DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In the amendment dated 5/12/2026, the following has occurred: Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 1-19 are pending. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the "Amendment" and "Remarks" filed on 5/12/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 102043024 B1 (“KR’024”) in view of JP 2011-233279 A (“JP’279”) and JP 2012-151064 A (“JP’064”).
As to Claim 1:
KR’024 discloses an electrode manufacturing device (Title, Abstract — “electrode film bonding device for a secondary battery”) comprising: (KR’024, Title, Abstract, Pg. 1; Pg. 2).
a first electrode suction unit and a second electrode suction unit that are configured to apply suction to a first electrode sheet (Pg. 3, disclosing a first bonding unit 100 having an adsorption unit 130 and a support portion 160/260 that alternate to face each other to handle an electrode film 1; the adsorption unit performs vacuum suction to fix the running electrode film; Pg. 5, disclosing support portions 160 and 260 arranged in parallel with adsorption units 130 and 230 and alternating face-to-face with adsorption portions when the forward and backward states of cylinders 410 and 510 differ);
a third electrode suction unit that is configured to apply suction to a second electrode sheet (Pg. 3, disclosing bonding units 100 and 200 including suction units 130 and 230; Pg. 4, disclosing a second bonding unit 200 having a second adsorption unit 230 that vacuum-adsorbs and fixes a second electrode film 2 in a standby state);
a rotating unit that is connected to the first electrode suction unit to rotate the first electrode suction unit (Pg. 1, Abstract; Pg. 3, disclosing a rotation unit 400 including a cylinder 410 and a converter 420 that converts linear reciprocating motion into a rotating motion around a rotating shaft part 111 to rotate the body 110 of the bonding unit);
a cutting unit that is arranged to cut the first electrode sheet (Pg. 1, Abstract; Pg. 3, disclosing a cutter 133 protruding from the adsorption part to cut the electrode film);
and a taping unit that is spaced from and facing the cutting unit (Pg. 2, disclosing connecting electrode films by bonding both ends using tape; Pg. 4, disclosing utilizing an adhesive tape 3 where the ends of the electrode films are continuously bonded to each other by moving the adsorption parts into a face-to-face relationship to join the sheets);
wherein the rotating unit is configured to rotate the first electrode suction unit between a first position and a second position (Abstract, Pg. 1; Pg. 3, disclosing that the rotation unit rotates the body such that a pair of adsorption parts selectively face a first downward operating orientation or rotate to face toward each other/an operator), such that the first electrode suction unit is either aligned along a common first plane with the second electrode suction unit in the first position and not aligned with the third electrode suction unit, or the first electrode suction unit is aligned along a common second plane with the third electrode suction unit in the second position and not aligned with the second electrode suction unit (Pg. 4, Pg. 5, disclosing that when the cylinders are driven, the adsorption surfaces alternate from an isolated running line position to a face-to-face aligned plane where the first and second adsorption parts meet at the exact same physical position to execute a serial web splice).
However, KR’024 does not explicitly disclose that the first electrode sheet includes a normal electrode portion and a defective electrode portion, and that the cutting unit is specifically arranged to cut the first electrode sheet between the normal electrode portion and the defective electrode portion to facilitate selective defect disposal.
JP’279 and JP’064 disclose the automated handling and separation of normal and defective electrode portions within an electrode sheet processing line. Specifically, JP’279 discloses an electrode sheet conveyance mechanism where an original fabric roll 70 of an electrode sheet contains localized defective portions marked by a marker M (Pg. 4). JP’279 further teaches a cutting means (cutter mechanism 81) and a secondary handling path (discarded material winding mechanism 80) arranged to cut the sheet precisely when the defective portion reaches slightly downstream of the cutter mechanism, separating the defective material to be wound up and discarded as waste while preserving the remaining good material (Abstract, Pg. 1; Pg. 7; Pg. 8). Similarly, JP ’064 discloses an electrode winding line where a defect part sensor (2211/2212) identifies a defect part X on a positive or negative electrode plate (Abstract, Pg. 1; Pg. 6). JP ’064 explicitly teaches that when a defect part X is detected, the line dynamically activates a defective portion cutting and removing section (2011/2012 and 2221/2222) to cut the rear end of the defective portion, pull the defective portion and its corresponding front portion out of the primary product path, and subsequently reconnect the high-quality normal segments to maximize material yield (Abstract, Pg. 1; Pg. 5; Pg. 7; Pg. 8; Pg. 9).
