DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 12-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Klein et al (US 2015/0146963 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Klein discloses
a method for processing valuable documents, as illustrated in figures 8a and 8b, for example, in particular banknotes, as mentioned at paragraphs 105 mentioning currency bills and substitute currency notes, paragraph 106, mentioning substitute currency media and paragraph 107, mentioning currency bills, substitute currency media, and as mentioned at paragraphs 115-122,
including the following steps:
ascertaining first identification data, i.e., serial numbers as mentioned in paragraphs 151 and 372, and as illustrated in figures 8a and 8b, steps (802) and (812), in particular serial numbers, as mentioned at paragraphs and as illustrated in figures 3a-3e, 8a and 8b, in particular step (812), wherein the
valuable documents, i.e., as mentioned at paragraphs 115-122, contained in a plurality of different batches are identifiable, i.e., via image scanner (140a, 140b) as illustrated in figure 1 and as mentioned at paragraph 128, using the first identification data, i.e., the serial numbers in paragraphs 151 and 372, in at least one valuable document processing device (101, 101a, 101b), as illustrated in figures 1, 4a and 4b
generating assignment data, i.e., interpreted as a transaction identifier number as mentioned in paragraph 141 and/or a header/trailer serial number which is equivalent to a batch number or subbatch number as mentioned at paragraphs 141, 142, 212 (noting the batch number data field (387) and subbatch number data field (388)) and noting batrch number (1263c) and subbatch number (1264c) as illustrated at figure 12c and as mentioned at paragraph 515, by the at least one valuable document processing device (101, 101a, 101b), wherein the first identification data, i.e., serial numbers as mentioned in paragraphs 151 and 372, and as illustrated in figures 8a and 8b, steps (802) and (812), of the valuable documents contained in the plurality of batches are assigned to the respective batch using the assignment data, i.e., as mentioned at paragraphs 141 and 515, for example, transmitting the first identification data, i.e., as mentioned at paragraph 256 and as illustrated in figures 3e and figure 8a, step (806), “transmit customer data file to financial institution”, in particular via an Internet service, i.e., noting step (806) in figure 8a and noting the mention of “internet/online banks” in paragraph 111 and communications connected to a network/internet as mentioned at paragraphs 153, 353, 455, 546, 612 and 809, to an
external computing device, i.e. financial institution/bank computer (450b) as mentioned in paragraph 252, and the financial institution system as mentioned at paragraph 373 for example,
comparing the transmitted first identification data, i.e., banknote serial numbers as mentioned at paragraph 372, and as seen in figure 19b at steps (1904) “image currency bills” and (1906) “extract data” or various characteristics such as back plate number or magnetic or other various banknote characteristics used for banknote authentication, as mentioned at paragraph 152, for example, with predetermined second identification data, in particular serial numbers, i.e., serial numbers in a currency bill serial number database, as mentioned in figure 8a, step (812), such as a suspect serial number database, as mentioned in paragraph 373 and the blacklist database as mentioned in paragraph 198, for example, and which render identifiable valuable documents that should be withdrawn from circulation and/or should remain in circulation, in the external computing device (151, 450a, 450b), noting that a banknote with a serial number matching the blacklist database is understood to be a banknote that should be removed from circulation, and,
if the comparison has shown that the valuable documents contain at least one valuable document that should be withdrawn from circulation, i.e., figure 8a, step (814) “does currency bill serial number match serial number database”,
identifying the batch containing the at least one valuable document to be withdrawn from circulation from the plurality of batches using the assignment data, i.e, header/trailer field and.or header trailer serial numbers as mentioned at paragraph 693 and as illustrated in figure 20b, noting step (2022) asking “is extracted serial number a header/trailer serial number”, and a result of the comparison of the first identification data with the second identification data, i.e, the header/trailer serial number of the batch of bills being processed as well as the customer identifier, as mentioned at paragraph 702 and noting step (2036) in figure 20b, for example, and
sorting, by the at least one valuable document processing device (101, 101a, 101b), the valuable documents contained in the identified batch in the at least one valuable document processing device (101, 101a, 101b) on the basis of the result of the comparison of the first identification data, i.e,. the extracted serial number as mentioned at step (2008) of figure 20a and step (2020) of figure 20b, with the second identification data, i.e., the header/trailer serial number associated with the customer ID, as mentioned in step (2010) and the customer id as mentioned at step 2024), for example. See also paragraphs 707, 718 and 797, for example.
Regarding Claim 12, see paragraphs 115-122, 128, 151, 372 and 515, which state as follows.
[0115] Throughout this disclosure, the term "batch" is used to refer to a set of documents that is associated with a transaction. A batch of documents can include one or more deposit documents, one or more currency bills, one or more checks, a header card, a trailer card, or any combination thereof. For example, a batch of documents associated with a first transaction between a store and a bank can include ten documents, the ten documents including one deposit slip, eight currency bills, and one check. For another example, a batch of documents associated with a second transaction between an individual and a bank can include twenty-five documents, the twenty-five documents including one deposit slip, twenty currency bills, and four checks.
