DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendments and Arguments
The amendments and arguments filed 09/10/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Claims 1-10 and 19 have been canceled; claims 11-13, 15, 17, 20, and 21 have been amended; no claims have been added or withdrawn. Claims 11-18 and 20-23 are now pending and under consideration.
The previous objections to claims 11 and 21 have been withdrawn, in light of the amendments to the claims.
Applicant's arguments on pages 8-10 of the remarks with regard to the prior art rejections of independent claims 11 and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0043896 to Lee et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0139020 to Ikezawa et al. have been fully considered, and they are not persuasive. Specifically, Applicant’s asserts that neither of Lee and Ikezawa, alone or in combination, teaches or renders obvious the subject matter of the last five lines of each of claims 11 and 21.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Although Lee teaches that the processor is configured to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle, and the setting of the deceleration behavior, differently depending on the state of the first signaling unit, Lee appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the processor is further configured to determine the state of the first signaling unit based on a detected color of the first signaling unit, the color of the first signaling unit being red, amber, or green {Lee appears to be silent to as to whether any color(s) [and, if so, which color(s)] are displayed on the traffic lamp OB15 via the signal 1101, Lee appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the object detection device 300 detects a color of the traffic lamp OB15 (or of the signal 1101 of the traffic lamp OB15), and Lee appears to be silent as to whether the object detection device 300 determines the object information (or the traffic signal information) directing vehicles to stop based on a color of the traffic lamp OB15 (or of the signal 1101 of the traffic lamp OB15)}, such that Lee also appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the processor is further configured to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle differently for each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green.
As discussed in detail by the preceding Office Action, Lee teaches a driver assistance system that automatically effects deceleration during driving of a vehicle 100, via coasting and/or regenerative braking of the vehicle 100 based on a user-selected driving mode during a journey of the vehicle 100 and object information (or traffic signal information) of a traffic lamp OB15 directing vehicles to stop determined by an object detection device 300. As further discussed in detail by the preceding Office Action, in Lee, the object information (or the traffic signal information) of the traffic lamp OB15 directing vehicles to stop, as determined by the processor in Lee, includes a signal 1101 displayed on the traffic lamp OB15, of three distinct signal elements arranged in a row, which directs vehicles to either stop or go, and, similar to Lee, Ikezawa teaches detecting a signal displayed on a traffic lamp that directs vehicles to stop, in the alternative to go, by specifically detecting that a color of the signal of the traffic lamp is red, in the alternative to green or yellow (e.g., “amber”) (as discussed by at least ¶ 0038-0039 & 0084-0086 of Ikezawa), such that providing further detection, by the processor of Lee, of the signal 1101 that directs vehicles to “stop” as a red light displayed on the traffic lamp OB15 would beneficially enable the vehicle system to associate specific (color-based) information communicated by the signal of the traffic lamp with the traffic requirement (e.g., stop or go) associated with said specific (color-based) information. As additionally discussed in detail by the preceding Office Action, Ikezawa demonstrates that detection of a red light traffic signal of a traffic lamp corresponds to a direction by the traffic lamp for vehicle to stop, with Ikezawa further teaching to change a target speed in deceleration assistance depending on a lighting color of the traffic signal being green, yellow, or red (alternatively, red or yellow, and excluding green) (as discussed by at least ¶ 0038-0039 & 0084-0086 of Ikezawa). Therefore, it would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the vehicle system of Lee with the teachings of Ikezawa, if even necessary, such that the processor is further configured to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle differently for each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green.
Additionally, with respect to claim 21, the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_II), and claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I), and because the “detected color of the first signaling unit” would not necessarily include more than one of “red,” “amber,” or “green” during performing of the claimed method, “wherein the processor is configured to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle, and the setting of the deceleration behavior, differently for each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green” would not necessarily further limit the claimed method by virtue of “wherein the processor is configured to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle, and the setting of the deceleration behavior, differently for each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green” neither requiring further step(s) to be performed as part of the claimed method nor necessarily further defining any previously-introduced steps of the claimed method.