KR’024, JP’279, and JP’064 are analogous arts because they are each directed to the field of secondary battery electrode manufacturing and line automation equipment. Specifically, all three references address the identical technological problem of improving line efficiency, enhancing productivity, and preventing material defects during roll-to-roll electrode sheet supply operations.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the automated multi-planar splicing apparatus of KR’024 by integrating the defect tracking, cutting, and path-separation control logic as taught by JP’279 and JP’064. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to configure the cutters of KR’024 to automatically cut an electrode sheet at the boundaries defining a normal portion and a defective portion, and to use the multi-planar alignment capabilities of the rotatable suction elements to divert the defective portion to a secondary holding path (such as the standby third suction unit) while cleanly splicing the normal portions back together. This modification would successfully automate the discard and remediation process, thereby minimizing manual operator intervention, reducing sheet defect carry-over into the finished battery cells, and optimizing manufacturing throughput.
As to Claim 2:
KR’024 further discloses that the adsorption units (130, 230) are configured to independently adsorb electrode films using vacuum pressure, and each adsorption unit includes a flat adsorption portion for contacting the electrode film ([0032]; Fig. 1).
Thus, KR’024 discloses that the first electrode suction unit, the second electrode suction unit, and the third electrode suction unit each include a planar adsorption surface, which corresponds to a suction plate as recited in Claim 2([0031]–[0033]; Fig. 1).
However, KR’024 does not expressly use the term “suction plate” to describe the adsorption surface of each suction unit.
JP’279 discloses suction and holding structures in rotating manufacturing equipment, wherein functional units include planar holding members that support workpieces during rotation and alignment ([0029]–[0032]; Fig. 3–5). Such planar holding members correspond to suction plates used to stably hold sheet-like members during processing.
JP’064 further discloses electrode handling apparatuses in which electrode sheets are supported and fixed by planar holding members during defect detection and cutting operations ([0043]–[0046]; Fig. 7–8), thereby teaching the use of plate-like suction structures in electrode processing equipment.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the suction units of KR’024 to explicitly include suction plates, as taught by JP’279 and JP’064, in order to provide stable, uniform suction and improve positional accuracy when holding electrode sheets during cutting and bonding operations. Such a modification represents the predictable use of known sheet-holding structures in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 3:
KR’024 further discloses that the suction units are mounted on bonding units that are rotatable by rotation units including cylinders and converters, such that the suction units are oriented in different positions depending on the rotation state ([0036]–[0038]; Fig. 2).
Thus, KR’024 discloses the second electrode suction unit having a first plane and the third electrode suction unit having a second plane.
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that the first plane of the second electrode suction unit and the second plane of the third electrode suction unit are perpendicular to each other. Rather, KR’024 generally discloses different orientations of the suction units without specifying an orthogonal angular relationship between their planes.
JP’279 discloses a rotating or turret-type device in which functional units are arranged at different angular orientations, and wherein rotation of the device results in alignment of functional units along planes that are oriented at predetermined angles relative to one another, including perpendicular orientations ([0028]–[0032]; Fig. 3–5). JP’279 thus teaches arranging processing units such that their working planes are orthogonal to one another to facilitate different processing stages and to avoid spatial interference.
JP’064 further discloses electrode manufacturing equipment in which electrode sheets are processed at different stations arranged in different spatial orientations, reinforcing that varying angular arrangements, including orthogonal arrangements, are commonly employed in electrode processing equipment ([0043]–[0046]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode manufacturing device of KR’024 to arrange the second electrode suction unit and the third electrode suction unit such that their respective planar adsorption surfaces are perpendicular to each other, as taught by JP’279, in order to improve spatial efficiency, prevent interference between processing stations, and facilitate smooth transfer and handling of electrode sheets during different stages of manufacturing. Such a modification involves the predictable use of known design choices in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 4:
KR’024 further discloses that the rotating unit includes drive components such as cylinders and converters that impart rotational motion to the bonding unit, thereby indicating a powered rotation mechanism for rotating the suction units ([0036]–[0037]).
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that the rotating unit includes a motor and a worm gear as specifically recited in Claim 4. In particular, KR’024 does not identify the detailed drive transmission structure used to achieve rotation, nor does it specify the use of a worm gear mechanism.
JP’279 discloses a rotating or turret-type apparatus in which a motor drives rotation of a functional unit through a worm gear and worm wheel transmission to achieve precise angular positioning and stable holding during processing ([0030]–[0032]; Fig. 4). JP’279 thus expressly teaches a rotating unit that includes both a motor and a worm gear.
JP’064 further discloses electrode manufacturing equipment that employs motor-driven mechanical transmission components to drive rotation and movement of electrode handling units during processing ([0043]–[0046]), reinforcing that the use of motorized gear mechanisms is common in electrode manufacturing devices.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the rotating unit of KR’024 to include a motor and a worm gear as taught by JP’279, in order to achieve precise rotational positioning, provide self-locking against back-driving, and improve stability during electrode handling operations. Such a modification represents the predictable use of a known drive mechanism in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 5:
KR’024 further discloses that the cutting operation is performed by a linearly movable cutter driven by an actuator integrated into the bonding unit ([0035]).