[0116] The disclosure refers to at least two types of batches of documents, which include a "sorted batch of documents" and an "intermingled or commingled batch of documents." A sorted batch of documents is a batch of documents wherein the order of different types of documents, such as, for example, currency bills, checks, and deposit documents, is arranged by groups, wherein each batch consists of at most only one group for each type of document. For example, for a batch consisting of ten checks and ten currency bills, a sorted batch of documents would include one group of the ten checks preceding or following a group of the ten currency bills. For another example, for a batch consisting of one deposit slip, five checks, and five currency bills, a sorted batch of documents would include the deposit slip and one group of the five checks preceding or following a group of the five currency bills. It is contemplated that the deposit slip can precede or follow either of the two groups of documents.
[0117] An intermingled batch of documents is a batch of documents wherein the order of different types of documents, such as, for example, currency bills, checks, and deposit documents, is mixed or random. For example, a batch consisting of ten checks and ten currency bills would be an intermingled batch of documents if the batch consisted of, in order, two bills, then three checks, then one bill, then seven checks, and finally seven bills. For another example, a batch consisting of one deposit slip, one cash-out ticket, ten currency bills, and twenty checks would be an intermingled batch of documents if the batch consisted of, in order, the deposit slip, five currency bills, ten checks, the cash-out ticket, five checks, five currency bills, and finally five checks.
[0118] A batch of documents including currency bills, checks, and/or deposit documents can be processed in a document processing device or system according to several modes of operation, such as, for example, a sorted-group mode, an ordered-batch mode, and an intermingled-batch mode. According to some embodiments, sorted batches of documents can be processed according to the sorted-group mode or the ordered-batch mode. According to some embodiments, intermingled batches of documents can be processed according to the intermingled-batch mode.
[0119] In the sorted-group mode, the currency bills are processed in separate groups from the checks. For example, for a batch of documents that includes one hundred currency bills and twenty-five checks, the one hundred currency bills are input into an input receptacle of the document processing device and processed as a first group of documents. Subsequently, the twenty-five checks are input into an input receptacle of the document processing device and processed separately as a second group of documents. That is, the currency bills and the checks of the batch of documents are processed in separate groups of documents by the same device.
[0120] In the ordered-batch mode, the currency bills are sorted from the checks into separate groups of documents, but the currency bills and the checks are input into an input receptacle of the document processing device together as a single batch of documents such that the document processing device can process the currency bills and then process the checks as a batch of documents associated with a transaction. For example, for a batch of documents that includes three hundred and fifty-five currency bills and six hundred checks, according to some embodiments, the three hundred and fifty-five currency bills are input into the input receptacle of the document processing device and the six hundred checks are positioned on top of the currency bills such that the currency bills are transported and processed first, and then the checks are transported and processed second. That is, the currency bills and the checks of the batch of documents are processed together, one after the other. For another example, for a sorted batch of documents that includes five currency bills and ten checks, according to some embodiments, the ten checks are input into the input receptacle of the document processing device and the five currency bills are positioned on top of the checks such that the checks are transported and processed first, and then the currency bills are transported and processed second.
[0121] In the intermingled-batch mode, the currency bills are mixed with the checks and input into the input receptacle of the document processing device together as a single intermingled or commingled batch of documents. For example, for a batch of documents that includes ten currency bills and ten checks, where the documents are ordered from one to twenty, the batch can be ordered such that the first five documents in the batch are currency bills, the second five documents in the batch are checks, then three currency bills, then two checks, then two currency bills, followed by three checks. In the intermingled-batch mode, the document processing device is configured to process the mixed currency bills and checks of the intermingled or commingled batch of documents together. Furthermore, in the intermingled-batch mode, the order of the documents does not matter and the processing device does not expect or require the documents in a batch to be in any particular order. Thus, a sorted batch of documents can be processed in the intermingled-batch mode.
[0122] Throughout this disclosure, the term "stack" or stack of documents is used to refer to a set of documents that is received in an input receptacle of a document processing device or system. A stack of documents can include a group of currency bills only; a group of checks only; a batch of documents including currency bills, checks, and/or other documents, such as deposit documents; one or more batches of documents; one or more subbatches of documents, one or more ordered batches of documents; an intermingled batch of documents; one or more deposit documents; one or more header cards and/or trailer cards; or any combination thereof.
