Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-2, 4-9, 11, 13 and 13 in the reply filed on 11/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, 9, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO2019203852A1(WO’852, submitted by applicants on 04/19/2023).
Regarding claims 1-2, and 4, WO’852 discloses a finishing solution for removing unwanted resin from an object made by additive manufacturing techniques such as 3D printing having:
(a) 10% by weight D-limonene;
(b) 10% by weight 40% aqueous SXS (an emulsifier);
(c) 5% by weight DPM (a glycol ether);
(d) 5% by weight EB (a glycol ether);
(e) 1% by weight polysorbate 80 (a triol);
(1) 8.6% by weight sodium metasilicate pentahydrate (a caustic compound); and
(g) 60.4% by weight water. See [0015] and [0027].
It has been held that “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
As for the recitation that “the finishing solution is configured to remove uncured resin and ceramic filler from a surface of the 3D printed object “, the Examiner respectfully submits that since the prior art discloses an identical or substantially identical composition, the prior art composition is capable of removing uncured resin and ceramic filler from a surface of the 3D printed object.
Regarding claim 5, WO’852 discloses using sodium hydroxide in increasing the pH of the finishing solution. See [0026].
Regarding claim 6, WO’852 discloses using diethylene glycol butyl ether (DEGBE, 2-(2-butoxyethoxy)ethanol, DEG monobutyl ether). See [0023].
Regarding claims 9, 11 and 13, the Examiner respectfully submits that since the prior art discloses an identical or substantially identical composition, the prior art composition is capable of removing at least 50%, or 90% or 99% by weight of the ceramic filler from the surface of the 3D printed object without any additional subsequent mechanical act configured to remove remaining ceramic filler from the surface of the 3D printed object, and wherein the additional subsequent mechanical act is one or more of sanding, brushing, or bead blasting of the 3D printed object.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over JP2012140571A (submitted by applicants on 10/18/2024).
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7, JP2012140571A discloses a dishwashing detergent comprising 2.14 wt% coconut fatty acid salt( ヤシ油脂肪酸, an emulsifier), 17 wt% of BDG( a glycol ether), 0.05% NaOH, 3 wt% propylene glycol (プロピレングリコール), and balance of water (水, about 36%), See Example 7.
It has been held that “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
As for the recitation that “the finishing solution is configured to remove uncured resin and ceramic filler from a surface of the 3D printed object “, the Examiner respectfully submits that since the prior art discloses an identical or substantially identical composition, the prior art composition is capable of removing uncured resin and ceramic filler from a surface of the 3D printed object.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2012140571A as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US20120159718(US’718).
Regarding claim 8, JP2012140571A discloses a detergent composition set forth above.
But it is silent about using the hexylene glycol (2-methyl-2, 4 pentanediol).
US’718 disclose detergent composition comprising organic solvent. The organic solvents should be selected so as to be compatible with the tableware/cookware as well as with the different parts of an automatic dishwashing machine. See [0105], Solvents that can be used herein glycols, such as propylene glycol, diethylene glycol, hexylene glycol (2-methyl-2, 4 pentanediol), triethylene glycol, composition and dipropylene glycol and other similar materials; and mixtures thereof. See [0106].
Thus, it would bave been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use hexylene glycol (2-methyl-2, 4 pentanediol), motivated by the fact that US’718 disclose detergent composition comprising organic solvent. The organic solvents should be selected so as to be compatible with the tableware/cookware as well as with the different parts of an automatic dishwashing machine. See [0105], Solvents that can be used are glycols, such as propylene glycol, diethylene glycol, hexylene glycol (2-methyl-2, 4 pentanediol), triethylene glycol, composition and dipropylene glycol and other similar materials; and mixtures thereof. See [0106]. Substituting one known solvent (propylene glycol) with another solvent (2-methyl-2, 4 pentanediol) for the same purpose is known in the art.
Conclusion
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731