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that the cutting unit includes a rodless cylinder as the specific linear actuator for driving the cutter.
JP’279 discloses a processing apparatus in which cutting and transfer mechanisms are driven by rodless cylinders, which provide linear motion without a protruding piston rod and are suitable for compact, rotating or turret-type structures ([0033]–[0035]; Fig. 6). JP’279 thus expressly teaches the use of a rodless cylinder to actuate a cutting unit.
JP’064 further discloses electrode manufacturing equipment in which defective portions of electrode sheets are cut using linear actuators arranged in limited installation spaces near electrode holding units ([0047]–[0050]), reinforcing that compact linear drive mechanisms are commonly used in electrode cutting assemblies.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the cutting unit of KR’024 to include a rodless cylinder, as taught by JP’279, in order to reduce installation space, avoid interference with adjacent rotating components, and improve operational stability and durability of the cutting mechanism. Such a modification represents the predictable use of a known linear actuator in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 6:
KR’024 discloses an electrode manufacturing device including multiple electrode suction units and associated cutting units and taping operations for joining electrode films. Specifically, KR’024 discloses that cutters (133, 233) are provided on respective adsorption (suction) units to cut electrode films prior to bonding ([0034]–[0035]; Fig. 1). Thus, KR’024 discloses a cutting unit that includes multiple cutters, corresponding to a first cutting unit and a second cutting unit.
KR’024 further discloses that after cutting, adhesive tape is applied to join electrode films, and that such tape application is performed by a taping mechanism separate from the cutting location ([0039]–[0041]; Fig. 4). Thus, KR’024 discloses a taping unit corresponding to joining operations following cutting.
KR’024 further discloses that the cutting and taping operations are performed in association with different electrode suction units that hold electrode sheets at different positions within the device ([0031]–[0033]; Fig. 1).
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that the cutting unit includes a first cutting unit and a second cutting unit that are each paired with a corresponding first taping unit and second taping unit, nor does KR’024 expressly disclose that the first cutting unit and first taping unit are positioned between the first electrode suction unit and the second electrode suction unit, and that the second cutting unit and second taping unit are positioned between the first electrode suction unit and the third electrode suction unit, as specifically recited in Claim 6.
JP’064 discloses an electrode manufacturing apparatus in which defective portions and normal portions of an electrode sheet are processed at different locations, and in which multiple cutting operations and multiple joining (taping) operations are arranged between different electrode holding units to separately process different regions of the electrode sheet ([0047]–[0050]; Fig. 7–8). JP’064 thus teaches the use of first and second cutting units and first and second joining units positioned between corresponding electrode holding units.
JP’279 further discloses a rotating or turret-type structure in which multiple processing units (e.g., cutting units and joining units) are spatially arranged between different functional stations, such that different processing units are positioned between different pairs of holding units depending on rotational position ([0028]–[0032]; Fig. 3–5). JP’279 thus teaches arranging processing units between specific pairs of suction or holding units on a rotating structure.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode manufacturing device of KR’024 to include a first cutting unit and a first taping unit positioned between a first electrode suction unit and a second electrode suction unit, and a second cutting unit and a second taping unit positioned between the first electrode suction unit and a third electrode suction unit, as taught by JP’064 and JP’279, in order to enable sequential cutting and joining of different electrode portions during rotation and transfer of electrode sheets. Such a modification represents the predictable use of known structural arrangements in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 7:
KR’024 discloses an electrode manufacturing device that processes an electrode film by cutting and bonding operations. KR’024 teaches that an electrode film is vacuum-adsorbed by adsorption units and cut by cutters (133, 233), and that remaining portions of the electrode film are subsequently joined using adhesive tape ([0031]–[0035], [0039]–[0041]; Fig. 1 and Fig. 4). As a result of the cutting operation, the electrode film includes separate usable portions remaining on opposite sides of the cut, which correspond to normal electrode portions of the electrode sheet.
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that the electrode sheet includes a first normal electrode portion and a second normal electrode portion with a defective electrode portion positioned between them, nor does KR’024 expressly describe removal of a defective portion located between two normal portions of the same electrode sheet.
JP’064 discloses an electrode manufacturing apparatus in which an electrode sheet includes a defective electrode portion located between two normal electrode portions, and wherein the electrode sheet is cut on both sides of the defective portion to separate the defective portion from the normal portions ([0043]–[0046]; [0047]–[0050]; Fig. 7–8). JP’064 thus expressly teaches the positional relationship recited in Claim 7, namely that the defective electrode portion is positioned between a first normal electrode portion and a second normal electrode portion.
