DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sae-Ma et al. (Journal of Applied Polymer Science, Vol.117, 2862–2869 (2010)).
Considering Claims 1 and 2: Sae-Ma et al. teaches a hydrogenated C9 petroleum resin comprising a ratio of aromatic hydrogen atoms to total hydrogen atoms of 0.335 or 0.2 (Table III). Sae-Ma et al. teaches the resin as being prepared entirely from C9 fraction (Materials).
Considering Claim 3: Sae-Ma et al. teaches the softening temperature as being ~90 ºC (Figure 8).
Considering Claim 5: Sae-Ma et al. teaches the hydrogenated resin as being a rubber modifier (Introduction).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sae-Ma et al. (Journal of Applied Polymer Science, Vol.117, 2862–2869 (2010)) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okamoto et al. (US Pat. 5,569,716).
Considering Claim 4: Sae-Ma et al. teaches the resin of claim 1 as shown above.
Sae-Ma et al. is silent towards the iodine value. However, Okamoto et al. teaches a hydrogenated petroleum resin for use in a rubber composition having a bromine number of not greater than 10 (4:4-17). Bromine number and iodine number of both means of measuring the same property, namely unsaturated bonds. Sae-Ma et al. and Okamoto et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely rubber compositions comprising hydrogenated petroleum resins. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have controlled the iodine number of Sae-Ma et al. to a low value as in Okamoto et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Okamoto et al. suggests, to provide high heat resistance to the rubber composition (4:18-26).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sae-Ma et al. (Journal of Applied Polymer Science, Vol.117, 2862–2869 (2010)) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Akiyama et al. (WO 2019/207925). Note: A machine translation is being used for WO 2019/207925
Considering Claims 6-8: Sae-Ma et al. teaches the composition of claim 5 as shown above.
Sae-Ma et al. does not teach the composition of the rubber composition. However, Akiyama et al. teaches a composition comprising a rubber component, the hydrogenated petroleum resin, and a crosslinking agent (pg. 6). Akiyama et al. teaches crosslinking the rubber composition (pg. 6). Akiyama et al. teaches a tire comprising the crosslinked rubber (pg. 6). Sae-Ma et al. and Akiyama et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely petroleum resins for rubber compositions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the rubber composition of Sae-Ma et al. to prepare a tire, as Akiyama et al. suggests, it is a suitable use for the rubber compositions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 2-6, filed June 2, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Sae-Ma et al. (Journal of Applied Polymer Science, Vol.117, 2862–2869 (2010)).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767