4. Claim(s) 1-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoh (WO 2018139111) in view of Suzuki (WO 2020066817).
Claim 1. Satoh discloses a head mounted display, comprising: a frame; and a display device mounted to the frame, the display device being transparent (Figs. 1-4) and including:
a first base substrate (the outermost substrate of the HMD 1, Fig. 1)
a wiring board (60, Figs. 2 and 4),
a display unit (30, Figs. 2-3) provided between the first base substrate and the wiring board (The transparent antenna 60 is worn when the wearer wears the HMD 1 on the head of the two main surfaces of the image display element 30 (the two surfaces having the largest area among the surfaces of the image display element 30). It is arranged on the outer side opposite to the eyes of the person. For this reason, reception sensitivity can be improved compared with the case where the transparent antenna 60 is arrange | positioned among the two main surfaces of the image display element 30 at the inner surface which becomes a, wearer's eyes side. In addition, when it is assumed that the radio antenna is used in an environment where the radio field intensity is sufficiently secured, the transparent antenna 60 is an inner side surface that is the eye side of the wearer among the two main surfaces of the image display element 30. May be arranged.), and
the wiring board including a substrate (63, Fig. 4) having transparency, and a wiring pattern area (64, Fig. 4) arranged on the substrate.
Satoh does not, but Suzuki discloses the wiring pattern area including pieces of wiring (Figs. 1-3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use Suzuki’s pieces of wiring in the wiring pattern area of Sato to improve the efficiency of the antenna (60).
Claim 2. Satoh discloses the display device further includes a second base substrate (65, Fig. 4) provided on the wiring board and, with the first base substrate, sandwiching the wiring board therebetween.
Claim 3. Satoh discloses the wiring pattern area and the display unit are shifted in position from each other when viewed in a thickness direction of the substrate (In addition, when the edge of the transparent antenna 60 is difficult to visually recognize, it is not limited to this, and the area of the transparent antenna 60 may be smaller or larger than the image display element 30.)
Claim 4. The combined Satoh and Suzuki discloses the wiring pattern area is provided at a position closer to the frame than the display unit is (Suzuki, Fig. 13, wiring pattern area 20 is provided at a position close to a frame).
Claim 5. Satoh discloses the wiring pattern area has at least one of a radio-wave transmitting-and-receiving function, a gesture sensing function, a wireless power feeding function, and an anti-fog function (Figs. 5-7).
Claim 6. The combined Satoh and Suzuki discloses each as the wiring pattern area, a plurality of wiring pattern areas exists on the substrate, and the wiring pattern areas have functions different from one another (Suzuki, Figs. 1 and 6).
Claim 7. The combined Satoh and Suzuki discloses at least a part of the pieces of wiring is arranged irregularly (Suzuki, Figs. 1 and 6).
Claim 8. Satoh discloses the substrate includes glass or a resin film (transparent plastic sheet 63, Fig. 4).
Claim 10. The combined Satoh and Suzuki discloses the wiring pattern area has a sheet resistance value of 5 ohms per square or less, and a maximum width is 3 um or less when each of the pieces of wiring is viewed at a viewing angle of 120° (Suzuki, paragraphs [0051] and [0055]).
5. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satoh in view of Suzuki as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsunaichi et al. (JP 2020036031).
The combined Satoh and Suzuki does not, but Tsunaichi discloses the wiring board includes a dummy pattern area (paragraphs [0147], [0170], Fig. 19). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use Tsunaichi’s dummy pattern area in the wiring board of the combined Satoh and Suzuki to improve the function of the wiring board.
/DOON Y CHOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627