[0128] According to some embodiments, an operator inserts a plurality of documents 135 into the input receptacle 110. According to some embodiments, the document processing device 101 is configured to receive only one document at a time. According to other embodiments, the document processing device 101 is configured to receive a stack of documents in the input receptacle 110. The transport mechanism 120 is coupled to the input receptacle 110 and is configured to transport the plurality of documents 135, one at a time, along a transport path in the direction of arrow A, through the document processing device 101, past one or more image scanner(s) 140a and/or 140b, and to one or more output receptacles 130. By "one at a time" it is meant that the documents are transported serially in a non-overlapping fashion along the transport path. That is, according to some embodiments, multiple ones of the documents 135 can be transported serially by the transport mechanism 120 simultaneously. According to some embodiments, each of the documents 135 is removed from the input receptacle 110 one at a time by the transport mechanism 120, and transported along the transport path in the direction of arrow A in a serial non-overlapping fashion such that each document can be individually imaged using the one or more image scanner(s) 140a and/or 140b. According to some embodiments, the documents 135 are transported continuously past the one or more image scanner(s) 140a and/or 140b without stopping the documents to image the documents. According to some embodiments, the transport mechanism 120 is configured to stop transportation of documents such that the documents are located in a variety of positions along the transport path. For example, according to some embodiments, the transport mechanism 120 is configured to halt transportation of documents such that desired documents are located upstream from, downstream from, and/or under the image scanner(s) (e.g., image scanners 140a and/or 140b).
[0372] At block 802, a plurality of documents associated with a deposit transaction for deposit at a financial institution (e.g., the Bank) are processed by the customer document processing device at the Store. At block 804, a customer data file (e.g., the data file 436) associated with the deposit transaction is generated using the customer document processing system. The customer data file includes a plurality of customer records (e.g., the records 300a-d, 305a-h), wherein each customer record is associated with one of the documents. According to some embodiments, each of the customer records includes one or more visually readable images and/or visually readable snippet images and/or identifying information, such as described above in reference to FIGS. 3A-E. At block 806, the customer data file is transmitted from the customer document processing system over the network to the financial institution system 808 in a similar manner as described above in relation to FIGS. 4A and 7A. The customer data file is received and/or stored in a memory of the financial institution system, the bank computer, the banking system, and/or in an item processing system, which is communicatively connected to and/or resides within the banking system.
[0515] Referring back to FIG. 12C, a display or operator interface displaying a search result summary 1200c of a basic-exact-match search is shown according to some embodiments. According to some embodiments, the search result summary 1200c is displayed on control panel 170/170' of the document processing device 101/101' and/or on some other display or monitor such as a monitor communicatively connected to the computer 151. The search result summary 1200c indicates that the operator inputted a 10 character target serial number of G71154353A and the document processing system 100 found an exact match (that is a match for the basic-exact-match search), as evidenced by record 1201c being displayed including an extracted serial number 1240c that exactly matches the target serial number 1241c. The record 1201c can include an image field of a serial number snippet 1230c, an extracted serial number 1240c that exactly matches the target serial number 1241c, a currency bill denomination 1250c, a device identification 1261c, a processing time stamp 1262c, a batch number 1263c, and/or a subbatch number 1264c. The operator can view the serial number snippet 1230c and/or the currency bill denomination 1250c to confirm that the record 1201c in fact corresponds to the target serial number 1241c and a denomination of interest. For example, the record 1201c may include a serial number snippet 1230c that matches the target serial number 1241c, but the record 1201c is for a $2 currency bill and the operator might have been looking for a $10 currency bill. Such a result is possible as serial numbers can be identical for different denominations of U.S. currency bills. According to some such embodiments, the operator can further limit the search to a particular denomination. According to some embodiments, the operator can activate or select a portion of the record 1201c to cause the document processing system to pull up or display a more complete record associated with the target serial number such as that illustrated in FIGS. 3A,C-D.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 13, Klein discloses
wherein the result of the comparison of the first identification data with the second identification data contains first sorting data, i.e., interpreted as the result of the comparison of the first identification data with the second identification data, which is represented by step (2028), i.e, “is bill suspect”-yes or no, with the answer of yes causing transport of the suspect bill to the reject receptacle at step (2032) as well as an at step (3026) to “associate denomination of suspect bill with customer ID” in figure 20b, for example, which render identifiable valuable documents that should
be withdrawn from circulation and/or should remain in circulation, as mentioned at steps (2028, 2032, 2034 and 2036) and
the batch containing the at least one valuable document that should be withdrawn from
circulation is identified using the assignment data and the first sorting data, and
the valuable documents are sorted in the at least one valuable document processing
device on the basis of the first sorting data, as mentioned at paragraphs 693, 701, 702, 707, 718 and 797, for example.
