DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 11-18 and 20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-10 and 19 have been canceled.
No claims have been amended.
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on 05/27/2026 has been fully considered, but does not place the application in condition for allowance.
This Action has been made final.
Status of Rejections Pending since the Office Action of 16 March 2026
All the rejections from the previous office action are maintained in view of Applicant’s argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rank et al. (US PG Pub 2017/0187014) in view of Takahashi, (US PG Pub 2009/0075162 A1).
With regard to claim 11, Rank et al. depict:
a first housing part (20, Fig. 1); and a second housing part (10, Fig. 1), wherein: the first housing part (20) is not configured to receive storage cells, and the second housing art is configured to receive storage cells (40). As to the first housing part configured to be installed in the motor vehicle as an upper housing part, and the second housing part configured to be installed in the motor vehicle as lower housing part, it is noted that these are functional limitations and by virtue of the lack of structural distinction between the claim first and second housings and those of Rank et al., the first and second housings of Rank et al. would inherently be capable of being installed as claimed. Rank et al. further depict the first housing part closable by a removable first cover (30, Fig. 1), and the second housing part is realized as a closed capsule, due to a non-removable second cover (the bottom surface of the second housing 10 which is a container type and is thusly non-removable [0030], see Figs. 2-4.
Rank further teaches the second cover comprising a venting means to open up in the case the batteries heat up in an unacceptable manner within a very short time resulting in a pressure increase in the battery housing [0031], corresponding to the claimed “in an event of a critical gauge pressure in the electrical energy store”, but does not specifically teach that the venting means has at least one area of material thinning.
However, Takahashi teaches a power supply apparatus (2; Fig.2A) comprising a housing case 30, wherein the housing has a cover 30b comprising a gas discharge valve, wherein the valve is a rupture-type valve formed by partially thinning the wall portion of the housing case portion 30b [0077].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the rupture-type valve of Takahashi for the venting means of Rank, because simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, in the instant case a venting means for the housing/cover of a battery device, supports prima facie obviousness determination (MPEP 2143, I, Part B).
Moreover, the recitation of “act as a predetermined rupture point in an event of a critical gauge pressure in the electrical energy store” is an intended use limitation. While intended use recitations and other types of functional language cannot be entirely disregarded. However, in apparatus, article, and composition claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The Venting system of modified Rank is capable of acting as a predetermined rupture point in an event of a critical gauge pressure in the electrical energy store as explained above.
With regard to claim 12, Rank et al. teach a housing middle part arranged between the first and second housing parts, containing an interspace for a cooling fluid flowing through, see [0034].
With regard to claim 13, the first housing part (20) is configured to receive storage electronics (22, 24) and has outwardly projecting electrical connections, see Fig. 1, and [0026].
With regard to claim 14, the storage electronics of the first housing part and the storage cells of the second housing part are electrically connected to an electrical contacting, of which a leadthrough through the housing middle part is provided with a seal (25), [0028], [0041], [0045], and Fig. 4.
With regard to claim 15, Rank et al. teach that the seal (25) can go all around the cell terminal of the battery cells (40), and may be disposed singly between an end face of the respective battery cells (40) and the second housing part (20). Further, the seal may exist as integrated components of the second housing part (20), and be fixedly disposed at the opening of the second housing part (20). Therefore, as not clear structural and/or compositional distinction of the seal (25) and that instantly claimed, the seal of Rank et al. may inherently be configured to resist burst-pressure from the housing parts.
With regard to claim 16, the second housing part (10) contains a cell pack comprising the storage cells (40), the housings of which are aligned vertically when in an installed state, and a frame (bottom of the second housing part (10) arranged beneath the cell pack, see Fig. 1.
With regard to claims 17 and 18, the frame is downwardly directed and comprises a framework of support elements that act as force-absorbing housing extensions of the storage cells, the support elements are realized as a separate support beneath a cell housing, as an extension of the cell housing, see annotated Fig. 1 below.
Annotated Fig. 1 of Rank et al.
With regard to claim 20, Rank et al. depict housing parts and components thereof as claimed and there is not to structural distinction between the claimed housing parts and those of Rank et al. it would be inherent for the cell pack to be protected from damage in an event of lateral and longitudinal crash by an interspace, between the cell pack and outer boundaries of the second housing part, which protection is at least partially reinforced by plasto-elastic material filling the interspaces.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 05/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “Rank does not disclose that the bottom surface of the container 10 includes a venting means. Rank states that the support 20 may include a venting means and since the interior region of the support 20 is spatially delimited from the interior region of the container 10, the fluid is reliably prevented from escaping into the interior region of the container 10. Accordingly, it would not have been obvious to modify Rank such that the venting means is positioned in the bottom surface of the container 10” (see Page 3-4 of Remarks).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees, because Rank specifically teaches in [0031] that the housing components (5, 10, 20, 30), in particular the support 20, may comprise a venting means. Moreover, Rank specifically teaches that in some embodiments the interior region of support 20 is not delimited in an absolutely gas-tight manner from the container 10. Therefore, a sealed venting means for container 10 would prevent fluid from getting into the passenger compartment of the vehicle [0036].
Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722