DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the claim set filed 04/10/2023 and Response to Restriction filed 02/20/2026. Claims 1-10 are pending. The elected Claims 1-8 are under consideration in this Office Action.
Claims 9-10 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-8 are rejected for the reasons below.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I claims 1-8 in the reply filed on 02/20/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: line 2 “1-hexanic” should read --1-hexanoic--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Colle et al. (US2010/0056681 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-2 and 8, Colle illustrates producing plasticizers of glycerol triheptanoate (mixture of isomers) ([0051]). Colle further teaches that the starting olefin can be mixed pentene isomers (Id.), therefore, the resulted plasticizers would be glycerol ester of hexanoic acid isomers. Structure of glycerol ester of hexanoic acid isomers meets the instant claimed Formula 1, wherein R4 and R5 are hydrogen. Colle furthermore teaches the plasticizers have overall branching levels of 0.05 to 0.8 (Id.).
Regarding Claims 3-4, Colle discloses that NMR analyses show, with the intermediate C7 oxo acid, typical isomers include n-heptanoic acid, 3-methyl hexanoic acid, 4-methyl hexanoic acid, and 2-methyl hexanoic acid ([0042]). Thus, one ordinary skilled artisan would reasonably infer that the typical isomers include n- hexanoic acid, 3- methylpentanoic acid, acid, 4- methylpentanoic acid, acid, and 2- methylpentanoic acid, with the intermediate C6 oxo acid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colle et al. (US2010/0056681 A1), as applied to claim 1 above.
The disclosure of Colle on Claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding Claims 5 and 7 , Colle further teaches that C6 linear alpha olefins subjected to a rhodium-based OXO process provides a composition comprising about 75 wt. % to about 95% wt. % n-heptanoic acid and about 5 wt. % to about 25 wt. % 2-alkyl substituted C7 acids. Therefore, using C5 linear alpha olefins as starting feed would provide a composition comprising about 75 wt. % to about 95% wt. % n-hexanoic acid and about 5 wt. % to about 25 wt. % 2-alkyl substituted C6 acids, overlapping with the claimed 20 wt.% to 95 wt.% of a branch-type hexanoic acid and 80 wt.% or less of 1-hexanoic acid.
Regarding Claim 6, Colle is prima facie obvious over the instant Claim 6 as the claim allows for 0 parts by weight of the cyclopentyl methanoic acid based on the claim language "30 parts by weight or less."
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dakka et al. (US 20110098390 A1) in view of Hurwitz et al. (US2.975,152) and in further view of Colle et al. (US2010/0056681 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-2, Dakka teaches a plasticizer comprising a triglyceride according to the formula:
, wherein R', R, and R are independently selected from a combination of C3 to C12 linear or branched alkyl groups and aryl groups ([0024]), wherein the plasticizer is obtained by esterifying a mixture of linear and branched C4 to C13 acid and benzoic acid with glycerol ([0023]). Attention is drawn to Illustrative Example 8 wherein the plasticizer is obtained by reacting glycerol with benzoic acid, hexanoic acid and 2-methylvaleric acid.
The difference between Dakka and instant Claim 1 is that Dakka is silent that benzoic acid can be replaced by a hexanoic acid isomer.
However, Hurwitz teaches that a plasticizer is esterification products of pentaerythritol or dipentaerythritol with at least one acids (2:15-35). Hurwitz further teaches that cyclopentane carboxylic acid is a suitable acid in combination with other acids for producing a plasticizer (5:45-6:15). Hurwitz furthermore teaches compositions comprising mixed esters containing cyclohexyl and cyclopentyl carboxylic acids as plasticizer have excellent electrical resistivity (13:45-60). Therefore, Hurwitz teaches cyclopentyl carboxylic acid is a suitable acid for making plasticizer products of esters of polyols.
