DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action acknowledges the applicant’s amendment filed on 7/15/2026. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-11, 13, 15-21 and 23-28 are pending in the application. Claims 2, 6, 12, 14 and 22 are cancelled. Claims 26-28 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 10, 13, 15-16, 19-20 and 23-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OGAWA US 2021/0159104 A1 in view of Mellander US 8,419,021 B2.
With regards to claim 1, OGAWA (Fig. 1 and 4; Para. 0068) discloses an article comprising: a substrate container 1 for holding one or more substrates or reticles, the substrate container having: a housing 10 including one or more sidewalls, a closed end, an open end 11, and an interior space defined by the one or more side walls and the closed end; and a door 20B configured to close the open end of the housing, the door including: a door body 21B having a seal coupling portion (below 212; shown above), the door body being formed of a door body polymer (Para.0041), and a seal member 210B integrally formed with the seal coupling portion of the door body, wherein the seal member 210B includes a connection portion (at 212) and a contact portion 211/710-1/710-2/710-3, the connection portion being formed with the seal coupling portion (below 212) of the door body 21B such that the connection portion and the seal coupling portion of the door body are connected with each other, the contact portion being configured to seal the open end when the door is in a closed position, wherein the connection portion (at 212; Para. 0067) is made of a first polymer different from the door body polymer (Para. 0066).
OGAWA (Fig. 1 and 4) discloses a seal coupling portion of the door body by adhesive but it does not specifically disclose the seal coupling portion of the door body are connected with each other through an interlocking connection.
However, an alternative embodiment of OGAWA (Fig. 13) teaches that it was known in the art to have a container with a seal coupling portion of the container (at 101K) to form an interlocking connection. (Para. 0137-0142)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the seal coupling portion of the door body in OGAWA (Fig. 4) by providing an interlocking connection as taught by OGAWA (Fig. 13) for the purposes of preventing the seal from falling out of the groove.
OGAWA discloses the seal member with a contact portion can be formed of a polymer but it does not specifically disclose the contact portion is made of a second polymer different from the first polymer and the door body polymer.
However, Mellander teaches that it was known in the art to have a seal member 10 with a contact portion 30 made of a second polymer different from a first polymer 32 and the door body polymer (cap 18). (Col 2:40-43 and 5:16-17)
The inventions of OGAWA and Mellander are both drawn to the field of containers that are capable of holding articles. Each container includes a container, a lid and a sealing mechanism that provides a tighter seal to the container and lid. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the contact portion of the seal member in OGAWA (Fig. 4) by having the contact portion made of a second polymer different from a first polymer 32 and the door body polymer as taught by Mellander for the purposes of providing a pressure type seal to the container. (Col 2:40-43 and 5:16-17)
With regards to claim 3, OGAWA (Fig. 1 and 4) discloses the door body 21B polymer includes a thermoplastic. (Para. 0066)
With regards to claim 4, OGAWA (Fig. 1 and 4) discloses the door body polymer includes at least one material selected from the group consisting of polycarbonate, cyclic olefin, liquid crystal polymer, polypropylene, polyetherimides, polyketone, polyether sulfone (PES), polybutylene terephthalate, polysulfone (PSU, PSF), polyetherether ketone (PEEK), and polyether ketone (PEKK). (Para. 0041, 0066 and 0090)
With regards to claim 5, it appears the seal member 210B of OGAWA is formed integrally with the door body by injection molding.
Alternatively, the product (sealing member) being formed integrally with the door body by injection molding encompassed in the claim would have been obvious in view of the apparatus of OGAWA, for the purpose of providing an alternate way of forming the sealing member integrally to the door body.
In accordance to MPEP 2113, the method of forming the device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight. Please note that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product, i.e. seal member, does not depend on its method of production, i.e. injection molding. In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Federal Circuit 1985).
With regards to claim 7, alternative embodiment of OGAWA (Fig. 13) further teaches that it was known in the art to have a container with a sealing member 70K have the connection portion 120K of the seal member has an enlarged edge, the enlarged edge being configured to be held by the seal coupling portion of the container (at 101K) to form an interlocking connection, thereby preventing withdrawal of the connection portion from the seal coupling portion of the container. (Para. 0137-0142)
OGAWA (Fig. 4) discloses the claimed invention as stated above but it does not specifically disclose the connection portion of the seal member has an enlarged edge, the enlarged edge being configured to held by the seal coupling portion of the door body to form the interlocking connection, thereby preventing withdrawal of the connection portion from the seal coupling portion of the door body.
With regards to claim 10, OGAWA (Fig. 13) further teaches the enlarged edge (at 120K) of the connection portion of the seal member is joined to and formed around by the seal coupling portion of the door body. (Para. 0137- end of 0142)
With regards to claim 13, OGAWA (Fig. 1 and 4) discloses the first polymer includes polyether ether ketone, or a combination thereof. (Para. 0066)
With regards to claim 15, Mellander further teaches the second polymer (of 30) includes an elastomeric polymer. (Col 5:19-22)
With regards to claim 16, Mellander further teaches the second polymer (of 30) includes a thermoset or a thermoplastic elastomer. (Col 5:19-22)
With regards to claim 19, Mellander further teaches the second polymer (of 30) includes at least one material selected from the group consisting of fluoropolymer, fluoroelastomer (FKM). (Col 5:22-33)
With regards to claim 20, Mellander further teaches the first polymer has hardness and stiffness that are greater than those of the second polymer. (Col 5:34-45)
With regards to claim 23, OGAWA (Fig. 1 and 4) discloses the container 1 is one of a front opening unified pod.
