DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 9 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In regards to the applicants arguments regarding the rejection of claims 4-6, the examiner respectfully disagrees. More specifically the applicant argues the amended claim feature in independent claims 4-6 of “determine a sequence r(m) of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal based on an index of a first symbol actually transmitting an associated demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) excluding a symbol not actually transmitting the associated DMRS whereas an associated physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) is transmitted in the symbol”. The applicant argues on (Pg. 3 of the remarks) that the teachings of Cheng et al. merely teaches that a UE may be configured with a PTRS setting table, configured in an RRC configuration, or contained in the system information broadcast by a BS in Para [0051] of Cheng and that Cheng does not disclose the claim feature of “determine a sequence r(m) of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal based on an index of a first symbol actually transmitting an associated demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) excluding a symbol not actually transmitting the associated DMRS whereas an associated physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) is transmitted in the symbol”. However the examiner respectfully disagrees as Cheng does disclose the claim feature. For example, Cheng discloses in Para [0050] that the PTRS is associated with a PTRS sequence (Cheng, see Para [0050] i.e., PTRS sequence generation).
Referring to Para [0042-0045] and Table 1 of Cheng, Cheng further discloses in Para [0042] that the DMRS-related information included in an SCI message for the scheduling PSSCH includes the number of DMRS symbols, a DMRS time/frequency location, and a type of DMRS pattern for the PSSCH (emphasis added). Therefore “DMRS time/frequency location” for the PSSCH (i.e., physical sidelink shared channel) refers to “an index of a first symbol actually transmitting an associated demodulation reference signal for a PSSCH” meaning the DMRS symbol is included in the physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (emphasis added) and excludes a symbol (i.e., “PSCCH symbol”) not actually transmitting the associated DMRS whereas an associated physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) is transmitted in the symbol (i.e., a PSCCH symbol not including the associated DMRS) (Cheng, see Para’s [0068] i.e., a UE may know where to receive the PSCCH(s) based on the time/frequency location of the PSCCH(s) (i.e., “PSCCH symbols”) & [0087] i.e., reference symbol received power (RSRP) of a SL physical channel (e.g., a PSCCH) is below a threshold).As previously mentioned since the DMRS is for the PSSCH (Cheng, i.e., Para [0042]), the DMRS symbol is located in the PSSCH and therefore excludes a PSCCH symbol which does not actually transmit the associated DMRS for the PSSCH.
Since the DMRS is used for receiving the PSSCH which includes the PTRS sequence for reception by the UE, with broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim feature, the UE does determine the sequence of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal based on the index of the first symbol actually transmitting an associated DMRS for the PSSCH, (Cheng, see Para [0042-0045] i.e., DMRS time/frequency location and a type of DMRS pattern for the PSSCH, & [0050] i.e., PTRS is transmitted in PSSCH).
For the reasons explained the teachings of Cheng does disclose the claim feature in claims 4-6 of “determine a sequence r(m) of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal based on an index of a first symbol actually transmitting an associated demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) excluding a symbol not actually transmitting the associated DMRS whereas an associated physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) is transmitted in the symbol”. Therefore the rejection of claims 4-6 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is maintained over the combination of Cheng in view of Yeo, further in view of Hwang, and further in view of Lei.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. US (2020/0052843) in view of Yeo et al. US (2022/0330261), further in view of Hwang et al. US (2020/0351136), and further in view of Lei et al. US (2023/0276492).