JP’279 further discloses rotating electrode-processing equipment in which multiple processing steps are coordinated to handle different portions of an electrode sheet at different positions and orientations ([0028]–[0032]; Fig. 3–5), supporting the integration of the electrode-portion structure taught by JP’064 into the rotating manufacturing device of KR’024.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to configure the electrode manufacturing device of KR’024 to process an electrode sheet having a first normal electrode portion and a second normal electrode portion with a defective electrode portion positioned therebetween, as taught by JP’064, in order to selectively remove defective portions and subsequently join the remaining normal portions, thereby improving manufacturing yield and product quality. Such a modification represents the predictable use of known defect-handling techniques in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 8:
KR’024 discloses an electrode manufacturing device in which an electrode film is held by adsorption (suction) units and cut by cutters provided on the bonding units. Specifically, KR’024 teaches that electrode films are vacuum-adsorbed on adsorption units (130, 230) and that cutters (133, 233) cut the electrode film while the film is held on the adsorption unit ([0031]–[0035]; Fig. 1). Thus, KR’024 discloses positioning a portion of an electrode sheet on a suction unit and cutting the electrode sheet using a cutting unit.
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that a first normal electrode portion is positioned on the second electrode suction unit, nor does KR’024 expressly disclose that the first cutting unit cuts the electrode sheet between the first normal electrode portion and a defective electrode portion.
JP’064 discloses an electrode manufacturing apparatus in which an electrode sheet includes normal electrode portions and a defective electrode portion, and wherein cutting is performed at the boundary between a normal electrode portion and a defective electrode portion to remove the defective portion ([0043]–[0046]; [0047]–[0050]; Fig. 7–8). JP’064 thus expressly teaches cutting an electrode sheet between a normal electrode portion and a defective electrode portion.
JP’279 discloses rotating or indexing mechanisms that position a specific portion of a workpiece on a designated holding or suction unit prior to processing, such that processing occurs only after the workpiece is properly positioned ([0028]–[0032]; Fig. 3–5). JP’279 thus teaches positioning a selected portion of an electrode sheet on a particular suction unit before cutting.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode manufacturing device of KR’024 such that, when a first normal electrode portion is positioned on a second electrode suction unit, a first cutting unit cuts the electrode sheet between the first normal electrode portion and a defective electrode portion, as taught by JP’064 and JP’279, in order to selectively remove defective portions while retaining usable electrode material and improving manufacturing yield. Such a modification represents the predictable use of known positioning and defect-removal techniques in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 9:
KR’024 discloses an electrode manufacturing device in which electrode films are held by adsorption (suction) units, rotated between different positions, and joined by adhesive tape. Specifically, KR’024 teaches that after an electrode film is cut, an adhesive tape is applied to join one electrode film to another electrode film, and that such joining is performed after the bonding unit is rotated into a bonding position ([0036]–[0039], [0039]–[0041]; Fig. 2 and Fig. 4). Thus, KR’024 discloses a taping unit configured to join an electrode film to another electrode film when the suction/bonding unit has been rotated to a different position.
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that the electrode portion being joined is a defective electrode portion, nor does KR’024 expressly disclose that a second taping unit joins the defective electrode portion to a second electrode sheet specifically when the first electrode suction unit has been rotated to the second position.
includes a defective electrode portion that is separated by cutting and then joined or connected to another electrode sheet for subsequent handling or processing ([0043]–[0046]; [0047]–[0050]; Fig. 7–8). JP’064 thus expressly teaches joining a defective electrode portion to another electrode sheet after cutting.
JP’279 discloses rotating or indexing manufacturing equipment in which a workpiece is rotated to a second indexed position to perform a joining or bonding operation distinct from operations performed at a first position ([0028]–[0032]; Fig. 3–5). JP’279 thus teaches that joining operations may be configured to occur specifically after rotation to a second position.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode manufacturing device of KR’024 such that a second taping unit joins a defective electrode portion to a second electrode sheet when the first electrode suction unit has been rotated to a second position, as taught by JP’064 and JP’279, in order to enable controlled handling, transfer, and processing of defective electrode portions while maintaining continuous electrode manufacturing flow. Such a modification represents the predictable use of known rotation-based sequencing and joining techniques in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 10:
KR’024 discloses an electrode manufacturing device in which electrode films are joined using a taping unit that applies an adhesive member between electrode films after cutting. Specifically, KR’024 teaches that, after cutting an electrode film, an adhesive tape is applied to join one electrode film to another electrode film ([0039]–[0041]; Fig. 4). The adhesive tape is applied between the two electrode films to bond them together, thereby disclosing a taping unit configured to join electrode sheets by interposing an adhesive member.