Regarding Claim 14, Klein discloses
including the following further steps:
in each case recording one or more properties of the valuable documents in the at least one valuable document processing device by means of one or more sensors, as mentioned at paragraphs 163 (UV sensor, IR sensors, magnetic sensors, imaging sensors), 317 (fitness sensors) and 557 (several different sensors), and
generating corresponding sensor data,
transmitting the sensor data, in particular via an Internet service, i.e., noting the mention at paragraph 153 that “communications port 180 is configured to be communicatively connected to a network (e.g., Internet, private network, customer network, financial institution network, LAN, WAN, secured network, etc.) to permit information to be transmitted to and from the document processing device 101”, to the external computing device (151, 450a, 450b), noting step (806) “transmit customer data file to financial institution”, of figure 8a, step (1856), “make data file available” and step (1858) “transmit data file to financial institution” of figure 18g, for example,
checking the valuable documents, in particular with regard to authenticity and/or
condition, i.e., via document processor (101, 101a, 101b), using the sensor data in the external computing device, i.e. financial institution/bank computer (450b), for example, to the effect of whether one or more valuable documents should be withdrawn from circulation and/or should remain in circulation, i.e., such as at steps (810, 812, 814) of figure 8a or steps (822, 824, 826) of figure 8b, or steps (2020, 2022, 2026 and 2028) of figure 20b, for example, and,
if the check of the valuable documents using the sensor data has shown that the valuable documents contain at least one valuable document that should be withdrawn from circulation,
identifying the batch containing the at least one valuable document to be withdrawn from circulation from the plurality of batches using the assignment data and a result of the check of the valuable documents using the sensor data, as shown in steps (2032, 2034, 2036) of figure 20b, for example, and
sorting the valuable documents contained in the identified batch in the at least one
valuable document processing device on the basis of the result of the check, as mentioned at paragraphs 707, 718 and 797, for example.
Regarding Claim 15, Klein discloses
wherein the result of the check of the valuable documents using the sensor data, as mentioned at paragraphs 163 (UV sensor, IR sensors, magnetic sensors, imaging sensors), 317 (fitness sensors) and 557 (several different sensors) as well as paragraph 792,
contains second sorting data, i.e., the result of whether or not the banknotes/documents are found in a blacklist of counterfeit documents, which render identifiable valuable documents that should be withdrawn from
circulation and/or should remain in circulation, such as illustrated in figure 20b, steps 2028, 2032, 2034, 2036, 2038),
the batch containing the at least one valuable document that should be withdrawn from circulation is identified using the assignment data and the second sorting data, and
the valuable documents are sorted in the at least one valuable document processing device on the basis of the second sorting data, as mentioned at as mentioned at paragraphs 707, 718 and 797, for example.
Regarding Claim 16, Klein discloses
wherein the first identification data of
the valuable documents are rerecorded when the valuable documents contained in the
identified batch are sorted in the at least one valuable document processing device and
the valuable documents contained in the identified batch are sorted using a comparison of the rerecorded first identification data with the first sorting data or second sorting data, as mentioned at paragraph 382 and noting figure 8b, steps (834) “transmit flagged customer record(s) to financial institution document processing system” and step (838) “process received documents in financial institution document processing system” can be construed as “rerecording” with respect to the prior recording as seen in figure 8a, step (802) “process documents at customer facility“.
Regarding Claim 17, Klein discloses
including the following further steps:
in each case ascertaining one or more properties of the valuable documents in the at least one valuable document processing device (101, 101a, 101b) by means of one or more sensors, as mentioned at paragraphs 163 (UV sensor, IR sensors, magnetic sensors, imaging sensors), 317 (fitness sensors) and 557 (several different sensors) as well as paragraph 792, and
generating corresponding sensor data, and
selecting a portion of the first identification data using the sensor data,
wherein the selected portion of the first identification data is transmitted to the external computing device, i.e. financial institution/bank computer (450b) as mentioned in paragraph 252, and the financial institution system as mentioned at paragraph 373 for example.
Regarding Claim 18, Klein discloses
wherein the ascertainment of the first
identification data of the valuable documents and the sorting of the valuable documents contained in the identified batch are implemented in the same valuable document processing device (101, 1901) as illustrated in figures 19a and 19b and as mentioned at paragraphs 253 and 664-672, for example. See also figures 15-17, document processing devices (1510, 1610, 1770).
Regarding Claim 19, Klein discloses
wherein the ascertainment of the first identification data, i.e., represented by figure 5a, step (502), for example, of the valuable documents is implemented in a first valuable document processing device, i.e., any one of (101, 101a, 101b, 1171a, 1171b, 1171n, 1173a, 1173b, 1173n, 1410a, 1410b, 1410c, 1510, 1610, 1710, 2412, 2462) and the sorting of the valuable documents contained in the identified batch is implemented in a second valuable document processing device, i.e., any one of the remaining of (101, 101a, 101b, 1171a, 1171b, 1171n, 1173a, 1173b, 1173n, 1410a, 1410b, 1410c, 1510, 1610, 1710, 2412, 2462) that differs from the first valuable document processing device.
Regarding Claim 20, Klein discloses
wherein the predetermined second identification data are augmented with further second identification data which identify valuable documents whose check, in particular with regard to authenticity and/or condition, has shown that they should be withdrawn from circulation and/or should remain in circulation, i.e., noting the header/trailer serial number associated with the customer ID, as mentioned in step (2010) and the customer id as mentioned at step 2024), and noting the header card can include multiple types of transaction information such as “ the transaction information (e.g., transaction identifier number, batch number, subbatch number, bank account number, etc.) is obtained and/or extracted from a header card and/or a trailer card”, as mentioned at the first sentence of paragraph 142, for example. See also paragraphs 707, 718 and 797, for example.
Regarding Claim 21, see the rejection of Claims 12-20, above.
