DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "cover detection means" in claims 13-16.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ferrie et al. (EP 3711571, cited in IDS dated April 10, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Ferrie teaches an aerosol generation device (Figure 2A, smoking substitute system 200, [0108]) comprising:
a main body defined by a main housing comprising an operation interface portion that is provided at at least a portion of an exterior surface of the main housing and configured to be actuated for operating the aerosol generation device (Figures 2A and 3, main housing is housing 227 which defines external surface 229 and contains LEDs 211 and button 212 (“operation interface portion”) and controller controls heater in response to depressing button 212, [0110]-[0111] and [0128]);
a cover element that is detachably attached or connected to the main housing (Figure 3, panel 231, [0131]);
wherein at least a portion of the operation interface portion is arranged between the exterior surface of the main housing and the cover element (Figure 3, transparent covering provided instead of or in addition to cut-out 237 as part of panel 231, [0133]);
and wherein the cover element comprises one or more flexible regions configured to be elastically deformed for actuating the operation interface portion (Figure 3, transparent covering is “flexible region” which can be deformed for actuating button 212 (since the UI is “accessible” to the user, which means it must be pressed/deformed in order to use the button), [0133]).
Regarding claim 2, Ferrie teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 1, wherein the entire operation interface portion is arranged between the cover element and the main housing (Figure 3, transparent covering provided instead of or in addition to cut-out 237 as part of panel 231, which would make the entire portion between the cover and housing, [0133]),
and wherein the operation interface portion is not externally visible (if viewed from the back or bottom (such as Figure 4 for example), the interface is not visible).
Regarding claim 3, Ferrie teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 1, wherein the one or more flexible regions are configured to be pressed by a hand or a finger of a user to be elastically deformed towards the main housing for actuating the operation interface portion (Figure 2A, button 212 to be depressed [0128] which would be deformed toward/into the housing).
Regarding claim 4, Ferrie teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 3, wherein the one or more flexible regions are configured to be pressed to be elastically deformed towards the main housing for actuating one or more operation input elements provided on the operation interface portion or in different regions of the operation interface portion (Figure 2A, button 212 to be depressed which would be deformed toward/into the housing which activates controller, [0128]).
Regarding claim 11, Ferrie teaches the aerosol generation device according to claim 1, wherein an output element is provided at a surface of the main housing between the main housing and the cover element, wherein the output element comprises an indicator light (Figures 2A and 3, LEDs 211 (which are indicator lights, see [0129]) are between housing 227 and panel 231 (including the transparent coving explained above), [0111] and [0132]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrie et al. (EP 3711571) in view of Alima (US 2014/0220398).
Regarding claim 5, Ferrie discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ferrie fails to disclose wherein one or more of the one or more flexible regions comprise a protrusion on a surface of the cover element that faces the main housing, the protrusion protruding towards the main housing.
Alima teaches a device battery assembly which engages with an aerosol generating device (similar to the full device of Ferrie) wherein one or more of the one or more flexible regions comprise a protrusion on a surface of the cover element that faces the main housing, the protrusion protruding towards the main housing (Figure 3, membrane button 9 is flexible region (see [0018]) and has a protrusion toward/into the housing 1 to engage activator switch 21 (see [0021])). Alima also teaches that this flexible construction allows the membrane button to temporarily engage the battery control unit [0018].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ferrie to incorporate the teachings of Alima to provide a protrusion on the cover element of Ferrie similar to the flexible one taught by Alima that protrudes toward/into the housing because doing so would allow for the button/flexible region to temporarily engage the unit, as recognized by Alima [0018].