One ordinary skilled artisan would have been motivated before the effective filing date of instant application to replace benzoic acid in Dakka by cyclopentyl carboxylic acid to make modified plasticizer because alicycle ring could provide better flexibility, lower glass transition temperature than aromatic ester, leading to superior low temperature performance. Additionally, as discussed at para. 8 above, Colle teaches plasticizers of reaction product of glycerol and hexanoic acid isomers. Colle further teaches triglycerides having branching levels of 0.05 to 0.8 achieved desired compatibility with PVC ([0051]). The branching degree of cyclopentyl carboxylic acid is 0. Thus, the resulted triester plasticizer could have lower branching levels where reacting glycerol with cyclopentyl carboxylic acid, hexanoic acid and 2-methylvaleric acid. Because the branching degrees of cyclopentyl carboxylic acid and hexanoic acid are 0 and the branching degree of 2-methylvaleric acid is 1, therefore, the branching degree of cyclopentyl carboxylic acid, hexanoic acid and 2-methylvaleric acid mixture is less than 1.
Regarding Claims 3-4, as discussed in Claim 1, the modified plasticizers was obtained by reacting glycerol and cyclopentyl carboxylic acid, hexanoic acid and 2-methylvaleric acid.
Regarding Claims 5-7, the Illustrative Example 8 of Dakka reacts glycerol with benzoic acid (87.12 g), hexanoic acid (359.4g) and 2-methylvaleric acid (193 g). where benzoic acid is replaced by cyclopentyl carboxylic acid, the hexanoic acid isomer mixture has cyclopentyl carboxylic acid (87.12 g), hexanoic acid (359.4g) and 2-methylvaleric acid (193 g). Thus, 100 parts by weight of the hexanoic acid isomer mixture contain about 30 parts 2-methylvaleric acid, 14 parts cyclopentyl carboxylic acid and 56 parts hexanoic acid.
Regarding Claim 8, the backbone of glycerol where R4 and R5 positions are hydrogen.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3-6 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the allowed claims 1, 3-8 of U.S. Patent Appl. No.18/030,484 (‘484). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding Claim 1, claim 1 of ‘484 claims a triester-based plasticizer composition, comprising:
one or more triesters of Formula 1. The Formula 1 has the same structure of the instant Formula 1. Claim 1 of ‘484 further claims R1 to R3 are each independently an n-pentyl group, a branch-type pentyl group, or a cyclopentyl group, and R4 and Rs are each independently hydrogen or an alkyl group of 1 to 4 carbon atoms; these limitations are the same as the corresponding parts of the instant Claim 1. Claim 1 of ‘484 furthermore claims R1 to R3 of Formula 1 are derived from a carboxylic acid composition comprising a hexanoic acid isomer mixture and benzoic acid, and wherein the hexanoic acid isomer mixture comprises cyclopentyl methanoic acid. It is noted that a hexanoic acid isomer mixture contains more than three molecules, therefore, one ordinary skilled artisan would at once envisage the embodiments that R1 to R3 are derived from cyclopentyl methanoic acid and two other hexanoic acid isomers. The fact that Claim 1 of ‘484 claims R1 to R3 are each independently an n-pentyl group, a branch-type pentyl group, a cyclopentyl group, or a phenyl group indicates that benzoic acid is not a mandatory limitation. Branching levels of the hexanoic acid isomer mixture is less than 2 because the branching degree of cyclopentyl methanoic acid is 0. Additionally, Claim 3 of ‘484 claims the hexanoic acid isomer mixture has a degree of branching of 2.0 or less.
Regarding claims 3-4, claims 4-5 of ‘484 claim the corresponding limitations.
Regarding Claim 5, claim 6 of ‘484 claims the hexanoic acid isomer mixture comprises 20 to 95 parts by weight of a branch-type hexanoic acid, with respect to total 100 parts by weight of the mixture.
Regarding Claim 6, claim 7 of ‘484 claims the hexanoic acid isomer mixture comprises 30 parts by weight or less of cyclopentyl methanoic acid, with respect to total 100 parts by weight of the mixture.
Regarding Claim 8, claim 8 of ‘484 claims R4 and R5 are hydrogen.
Conclusion
/HUIHONG QIAO/ Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763