Regarding Claim 22, see the rejection of Claim 12, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klein et al (US 2015/0146963 A1) in view of Pratten et al (US 2020/0111085 A1) and further in view of Mastie et al (US 2004/0222283 A1).
Regarding Claims 23 and 24, Klein teaches the system as described above.
Regarding Claim 23, Klein does not expressly teach
wherein the predetermined second identification data are stored in a whitelist on the external computing device and wherein the predetermined second identification data only render identifiable valuable documents that should remain in circulation.
Regarding Claim 23, Klein does not expressly teach, but Pratten teaches
wherein the predetermined second identification data are stored in a whitelist on the external computing device and wherein the predetermined second identification data only render identifiable valuable documents that should remain in circulation, as mentioned in paragraphs 34 and 82-85, for example, which state as follows.
[0034] Each of the automated teller machine 100, the ATM switch 110, and the foreign exchange rate service device 120 may be in geographically disparate locations. Put differently, each of the automated teller machine 100, the ATM switch 110, and the foreign exchange rate service device 120 may be remote from one or both of the others of the automated teller machine 100, the ATM switch 110, and the foreign exchange rate service device 120.
[0082] For example, dynamic foreign exchange may be restricted to tokens associated with partner institutions of a financial institution associated with the automated teller machine 100. Accordingly, such a database or look-up table may provide a “whitelist” of institutions for which dynamic foreign exchange should be provided. For example, the issuer of a token may be compared to a whitelist identifying issuers for which dynamic foreign exchange should be provided. In a particular example, a portion of a card number providing an IIN (e.g., the portion 730 (FIG. 7)) could be compared to such a whitelist.
[0083] In another example, a “blacklist” of institutions for which dynamic foreign exchange should not be provided may be maintained. For example, dynamic foreign exchange may only be offered for tokens issued by an issuer not on such a blacklist. According, issuers information may similarly be compared to such a blacklist in manners similar to comparing to a whitelist as described above.
[0084] Additionally or alternatively, it may be that the issuer information is used to identify additional information based on which a determination is made. For example, based on the issuer information (e.g., an IIN), a location of the issuing institution may be determined. It may then be that dynamic foreign exchange is only offered if the issuer is located in particular locales or is not offered if an issuer is located in particular locales. Notably, such a determination may be made based on location whitelists and/or blacklists. Similarly, it may be that a currency associated with the token is determined based on issuer information. It may then be that dynamic foreign exchange is only offered for certain currencies. For example, a whitelist of currencies for which dynamic foreign should be offered and/or a blacklist of currencies for which dynamic foreign exchange should not be offered may be maintained. Notably, dynamic foreign exchange should not be offered where the underlying currency associated with the token used to access the automated teller machine 100 (e.g., the currency of accounts associated with that token) is the same as the currency as would be used by the automated teller machine 100 in performing a transaction (i.e., to denominate the transaction at the automated teller machine 100). In a particular example, if the automated teller machine 100 is being used for a withdrawal, the automated teller machine 100 is configured to dispense Canadian dollars, and the token used to access the automated teller machine 100 for performing the withdrawal has an associated currency of Canadian dollars, the dynamic foreign exchange should not be offered as no exchange is needed.
[0085] In some embodiments, multiple whitelists and/or blacklists may be consulted in an ordered fashion in order to determine whether to offer dynamic foreign exchange for a particular issuer. For example, it may be that dynamic foreign exchange is to be offered for all cards from a particular issuer (which can be checked based on a whitelist of issuers for which dynamic foreign exchange should be offered) except for cards associated with a particular currency (which could be checked by, for issuer information passing the first check, comparing a currency associated with that issuer information against a currency whitelist or a currency blacklist). Other combinations and/or orderings of whitelists and blacklists are possible including, for example, whitelists and/or blacklists that are only selectively considered such as, for example, a whitelist of currencies relative to a particular issuing country.
Emphasis provided.
Regarding Claim 23, Klein does not expressly teach, but Mastie teaches
wherein the predetermined second identification data are stored in a whitelist on the external computing device and wherein the predetermined second identification data only render identifiable valuable documents that should remain in circulation, as mentioned in abstract and paragraphs 32-34 and 41-44, for example, which state as follows.
Abstract
The invention includes systems, methods and program products for providing real-time point-of-sale paper currency, i.e., bill, authentication and recordation. The invention provides a point-of-sale terminal capable of real-time authentication and recordation of paper currency, a currency monitoring system for tracking paper currency usage and conducting paper currency authentication relative to a currency issuing entity's database, and a reconciliation system for reconciling a point-of-sale terminal.
