DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Okazaki et al. (US Pat. 6,458,902).
Considering Claims 1 and 2: Okazaki et al. teaches a hydrogenated petroleum resin made solely from a C9 petroleum fraction/greater than 95% by mass of C9 (Example 2), where 65% of the aromatic rings have been hydrogenated (Table 1), leaving 35% hydrogen atoms attached to an aromatic ring.
Considering Claim 3: Okazaki et al. teaches the polymer as having a softening point of 98 ºC (Table 1).
Considering Claims 5: Okazaki et al. teaches a rubber composition comprising the hydrogenated petroleum resin (Example 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki et al. (US Pat. 6,458,902) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Okamoto et al. (US Pat. 5,569,716).
Considering Claim 4: Akiyama et al. teaches the resin of claim 1 as shown above.
Akiyama et al. is silent towards the iodine value. However, Okamoto et al. teaches a hydrogenated petroleum resin for use in a rubber composition having a bromine number of not greater than 10 (4:4-17). Bromine number and iodine number of both means of measuring the same property, namely unsaturated bonds. Akiyama et al. and Okamoto et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely rubber compositions comprising hydrogenated petroleum resins. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have controlled the iodine number of Akiyama et al. to a low value as in Okamoto et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Okamoto et al. suggests, to provide high heat resistance to the rubber composition (4:18-26).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okazaki et al. (US Pat. 6,458,902) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Akiyama et al. (WO 2019/207925). Note: A machine translation is being used for WO 2019/207925
Considering Claims 6-8: Okazaki et al. teaches the composition of claim 5 as shown above.
Okazaki et al. does not teach the composition of the rubber composition. However, Akiyama et al. teaches a composition comprising a rubber component, the hydrogenated petroleum resin, and a crosslinking agent (pg. 6). Akiyama et al. teaches crosslinking the rubber composition (pg. 6). Akiyama et al. teaches a tire comprising the crosslinked rubber (pg. 6). Okazaki et al. and Akiyama et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely petroleum resins for rubber compositions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used the rubber composition of Okazaki et al. to prepare a tire, as Akiyama et al. suggests, it is a suitable use for the rubber compositions.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767