Regarding Claim 4 Cheng discloses a user equipment (see Fig. 5 i.e., UE2 & Fig. 6 & Para’s [0095-0096]), comprising: a processor (see Fig. 6 i.e., processor 626 & Para’s [0096] & [0101]); and a memory storing instructions (see Fig. 6 i.e., memory 628 & Para’s [0098-0100]), wherein the instructions, when run by the processor (see Fig. 6 i.e., processor 626), cause the user equipment to (see Para [0100]):
receive a sidelink phase tracking reference signal, (see Fig. 5 & Para [0050] i.e., PTRS-related information may be included in an SCI message for the scheduling PSSCH. The PTRS may be an RS used for phase tracking (i.e., UE2 will receive PTRS for phase tracking)…PTRS-related information may include at least one of the following: PTRS exist indicator for indicating whether a PTRS is transmitted in an SL physical channel (e.g., a PSSCH) (i.e., UE2 will receive the PTRS if PTRS is transmitted), [0052] i.e., The UE may determine the existence of the PTRS… the UE may determine that there may be a PTRS associated with the PSSCH scheduled by the SCI message (i.e., UE2 will receive the PTRS if there is a PTRS associated with the PSSCH) & [0095])
and determine a sequence of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal (see Fig. 5 & Para [0050] i.e., The PTRS may be an RS used for phase tracking…the PTRS-related information may include at least one of the following: PTRS sequence generation information…and a PTRS pattern (e.g., the time and frequency domain information of the PTRS) for the PSSCH, [0052], & [0095]) based on an index of a first symbol actually transmitting an associated demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (see Table 1 i.e., the number of DMRS symbols may be 1 DMRS symbol (i.e., “first symbol”) & Para’s [0042] i.e., DMRS-related information may be included in an SCI message for the scheduling PSSCH which may include the number of DMRS symbols, a DMRS time/frequency location (i.e., “index of a first symbol”), DMRS port index, a DMRS port group index, and a type of DMRS pattern (e.g., DMRS type 1 or DMRS type 2) for the PSSCH (i.e., DMRS is used for receiving PSSCH which includes the PTRS sequence), [0044-0046] i.e., DMRS setting for one or multiple PSSCHs…one DMRS symbol associated with DMRS type 1 is transmitted, [0050] i.e., PTRS is transmitted in PSSCH, [0092] i.e., PSSCH received by the UE, & [0095]) excluding a symbol not actually transmitting the associated DMRS whereas an associated physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) is transmitted in the symbol (Cheng, see Para’s [0068] i.e., a UE may know where to receive the PSCCH(s) based on the time/frequency location of the PSCCH(s) (i.e., “PSCCH symbols”) & [0087] i.e., reference symbol received power (RSRP) of a SL physical channel (e.g., a PSCCH) is below a threshold)
Cheng does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of determining the sequence of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal based on the index of the first symbol carrying the associated DMRS for the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yeo et al. US (2022/0330261).
Yeo discloses determining the sequence of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal based on an index of the first symbol carrying an associated DMRS (see Fig. 15A & Para [0299] i.e., the transmitting UE 1501 may transmit a PSCCH including sidelink scheduling information (1507) and transmit the corresponding data, a PSSCH (1505). The sidelink scheduling information (1507) may be sidelink control information (SCI) which may include the following information: such as see Para [0310] i.e., PTRS-DMRS association: includes information about phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) mapping (i.e., PTRS mapping information may be a sequence of the sidelink PTRS which is obtained by the receiving UE 1503 from PTRS-DMRS association) & [0321-0322] i.e., SCI further includes DMRS pattern: information about DMRS pattern (e.g., a symbol position (i.e., “index of the first symbol”) to which the DMRS is mapped (i.e., the PTRS is associated with the DMRS which includes an index of the DMRS symbol and therefore the PTRS mapping information is based on an index of a first symbol carrying the DMRS)).
(Yeo suggests the sidelink control information (SCI) which includes the PTRS-DMRS association including PTRS mapping information is sent from the transmitting UE 1501 to the receiving UE 1503 in order for the receiving UE to properly obtain the PTRS mapping information for determining where the phase tracking signal is mapped in order to properly receive the phase tracking reference signal for performing phase tracking, (see Para’s [0299], [0310], & [0321-0322])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the sequence of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal determined by the UE such as the PTRS pattern including time and frequency domain mapping information of the PTRS as disclosed in Cheng to be determined based on the index of the first symbol carrying the associated DMRS according to the teachings of Yeo who discloses a receiving UE determines from received PTRS-DMRS association, PTRS mapping information of the PTRS from SCI received from a transmitting UE which also includes an index of the associated DMRS symbol, because the motivation lies in Yeo suggests that the sidelink control information (SCI) which includes the PTRS-DMRS association including PTRS mapping information is sent from the transmitting UE 1501 to the receiving UE 1503 in order for the receiving UE to properly obtain the PTRS mapping information for determining where the phase tracking signal is mapped in order to properly receive the phase tracking reference signal for performing phase tracking.
While Yeo discloses the PTRS-DMRS association included in the SCI (see Para’s [0299] & [0310]), the combination of Cheng in view of Yeo does not explicitly disclose the PTRS-DMRS association is for an associated DMRS for the PSSCH and the claim feature of NxID is equal to a decimal representation of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) corresponding to the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hwang et al. US (2020/0351136).
