DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 01/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/21/2026.
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/07/2023, 07/11/2024, 11/15/2024, and 12/10/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the recitation “the total weight of the solid content” in claim 3, line 3 lacks proper antecedent basis in the claim. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation will be interpreted as “a total weight of a solid content”.
Regarding claim 4, the recitation “the total weight of the solid content” in claim 4, line 3 lacks proper antecedent basis in the claim. For examination purposes the aforementioned recitation will be interpreted as “a total weight of a solid content”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-5, 7-8, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazawa (Pub. No. JP 2014232708 A) in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No. CN 114078609 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kitazawa teaches a slurry composition (slurry, see [0023]) for a positive electrode (see [0031] active material used in slurry is for positive electrode) for a lithium secondary battery (lithium-ion secondary battery, see [0031]), the slurry composition (slurry, see [0023]) comprising a positive electrode active material (active material, see [0023], see [0031] where the active material is positive electrode active material), an electrically conductive material (conductive auxiliary agent, see [0023]), a binder (binder, see [0023]), a thickener (cellulose-based polymer compound having carboxyl group, see [0023]), an additive (water-soluble carbodiimide compound, see [0023]) and a solvent (water as dispersion medium, see [0023]), and wherein the additive (water-soluble carbodiimide compound, see [0023]) comprises a carbodiimide-based compound (see [0023], the water-soluble carbodiimide compound is a carbodiimide based compound), but fails to teach wherein the thickener comprises a lithiated carboxymethyl cellulose (LiCMC).
However, Wang teaches wherein the thickener (thickener, see [0058] CMC-Li is a thickener) comprises a lithiated carboxymethyl cellulose (LiCMC) (CMC-Li, see [0058]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kitazawa to substitute the cellulose-based polymer compound having carboxyl group for CMC-Li as taught by Wang as an art effective equivalent thickener/dispersant to reduce emission of organic solvents and improve environmental impacts (see [0058] of Wang). Further, Kitazawa teaches that modifications can be made (see [0041] of Kitazawa).
Regarding claim 2, Kitazawa in view of Wang teaches wherein the carbodiimide-based compound (see [0023], the water-soluble carbodiimide compound is a carbodiimide based compound) comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of 1-ethyl-3-[3-(dimethylamino)propyl]-carbodiimide hydrochloride (EDC) (1-ethyl-3- (3-dimethylaminopropyl) carbodiimide hydrochloride, see [0019]), 1-(3-dimethylaminopropyl)-3-ethylcarbodiimide, N,N′-diisopropylcarbodiimide, and N,N′-di-tert-butylcarbodiimide.
Regarding claim 3, Kitazawa in view Wang fails to teach wherein the thickener is contained in an amount of 0.5% by weight to 5% by weight (0.43%-4.5% by mass of a CMC based compound, see explanation/calculations below) based on the total weight of the solid content of the slurry composition. See 112 rejection above for interpretation.
However, Kitazawa teaches wherein the thickener (cellulose-based polymer compound having carboxyl group, see [0023]) is contained in an amount of 0.5% by weight to 5% by weight (0.43%-4.5% by mass of a CMC based compound, see explanation/calculations below) based on the total weight of the solid content (see explanation/calculations below) of the slurry composition (slurry, see [0023]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kitazawa in view of Wang such that the weight of the cellulose-based polymer compound having a carboxyl group is contained in 0.5-4.5% by weight of the total weight of the slurry Kitazawa teaches an overlapping range of 0.43% to 4.5% based on total solid weigh of the slurry and a prima facie case of obviousness exists “in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” (MPEP 2144.05.I). Further, Kitazawa in view of Wang teaches that modifications can be made (see [0041] of Kitazawa).
Explanation/Calculations of thickener weight: see [0020] CMC and therefore the cellulose-based polymer is present in 0.5-5 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of active material, and carbodiimide compound is 0.05-0.5 parts by mass per 100 parts of active material. See [0034] where conductive auxiliary agent is contained in 1-10 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of active material. See [0043] binder is contained in 5 parts by mass.