[0032] Face data determinator 26 (hereinafter "FDD 26") is capable of conducting bill image processing to determine authenticating data 20 for a face of bill 14. As illustrated, in one embodiment, FDD 26 includes an optical character recognition (OCR) module 34. FDD 26 may also include any of a variety of image data-related processing modules for such things as: rotation correction, image aliasing correction, error corrections, magnetic ink character recognition (MICR), etc. Referring to FIG. 2, OCR module 34, in one embodiment, determines authenticating data 20 in the form of at least one serial number 100 and/or a face denomination 102 of bill 14. "Face denomination" 102 is that amount that is indicated on the surface (front or back) of bill 14. On certain currency issuing entities bills (e.g., US bills), a plurality of serial numbers 100A, 100B are provided, and may be ascertained as authenticating data 20 for purposes to be described below. In the bill 14 shown in FIG. 2, the serial number(s) are "BI 20336464 A" and the face denomination is $20. Although FDD 26 and OCR module 34 are shown as part of POS terminal 16, it should be recognized that either or both parts may be provided remote from POS terminal 16, e.g., at a merchant site system 36 such that a single FDD 26 and/or a single OCR module 34 may be provided for a number of POS terminals 16.
[0033] Bill authenticator 28 (hereinafter "authenticator 28") provides one or more mechanisms for checking the authenticity of bill 14. As will be discussed further, "authenticity," as used herein, can take a variety of forms. For example, authenticity may include an indication of a bill's state relative to counterfeiting, physical condition, theft and/or other parameters. In one embodiment, authenticator 28 may include: a communicator 40; a strip analyzer 42; a comparator 44; and other authenticator(s) 46.
[0034] Communicator 40 is provided to communicate authenticating data 20 to and from a currency monitoring system 50. Communicator 40 may include, for example, a modem, digital signal line (DSL), or other well-known telecommunications system, a local area network, wide area network, etc. In one particular example, communicator 40 may include structure similar to communicators provided in well-known credit card authorization systems. While full details of currency monitoring system 50 will be discussed in more detail below, system 50 is capable of authenticating a bill 14 by evaluating authenticating data 20 transmitted thereto from POS terminal 16 by communicator 40. Once currency monitoring system 50 determines whether bill 14 is authentic, communicator 40 receives an authentication response 52. As noted above, authenticity can take a variety of forms. Accordingly, authentication response 52 may include a variety of authenticity indicators. In one embodiment, authentication response 52 may include four types of responses that may be used alone or in combination. First, an "authenticated" response may be used to indicate that bill 14 is authentic and usable; second, a "reject" response may be used to indicate that bill 14 is physically unsuitable for use, e.g., because it is torn, marked, worn, or otherwise unsuitable; third, a "counterfeit" response may be used to indicate bill 14 is suspected to be counterfeit; and fourth, a "stolen" response may be used to indicate that bill 14 is suspected as stolen property. It should be recognized that authentication response 52 may include other types of responses depending on the types of authentication evaluated.
III. Currency Monitoring System
[0041] Currency monitoring system 50 ("CMS" in FIG. 1) provides bill 14 authentication by evaluating authenticating data 20 transmitted thereto from POS terminal 16 by communicator 40. In particular, currency monitoring system 50 provides bill 14 authenticating that is not readily completed at POS terminal 16. Currency monitoring system 50 will preferably function at sufficient speed that no unacceptable delays occur at POS terminal 16. For example, currency monitoring system 50 may operate at speeds similar to current credit card authorization systems. Currency monitoring system 50 may be owned/managed by, for example, a government agency such as the US Federal Reserve or the US Treasury, a trusted third party, foreign market equivalents of the preceding, or a combination thereof.
[0042] In one embodiment, currency monitoring system 50 includes a communicator 80, an authenticator 82 and an archiver 84. Communicator 80 is provided to communicate certain types of authenticating data 20 to and from currency monitoring system 50, and may include, for example, a modem, digital signal line (DSL), or other well-known telecommunications system, a local area network, wide area network, etc. In one particular example, communicator 80 may include structure similar to communicators provided in well-known credit card authorization systems. Currency monitoring system 50 is also linked to, or includes, a currency database 86. Currency database 86 may be owned/managed by, for example, the US Federal Reserve, the US Treasury, a trusted third party, foreign market equivalents of the preceding, or a combination thereof. Currency database 86 may include practically any data relative to one or more currency issuing entities' currency. For example, currency database 86 may include: all active currency serial numbers for a specific currency issuing entity, serial numbers and/or images of bills reported as stolen and/or known to be counterfeit, serial number and denomination correspondence, and other currency data for one or more currency issuing entities.
[0043] Authenticator 82 functions to authenticate bill 14 by conducting at least one evaluation relative to bill 14 using authenticating data 20 and/or currency database 86. In one example, evaluation may include verifying whether a bill's serial number 100 (FIG. 2) is authentic. This verification may be conducted, for example, by a comparator 83 of authenticator 82 comparing bill serial number 100 (FIG. 2), received as authenticating data 20 from POS terminal 16, to all active currency serial numbers for a specific currency issuing entity. If a bill's serial number is not active, it indicates that bill 14 is fraudulent (i.e., non-authentic). In another example, evaluation may include verifying whether a bill denomination corresponds to the bill serial number. That is, whether the serial number is an appropriate number for use on currency of the particular denomination (face and/or strip denomination) for the specific currency issuing entity's currency. If a bill's serial number is not appropriate for the bill's denomination, it indicates that bill 14 is fraudulent (i.e., non-authentic). In another example, authenticator 82 may evaluate a physical state of bill 14 by evaluating bill image(s) 18 to determine whether bill 14 is torn, marked, worn, or otherwise unsuitable for use. This evaluation may be completed, for example, by comparator 83 comparing bill image(s) 18 to an acceptable standard (not shown) to determine whether bill 14 is unsuitable for use.