Hwang discloses a PTRS-DMRS association may be an association between a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) and a DMRS for the PSSCH (see Para [0187-0189] i.e., the UE may transmit information on an association between PT-RS antenna port and PSSCH DMRS antenna port via SCI).
NxID is equal to a decimal representation of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) corresponding to the PSSCH, (see Para [0198] i.e., For example, NID may be obtained based on a CRC on a PSCCH related to (or associated with) the PSSCH. For example, a CRC on a PSCCH related to the PSSCH may be 24 bits, and NID may be 16 bits of the CRC among 24 bits of the CRC on the PSCCH related to the PSSCH. For example, the 16 bits may be 16 bits of least significant bits (LSBs) among the total of 24 bits)
(Hwang suggests the information on the PTRS-DMRS association is transmitted via sidelink control information (SCI) in order for the receiving UE to receive configuration of the phase tracking reference signal for performing compensation of phase noise based on the PTRS which is received based on a CRC on a PSCCH, (see Para’s [0015-0016], [0155], [0186-0189], [0201], & [0228])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the PTRS-DMRS association information sent to the UE in SCI as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yeo to be for an association between PTRS and an associated DMRS for the PSSCH as disclosed in the teachings of Hwang who discloses a PTRS-DMRS association is an association between a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) and DMRS for the PSSCH, because the motivation lies in Hwang that the information on the PTRS-DMRS association is transmitted via sidelink control information (SCI) in order for the receiving UE to receive configuration of the phase tracking reference signal for performing compensation of phase noise based on the PTRS which is received based on a CRC on a PSCCH.
The combination of Cheng in view of Yeo, and further in view of Hwang does not disclose the claim features of wherein a sequence r(m) of the sidelink signal is equal to 1/√2 (1-2c(2m)) + j1/√2(1-2c(2m+1)), where the sequence c(n) is defined as: c(n)=(x1 (n+Nc) + x2(n+Nc) mod 2, x1(n+31)=(x1(n+3) + x1(n)) mod2, x2(n+31)=(x2(n+3)+x2(n+2)+x2(n+1) + x2(n) mod2, where Nc=1600, and an initialization sequence of x1(n) is x1(0)=1, where x1(n)=0, n=1,2…30, and an initialization sequence of x2(n) is Cinit=∑30 i=0 x2(i) x 2l=(217(Nslotsymb nµs,f + l + 1)(2NID + 1) + 2NID) mod 231, where NID=NIDxmod216, NxID is equal to a decimal representation of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) corresponding to the PSSCH, Nslotsymb indicates a number of OFDM symbols within a slot, nµs,f indicates a slot index of the slot for the sidelink signal or the DMRS for the PSSCH within a frame, and I represents the index of the first symbol. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Lei et al. US (2023/0276492).
Lei discloses wherein a sequence r(m) of the sidelink signal is equal to 1/√2 (1-2c(2m)) + j1/√2(1-2c(2m+1)), (see Para [0051] i.e., a sequence for sidelink transmissions…So a UE can detect the sequence in transmission from other UEs in the following equation i.e., r(m) equation)
where the sequence c(n) is defined as: c(n)=(x1 (n+Nc) + x2(n+Nc) mod 2, (see Para [0052] i.e., output sequence c(n))
x1(n+31)=(x1(n+3) + x1(n)) mod2, (see Para [0052])
x2(n+31)=(x2(n+3)+x2(n+2)+x2(n+1) + x2(n) mod2, (see Para [0052])
where Nc=1600, and an initialization sequence of x1(n) is x1(0)=1, where x1(n)=0, n=1,2…30, (see Para [0052])
and an initialization sequence of x2(n) is Cinit=∑30 i=0 x2(i) x 2l=(217(Nslotsymb nµs,f + l + 1)(2NID + 1) + 2NID) mod 231, (see Para [0052] i.e., Cinit & [0057] i.e., Cinit equation)
where NID=NIDxmod216, (see Para [0057] i.e., NID)
Nslotsymb indicates a number of OFDM symbols within a slot, (see Para [0057] i.e., Nsymbslot is the number of symbols in a slot)
nµs,f indicates a slot index of the slot for the sidelink signal or the DMRS for the PSSCH within a frame, (see Para [0057] i.e., nµs,f is the slot number (also, slot index) within a frame)
and I represents the index of the first symbol (see Para [0057] i.e., l is the symbol number (also, symbol index) within the slot)
(Lei suggests the sequence is predetermined and used for the sidelink transmission in order for the RX-UE to determine whether the sidelink transmission from the TX-UE is a sidelink transmission that the RX UE is interested in without detecting or decoding the SCI so as to save power consumption, (see Para’s [0003], [0042], [0044], [0070] & [0072])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the sequence of the sidelink transmission such as the sidelink phase tracking reference signal as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yeo, and further in view of Hwang to use the sequence r(m) for the sidelink transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Lei, because the motivation lies in Lei that the sequence is predetermined and used for the sidelink transmission in order for the RX-UE to determine whether the sidelink transmission from the TX-UE is a sidelink transmission that the RX UE is interested in without detecting or decoding the SCI so as to save power consumption.
