuasive because not only would there be a significant burden for search and examination for a process of producing the oxygen evolution reaction catalyst, but also since Kumta et al. (US 2017/0233879), as set forth in the prior art rejection below, include the special technical feature of a solid solution with at least one valve metal oxide (oxides of titanium, niobium, tungsten, tantalum, or mixtures thereof) and at least one noble metal oxide (oxides of iridium and/or ruthenium), of which this special technical feature is common to all four groups of claims. However, upon applicants’ introduction of a subsequent amendment to independent claim 13 that would potentially result in overcoming all rejections of record, the non-elected claims in one or more of Groups II, III, and/or IV would be considered for rejoinder.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
Figure 1 (for Route A and Route B, but not Route C) should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0007], last line, replace “toa” with “to a” after “catalyst”.
In paragraph [0009], 7th line, replace “toa” with “to a” after “catalyst”.
In paragraph [0011], 7th line, replace “toa” with “to a” after “catalyst”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the 4th line of claim 13, add “,” after “tungsten”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the valve metal oxide" in the 3rd line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In this instance, it is suggested to replace "the valve metal oxide" with "the at least one valve metal oxide" to obtain proper antecedent basis with "at least one valve metal oxide" bridging the 1st and 2nd lines of claim 13. Since claims 14 and 15 depend from claim 13, these claims are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for the same reason.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the noble metal oxide" in the 5th line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In this instance, it is suggested to replace "the noble metal oxide" with "the at least one noble metal oxide" to obtain proper antecedent basis with "at least one noble metal oxide" in the 2nd line of claim 13. Since claims 14 and 15 depend from claim 13, these claims are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for the same reason.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the BET specific surface area" in the 7th line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Since claims 14 and 15 depend from claim 13, these claims are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for the same reason.
With regard to independent claim 13 (in the last three lines), the limitation “exhibits a weight loss of less than 2% by weight upon exposure of the oxygen evolution catalyst to a 3.3 vol% hydrogen stream in argon at a temperature of 80°C for 12 hours” is indefinite, since it is unclear as to what properties the oxygen evolution catalyst would exhibit based on the claimed components (valve metal oxide and noble metal oxide) when subjected to test(s) that would distinguish features of applicants’ claim 13 from the prior art. Correction and clarification are required. Since claims 14 and 15 depend from claim 13, these claims are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) for the same reason.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kumta et al. (US 2017/0233879), cited in the Information Disclosure Statement dated April 7, 2023.
Regarding independent claim 13 and claim 14, Kumta et al. disclose an oxygen evolution reaction catalyst (abstract; paragraphs [0007], [0027], [0135], [0139], and [0141]; claim 1; and Figure 4), in which the oxygen evolution reaction catalyst comprises the following components:
a valve metal oxide that includes oxides of tantalum, niobium, titanium, or tungsten (see abstract; paragraphs [0027], [0135], and [0141]; and claim 1); and
a noble metal oxide that includes oxides of iridium and/or ruthenium (see abstract; paragraph [0141]; and claim 1).
As to the claimed range of BET specific surface area, the solid solution of the valve metal oxide and the noble metal oxide would be greater than 10 m2/g (and also greater than 20 m2/g), since Kumta et al. include the same oxides that applicants are claiming. Specifically, Kumta et al. disclose a solid solution that contains oxides of iridium (noble metal) and oxides of niobium (valve metal), which would have a BET specific surface area within a range of 45 to 170 m2/g (see paragraph [0141]).
Although Kumta et al. do not explicitly disclose or suggest the limitation “upon exposure of the oxygen evolution catalyst to a 3.3% hydrogen stream in argon at a temperature of 80°C for 12 hours”, the solution of Kumta et al. would be capable of going through this process in order to exhibit a weight loss of less than 2%. However, since the catalyst disclosed by Kumta et al. structurally reads upon the catalyst claimed by applicants per the discussion above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the catalyst disclosed by Kumta et al. would exhibit a comparable weight loss, absent of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 15, since the preamble recites “oxygen evolution reaction catalyst”, the limitations “is supported on a support material, and the support material is a carbon-based support material or a graphitized carbon” are not deemed to impart explicit patentable weight since these additional features would be separate from the “oxygen evolution reaction catalyst” without an “assembly” (or similar) being claimed. Moreover, the solid solution of independent claim 13 would be supported on a support material as an “assembly”, as paragraph [0141] of Kumta et al. recites “Specific surface area (SSA) of the supports and the catalysts were measured using the BET technique”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumta et al. (US 2017/0233879), and further in view of WO 01/15247 A2, of which a complete copy of this document was provided with the Information Disclosure Statement dated April 7, 2023.
Regarding claim 15, Kumta et al. disclose/suggest the oxygen evolution reaction catalyst of independent claim 13 above, including that the oxygen evolution reaction catalyst would be supported on a support material per the recitation “Specific surface area (SSA) of the supports and the catalysts were measured using the BET technique” (see the first two lines of paragraph [0141] of Kumta et al.).
Although Kumta et al. do not explicitly disclose that the claimed support material is a “carbon-based support material” or a “graphitized carbon” (which is recited in the above 35 USC 102/103 rejection as extending outside the scope of the claimed “oxygen evolution reaction catalyst”), one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the support material would readily be selected to be a carbon-based support material, as taught by WO 01/15247 A2 (see pages 10, 23, and 24; and claims 24-27), which recites the solid solution of a valve metal oxide (TiOy) and a noble metal oxide (RuO2) as a catalyst (see page 10 of WO ‘247), in combination with a support material that discloses carbon (acetylene or furnace blacks) as preferred supports, since carbon-based support materials (such as acetylene or furnace blacks) are advantageous as high surface area carbons, and graphitic (graphitized) carbons would exhibit increased corrosion resistance (see WO ‘247; page 24, lines 5-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the applicants’ invention was made to provide the oxygen evolution reaction catalyst on a support material, as disclosed/suggested by Kumta et al., in combination with the carbon-based support material or the graphitic (graphitized) carbon support material, as taught by WO ‘247, in order to obtain high surface area and increased corrosion resistance, respectively (WO ‘247; page 24, lines 5-11).
Conclusion
/KEVIN P KERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735 March 18, 2026