Furthermore, it is unclear exactly where and exactly how Applicant’s originally-filed specification sufficiently discloses that (1) the processor is configured to effect the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber differently as compared to each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green, and (2) the processor is configured to effect the setting of the deceleration behavior when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber differently as compared to each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green, as Applicant’s specification differently appears to be silent to such processor-implemented functionality. Furthermore, such processor-implemented functionality is not shown by Applicant’s drawings and was not included by any originally-filed claim. Therefore, as best understood by the examiner, “wherein the processor is configured to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle, and the setting of the deceleration behavior, differently for each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green” improperly introduces “new matter” to the claims, such that claims 11 and 21 fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Therefore, the rejections have been maintained and updated in order to sufficiently address the amendments to the claims.
Applicant further asserts on pages 10-11 of the remarks that it would be improper to maintain rejections of dependent claims 22 and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ikezawa because neither of Lee and Ikezawa, alone or in combination, teaches or renders obvious the subject matter of claims 22 and 23.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, with respect to claim 22, because the “detected color of the first signaling unit” would not necessarily include “amber” during performing of the claimed method, “wherein when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle is effected based in part on when the first signaling unit switched to amber” would not necessarily further limit the claimed method by virtue of “wherein when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle is effected based in part on when the first signaling unit switched to amber” neither requiring further step(s) to be performed as part of the claimed method nor necessarily further defining any previously-introduced steps of the claimed method (e.g., see at least MPEP 2111.04_I & 2111.04_II, as discussed in detail above).
Furthermore, it is unclear exactly where and exactly how Applicant’s originally-filed specification sufficiently discloses that the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle is effected based in part on when the first signaling unit switched to amber, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, as Applicant’s specification differently appears to be silent to such processor-implemented functionality. Furthermore, such processor-implemented functionality is not shown by Applicant’s drawings and was not included by any originally-filed claim. Therefore, as best understood by the examiner, “wherein when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle is effected based in part on when the first signaling unit switched to amber” improperly introduces “new matter” to the claims, such that claims 22 and 23 fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Even so, Ikezawa further teaches to change a target speed in deceleration assistance depending on a lighting color of the traffic signal being green, yellow, or red (alternatively, red or yellow, and excluding green) (as discussed by at least ¶ 0038-0039 of Ikezawa), with such a change in the target speed in deceleration assistance dependent on the lighting color of the traffic signal being yellow (amber) being based in part on the lighting color of the traffic signal being switched to yellow (amber) immediately prior to the changing the target speed in deceleration assistance depending on the lighting color of the traffic signal.
Therefore, the rejections have been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Each of claims 11 and 21, as amended, now recites “wherein the processor is configured to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle, and the setting of the deceleration behavior, differently for each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green” in the last five lines of the claim; however, it is unclear exactly where and exactly how Applicant’s originally-filed specification sufficiently discloses that (1) the processor is configured to effect the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber differently as compared to each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green, and (2) the processor is configured to effect the setting of the deceleration behavior when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber differently as compared to each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green, as Applicant’s specification differently appears to be silent to such processor-implemented functionality. Furthermore, such processor-implemented functionality is not shown by Applicant’s drawings and was not included by any originally-filed claim. Therefore, as best understood by the examiner, “wherein the processor is configured to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle, and the setting of the deceleration behavior, differently for each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green” improperly introduces “new matter” to the claims, such that the claims now fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 12-18, 20, and 23 depend from claim 11, and claim 22 depends from claim 21, such that claims 12-18, 20, 22, and 23 also include the “new matter” recited by a corresponding one of claims 11 and 22 and are rejected for at least the same reasons that claims 11 and 22 are rejected.
