DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the invention of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 12/22/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the technical feature of the claims is a special technical feature because Schneider-Planta Chemicals GmbH does not describe the claimed protein content in claim 1. This is not found persuasive because the agricultural product of claim 1 does not make a contribution over the prior art as further demonstrated in the claim rejection below. The Schneider reference teaches or makes obvious the product of present claim 1. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/22/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/10/2023 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 3, the phrase “obtained from cake(s) chosen from among […] legume cakes, soybean […] and any mixture of these cakes” is unclear. The narrow term “soybean” falls within the broad term “legume” and is indefinite because the resulting list in the claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). The claim is considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
In regard to claim 9, the claim recites the limitation wherein urea is present in a proportion up to 25%. It is unclear if urea is considered the “at least one agricultural active ingredient” required by claim 1 or is in addition to the active ingredient. For the purposes of examination, the limitations of claim 9 are interpreted as “[…] according to claim 1, wherein the agricultural active ingredient comprises urea, […]”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (DE 102004054790 – cite no. 1 in 04/10/20223 IDS) and Kalpana et al. (J. Pharmacogn. Phytochem, 2020).
In regard to claims 1 and 5, Schneider teaches a solid (e.g. extruded granule) [para. 0033], disintegrable agricultural product (e.g. dissolvable fertilizer) [0030] comprising
at least one agricultural active ingredient (e.g. plant nutrient, particularly, nitrogen-containing compounds) [0026] and
a matrix (e.g. homogenous mixing of organic material with mineral salt) [0022] based on a plant-origin material (e.g. renewable natural raw material; sunflower press cake) [0025; 0027],
said matrix having a plant protein content of at least 30% by weight relative to the dry weight of said plant-origin material (the protein content of sunflower oil press cake and extraction residues ranges from 30 to 50%) [Kalpana, pg. 23, introduction, 1st para.] and a lipid content of at most 10% by weight relative to the dry weight of said plant-origin material (e.g. the plant material is previously de-oiled and has a residual oil content of 1 to 30% by weight) [0027], and in the case he case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05], and said agricultural active ingredient being dispersed, in a homogeneous way, in said matrix (e.g. complete homogenous penetration of the organic material with the salt ions) [0030].
Schneider does not explicitly disclose wherein the matrix is present in a proportion of at least 75% by weight relative to the weight of the product and wherein said product has a density of 1300 to 1500 kg/m3. However, these characteristics are described by Schneider as result-effective variables, depending on the desired characteristics of the agricultural product. Schneider describes the amount of the plant material used influences the hydrophobicity of the fertilizer and thus the release kinetics of the mineral salts and can be adapted to the special requirements of the soil quality or the crops [0026]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize Schneider’s plant-origin material in a proportion of at least 75% by weight or at least 80% by weight (claim 5) to achieve the desired release kinetics. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that there the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In regard to the claimed density, Schneider describes carrying out mixing in the extruder under defined pressure and temperature. The pressure can be used to control the strength of the fertilizer and thus its dissolution rate in the soil [0030]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform extrusion at a pressure sufficient to achieve the claimed density. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize a sufficient extruder pressure to increase the strength of the fertilizer and control the dissolution rate.
In regard to claim 2, Schneider teaches the product according to claim 1, wherein the matrix has a plant protein content of at least 35% by weight relative to the dry weight of said plant-origin material (the protein content of sunflower oil press cake and extraction residues ranges from 30 to 50%) [Kalpana, pg. 23, introduction, 1st para.] and in the case he case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [MPEP 2144.05].
In regard to claim 3, Schneider teaches the product according to claim 1 wherein the matrix is obtained from sunflower cake (e.g. renewable natural raw material; sunflower press cake) [0025; 0027].
In regard to claim 4, the plant-origin material resulting from transition into the molten state is considered a product-by-process limitation and the claimed product is not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps [MPEP 2113]. In this case Schneider teaches the product according to claim 1, wherein the plant-origin material is turned into a plastic mass (e.g. flowable) [0030] and is considered to meet the claimed limitation as it relates to the structure implied.
In regard to claim 7, Schneider teaches the agricultural product according to claim 1, wherein it comprises at least one additive, said additive being able to be chosen from lubricating agents, matrix plasticizing agents and cohesive agents (e.g. further components, in particular biodegradable solvents, binders, or additives, are introduced into the extruder) [0034].
In regard to claim 8, Schneider teaches the agricultural product according to claim 1, wherein the agricultural active ingredient is chosen from fertilizers, natural defense stimulators, herbicides, fungicides, insecticides, parasiticides, repellents (e.g. NPK fertilizers, herbicide and pesticide) [0041], and are chosen from or resulting from natural substances of plant, animal, microbial or mineral origin (e.g. rock phosphate) [0042].
In regard to claim 10, Schneider teaches the agricultural product according to claim 1, wherein it is in the form of granules, tablets or pellets (e.g. extruded and cut into granules) [0033].
In regard to claim 11, Schneider teaches the agricultural product according to claim 1. The reference does not explicitly disclose the claimed properties. However, the product of Schneider has been shown to be substantially similar to the claimed product and the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. When the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, the claimed properties are presumed to be inherent [MPEP 2112.01].
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schneider (DE 102004054790 – cite no. 1 in 04/10/20223 IDS) and Kalpana et al. (J. Pharmacogn. Phytochem, 2020) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Risso (Industry News, 2018).
In regard to claims 6 and 9, Schneider teaches the agricultural product according to claim 1 wherein it comprises urea [0041]. The reference does not explicitly disclose wherein the agricultural active ingredient (e.g. urea) is in a proportion of 5% to 25% by weight relative to the weight of the product.
Risso describes the nutrients in fertilizers and their effect on growth, flowering and fruiting of plants [pg. 2, 1st para.]. Nitrogen content in balanced fertilizers ranges from 5-21% and 20-30% in high nitrogen fertilizers [pg. 4, last para.]. Risso teaches fertilizer nitrogen content to be an art recognized result effective variable depending on the specific needs of the plants [pg. 4]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include a nitrogen fertilizer (e.g. urea) as described by Schneider in amounts ranging from 5% to 25% by weight relative to the weight of the product through process optimization, since it has been held that there the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER A SMITH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731 January 21, 2026