Regarding Claim 5, Cheng discloses a user equipment (see Fig. 5 i.e., UE2 & Fig. 6 & Para’s [0095-0096]), comprising: a processor (see Fig. 6 i.e., processor 626 & Para’s [0096] & [0101]); and a memory storing instructions (see Fig. 6 i.e., memory 628 & Para’s [0098-0100]), wherein the instructions, when run by the processor (see Fig. 6 i.e., processor 626), cause the user equipment (see Para [0100]) to: generate a sidelink phase tracking reference signal, (see Para [0050] i.e., whether a PTRS is transmitted in an SL physical channel (e.g., a PSSCH), PTRS sequence generation information (i.e., PTRS is generated by the UE) & [0052] i.e., existence of the PTRS…there may be a PTRS associated with the PSSCH (i.e., PTRS is generated by the UE) & [0053] i.e., a UE may determine whether to transmit a PTRS (i.e., PTRS will be generated by the UE))
transmit the sidelink phase tracking reference signal; (see Para [0050] i.e., PTRS-related information included in SCI may indicate whether a PTRS is transmitted in an SL physical channel (e.g., a PSSCH) (i.e., the PTRS is transmitted by the UE), & [0052] i.e., existence of the PTRS…there may be a PTRS associated with the PSSCH (i.e., the PTRS is transmitted by the UE) scheduled by the SCI message & [0053] i.e., a UE may determine whether to transmit a PTRS)
and determine a sequence of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal (see Fig. 5 & Para [0050] i.e., The PTRS may be an RS used for phase tracking…the PTRS-related information may include at least one of the following: PTRS sequence generation information…and a PTRS pattern (e.g., the time and frequency domain information of the PTRS) for the PSSCH, [0052], & [0095]) based on an index of a first symbol actually transmitting an associated demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (see Table 1 i.e., the number of DMRS symbols may be 1 DMRS symbol (i.e., “first symbol”) & Para’s [0042] i.e., DMRS-related information may be included in an SCI message for the scheduling PSSCH which may include the number of DMRS symbols, a DMRS time/frequency location (i.e., “index of a first symbol”), DMRS port index, a DMRS port group index, and a type of DMRS pattern (e.g., DMRS type 1 or DMRS type 2) for the PSSCH (i.e., DMRS is used for receiving PSSCH which includes the PTRS sequence), [0044-0046] i.e., DMRS setting for one or multiple PSSCHs…one DMRS symbol associated with DMRS type 1 is transmitted, [0050] i.e., PTRS is transmitted in PSSCH, [0092] i.e., PSSCH received by the UE, & [0095]) excluding a symbol not actually transmitting the associated DMRS whereas an associated physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) is transmitted in the symbol (Cheng, see Para’s [0068] i.e., a UE may know where to receive the PSCCH(s) based on the time/frequency location of the PSCCH(s) (i.e., “PSCCH symbols”) & [0087] i.e., reference symbol received power (RSRP) of a SL physical channel (e.g., a PSCCH) is below a threshold)
Cheng does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of determining the sequence of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal based on the index of the first symbol carrying the associated DMRS for the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yeo et al. US (2022/0330261).