Each of claims 22 and 23 recites “wherein when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle is effected based in part on when the first signaling unit switched to amber”; however, it is unclear exactly where and exactly how Applicant’s originally-filed specification sufficiently discloses that the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle is effected based in part on when the first signaling unit switched to amber, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, as Applicant’s specification differently appears to be silent to such processor-implemented functionality. Furthermore, such processor-implemented functionality is not shown by Applicant’s drawings and was not included by any originally-filed claim. Therefore, as best understood by the examiner, “wherein when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle is effected based in part on when the first signaling unit switched to amber” improperly introduces “new matter” to the claims, such that the claims now fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 18 introduces “an intervention time” in line 2. Claim 18 depends from claim 11 via claim 16, and claim 11, as amended, now previously introduces “an intervention time” in line 20. Specifically, it is unclear whether the “intervention time” introduced in line 2 of claim 18 is intended to be the same as or different from the “intervention time” previously introduced in line 20 of claim 11. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 also introduces “an operating mode” in line 3. Claim 18 depends from claim 11 via claim 16, and claim 11, as amended, now previously introduces “an operating mode” in line 22. Specifically, it is unclear whether the “operating mode” introduced in line 3 of claim 18 is intended to be the same as or different from the “operating mode” previously introduced in line 22 of claim 11. Thus, there is improper antecedent basis for the limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-16, 18, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0043896 to Lee et al. (hereinafter: “Lee”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0139020 to Ikezawa et al. (hereinafter: “Ikezawa”).
With respect to claim 11, Lee teaches a vehicle system (apparent from at least Figs. 1-8B) for providing a driving function for autonomous driving with automated longitudinal guidance and lateral guidance of a vehicle at a signaling unit [as depicted by at least Figs. 12A-12B and as discussed by at least ¶ 0004, 0025, 0055-0060, 0200, 0242, 0265, 0290 & 0346, vehicle 100 is selectively operable as an “autonomous vehicle” at times including when operated in a driving mode, of a number of different driving modes, which includes one of an autonomous driving mode or an unmanned driving mode, including while at a traffic lamp (e.g., “signaling unit”)], comprising: a vehicle guidance system comprising a processor (apparent from at least Figs. 7-8B) configured, during operation of the driving function for autonomous driving with automated longitudinal and lateral guidance, to: detect a first signaling unit which is arranged in front of the vehicle in the direction of travel on a road used by the vehicle (100) and determine a state of the first signaling unit [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 2, 5-8A, 9 & 11-12B and as discussed by at least ¶ 0004, 0014, 0025, 0055-0060, 0100-0102, 0107, 0113, 0200, 0233-0237, 0242, 0250, 0265, 0271, 0276, 0290, 0311-0312, 0326, 0328-0329, 0331, 0333 & 0346, the apparent driver assistance system includes an object detection device 300 which detects a traffic signal including a traffic lamp OB15 (e.g., “first signaling unit”) in front of the vehicle 100 on a road in the direction of travel during a journey (e.g., “operation of the driving function”) of the vehicle 100, including while the vehicle 100 is selectively operated as the “autonomous vehicle” in the driving mode that includes the one of the autonomous driving mode or the unmanned driving mode, instead of another one of the number of different driving modes, and the object detection device 300 determines object information (or traffic signal information) (e.g., “state”) of the traffic lamp OB15 directing vehicles to stop based on a signal 1101 displayed on the traffic lamp OB15 which directs vehicles to either stop or go, and where it is apparent from at least Figs. 5, 6, & 11-12B that the signal 1101 of the traffic lamp OB15 includes three distinct signal elements arranged in a row]; determine a driving mode that has been set from a plurality of different driving modes [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 5-8A, 9 & 11-12B and as discussed by at least ¶ 0055-0060, 0062, 0064-0066, 0200, 0233-0234, 0238-0242, 0262, 0264-0265, 0307-0310, 0325 & 0340-0346, an interface unit 830 of the apparent driver assistance system receives a user-selected driving mode selected by a user from the number of different driving modes from a user interface device 200 (or from a controller 170) during the journey of the vehicle 100, including when the user-selected driving mode includes the autonomous driving mode or the unmanned driving mode]; and effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle when approaching the first signaling unit on the basis of the driving mode that has been set and the state of the first signaling unit [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 2, 5-9 & 11-12B and as discussed by at least ¶ 0024, 0046, 0056, 0208, 0248-0295, 0306-0318 & 0324-0345, the apparent driver assistance system automatically effects deceleration