DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This action is responsive to the amendment dated 8/26/2026. Claims 1-18 remain pending. Claims 1 and 11 have been amended. The applicant’s amendment has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection below. This action is Final.
Response to Remarks
Applicant's amendment to recite wherein the movable panel comprises suction pads has overcome the rejection of record. However, a new ground(s) of rejection is applied to the claims below. As such, applicant's arguments with respect to the 102 rejection over Rueckheim have not been found persuasive. Rueckheim in view of Donohue (US 9,951,553) as stated below in the 103 rejection teaches each and every limitation including wherein the movable panel comprises suction pads.
Applicant's amendments to the claims have necessitated further search and/or consideration and/or revision of the rejection, and accordingly, this action must be made Final.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: closure means in claim 1 and blowing means in claim 2.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The corresponding structure of the closure means is being interpreted as the sealing windows or a rubber membrane as disclosed in para. [0047] – [0051] of the original specification. The corresponding structure of the blowing means is being interpreted as the gas injection manifold as disclosed in para. [0062] of the original specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 9-13, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rueckheim (US 4,909,874) in view of Donohue (US 9,951,553).
Regarding claim 1, Rueckheim discloses an apparatus (Figs. 1-3) for filling insulating glass with gas, comprising: a fixed panel (81) and a movable panel (126); said fixed panel and said movable panel having respective working surfaces configured to hold glass panes (72; Fig. 2); said fixed panel and said movable panel being configured to be juxtaposed along a direction perpendicular to the two working surfaces to join said glass panes to each other (Figs. 1-3); wherein said apparatus further comprises closure means (18, 20; Col. 3, lines 18-46) configured to form a chamber between said fixed panel and said movable panel (as shown in Figs. 1-2); and suction means (34, 38) configured to establish and maintain a predetermined pressure value inside said chamber as the glass panes are joined for making the insulating glass (Col. 3, lines 18-46), but fails to disclose wherein said movable panel comprises suction pads configured to hold said first glass pane.
Donohue teaches an apparatus wherein said movable panel (90) comprises suction pads configured to hold said first glass pane. (Figs. 2-8; Col. 7, line 65 through Col. 8, line 6)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the movable panel of Rueckheim to include suction pads as taught by Donohue in order to provide a means to selectively grip the glass pane as desired by the user. (Col. 7, line 65 through Col. 8, line 6)
Regarding claim 2, Rueckheim in view of Donohue further discloses the apparatus for filling insulating glass with gas according to claim 1, further comprising blowing means (36, 40) designed configured to blow gas into said chamber. (Col. 3, lines 18-46)
Regarding claim 4, Rueckheim further discloses the apparatus for filling insulating glass with gas according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein said closure means are made with a rubber membrane.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the closure means of Rueckheim to be made with a rubber membrane since selection of a known material on the basis of its suitability for an intended use involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a suitable material that is cost effective and durable.
Regarding claim 9, Rueckheim in view of Donohue further discloses the apparatus for filling insulating glass with gas according to claim 1, further comprising a pressure sensor connected to a control unit, configured to measure pressure inside the chamber, said control unit being signed configured to act accordingly on said suction means. (Col. 6, line 28-57)
Regarding claim 10, Rueckheim in view of Donohue further discloses the apparatus for filling insulating glass with gas according to claim 1, wherein said gas is a gas other than air. (MPEP 2115 states: "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).)
Regarding claim 11, Rueckheim discloses a method for filling insulating glass with gas, the method comprising: providing an apparatus (Figs. 1-3) for filling insulating glass with gas, comprising: a fixed panel (81) and a movable panel (126); said fixed panel and said movable panel having respective working surfaces configured to hold glass panes (72; Fig. 2); said fixed panel and said movable panel being configured to be juxtaposed along a direction perpendicular to the working surfaces to join said glass panes to each other (Figs. 1-3); wherein said apparatus further comprises closure means (18, 20; Col. 3, lines 18-46) configured to form a chamber between said fixed panel and said movable panel (as shown in Figs. 1-2); and suction means (34, 38) configured to establish and maintain a predetermined pressure value inside said chamber as the glass panes are joined for making the insulating glass (Col. 3, lines 18-46); and maintaining inside the chamber between said fixed panel and said movable panel a predetermined pressure value lower than pressure outside the chamber, during juxtaposition of said fixed panel and said movable panel and subsequent joining of the glass panes of the insulating glass (Col. 6, line 28 - Col. 7, line 25), but fails to disclose wherein said movable panel comprises suction pads configured to hold said first glass pane.
Donohue teaches an apparatus wherein said movable panel (90) comprises suction pads configured to hold said first glass pane. (Figs. 2-8; Col. 7, line 65 through Col. 8, line 6)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the movable panel of Rueckheim to include suction pads as taught by Donohue in order to provide a means to selectively grip the glass pane as desired by the user. (Col. 7, line 65 through Col. 8, line 6)
Regarding claim 12, Rueckheim in view of Donohue further discloses the method for filling insulating glass with gas according to claim 11, wherein the predetermined pressure value maintained inside the chamber is such that during joining and pressing of the glass panes following squeezing of a spacer, the value of the gas pressure inside the insulating glass is the same as the pressure outside the insulating glass. (Col. 6, line 28 - Col. 7, line 25)
Regarding claim 13, Rueckheim in view of Donohue further discloses the method for filling insulating glass with gas according to claim 11, wherein the predetermined pressure value maintained inside the chamber is such that during joining and pressing of the glass panes following squeezing of a spacer the value of the gas pressure inside the insulating glass is the same as the pressure of an installation site where the insulating glass is to be installed. (Col. 6, line 28 - Col. 7, line 25)
Regarding claim 15, Rueckheim in view of Donohue further discloses the method for filling insulating glass with gas according to claim 11, the method further comprising blowing gas into said chamber before the glass panes form the insulating glass. (Col. 6, line 28 - Col. 7, line 25)
Regarding claim 16, Rueckheim in view of Donohue further discloses the method for filling insulating glass with gas according to claim 11, wherein, if a thermoplastic spacer is used, the method comprises a step wherein, as the movable panel is brought to the fixed panel after the glass panes and the thermoplastic spacer have been joined together to squeeze the thermoplastic spacer, pressure in the chamber varies in proportion to movement of the movable panel. (in the event that the thermoplastic spacer is not used, this limitation is met)
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ruckheim in view of Donohue and Halle (DE 4,315,986).
Regarding claim 3, Rueckheim in view of Donohue further discloses the apparatus for filling insulating glass with gas according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein said closure means comprise an upper sealing window, lateral sealing windows, and a lower gasket, said upper and lateral sealing windows and said lower gasket acting between said fixed panel and said movable panel, said upper and lateral sealing windows being movable between a closed position in which the upper and lateral sealing windows make said chamber impermeable to fluids between said fixed panel and said movable panel; and an open position in which said chamber is in fluid communication with an external environment.
Halle teaches a closure means that comprises an upper sealing window (13), lateral sealing windows (10, 12), and a lower gasket (11), said upper and lateral sealing windows and said lower gasket acting between said fixed panel and said movable panel, said upper and lateral sealing windows being movable between a closed position in which the upper and lateral sealing windows make said chamber impermeable to fluids between said fixed panel and said movable panel; and an open position in which said chamber is in fluid communication with an external environment. (as best shown in Fig. 4)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the system of Rueckheim to include the sealing windows as taught by Halle in order to provide a stable and sealed frame.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 14, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753