[0044] Once authenticator 82 has completed its evaluation(s), an authentication response 52 may be transmitted back to POS terminal 16 via communicator 80. As described-above, authentication response 52 may include, for example, four types of responses that may be used alone or in combination: "authenticated" to indicate that bill 14 is authentic and usable; "reject" to indicate that bill 14 is physically unsuitable for use; "counterfeit" to indicate bill 14 is suspected to be counterfeit; and "stolen" to indicate that bill 14 is suspected as stolen property. If other evaluations are conducted, authentication response 52 may include other forms of response to represent the findings of those evaluations.
Emphasis provided.
Although Mastie does not expressly mention the terms “whitelist” or “blacklist”, the data and information described in paragraphs 32-34 and 41-44, for example, is the same as that used for the whitelist and blacklist data as defined by Applicant’s specification and claims.
Regarding Claim 23, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have provided specified second identification data stored in a whitelist on the external computing device, i.e., wherein the predetermined second identification data are stored in a whitelist on the external computing device and wherein the predetermined second identification data only render identifiable valuable documents that should remain in circulation, as taught by Pratten and Mastie, in Klein's valuable document processing system for the purpose of processing valuable documents using common whitelist and blacklist data available from central bank systems, along with the sensed data of all individual banknotes accepted by Klein's value document systems, for example.
Regarding Claim 24, see the rejection of Claim 23, above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/18/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts at Remarks received 6/8/26, p. 10, last nine lines, that Klein does not disclose the following limitations of Claim 12.
“generating assignment data, by the at least one valuable document processing device, wherein the first identification data of the valuable documents contained in the plurality of batches are assigned to the respective batch using the assignment data” and
“sorting, by the at least one valuable document processing device, the valuable documents contained in the identified batch in the at least one valuable document processing device on the basis of the result of the comparison of the first identification data with the second identification data”.
On the contrary, Klein discloses the following limitations expressly:
generating assignment data, i.e., interpreted as a transaction identifier number as mentioned in paragraph 141 and/or a header/trailer serial number which is equivalent to a batch number or subbatch number as mentioned at paragraphs 141, 142, 212 (noting the batch number data field (387) and subbatch number data field (388)) and noting batrch number (1263c) and subbatch number (1264c) as illustrated at figure 12c and as mentioned at paragraph 515, by the at least one valuable document processing device (101, 101a, 101b), wherein the first identification data, i.e., serial numbers as mentioned in paragraphs 151 and 372, and as illustrated in figures 8a and 8b, steps (802) and (812), of the valuable documents contained in the plurality of batches are assigned to the respective batch using the assignment data, i.e., as mentioned at paragraphs 141 and 515, for example,
sorting, by the at least one valuable document processing device (101, 101a, 101b), the valuable documents contained in the identified batch in the at least one valuable document processing device (101, 101a, 101b) on the basis of the result of the comparison of the first identification data, i.e,. the extracted serial number as mentioned at step (2008) of figure 20a and step (2020) of figure 20b, with the second identification data, i.e., the header/trailer serial number associated with the customer ID, as mentioned in step (2010) and the customer id as mentioned at step 2024), for example. See also paragraphs 707, 718 and 797, for example.
First, Applicant asserts that the sorting must occur in a single value document processing device. However, the claim limitation is “at least one valuable document processing device” which can be read as meaning more than one processing device can be used. Nonetheless, Klein discloses “(a) System and Method for Processing Currency Bills and Substitute Currency Media in a Single Device” as mentioned in paragraph 143, for example. Paragraph 590 discloses that the document processing device can be a single device associated with several or all of the teller terminals, for example. Thus, Klein discloses use of a single processing device, even though Klein also teaches use of multiple devices, which are both considered to meet the limitations of Claim 12.
Therefore, despite Applicant asserting further that “the method 2001 shown in FIG. 20B occurs after ‘an operator of the device…physically transports a batch of bills form the initial device to the imaging MPS for further processing’” as mentioned at paragraph 696 of Klein, still discloses the claimed invention as described in the limitations mentioned above.
Applicant further asserts at Remarks, p. 11, last full paragraph and that paragraph bridging p. 11 and 12, as follows.
“Accordingly, Klein describes that the bills are not sorted by the same device that images the batch of bills to generate image data. (see also paras. [0381]-[0382] and FIG. 8B of Klein). Specifically, Klein requires that the bills are transported to a separate device for further processing.”
However, as shown above, Klein discloses use of a single processing device and further, Claim 12 requires the option of “at least one valuable document device” which can include the use of a second valuable document device rather than precluding it.