during driving of the vehicle 100, via coasting (e.g., “automated longitudinal guidance”) and/or regenerative braking (e.g., “automated longitudinal guidance”) of the vehicle 100 based on the user-selected driving mode during the journey of the vehicle 100 and the object information (or the traffic signal information) of the traffic lamp OB15 directing vehicles to stop determined by the object detection device 300, at times including when approaching the traffic lamp OB15 during the journey of the vehicle 100, including when the user-selected driving mode includes the one of the autonomous driving mode or the unmanned driving mode]; wherein to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle when approaching the first signaling unit, the processor is configured to: determine an intervention time for deceleration based on the determined driving mode [for example, it is apparent from at least Figs. 12A-12B in view of at least ¶ 0241-0242, 0252-0253, 0255-0256, 0262-0265, 0270, 0290, 0333-0336 & 0340-0349 that the apparent driver assistance system determines a regenerative braking start time (e.g., “intervention time for deceleration”) based on the user-selected driving mode further including one of an “eco mode,” a “comfort mode,” or a “sport mode,” when in the autonomous driving mode or the unmanned driving mode]; select at least one of an operating mode or a sequence of operating modes based on the driving mode, where the operating mode or sequence of operating modes comprises at least one of a coasting operation, a towing operation, or a braking operation [for example, apparent from at least Figs. 12A-12B in view of at least ¶ 0241-0242, 0290 & 0340-0349, and as discussed in detail above; because select an operating mode and select a sequence of operating modes are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives; because a coasting operation, a towing operation, and a braking operation are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives]; and set a deceleration behavior for the vehicle based on both the driving mode and the detected state of the first signaling unit (as discussed in detail above); and wherein the processor is configured to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle, and the setting of the deceleration behavior, differently depending on the state of the first signaling unit (as discussed in detail above).
Lee appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the processor is further configured to determine the state of the first signaling unit based on a detected color of the first signaling unit, the color of the first signaling unit being red, amber, or green {Lee appears to be silent to as to whether any color(s) [and, if so, which color(s)] are displayed on the traffic lamp OB15 via the signal 1101, Lee appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the object detection device 300 detects a color of the traffic lamp OB15 (or of the signal 1101 of the traffic lamp OB15), and Lee appears to be silent as to whether the object detection device 300 determines the object information (or the traffic signal information) directing vehicles to stop based on a color of the traffic lamp OB15 (or of the signal 1101 of the traffic lamp OB15); because red, amber, and green are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives}. Therefore, Lee also appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the processor is further configured to: (1) effect the at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle when approaching the first signaling unit on the basis of the driving mode that has been set and the state of the first signaling unit determined based on the detected color of the first signaling unit; (2) set a deceleration behavior for the vehicle based on both the driving mode and the detected state of the first signaling unit that is based on the detected color of the signaling unit, to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle when approaching the first signaling unit; and (3) effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle differently for each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green.
Ikezawa teaches detecting, via a processor (10), a first signaling unit (C) which is arranged in front of a vehicle (M) in a direction of travel on a road used by the vehicle (100) and determine a state of the first signaling unit based on a detected color of the first signaling unit, the color of the first signaling unit being red [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-2C and as discussed by at least ¶ 0038-0043 & 0084-0088, the driving assistance electronic control unit (ECU) 10, of a driving assistance apparatus 100 of the vehicle M, detects a traffic signal C ahead of the vehicle M during travel of the vehicle toward the traffic signal C and determines that the traffic signal C is a red (stop) traffic signal C having a red lighting color]; and effect automated longitudinal guidance of the vehicle when approaching the first signaling unit based, in part, on the state of the first signaling unit determined based on the detected color of the first signaling unit [for example, as depicted by at least Figs. 1-2C and as discussed by at least ¶ 0038-0043 & 0048-0088, the driving assistance ECU 10 determines the red (stop) traffic signal C as a first deceleration-triggering object and effects deceleration assistance of the vehicle M when approaching the traffic signal C based on the determination of the red (stop) traffic signal C as the first deceleration-triggering object], including to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle, and setting of a deceleration behavior, differently for each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber (e.g., “yellow”), and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green (as discussed by at least ¶ 0038-0039 & 0084-0086).