Yeo discloses determining the sequence of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal based on an index of the first symbol carrying an associated DMRS (see Fig. 15A & Para [0299] i.e., the transmitting UE 1501 may transmit a PSCCH including sidelink scheduling information (1507) and transmit the corresponding data, a PSSCH (1505). The sidelink scheduling information (1507) may be sidelink control information (SCI) which may include the following information: such as see Para [0310] i.e., PTRS-DMRS association: includes information about phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) mapping (i.e., PTRS mapping information may be a sequence of the sidelink PTRS which is obtained by the receiving UE 1503 from PTRS-DMRS association) & [0321-0322] i.e., SCI further includes DMRS pattern: information about DMRS pattern (e.g., a symbol position (i.e., “index of the first symbol”) to which the DMRS is mapped (i.e., the PTRS is associated with the DMRS which includes an index of the DMRS symbol and therefore the PTRS mapping information is based on an index of a first symbol carrying the DMRS)).
(Yeo suggests the sidelink control information (SCI) which includes the PTRS-DMRS association including PTRS mapping information is sent from the transmitting UE 1501 to the receiving UE 1503 in order for the receiving UE to properly obtain the PTRS mapping information for determining where the phase tracking signal is mapped in order to properly receive the phase tracking reference signal for performing phase tracking, (see Para’s [0299], [0310], & [0321-0322])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the sequence of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal determined by the UE such as the PTRS pattern including time and frequency domain mapping information of the PTRS as disclosed in Cheng to be determined based on the index of the first symbol carrying the associated DMRS according to the teachings of Yeo who discloses a receiving UE determines from received PTRS-DMRS association, PTRS mapping information of the PTRS from SCI received from a transmitting UE which also includes an index of the associated DMRS symbol, because the motivation lies in Yeo suggests that the sidelink control information (SCI) which includes the PTRS-DMRS association including PTRS mapping information is sent from the transmitting UE 1501 to the receiving UE 1503 in order for the receiving UE to properly obtain the PTRS mapping information for determining where the phase tracking signal is mapped in order to properly receive the phase tracking reference signal for performing phase tracking.
While Yeo discloses the PTRS-DMRS association included in the SCI (see Para’s [0299] & [0310]), the combination of Cheng in view of Yeo does not explicitly disclose the PTRS-DMRS association is for an associated DMRS for the PSSCH and the claim feature of NxID is equal to a decimal representation of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) corresponding to the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hwang et al. US (2020/0351136).
Hwang discloses a PTRS-DMRS association may be an association between a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) and a DMRS for the PSSCH (see Para [0187-0189] i.e., the UE may transmit information on an association between PT-RS antenna port and PSSCH DMRS antenna port via SCI).
NxID is equal to a decimal representation of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) corresponding to the PSSCH, (see Para [0198] i.e., For example, NID may be obtained based on a CRC on a PSCCH related to (or associated with) the PSSCH. For example, a CRC on a PSCCH related to the PSSCH may be 24 bits, and NID may be 16 bits of the CRC among 24 bits of the CRC on the PSCCH related to the PSSCH. For example, the 16 bits may be 16 bits of least significant bits (LSBs) among the total of 24 bits)
(Hwang suggests the information on the PTRS-DMRS association is transmitted via sidelink control information (SCI) in order for the receiving UE to receive configuration of the phase tracking reference signal for performing compensation of phase noise based on the received PTRS, (see Para’s [0015-0016], [0155], & [0186-0189])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the PTRS-DMRS association information sent to the UE in SCI as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yeo to be for an association between PTRS and an associated DMRS for the PSSCH as disclosed in the teachings of Hwang who discloses a PTRS-DMRS association is an association between a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) and DMRS for the PSSCH, because the motivation lies in Hwang that the information on the PTRS-DMRS association is transmitted via sidelink control information (SCI) in order for the receiving UE to receive configuration of the phase tracking reference signal for performing compensation of phase noise based on the PTRS which is received based on a CRC on a PSCCH.
The combination of Cheng in view of Yeo, and further in view of Hwang does not disclose the claim features of wherein a sequence r(m) of the sidelink signal is equal to 1/√2 (1-2c(2m)) + j1/√2(1-2c(2m+1)), where the sequence c(n) is defined as: c(n)=(x1 (n+Nc) + x2(n+Nc) mod 2, x1(n+31)=(x1(n+3) + x1(n)) mod2, x2(n+31)=(x2(n+3)+x2(n+2)+x2(n+1) + x2(n) mod2, where Nc=1600, and an initialization sequence of x1(n) is x1(0)=1, where x1(n)=0, n=1,2…30, and an initialization sequence of x2(n) is Cinit=∑30 i=0 x2(i) x 2l=(217(Nslotsymb nµs,f + l + 1)(2NID + 1) + 2NID) mod 231, where NID=NIDxmod216, NxID is equal to a decimal representation of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) corresponding to the PSSCH, Nslotsymb indicates a number of OFDM symbols within a slot, nµs,f indicates a slot index of the slot for the sidelink signal or the DMRS for the PSSCH within a frame, and I represents the index of the first symbol. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Lei et al. US (2023/0276492).