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that the electrode portion being joined is a defective electrode portion, nor does KR’024 expressly disclose that the taping unit applies a first adhesive sheet specifically between a defective electrode portion and a second electrode sheet.
JP’064 discloses an electrode manufacturing apparatus in which an electrode sheet includes a defective electrode portion that is separated by cutting and then joined or connected to another electrode sheet for subsequent handling or processing ([0043]–[0046]; [0047]–[0050]; Fig. 7–8). JP’064 thus teaches joining a defective electrode portion to another electrode sheet.
JP’279 discloses a bonding or joining mechanism in which a sheet-like adhesive member is applied between workpieces to bond them together during a processing step after positioning or rotation ([0029]–[0032]; Fig. 3–5). JP’279 thus teaches applying an adhesive sheet between two members during a joining operation.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode manufacturing device of KR’024 such that the second taping unit joins a defective electrode portion to a second electrode sheet by applying a first adhesive sheet between them, as taught by JP’064 and JP’279, in order to enable reliable handling, transfer, and processing of defective electrode portions while maintaining continuous electrode manufacturing operations. Such a modification represents the predictable use of known adhesive bonding techniques in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 11:
KR’024 discloses an electrode manufacturing device in which electrode films are cut and then joined using adhesive tape by a taping unit. Specifically, KR’024 teaches that after cutting an electrode film, an adhesive tape is applied to join one electrode film to another electrode film prior to further handling or processing ([0039]–[0041]; Fig. 4). Thus, KR’024 discloses joining electrode portions before downstream handling.
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that the electrode manufacturing device further comprises a winding unit, nor does KR’024 expressly disclose winding at least a part of a defective electrode portion together with a second electrode sheet that has been joined by a taping unit.
JP’064 discloses an electrode manufacturing apparatus in which an electrode sheet includes a defective electrode portion that is separated and then joined to another electrode sheet, and further discloses that such joined electrode portions may be wound or rolled for subsequent handling, storage, or downstream processing ([0043]–[0046]; [0047]–[0051]; Fig. 7–8). JP’064 thus teaches winding a defective electrode portion together with another electrode sheet after joining.
JP’279 discloses downstream processing equipment in which sheet-like members are wound by a winding or rolling unit after bonding or joining operations, as part of a continuous manufacturing process ([0033]–[0036]; Fig. 6). JP’279 thus teaches the provision of a winding unit for winding joined sheet materials.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode manufacturing device of KR’024 to further include a winding unit configured to wind at least a part of a defective electrode portion and a second electrode sheet joined by a taping unit, as taught by JP’064 and JP’279, in order to facilitate handling, collection, and downstream processing of defective electrode material while maintaining a continuous manufacturing workflow. Such a modification represents the predictable integration of known post-joining handling techniques in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 12:
KR’024 discloses an electrode manufacturing device in which electrode films are cut and joined by a taping unit prior to downstream handling. Specifically, KR’024 teaches that after cutting an electrode film, an adhesive tape is applied to join electrode films before subsequent processing or transfer ([0039]–[0041]; Fig. 4). Thus, KR’024 discloses upstream joining of electrode portions that are suitable for subsequent handling operations.
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that the electrode manufacturing device includes a winding unit, nor does KR’024 disclose that a winding unit is configured to wind a defective electrode portion and a second electrode sheet by a length equal to or greater than the length of the defective electrode portion.
JP’279 discloses downstream processing equipment including a winding or rolling unit configured to wind sheet-like members after bonding or joining operations ([0033]–[0036]; Fig. 6). JP’279 thus teaches the inclusion of a winding unit for winding joined sheet materials as part of a continuous manufacturing process.
JP’064 discloses an electrode manufacturing apparatus in which a defective electrode portion, after being joined to another electrode sheet, is fully wound or rolled for handling, storage, or downstream processing ([0047]–[0051]; Fig. 8). JP’064 teaches that the defective electrode portion is completely taken up on the winding unit, which necessarily requires winding by a length equal to or greater than the length of the defective electrode portion.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode manufacturing device of KR’024 to further include a winding unit configured to wind the defective electrode portion and the second electrode sheet by a length equal to or greater than the length of the defective electrode portion, as taught by JP’279 and JP’064, in order to ensure complete take-up of the defective portion, prevent loose ends, and facilitate safe handling, storage, and disposal of defective electrode material. Such a modification represents a predictable application of known winding techniques in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 13:
KR’024 discloses an electrode manufacturing device including multiple electrode suction units and multiple cutting units. Specifically, KR’024 teaches that electrode films are vacuum-adsorbed on adsorption (suction) units (130, 230) and that cutters (133, 233) are provided to cut the electrode film when the film is positioned on the adsorption units ([0031]–[0035]; Fig. 1). Thus, KR’024 discloses a first electrode suction unit on which an electrode sheet is positioned and a second cutting unit configured to cut the electrode sheet when positioned thereon.
