DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (KR 2019-0044315), as cited on the IDS, wherein the machine English translation is used for citation, as evidenced by Kokubo et al. (US Serial No. 2013/0082369) and Yanagase (US Patent No. 6936348).
Regarding claim 1; Park et al. teaches, in a preferred embodiment, a composition for artificial tooth formation, the composition comprising bisphenol A ethoxylated dimethacrylate, diurethane dimethacrylate, triethylene glycol, and bisphenol A glycerolate dimethacrylate (instant ultraviolet curable resin A) and rutile white pigment (instant inorganic pigment B; specific gravity 4.2) [0070-0071; Ex1-2]. Park et al. teaches the white pigment has an average particle diameter of 20 to 80 nm [0039-0040]. It is the Examiner’s position that both the D50 and D90 are less than 5 microns and 20 microns, respectively (5,000 nm and 20,000 nm). Park et al. teaches the viscosity of the composition is 300 to 800 cps (mPa·s) at room temperature (25°C) using a Brookfield DV-III Rheometer RPM (shear rate: 25 / s) [0048].
Park et al. teaches the composition of the present invention is suitable for use in a three dimensional printer (i.e. stereolithography) [0020]. However it is noted that “for stereolithography” is an intended use limitation. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see MPEP §2111.02.
Kokubo et al. and Yanagase provide evidence that rutile-type titanium dioxide has a specific gravity of 4.2 [Kokubo et al. 0367, 0380, 0381, 0382; Yanagase col1, line24-29].
Regarding claim 3; Park et al. teaches the preferred embodiment further comprises phenyl bis (2,4,6-triemthylbenzoyl) phosphine oxide (long wavelength photopolymerization initiator; see instant spec [0030]) as a photopolymerization initiator [0070-0071].
Regarding claim 4; Park et al. teaches the formation of an artificial tooth via 3D printing [0073].
Regarding claim 5; Park et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the formed product has a total light transmittance of less than 60% when the total light transmittance is measured using a sample slice having a thickness of 1mm in a beam irradiation direction. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. According to the original specification, the cured resin composition according to the instant application (comprising a ultraviolet curable resin and an organic pigment having a specific gravity of 2.0 ≤ ρ, a D50 ≤ 5 microns, and D90 ≤ 20 microns) has a transmittance of less than 60% when the total light transmittance is measured using a sample slice having a thickness of 1 mm in a beam irradiation direction. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. % transmittance, would necessarily present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In the alternative, claim(s) 1 and 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 2019-0044315), as cited on the IDS, wherein the machine English translation is used for citation, as evidenced by Kokubo et al. (US Serial No. 2013/0082369) and Yanagase (US Patent No. 6936348).
Regarding claim 1; Park et al. teaches, in a preferred embodiment, a composition for artificial tooth formation, the composition comprising bisphenol A ethoxylated dimethacrylate, diurethane dimethacrylate, triethylene glycol, and bisphenol A glycerolate dimethacrylate (instant ultraviolet curable resin A) and rutile white pigment (instant inorganic pigment B; specific gravity 4.2) [0070-0071; Ex1-2]. Park et al. teaches the viscosity of the composition is 300 to 800 cps (mPa·s) at room temperature (25°C) using a Brookfield DV-III Rheometer RPM (shear rate: 25 / s) [0048].
Park et al. teaches the white pigment has an average particle diameter of 20 to 80 nm [0039-0040], however fails to teach a D50 ≤ 5 microns and D90 ≤ 20 microns. The experimental modification of this prior art in order to ascertain optimum operating conditions fails to render applicants’ claims patentable in the absence of unexpected results. See In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233; see MPEP §2144.05. At the time of filing, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the D50 and D90 (particle size) of the inorganic pigment, and would have been motivated to do so in order to achieve desired dispersibility in the composition, as well as desired transparency, as suggested by Park et al. [0040]. Furthermore a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize the particle size (D50 and D90), in order to have ease of printing (i.e. out of printing head) in three dimensional printing systems.
Park et al. teaches the composition of the present invention is suitable for use in a three dimensional printer (i.e. stereolithography) [0020]. However it is noted that “for stereolithography” is an intended use limitation. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See also Rowe v. Dror, 112 F.3d 473, 478, 42 USPQ2d 1550, 1553 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see MPEP §2111.02.
Kokubo et al. and Yanagase provide evidence that rutile-type titanium dioxide has a specific gravity of 4.2 [Kokubo et al. 0367, 0380, 0381, 0382; Yanagase col1, line24-29].
Regarding claim 3; Park et al. teaches the preferred embodiment further comprises phenyl bis (2,4,6-triemthylbenzoyl) phosphine oxide (long wavelength photopolymerization initiator; see instant spec [0030]) as a photopolymerization initiator [0070-0071].
Regarding claim 4; Park et al. teaches the formation of an artificial tooth via 3D printing [0073].
Regarding claim 5; Park et al. does not explicitly disclose wherein the formed product has a total light transmittance of less than 60% when the total light transmittance is measured using a sample slice having a thickness of 1mm in a beam irradiation direction. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. According to the original specification, the cured resin composition according to the instant application (comprising a ultraviolet curable resin and an organic pigment having a specific gravity of 2.0 ≤ ρ, a D50 ≤ 5 microns, and D90 ≤ 20 microns) has a transmittance of less than 60% when the total light transmittance is measured using a sample slice having a thickness of 1 mm in a beam irradiation direction. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. % transmittance, would necessarily present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (KR 2019-0044315), as cited on the IDS, wherein the machine English translation is used for citation, evidenced by Kokubo et al. (US Serial No. 2013/0082369) and Yanagase (US Patent No. 6936348), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee (US Serial No. 2014/0167300).
Park et al. teaches the basic claimed resin composition for stereolithography, as set forth above, with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 2; Park et al. teaches a composition for artificial tooth formation [0002], the composition comprising bisphenol A ethoxylate dimethacrylate (EO2), however fails to teach the ethoxylated bisphenol A dimethacrylate, as required by instant claim 2. Lee teaches photocurable resin compositions, suitable for use in manufacturing artificial teeth by three dimensional printing, the compositions comprising bisphenol A dimethacrylates, such as SR348 (bisphenol A ethoxylate dimethacrylate (EO2)) and SR540 (bisphenol A ethoxylate dimethacrylate (EO4)) [0028]. Therefore, Lee teaches that bisphenol A ethoxylate dimethacrylate (EO2) and bisphenol A ethoxylate dimethacrylate (EO4) are functional equivalents for the purpose of functioning as photocurable compounds suitable for producing artificial teeth via three dimensional printing. It is prima facie obvious to substitute art-recognized functional equivalents known for the same purpose (See MPEP § 2144.06).
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767