Lei discloses wherein a sequence r(m) of the sidelink signal is equal to 1/√2 (1-2c(2m)) + j1/√2(1-2c(2m+1)), (see Para [0051] i.e., a sequence for sidelink transmissions…So a UE can detect the sequence in transmission from other UEs in the following equation i.e., r(m) equation)
where the sequence c(n) is defined as: c(n)=(x1 (n+Nc) + x2(n+Nc) mod 2, (see Para [0052] i.e., output sequence c(n))
x1(n+31)=(x1(n+3) + x1(n)) mod2, (see Para [0052])
x2(n+31)=(x2(n+3)+x2(n+2)+x2(n+1) + x2(n) mod2, (see Para [0052])
where Nc=1600, and an initialization sequence of x1(n) is x1(0)=1, where x1(n)=0, n=1,2…30, (see Para [0052])
and an initialization sequence of x2(n) is Cinit=∑30 i=0 x2(i) x 2l=(217(Nslotsymb nµs,f + l + 1)(2NID + 1) + 2NID) mod 231, (see Para [0052] i.e., Cinit & [0057] i.e., Cinit equation)
where NID=NIDxmod216, (see Para [0057] i.e., NID)
Nslotsymb indicates a number of OFDM symbols within a slot, (see Para [0057] i.e., Nsymbslot is the number of symbols in a slot)
nµs,f indicates a slot index of the slot for the sidelink signal or the DMRS for the PSSCH within a frame, (see Para [0057] i.e., nµs,f is the slot number (also, slot index) within a frame)
and I represents the index of the first symbol (see Para [0057] i.e., l is the symbol number (also, symbol index) within the slot)
(Lei suggests the sequence is predetermined and used for the sidelink transmission in order for the RX-UE to determine whether the sidelink transmission from the TX-UE is a sidelink transmission that the RX UE is interested in without detecting or decoding the SCI so as to save power consumption, (see Para’s [0003], [0042], [0044], [0070] & [0072])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the sequence of the sidelink transmission such as the sidelink phase tracking reference signal as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yeo, and further in view of Hwang to use the sequence r(m) for the sidelink transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Lei, because the motivation lies in Lei that the sequence is predetermined and used for the sidelink transmission in order for the RX-UE to determine whether the sidelink transmission from the TX-UE is a sidelink transmission that the RX UE is interested in without detecting or decoding the SCI so as to save power consumption.
Regarding Claim 6 Cheng discloses a method performed by user equipment (see Fig. 5 i.e., UE2 & Fig. 6 & Para’s [0095-0096]), the method comprising:
receiving a sidelink phase tracking reference signal, (see Fig. 5 & Para [0050] i.e., PTRS-related information may be included in an SCI message for the scheduling PSSCH. The PTRS may be an RS used for phase tracking (i.e., UE2 will receive PTRS for phase tracking)…PTRS-related information may include at least one of the following: PTRS exist indicator for indicating whether a PTRS is transmitted in an SL physical channel (e.g., a PSSCH) (i.e., UE2 will receive the PTRS if PTRS is transmitted), [0052] i.e., The UE may determine the existence of the PTRS… the UE may determine that there may be a PTRS associated with the PSSCH scheduled by the SCI message (i.e., UE2 will receive the PTRS if there is a PTRS associated with the PSSCH) & [0095])
and determine a sequence of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal (see Fig. 5 & Para [0050] i.e., The PTRS may be an RS used for phase tracking…the PTRS-related information may include at least one of the following: PTRS sequence generation information…and a PTRS pattern (e.g., the time and frequency domain information of the PTRS) for the PSSCH, [0052], & [0095]) based on an index of a first symbol actually transmitting an associated demodulation reference signal (DMRS) for a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) (see Table 1 i.e., the number of DMRS symbols may be 1 DMRS symbol (i.e., “first symbol”) & Para’s [0042] i.e., DMRS-related information may be included in an SCI message for the scheduling PSSCH which may include the number of DMRS symbols, a DMRS time/frequency location (i.e., “index of a first symbol”), DMRS port index, a DMRS port group index, and a type of DMRS pattern (e.g., DMRS type 1 or DMRS type 2) for the PSSCH (i.e., DMRS is used for receiving PSSCH which includes the PTRS sequence), [0044-0046] i.e., DMRS setting for one or multiple PSSCHs…one DMRS symbol associated with DMRS type 1 is transmitted, [0050] i.e., PTRS is transmitted in PSSCH, [0092] i.e., PSSCH received by the UE, & [0095]) excluding a symbol not actually transmitting the associated DMRS whereas an associated physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) is transmitted in the symbol (Cheng, see Para’s [0068] i.e., a UE may know where to receive the PSCCH(s) based on the time/frequency location of the PSCCH(s) (i.e., “PSCCH symbols”) & [0087] i.e., reference symbol received power (RSRP) of a SL physical channel (e.g., a PSCCH) is below a threshold)
Cheng does not explicitly disclose the claim feature of determining the sequence of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal based on the index of the first symbol carrying the associated DMRS for the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Yeo et al. US (2022/0330261).