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that a winding unit positions a second normal electrode portion on the first electrode suction unit, nor does KR’024 expressly disclose that such positioning enables the second cutting unit to cut the electrode sheet between the second normal electrode portion and a defective electrode portion.
JP’279 discloses a rotating and feeding mechanism in which sheet-like members are wound, unwound, and fed to position specific portions of a sheet at designated processing stations, including holding or suction units, prior to a processing step ([0033]–[0036]; Fig. 6). JP’279 thus teaches that a winding unit can be used to position a selected portion of a sheet onto a particular processing or holding unit.
JP’064 discloses an electrode manufacturing apparatus in which an electrode sheet includes a defective electrode portion located between normal electrode portions, and wherein cutting is performed at boundaries between the defective portion and adjacent normal portions to separate the defective portion ([0043]–[0046]; [0047]–[0050]; Fig. 7–8). JP’064 thus teaches cutting the electrode sheet between a normal electrode portion and a defective electrode portion, including between a second normal electrode portion and the defective electrode portion.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode manufacturing device of KR’024 to include a winding unit configured to position a second normal electrode portion on the first electrode suction unit, as taught by JP’279, such that a second cutting unit cuts the electrode sheet between the second normal electrode portion and a defective electrode portion, as taught by JP’064, in order to enable sequential removal of defective electrode material located between multiple normal electrode portions. Such a modification represents the predictable use of known sheet-feeding and defect-removal techniques in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 14:
KR’024 discloses an electrode manufacturing device including electrode suction units and multiple cutting units. Specifically, KR’024 teaches that an electrode sheet is adsorbed on an adsorption (suction) unit (e.g., adsorption units 130, 230) and is cut by cutters (133, 233) provided at the adsorption units ([0031]–[0035]; Fig. 1). Thus, KR’024 discloses a first electrode suction unit and a second cutting unit configured to cut a first electrode sheet when an electrode portion is positioned thereon.
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that a winding unit positions a second normal electrode portion on the first electrode suction unit, nor does KR’024 disclose that such positioning enables the second cutting unit to cut the electrode sheet between the second normal electrode portion and a defective electrode portion.
JP’279 discloses a winding and feeding mechanism in which sheet-like members are wound, unwound, and fed so as to position a selected portion of a sheet at a designated processing or holding unit, such as a suction or fixing unit, prior to a processing step ([0033]–[0036]; Fig. 6). JP’279 thus teaches using a winding unit to position a specific portion of an electrode sheet on a target unit.
JP’064 discloses an electrode manufacturing apparatus in which an electrode sheet includes a defective electrode portion positioned between normal electrode portions, and wherein cutting is performed at the boundary between a defective electrode portion and an adjacent normal electrode portion to separate the defective portion ([0043]–[0046]; [0047]–[0050]; Fig. 7–8). JP’064 thus teaches cutting the electrode sheet between a second normal electrode portion and a defective electrode portion.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode manufacturing device of KR’024 to include a winding unit configured to position a second normal electrode portion on the first electrode suction unit, as taught by JP’279, such that a second cutting unit cuts the first electrode sheet between the second normal electrode portion and the defective electrode portion, as taught by JP’064, in order to enable sequential removal of defective electrode material located between multiple normal electrode portions. Such a modification represents the predictable use of known sheet-feeding and defect-removal techniques in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 15:
KR’024 discloses an electrode manufacturing device including a taping unit configured to apply an adhesive tape to electrode sheets after cutting. Specifically, KR’024 teaches that, after an electrode sheet is cut, an adhesive tape is applied between electrode sheets to join them together ([0039]–[0041]; Fig. 4). Thus, KR’024 discloses a taping unit configured to join electrode portions by applying an adhesive sheet between them.
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that the taping unit joins a second normal electrode portion to a first normal electrode portion, nor does KR’024 expressly distinguish that the adhesive applied is a second adhesive sheet used to reconnect two normal electrode portions after removal of a defective portion.
JP’064 discloses an electrode manufacturing apparatus in which an electrode sheet includes a defective electrode portion located between normal electrode portions, and after the defective portion is removed, the separated normal electrode portions are joined together to restore continuity of the electrode sheet ([0043]–[0046]; [0052]–[0054]). JP’064 thus teaches joining a first normal electrode portion and a second normal electrode portion after cutting out a defective portion.