Maximum Thickener wt%: [(Max Weight of cellulose based polymer)/((Weight Active Material)+(min carbodiimide weight)+(min conductive agent weight)+(parts of binder)+(max weight of cellulose based polymer))]*100 = 5/(100+0.05+1+5+5)*100 = 4.5%
Minimum Thickener wt% = [(Min Weight of cellulose based polymer)/((Weight Active Material)+(max carbodiimide weight)+(max conductive agent weight)+(parts of binder)+(min weight of cellulose based polymer))]*100 = 0.5/(100+0.5+10+5+0.5)*100 = 0.43%
Regarding claim 4, Kitazawa in view of Wang teaches wherein the additive (water-soluble carbodiimide compound, see [0023]) is contained in an amount of 0.01% by weight to 5% by weight (0.042% to 0.47% by weight of carbodiimide compound, see explanation/calculations below) based on the total weight of the solid content (see explanation/calculations below) of the slurry composition (slurry, see [0023]). See 112 rejection above for interpretation.
Explanation/Calculations of Additive Weight: see [0020] CMC and therefore the cellulose-based polymer is present in 0.5-5 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of active material, and carbodiimide compound is 0.05-0.5 parts by mass per 100 parts of active material. See [0034] where conductive auxiliary agent is contained in 1-10 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of active material. See [0043] binder is contained in 5 parts by mass.
Maximum Carbodiimide Compound wt%: [(max weight of carbodiimide compound)/((Weight Active Material)+(max carbodiimide weight)+(min conductive agent weight)+(parts of binder)+(min weight of cellulose based polymer))]*100 = 0.5/(100+0.5+1+5+0.5)*100 = 0.47%
Minimum Carbodiimide Compound wt% = [(Min Weight of carbodiimide compound)/((Weight Active Material)+(min carbodiimide weight)+(max conductive agent weight)+(parts of binder)+(max weight of cellulose based polymer))]*100 = 0.05/(100+0.05+10+5+5)*100 = 0.042%
Regarding claim 5, Kitazawa in view of Wang teaches wherein the solvent (water as dispersion medium, see [0023]) comprises one or more selected from an organic solvent and an aqueous solvent (see [0023] the dispersion medium is water), wherein the organic solvent comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of N-methyl-2-pyrrolidone (NMP), methoxy propyl acetate, butyl acetate, glycol acid, butyl ester, butyl glycol, methyl alkyl polysiloxane, alkylbenzene, propylene glycol, xylene, monophenyl glycol, aralkyl modified methyl alkyl polysiloxane, polyether modified dimethyl polysiloxane copolymer, polyacrylate, alkylbenzene, diisobutylketone, organically modified polysiloxane, butanol, isobutanol, modified polyacrylate, modified polyurethane, and polysiloxane modified polymer, and wherein the aqueous solvent (see [0023] the dispersion medium is water) comprises water (see [0023] the dispersion medium is water).
Regarding claim 7, Kitazawa in view of Wang is silent as to wherein the slurry composition for the positive electrode has a thixotropic index (T) of 0.1 to 0.4.
However, Kitazawa in view of Wang teaches the same slurry composition as the claimed invention including an additive comprising a carbodiimide-based compound, therefore it is the examiner’s position that if the thixotropic index of the slurry composition as taught by Kitazawa in view of Wang was measured in the same was as the claimed invention the thixotropic index would lie inside the claimed range or overlap the claimed range in a way that is obviates the recited limitation of the thixotropic index (T) of 0.1 to 0.4.