Regarding claim 6, modified Ferrie discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 5, wherein the protrusion of one or more of the one or more flexible regions is integrally formed with the respective flexible region (Alima, Figure 3, protrusion as explained above is integrally formed with membrane button 9 (is part of it), [0018] and [0021]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ferrie discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 6, wherein the protrusion of one or more of the one or more flexible regions is configured to actuate the operation interface portion (Alima, Figure 3 protrusion toward/into the housing 1 of membrane button 9 engages activator switch 21, [0021]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ferrie discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 7, wherein interacting, engaging or contacting of the operation interface portion comprises interacting, engaging or contacting one or more operation input elements (Ferrie, Figure 2A, user depresses button 212 which can be considered interacting, engaging, and/or contacting, [0128]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ferrie discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 8, wherein the one or more operation input elements comprise a button, a switch, or a sensor (Ferrie, Figure 2A, button 212, [0128])).
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrie et al. (EP 3711571) in view of Alima (US 2014/0220398) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Bernauer et al. (US 2017/0196269).
Regarding claims 8-10, modified Ferrie discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 7, as set forth above. Ferrie fails to explicitly disclose wherein interacting, engaging or contacting of the operation interface portion comprises interacting (specifically) one or more operation input elements, wherein the one or more operation input elements comprise an optical sensor.
Bernauer teaches a similar aerosol generating device wherein interacting, engaging or contacting of the operation interface portion comprises interacting (specifically) one or more operation input elements (interacting with input device controls one or more functions of aerosol-generating device, such as activation/deactivation of heater, [0022]), wherein the one or more operation input elements comprise an optical sensor (input device can be electro-optical sensor, [0023]). Bernauer also teaches that such input devices do not compromise the waterproofing of a housing like a push-button input device may [0023].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ferrie to incorporate the teachings of Bernauer to have made the input device an electro-optical sensor which can be interacted with because doing so would not compromise the waterproofing of a housing like a push-button input device may, as recognized by Bernauer [0023].
Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ferrie et al. (EP 3711571) in view of Reevell (US 2020/0316325 cited in IDS dated April 10, 2023).
Regarding claim 13, Ferrie discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 1, as set forth above. Ferrie fails to disclose the device further comprising a cover detection means for detecting whether the cover element is attached to the main housing.
Reevell teaches a similar electrically operated aerosol-generating system wherein the device comprises a cover detection means for detecting whether the cover element is attached to the main housing (Figure 6, main unit 303 comprises electrical circuitry to determine whether article 302 is fully received (it would be equally relevant to apply this to a cover like the one in Ferrie, since the housing of Reevell is “covered”, see at least [0124] and [0125]), [0165]). Reevell also teaches that the circuitry substantially prevents power from being supplied to the heater when the heater(s) are not fully covered [0016].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Ferrie to incorporate the teachings of Reevell to provide electrical circuitry to determine whether a cover element is fully received/attached on the housing because doing so would substantially prevent power from being supplied to the heater(s) of the device when the heater(s) are not fully covered, as recognized by Reevell [0016].
Regarding claim 14, modified Ferrie discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 13, wherein the cover detection means comprises a button or switch configured to be actuated when the cover element is attached to the main housing (Reevell, Figure 1, push button 13, [0133], and Figure 3, power can only be supplied when article is fully received, [0166]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Ferrie discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 13, further comprising circuitry for controlling operation of the aerosol generation device based on information from the cover detection means, the information comprising information about a first state in which it is detected that the cover element is attached to the main housing and about a second state in which it is detected that the cover element is not attached to the main housing (Reevell, Figure 3, power can only be supplied when article is fully received (first state is “fully received” and second state is “not detected”), [0166]),
wherein controlling operation of the aerosol generation device based on information from the cover detection means comprises preventing or inhibiting generation of an aerosol by the aerosol generation device when the information from the cover detecting means indicates the second state, and enabling generation of an aerosol by the aerosol generation device when the information from the cover detecting means indicates the first state (Reevell, Figure 3, power can only be supplied when article is fully received and prevented otherwise (first state is “fully received” and second state is “not detected”), [0166]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Ferrie discloses the aerosol generation device according to claim 13, wherein the cover detection means comprises sensor circuitry comprising a Hall sensor, an optical sensor, and/or an electrical sensor (Reevell, Figure 3, electric circuitry, [0165]-[0166]).
Conclusion
/A.Z.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747