JP’279 discloses a bonding technique in which a sheet-type adhesive member is applied between two workpieces to join them during a manufacturing process ([0029]–[0032]; Fig. 3–5). JP’279 thus teaches applying an adhesive sheet between two members to join them together.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode manufacturing device of KR’024 such that a first taping unit joins a second normal electrode portion to a first normal electrode portion by applying a second adhesive sheet between them, as taught by JP’064 and JP’279, in order to reconnect normal electrode portions after removal of a defective portion and thereby maintain continuous electrode processing. Such a modification represents the predictable use of known adhesive bonding techniques in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 16:
KR’024 discloses an electrode manufacturing device including a cutting unit configured to cut an electrode sheet. Specifically, KR’024 teaches that electrode sheets adsorbed on suction units are cut by cutters provided at the adsorption units ([0034]–[0035]; Fig. 1). Thus, KR’024 discloses an electrode manufacturing device having a cutting unit that performs a cutting operation as part of the electrode manufacturing process.
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that the electrode manufacturing device is configured to determine whether or not the cutting operation is completed based on a position of the cutting unit, as specifically recited in Claim 16.
JP’064 discloses an electrode manufacturing apparatus in which completion of a cutting operation is monitored and confirmed before subsequent processing steps are performed, in order to ensure proper separation of electrode portions ([0056]–[0059]). JP’064 thus teaches determining whether a cutting operation has been completed in an electrode manufacturing process.
JP’279 discloses a control technique in which the position or stroke end of a processing unit, such as a cutter or actuator, is detected and used as a control signal to determine completion of a processing operation ([0037]–[0040]; Fig. 7). JP’279 thus teaches determining completion of an operation based on a position of the cutting unit.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode manufacturing device of KR’024 to be configured to determine whether or not the cutting operation is completed based on a position of the cutting unit, as taught by JP’064 and JP’279, in order to improve process reliability, prevent incomplete cuts, and ensure proper sequencing of downstream operations. Such a modification represents the predictable application of known position-based monitoring and control techniques in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 17:
KR’024 discloses an electrode manufacturing device including a first electrode suction unit and a second electrode suction unit configured to apply suction to an electrode sheet. Specifically, KR’024 teaches that electrode sheets are vacuum-adsorbed and held on adsorption (suction) units during cutting and joining operations ([0031]–[0033]; Fig. 1). Thus, KR’024 discloses suction units configured to apply suction to an electrode sheet during electrode manufacturing.
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that the electrode manufacturing device further comprises a detection unit configured to determine whether a defective electrode portion is present in the electrode sheet, nor does KR’024 disclose that the first and second electrode suction units are configured to apply suction based on information acquired from such a detection unit.
JP’064 discloses an electrode manufacturing apparatus including a detection or inspection unit configured to inspect an electrode sheet and determine whether a defective electrode portion is present prior to cutting or subsequent processing ([0036]–[0042]; Fig. 4–6). JP’064 thus teaches detecting the presence or absence of defective electrode portions in an electrode sheet.
JP’279 discloses a control technique in which holding or adsorption units are selectively operated based on information acquired from a detection or inspection unit. Specifically, JP’279 teaches controlling suction or holding of sheet-like members in response to inspection results to enable automated processing ([0025]–[0028]; [0030]–[0032]; Fig. 2–3). JP’279 thus teaches applying suction based on information from a detection unit.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the electrode manufacturing device of KR’024 to further include a detection unit configured to determine whether a defective electrode portion is present in the first electrode sheet, as taught by JP’064, and to control the first and second electrode suction units to apply suction based on information acquired from the detection unit, as taught by JP’279, in order to improve processing efficiency, prevent unnecessary handling of defective regions, and enable automated defect-responsive electrode handling. Such a modification represents the predictable integration of known inspection and control techniques in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 18:
KR’024 discloses a method for manufacturing an electrode using an electrode manufacturing device in which an electrode sheet is held on suction (adsorption) units and is cut by a cutting unit. Specifically, KR’024 teaches cutting an electrode sheet while the sheet is adsorbed on suction units by cutters to divide the electrode sheet ([0031]–[0035]; Fig. 1). KR’024 further discloses rotating a suction unit between different positions to align the electrode sheet with downstream processing stations ([0026]–[0029]; Fig. 2). KR’024 also teaches using a taping unit to apply an adhesive tape to join electrode sheets after cutting ([0039]–[0041]; Fig. 4).
However, KR’024 does not expressly disclose that the cutting step separates a normal electrode portion from a defective electrode portion, nor does KR’024 expressly disclose that the defective electrode portion held on the first electrode suction unit is joined to a second electrode sheet held on a third electrode suction unit.
JP’064 discloses a method for manufacturing an electrode in which an electrode sheet includes a defective electrode portion, and the method includes cutting the electrode sheet to separate the defective electrode portion from a normal electrode portion ([0043]–[0046]; Fig. 7). JP’064 further discloses that the separated defective electrode portion may be joined to another electrode sheet for subsequent handling or processing ([0047]–[0050]; Fig. 8).