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the vehicle system of Lee with the teachings of Ikezawa, if even necessary, such that the processor is further configured to determine the state of the first signaling unit based on a detected color of the first signaling unit, the color of the first signaling unit being red, amber, or green because, as discussed in detail above, the object information (or the traffic signal information) of the traffic lamp OB15 directing vehicles to stop, as determined by the processor in Lee, includes a signal 1101 displayed on the traffic lamp OB15, of three distinct signal elements arranged in a row, which directs vehicles to either stop or go, and, similar to Lee, Ikezawa teaches detecting a signal displayed on a traffic lamp that directs vehicles to stop, in the alternative to go, by specifically detecting that a color of the signal of the traffic lamp is red, in the alternative to green or yellow (e.g., “amber”), such that providing further detection, by the processor of Lee, of the signal 1101 that directs vehicles to “stop” as a red light displayed on the traffic lamp OB15 would beneficially enable the vehicle system to associate specific (color-based) information communicated by the signal of the traffic lamp with the traffic requirement (e.g., stop or go) associated with said specific (color-based) information. Therefore, it would have also been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the vehicle system of Lee with the teachings of Ikezawa, if even necessary, such that the processor is further configured to (1) effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle when approaching the first signaling unit on the basis of the driving mode that has been set and the state of the first signaling unit determined based on the detected color of the first signaling unit; (2) set the deceleration behavior for the vehicle based on both the driving mode and the detected state of the first signaling unit that is based on the detected color of the signaling unit, to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle when approaching the first signaling unit; and (3) effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle differently for each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green, because, as discussed in detail above, the apparent driver assistance system of Lee automatically effects deceleration during driving of the vehicle 100, via coasting and/or regenerative braking of the vehicle 100 based on the user-selected driving mode during the journey of the vehicle 100 and the object information (or the traffic signal information) of the traffic lamp OB15 directing vehicles to stop determined by the object detection device 300, and Ikezawa demonstrates that detection of a red light traffic signal of a traffic lamp corresponds to a direction by the traffic lamp for vehicle to stop, with Ikezawa further teaching to change a target speed in deceleration assistance depending on a lighting color of the traffic signal being green, yellow, or red (alternatively, red or yellow, and excluding green).
With respect to claim 12, Lee modified supra teaches the vehicle system according to claim 11, wherein the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to: move the intervention time back in terms of time (e.g., the regenerative braking start time occurs relatively later) with increasing dynamics of the driving mode that has been set (e.g., via the “sport mode”) and/or move the intervention time forward in terms of time (e.g., the regenerative braking start time occurs relatively sooner) with falling dynamics of the driving mode that has been set (e.g., via the “eco mode”) [for example, apparent from at least Figs. 12A-12B in view of at least ¶ 0241-0242, 0290 & 0340-0349 of Lee; because move the intervention time back in terms of time with increasing dynamics of the driving mode that has been set and move the intervention time forward in terms of time with falling dynamics of the driving mode that has been set are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives].
With respect to claim 13, Lee modified supra teaches the vehicle system according to claim 11, wherein: the coasting operation is an operation in which one or more drivable wheels of the vehicle are decoupled from a drive motor of the vehicle; the towing operation is an operation in which the one or more drivable wheels of the vehicle drag the drive motor along; and the braking operation is an operation in which one or more wheels of the vehicle are actively braked [for example, apparent from at least Figs. 12A-12B in view of at least ¶ 0241-0242, 0290, 0305 & 0340-0349 of Lee; because the coasting operation, the towing operation, and the braking operation are recited in the alternative via claim 11, each of the coasting operation is an operation in which one or more drivable wheels of the vehicle are decoupled from a drive motor of the vehicle, the towing operation is an operation in which the one or more drivable wheels of the vehicle drag the drive motor along, and the braking operation is an operation in which one or more wheels of the vehicle are actively braked only further defines a corresponding one of the aforementioned alternatives of claim 11, and it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives].