With regards to claim 24, OGAWA (Fig. 1 and 4) discloses the seal coupling portion (below 212) is located at a periphery of the door body 21B.
With regards to claim 25, OGAWA (Fig. 1 and 4) discloses the seal coupling portion (below 212) extends along an entire circumference of the periphery of the door body 21B.
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OGAWA US 2021/0159104 A1 in view of Mellander US 8,419,021 B2 and further in view of vom Stein US 2005/0205033 A1.
With regards to claim 8, OGAWA discloses the claimed invention as stated above but it does not specifically disclose the seal coupling portion includes a gap and a channel; when viewed in a cross section view, a width of gap of the seal coupling portion being smaller than a width of the channel.
However, vom Stein further teaches the seal coupling portion (around 32) includes a gap and a channel (shown in Fig. 2); when viewed in a cross section view, a width of gap of the seal coupling portion being smaller than a width of the channel. (Para. 0012)
The inventions of OGAWA and vom Stein are both drawn to the field of containers that are capable of holding items. Each container includes a container (base), a lid and a sealing mechanism that provides a tighter seal to the container and lid. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the seal coupling portion in OGAWA (Fig. 4) by providing the seal coupling portion with a gap and a channel and a width of the gap of the seal coupling portion being smaller than a width of the channel as taught by vom Stein for the purposes of providing an alternative forming of the seal coupling portion.
With regards to claim 9, vom Stein further teaches the connection portion includes a first polymer, the first polymer having a compressibility configured to prevent the enlarged edge of the connection portion from being compressed to a size equal to or smaller than the gap of the seal coupling portion formed into the door body so as to form the interlocking connection. (Para. 0012 and 0015)
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OGAWA US 2021/0159104 A1 in view of Mellander US 8,419,021 B2 and further in view of Babbs et al. US 2009/0129897 A1.
With regards to claim 11, OGAWA discloses the claimed invention (seal member with a contact portion) as stated above but it does not specifically disclose the contact portion includes a wiper-type gasket.
However, Babbs teaches that it was known in the art to have a container with a seal member with the contact portion includes a wiper-type gasket. (Para. 0053)
The inventions of OGAWA and Babbs are both drawn to the field of containers that are capable of holding items such as substrates. Each container includes a container (base), a lid and a sealing mechanism that provides a tighter seal to the container and lid. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the contact portion of the seal member in OGAWA (Fig. 4) by having the contact portion include a wiper-type gasket as taught by Babbs for the purposes of providing an alternative type of seal member and creates enough separation for the door to be released and removed.
Claim(s) 17-18 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OGAWA US 2021/0159104 A1 in view of Mellander US 8,419,021 B2 supported by Balzer et al. US 2007/0179248 A1.
With regards to claim 17, OGAWA in view of Mellander discloses the claimed invention (first and second polymers) as stated above but it does not specifically disclose the second polymer includes a polymer that has a shore durometer not less than 30 shore.
Mellander recites the second polymer can be formed from fluoropolymer or fluoroelastomer (FKM). Balzer teaches (Para. 0029-0030) that it was known in the art that an article formed of fluoropolymer or fluoroelastomer (FKM) would have a shore durometer not less than 30 shore. (Table 5; Compound #25)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the second polymer have a shore durometer not less than 30 shore as taught by Mellander for the purposes of providing an article with higher and stronger durability properties.
With regards to claim 18, Balzer further teaches that the second polymer is capable of withstanding a temperature of 130°C. (Para. 0029-0030; Table 5; Compound #25)
With regards to claim 21, the combination of OGAWA, Mellander and Balzer inherently discloses the first polymer is capable of withstanding any temperature for the second polymer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues the reference Ogawa does not disclose “three mutually distinct polymers: (i) a door body polymer, (ii) a first polymer of the connection portion that is different from the door body polymer, and (iii) a second polymer of the contact portion that is different from both the first polymer and the door body polymer” and also argues the teaching reference Mellander uses different polymers for the connection portion and the contact portion for entirely different functional reasons. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Ogawa discloses throughout the specification, for instance in para. 0072, that the lid body material can be different from the second part (seal member, that includes the connection portion and contact portion). Although it does not provide specific details regarding different materials between the connection portion and the contact portion, Mellander was cited to teach that it was known in the art to have a seal for a lid body (cap 18), to seal a receptacle (tank), that includes a connection portion 32 having a first polymer, a contact portion 30 having a second polymer and that the second polymer of the contact portion is different from the first polymer, as described in Col 5:16-45. In response to applicant's argument that Mellander uses the seal for different functional reasons, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Additionally, please note that in the instant application, page 7, para. 0040 and 0042, the specification has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations, of having the “three mutually distinct polymers”, as it appears the material of the seal member may be the same.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENINE SPICER/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736