“In contrast, claim 12 requires that both the generating of assignment data and sorting the valuable documents are done ‘by the at least one valuable document processing device.’ Claim 12 further requires that the sorting is done on ‘the valuable documents contained in the identified batch’ which is ‘in the at least one valuable document processing device.’ (emphasis added for illustrative purposes only). The identified batch is the one ‘containing the at least one valuable document to be withdrawn from circulation from the plurality of batches’ (claim 12). Thus, this one respective batch is identified by the method according to claim 12, and this respective batch is contained in one particular valuable document processing device which both generates the assignment data (which is used to assign the first identification data of the valuable documents to the respective batch) and sorts the valuable documents.”
Regarding this argument, Klein discloses at paragraph 372, as follows.
[0372] At block 802, a plurality of documents associated with a deposit transaction for deposit at a financial institution (e.g., the Bank) are processed by the customer document processing device at the Store. At block 804, a customer data file (e.g., the data file 436) associated with the deposit transaction is generated using the customer document processing system. The customer data file includes a plurality of customer records (e.g., the records 300a-d, 305a-h), wherein each customer record is associated with one of the documents. According to some embodiments, each of the customer records includes one or more visually readable images and/or visually readable snippet images and/or identifying information, such as described above in reference to FIGS. 3A-E. At block 806, the customer data file is transmitted from the customer document processing system over the network to the financial institution system 808 in a similar manner as described above in relation to FIGS. 4A and 7A. The customer data file is received and/or stored in a memory of the financial institution system, the bank computer, the banking system, and/or in an item processing system, which is communicatively connected to and/or resides within the banking system.
Emphasis provided.
Thus, paragraph 372 discloses Applicant’s contested claim language, for example. See also paragraph 142, which states as follows.
[0142] According to some embodiments, the transaction information (e.g., transaction identifier number, batch number, subbatch number, bank account number, etc.) is obtained and/or extracted from a header card and/or a trailer card. In some such embodiments, prior to inserting the stack of documents 135 into the input receptacle 110, the operator puts a header card and/or a trailer card onto the stack of documents 135, or otherwise associates the header/trailer card with the plurality of documents 135. According to some embodiments, the header/trailer card includes an indicia representing the transactional information. For example, the header/trailer card can be a barcoded ticket including a barcode indicia that encodes a bank account number of a customer associated with the documents 135. In response to initiating the document processing, the document processing device 101, via the image scanner(s) 140a and/or 140b, scans the header/trailer card and accompanying stack of documents 135 to generate a data file including a record for the header/trailer card and a record for each of the documents 135. According to some embodiments, the record of the header/trailer card includes a visually readable image of the header/trailer card and the records of the documents 135 include respective visually readable images. The document processing system 100 is configured to use software to decode the generated image of the barcode indicia to extract the transaction information. According to some embodiments, the extracted transactional information can be automatically associated with the records of the documents 135 within the data file. According to some embodiments, the document processing system 100 includes a barcode scanner to scan and decode the barcode indicia as is commonly known in the art and the document processing system 100 associates data obtained from the barcode scanner with the appropriate records. According to some embodiments, missing or incomplete transactional information can be corrected or entered in the same, or similar, manner as the identifying information described below in the Modes of Operation--Flagging Section, and in other sections of the present disclosure.
[0147] According to some embodiments, the document processing system 100 is configured to store and/or buffer a plurality of records associated with a single deposit transaction of a plurality of documents. In some such embodiments, in response to the document processing system 100 generating a record for each of the plurality of documents, the document processing system 100 generates a data file that includes the plurality of stored and/or buffered records. The data file can include a plurality of additional information, such as, for example, an financial institution account number, a transaction identifier, a customer name, address, phone number, a total deposit amount, a total currency bill deposit amount, a number of deposited currency bills broken down by denomination, a total check deposit amount, a number of deposited checks broken down by on-us checks and transit checks, a total on-us check deposit amount, and a total transit check deposit amount. According to some embodiments, the data file can be transmitted from the document processing system 100 to a financial institution for a credit based on the total deposit amount associated with the deposit transaction. Further details on transmitting a data file for a credit is described below in reference to FIGS. 4A-B, 5A, 6, and 8A-B.
Emphasis provided.
Therefore, in contrast to Applicant’s assertions, Klein discloses that the at least one value document processing device “generates the assignment data (which is used to assign the first identification data of the valuable documents to the respective batch) and sorts the valuable documents”.
Therefore, Claims 12-24 remain rejected.
Conclusion
Applicant is encouraged to contact the Examiner should there be any questions about this rejection or in an endeavor to explore potential amendments or potential allowable subject matter.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Graf ‘621 is cited as teaching generating a transaction number as mentioned at abstract, col. 3, line 56-col. 4, line 10 and col. 4, line 22-45, for example.
Baldischweiler ‘176 is cited as teaching generating a transaction number as mentioned at paragraphs 37, 84 and 85, for example.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY A SHAPIRO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
August 18, 2026