With respect to claim 14, Lee modified supra teaches the vehicle system according to claim 13, wherein the active braking is via one or more regenerative brakes and/or one or more friction brakes of the vehicle [note: “wherein the active braking is via one or more regenerative brakes and/or one or more friction brakes of the vehicle” refers to the braking operation is an operation in which one or more wheels of the vehicle are actively braked in claim 13 which further defines the braking operation in claim 11 in the alternative to the coasting operation and the towing operation in claim 11, such that “wherein the active braking is via one or more regenerative brakes and/or one or more friction brakes of the vehicle” does not necessarily further define the claimed “vehicle “system” in a case where one or more of the alternatives of “the coasting operation…” and “the towing operation…” is addressed instead of “the braking operation…” (also, see: MPEP 2111.04_I); even so, for example, apparent from at least Figs. 10 & 12A-12B in view of at least ¶ 0241-0242, 0290, 0319-0323 & 0340-0349 of Lee; also: because the active braking is via one or more regenerative brakes of the vehicle and the active braking is via one or more friction brakes of the vehicle are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives].
With respect to claim 15, Lee modified supra teaches the vehicle system according to claim 13, wherein the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to: determine whether a driving mode with relatively high dynamics or a driving mode with relatively low dynamics has been set (e.g., an “eco mode”) [for example, apparent from at least Figs. 12A-12B in view of at least ¶ 0241-0242, 0290 & 0340-0349 of Lee; because determine whether a driving mode with relatively high dynamics has been set and determine whether a driving mode with a driving mode with relatively low dynamics has been set are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives]; and use the coasting operation and/or the towing operation when approaching the first signaling unit when it is determined that the driving mode with relatively low dynamics has been set (e.g., the “eco mode”) [for example, apparent from at least Figs. 12A-12B in view of at least ¶ 0241-0242, 0290 & 0340-0349 of Lee; because use the coasting operation and use the towing operation are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives].
With respect to claim 16, Lee modified supra teaches the vehicle system according to claim 11, wherein the plurality of driving modes comprise an eco driving mode (“eco mode”), a comfort driving mode (“comfort mode”) and a sport driving mode (“sport mode”), the eco driving mode has lower dynamics than the comfort driving mode, and the comfort driving mode has lower dynamics than the sport driving mode (apparent from at least Figs. 12A-12B in view of at least ¶ 0241-0242, 0290 & 0340-0349 of Lee).
With respect to claim 18, Lee modified supra teaches the vehicle guidance system according to claim 16, wherein when approaching the first signaling unit, as of an intervention time, the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to select an operating mode for the vehicle in which a drive motor of the vehicle does not produce any drive torque or produces a drag torque or a braking torque on the vehicle [because an operating mode for the vehicle in which a drive motor of the vehicle does not produce any drive torque, an operating mode for the vehicle in which a drive motor of the vehicle produces a drag torque on the vehicle, and an operating mode for the vehicle in which a drive motor of the vehicle produces a braking torque on the vehicle are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives; for example, apparent from at least Figs. 12A-12B in view of at least ¶ 0052, 0177, 0241-0242, 0290 & 0340-0349 of Lee]; the intervention time is earlier in the eco driving mode than in the comfort driving mode; and the intervention time is earlier in the comfort driving mode than in the sport driving mode (apparent from at least Figs. 12A-12B in view of at least ¶ 0241-0242, 0290 & 0340-0349 of Lee).
With respect to claim 20, Lee modified supra teaches the vehicle system according to claim 11, wherein the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to: in a first driving mode with first dynamics (e.g., “sport mode”) greater than second dynamics of a second driving mode (e.g., “eco mode”), decelerate the vehicle with a first deceleration value as of a first intervention time; and in the second driving mode, decelerate the vehicle with a second deceleration value as of a second intervention time, wherein the first intervention time follows the second intervention time in terms of time, and/or the first deceleration value is greater than the second deceleration value in terms of absolute value [because the first intervention time follows the second intervention time in terms of time and the first deceleration value is greater than the second deceleration value in terms of absolute value are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives; for example, apparent from at least Figs. 12A-12B in view of at least ¶ 0241-0242, 0290 & 0340-0349 of Lee].