Regarding claim 8, Kitazawa in view of Wang teaches a positive electrode (positive electrode, see [0016]) for a lithium secondary battery (secondary battery, see [0016], see [0031] where the secondary battery is a lithium-ion battery), the positive electrode (positive electrode, see [0016]) comprising a positive electrode current collector (positive electrode side current collector, see [0016]); and a positive electrode active material layer (positive electrode active material layer, see [0016]) formed on one surface (surfaces, see [0016]) of the positive electrode current collector (positive electrode side current collector, see [0016]), wherein the positive electrode active material layer (positive electrode active material layer, see [0016]) is formed of the slurry composition (slurry, see [0023], see [0018] where the slurry is applied to form the active material layer) of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 11, Kitazawa in view of Wang teaches a lithium secondary battery (secondary battery, see [0031] where the active material includes lithium and therefore is a lithium battery, see [0043] gives a specific example using lithium based active material) comprising the positive electrode (positive electrode, see [0016]) according to claim 8 (see rejection of claim 8 above), a negative electrode (negative electrode, see [0016]), a separator (separator, see [0016]), and an electrolyte solution (electrolytic solution, see [0016]).
7. Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitazawa (Pub. No. JP 2014232708 A) in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No. CN 114078609 A) as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Han et al. (Pub. No. US 20190386292 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kitazawa in view of Wang fails to teach wherein the positive electrode active material comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of elemental sulfur (S.sub.8), Li.sub.2S.sub.n(n≥1, n is an integer), organic sulfur compound and carbon-sulfur polymer [(C.sub.2S.sub.x).sub.n, 2.5≤x≤50, n≥2, x and n are integers].
However, Han teaches wherein the positive electrode active material (active material, see [0078] where the active material is for a positive electrode) comprises one or more selected from the group consisting of elemental sulfur (S.sub.8) (sulfur (s.sub.8), see [0078]), Li.sub.2S.sub.n(n≥1, n is an integer), organic sulfur compound (organic sulfur compound, see [0078]) and carbon-sulfur polymer [(C.sub.2S.sub.x).sub.n, 2.5≤x≤50, n≥2, x and n are integers].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the positive electrode active material of Kitazawa in view of Wang to include sulfur (s.sub.8) and/or an organic sulfur compound as taught by Han as an art effective equivalent positive electrode active material for the similar purpose of making a positive electrode for a secondary battery (see [0038] the positive electrode and therefore the positive electrode active material is for a lithium-sulfur battery, see [Fig. 4 shows cycling of the battery therefore it is a secondary battery). Further, Kitazawa in view of Wang teaches that modifications can be made (see [0041] of Kitazawa).
Regarding claim 12, Kitazawa in view of Wang fails to teach wherein the lithium secondary battery is a lithium-sulfur secondary battery.
However, Han teaches wherein the lithium secondary battery (lithium-sulfur battery, see [0089], see Fig. 4 shows the battery cycling, therefore is a secondary battery) is a lithium-sulfur secondary battery (lithium-sulfur battery, see [0089], see Fig. 4 shows the battery cycling, therefore is a secondary battery) wherein the positive electrode active material (active material, see [0078] where the active material is for a positive electrode) comprises one or more of elemental sulfur (S.sub.8) (sulfur (s.sub.8), see [0078]) or an organic sulfur compound (organic sulfur compound, see [0078]) and wherein the negative electrode (negative electrode, see [0089]) comprises lithium metal (lithium metal, see [0095]) and wherein the positive electrode contains maghemite (maghemite, see [0039]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Kitazawa in view of Wang such that the lithium-secondary battery is a lithium-sulfur battery by modifying the positive electrode active material comprises one or more of elemental sulfur (S.sub.8) or an organic sulfur compound and the negative electrode is lithium metal, and the positive electrode contains maghemite as taught by Han to have very high capacity, higher theoretical energy density, be eco-friendly, and exhibit low cost (see [0009] of Han) and further exhibit increasing discharge capacity and life (see [0032] of Han). Further, Kitazawa in view of Wang teaches that modifications can be made (see [0041] of Kitazawa).
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS C MARROQUIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723