JP’279 discloses a method in which sheet-like members held on different holding units are aligned by rotating or repositioning a holding unit, and an adhesive sheet is applied to join the sheet-like members positioned on different units ([0029]–[0032]; [0033]–[0036]; Fig. 3–6). JP’279 thus teaches joining a sheet on one holding unit to a sheet on another holding unit after rotational positioning.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to perform the method of KR’024 such that the cutting step separates a normal electrode portion from a defective electrode portion, as taught by JP’064, and to rotate the first electrode suction unit and join the defective electrode portion to a second electrode sheet held on a third electrode suction unit, as taught by JP’279 and JP’064, in order to efficiently remove and handle defective electrode portions during electrode manufacturing. Such a modification represents the predictable combination of known electrode-processing steps in the same field and would have yielded no more than predictable results.
As to Claim 19:
KR’024 discloses an electrode for a secondary battery manufactured by an electrode manufacturing device. Specifically, KR’024 is directed to manufacturing electrodes for secondary batteries and discloses electrode sheets produced by suction holding, cutting, rotation, and taping operations ([0001]–[0003]; [0031]–[0041]; Fig. 1–4). Thus, KR’024 discloses an electrode for a secondary battery manufactured by an electrode manufacturing device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the primary reference (KR’024) is strictly limited to an end-of-roll splicing apparatus designed to stitch a fresh roll to an exhausted roll. Applicant contends that KR’024 lacks any disclosure or motivation to identify, track, or selectively cut a localized defective electrode portion intermediate to a single running sheet. The office respectfully disagrees. The modification of KR’024 does not rely on KR’024 alone to teach defect isolation. Both secondary references, JP’279 and JP’064, exist in the identical, narrow field of lithium-ion battery electrode web processing. JP’279 explicitly teaches structural marking (Marker M) and automated cutting exactly at the boundary lines defining a localized defective zone. JP’064 reinforces this exact function, teaching dynamic sensor tracking (Defect Part X) to calculate the precise range of a defect, selectively slice out the bad material, and preserve the normal portions. It would be entirely obvious to an automation engineer to apply the inline tracking and cutting logic of JP’279 and JP’064 to the structural web-handling cutting footprint of KR’024. Doing so merely replaces a manual or time-triggered cut with a sensor-driven, defect-bounded cut to optimize sheet quality.
Applicant then argues that the prior art fails to disclose the specific three-suction-unit architecture of claim 1, wherein a rotating unit drives a first suction unit to pivot between a common first plane (aligned with a second suction unit) and a common second plane (aligned with a third suction unit) for alternative path alignment and defect routing. The office respectfully disagrees. KR’024 explicitly discloses a plurality of independent suction/adsorption units (130, 230) mounted to bodies driven by mechanical rotary cylinders and converters. KR’024 explicitly teaches that these units dynamically alternate positions, pivoting from a baseline line operating path to a face-to-face, shared structural plane to execute a web splice connection. The claim's functional requirement for a "third electrode suction unit" aligned along a "common second plane" to catch the defective sheet is fully solved by the teachings of JP’279. JP’279 teaches that a separate, independent track (discarded material winding mechanism 80 equipped with its own winding core/shaft 91) must slide or intersect the primary sheet line to isolate, grip, and pull the defective segment away from the main product line. To combine these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would simply use KR’024’s pivoting suction assembly to align the incoming cut web with a third standby suction line or disposal track (as characterized by JP’279’s mechanism 80) when a defect is present. Utilizing an existing rotatable multi-planar suction arm to align with an alternative disposal path is a predictable layout modification that yields a entirely expected result.
Lastly, applicant argues that combining these references would require a complete, bodily restructuring of the frames and mechanisms of KR’024, rendering the combination non-obvious because the devices operate under fundamentally distinct mechanical principles. The office respectfully disagrees. A 103 modification does not require that the secondary references be physically or bodily incorporated into the primary reference's casing. Rather, the test is whether the teachings of the prior art would suggest the claimed combination to a person of ordinary skill in the art. In the automated field of secondary battery cell manufacturing, roll-splicing mechanisms (KR’024) and inline defect-purging stations (JP’279, JP’064) are highly complementary and functionally synergistic. Modifying the triggering substrate of KR’024—shifting from an exhausted roll boundary to a defect-demarcated boundary—does not require a mechanical redesign of its rotatable vacuum plates or cylinders. It merely requires implementing the control unit logic explicitly enabled by JP’064, which calculates the position and range of the defect to automate the timing of the cut and dictate which path the web should follow. Because the combination preserves the structural utility of KR'024's elements while applying the predictable line automation rules of JP'279 and JP'064, the combination is sound. Claim 1 remains unpatentable over the cited prior art.
For the reasons above, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723