Yeo discloses determining the sequence of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal based on an index of the first symbol carrying an associated DMRS (see Fig. 15A & Para [0299] i.e., the transmitting UE 1501 may transmit a PSCCH including sidelink scheduling information (1507) and transmit the corresponding data, a PSSCH (1505). The sidelink scheduling information (1507) may be sidelink control information (SCI) which may include the following information: such as see Para [0310] i.e., PTRS-DMRS association: includes information about phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) mapping (i.e., PTRS mapping information may be a sequence of the sidelink PTRS which is obtained by the receiving UE 1503 from PTRS-DMRS association) & [0321-0322] i.e., SCI further includes DMRS pattern: information about DMRS pattern (e.g., a symbol position (i.e., “index of the first symbol”) to which the DMRS is mapped (i.e., the PTRS is associated with the DMRS which includes an index of the DMRS symbol and therefore the PTRS mapping information is based on an index of a first symbol carrying the DMRS)).
(Yeo suggests the sidelink control information (SCI) which includes the PTRS-DMRS association including PTRS mapping information is sent from the transmitting UE 1501 to the receiving UE 1503 in order for the receiving UE to properly obtain the PTRS mapping information for determining where the phase tracking signal is mapped in order to properly receive the phase tracking reference signal for performing phase tracking, (see Para’s [0299], [0310], & [0321-0322])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the sequence of the sidelink phase tracking reference signal determined by the UE such as the PTRS pattern including time and frequency domain mapping information of the PTRS as disclosed in Cheng to be determined based on the index of the first symbol carrying the associated DMRS according to the teachings of Yeo who discloses a receiving UE determines from received PTRS-DMRS association, PTRS mapping information of the PTRS from SCI received from a transmitting UE which also includes an index of the associated DMRS symbol, because the motivation lies in Yeo suggests that the sidelink control information (SCI) which includes the PTRS-DMRS association including PTRS mapping information is sent from the transmitting UE 1501 to the receiving UE 1503 in order for the receiving UE to properly obtain the PTRS mapping information for determining where the phase tracking signal is mapped in order to properly receive the phase tracking reference signal for performing phase tracking.
While Yeo discloses the PTRS-DMRS association included in the SCI (see Para’s [0299] & [0310]), the combination of Cheng in view of Yeo does not explicitly disclose the PTRS-DMRS association is for an associated DMRS for the PSSCH and the claim feature of NxID is equal to a decimal representation of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) corresponding to the PSSCH. However the claim feature would be rendered obvious in view of Hwang et al. US (2020/0351136).
Hwang discloses a PTRS-DMRS association may be an association between a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) and a DMRS for the PSSCH (see Para [0187-0189] i.e., the UE may transmit information on an association between PT-RS antenna port and PSSCH DMRS antenna port via SCI).
NxID is equal to a decimal representation of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) corresponding to the PSSCH, (see Para [0198] i.e., For example, NID may be obtained based on a CRC on a PSCCH related to (or associated with) the PSSCH. For example, a CRC on a PSCCH related to the PSSCH may be 24 bits, and NID may be 16 bits of the CRC among 24 bits of the CRC on the PSCCH related to the PSSCH. For example, the 16 bits may be 16 bits of least significant bits (LSBs) among the total of 24 bits)
(Hwang suggests the information on the PTRS-DMRS association is transmitted via sidelink control information (SCI) in order for the receiving UE to receive configuration of the phase tracking reference signal for performing compensation of phase noise based on the received PTRS, (see Para’s [0015-0016], [0155], & [0186-0189])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the PTRS-DMRS association information sent to the UE in SCI as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yeo to be for an association between PTRS and an associated DMRS for the PSSCH as disclosed in the teachings of Hwang who discloses a PTRS-DMRS association is an association between a phase tracking reference signal (PT-RS) and DMRS for the PSSCH, because the motivation lies in Hwang that the information on the PTRS-DMRS association is transmitted via sidelink control information (SCI) in order for the receiving UE to receive configuration of the phase tracking reference signal for performing compensation of phase noise based on the received PTRS.
The combination of Cheng in view of Yeo, and further in view of Hwang does not disclose the claim features of wherein a sequence r(m) of the sidelink signal is equal to 1/√2 (1-2c(2m)) + j1/√2(1-2c(2m+1)), where the sequence c(n) is defined as: c(n)=(x1 (n+Nc) + x2(n+Nc) mod 2, x1(n+31)=(x1(n+3) + x1(n)) mod2, x2(n+31)=(x2(n+3)+x2(n+2)+x2(n+1) + x2(n) mod2, where Nc=1600, and an initialization sequence of x1(n) is x1(0)=1, where x1(n)=0, n=1,2…30, and an initialization sequence of x2(n) is Cinit=∑30 i=0 x2(i) x 2l=(217(Nslotsymb nµs,f + l + 1)(2NID + 1) + 2NID) mod 231, where NID=NIDxmod216, NxID is equal to a decimal representation of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code on a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) corresponding to the PSSCH, Nslotsymb indicates a number of OFDM symbols within a slot, nµs,f indicates a slot index of the slot for the sidelink signal or the DMRS for the PSSCH within a frame, and I represents the index of the first symbol. However the claim features would be rendered obvious in view of Lei et al. US (2023/0276492).
Lei discloses wherein a sequence r(m) of the sidelink signal is equal to 1/√2 (1-2c(2m)) + j1/√2(1-2c(2m+1)), (see Para [0051] i.e., a sequence for sidelink transmissions…So a UE can detect the sequence in transmission from other UEs in the following equation i.e., r(m) equation)
where the sequence c(n) is defined as: c(n)=(x1 (n+Nc) + x2(n+Nc) mod 2, (see Para [0052] i.e., output sequence c(n))
x1(n+31)=(x1(n+3) + x1(n)) mod2, (see Para [0052])
x2(n+31)=(x2(n+3)+x2(n+2)+x2(n+1) + x2(n) mod2, (see Para [0052])
where Nc=1600, and an initialization sequence of x1(n) is x1(0)=1, where x1(n)=0, n=1,2…30, (see Para [0052])
and an initialization sequence of x2(n) is Cinit=∑30 i=0 x2(i) x 2l=(217(Nslotsymb nµs,f + l + 1)(2NID + 1) + 2NID) mod 231, (see Para [0052] i.e., Cinit & [0057] i.e., Cinit equation)
where NID=NIDxmod216, (see Para [0057] i.e., NID)
Nslotsymb indicates a number of OFDM symbols within a slot, (see Para [0057] i.e., Nsymbslot is the number of symbols in a slot)
nµs,f indicates a slot index of the slot for the sidelink signal or the DMRS for the PSSCH within a frame, (see Para [0057] i.e., nµs,f is the slot number (also, slot index) within a frame)
and I represents the index of the first symbol (see Para [0057] i.e., l is the symbol number (also, symbol index) within the slot)
(Lei suggests the sequence is predetermined and used for the sidelink transmission in order for the RX-UE to determine whether the sidelink transmission from the TX-UE is a sidelink transmission that the RX UE is interested in without detecting or decoding the SCI so as to save power consumption, (see Para’s [0003], [0042], [0044], [0070] & [0072])).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the sequence of the sidelink transmission such as the sidelink phase tracking reference signal as disclosed in Cheng in view of Yeo, and further in view of Hwang to use the sequence r(m) for the sidelink transmission as disclosed in the teachings of Lei, because the motivation lies in Lei that the sequence is predetermined and used for the sidelink transmission in order for the RX-UE to determine whether the sidelink transmission from the TX-UE is a sidelink transmission that the RX UE is interested in without detecting or decoding the SCI so as to save power consumption.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADNAN BAIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461