With respect to claim 21, Lee modified supra teaches a method for providing a driving function for autonomous driving with automated longitudinal and lateral guidance of a vehicle at a signaling unit, the method comprising: during operation of the driving function for autonomous driving with automated longitudinal and lateral guidance of the vehicle: detecting, with a processor, a first signaling unit which is arranged in front of the vehicle in a direction of travel on a road used by the vehicle and determining a state of the first signaling unit based on a detected color of the first signaling unit, the color of the first signaling unit being red, amber, or green; determining, with the processor, a driving mode that has been set from a plurality of different driving modes of the vehicle; and effecting, with the processor, at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle when approaching the first signaling unit on the basis of the driving mode that has been set and the state of the first signaling unit determined based on the detected color of the first signaling unit (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 11); wherein effecting at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle when approaching the first signaling unit comprises: determining, with the processor, an intervention time for deceleration based on the determined driving mode; selecting, with the processor, at least one of an operating mode or a sequence of operating modes based on the driving mode, where the operating mode or sequence of operating modes comprises at least one of a coasting operation, a towing operation, or a braking operation; and setting, with the processor, a deceleration behavior for the vehicle based on both the driving mode and the detected state of the first signaling unit that is based on the detected color of the signaling unit (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claim 11); and wherein the processor is configured to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle, and the setting of the deceleration behavior, differently for each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green [the broadest reasonable interpretation of a method (or process) claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition(s) precedent are not met (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_II), and claim scope is not limited by claim language that suggests or makes optional but does not require steps to be performed (e.g., see: MPEP 2111.04_I), and because the “detected color of the first signaling unit” would not necessarily include more than one of “red,” “amber,” or “green” during performing of the claimed method, “wherein the processor is configured to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle, and the setting of the deceleration behavior, differently for each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green” would not necessarily further limit the claimed method by virtue of “wherein the processor is configured to effect at least the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle, and the setting of the deceleration behavior, differently for each of when the detected color of the first signaling unit is red, when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, and when the detected color of the first signaling unit is green” neither requiring further step(s) to be performed as part of the claimed method nor necessarily further defining any previously-introduced steps of the claimed method; even so, as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 11].
With respect to claim 22, Lee modified supra teaches the method of claim 21, wherein when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle is effected based in part on when the first signaling unit switched to amber [because the “detected color of the first signaling unit” would not necessarily include “amber” during performing of the claimed method, “wherein when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle is effected based in part on when the first signaling unit switched to amber” would not necessarily further limit the claimed method by virtue of “wherein when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle is effected based in part on when the first signaling unit switched to amber” neither requiring further step(s) to be performed as part of the claimed method nor necessarily further defining any previously-introduced steps of the claimed method (e.g., see at least MPEP 2111.04_I & 2111.04_II, as discussed in detail above with respect to claim 21); even so, as discussed by at least ¶ 0038-0039 of Ikezawa].
With respect to claim 23, Lee modified supra teaches the vehicle system of claim 11, wherein when the detected color of the first signaling unit is amber, the automated longitudinal guidance of the autonomous driving of the vehicle is effected based in part on when the first signaling unit switched to amber (as discussed in detail above with respect to at least claims 11 and 22).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Ikezawa, and in view of DE 102018131280 A1 to Baumann (hereinafter: “Baumann”).
With respect to claim 17, Lee modified supra teaches the vehicle system according to claim 16; however, Lee appears to lack a clear teaching as to whether the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured, when approaching the first signaling unit, to: first operate the vehicle in the coasting operation, then in the towing operation and then in the braking operation when the driving mode that has been set is the eco driving mode; and/or first operate the vehicle in the towing operation, without using the coasting operation, and then in the braking operation when the driving mode that has been set is the comfort driving mode; and/or operate the vehicle directly in the braking operation, without using the coasting operation and the towing operation, when the driving mode that has been set is the sport driving mode [because first operate the vehicle in the coasting operation, then in the towing operation and then in the braking operation when the driving mode that has been set is the eco driving mode, first operate the vehicle in the towing operation, without using the coasting operation, and then in the braking operation when the driving mode that has been set is the comfort driving mode, and operate the vehicle directly in the braking operation, without using the coasting operation and the towing operation, when the driving mode that has been set is the sport driving mode are recited in the alternative, it is sufficient to address one of the claimed alternatives].
Baumann teaches an analogous vehicle system including a vehicle guidance system configured, when in a vehicle deceleration process (e.g., K1 or K7), to first operate a vehicle in a towing operation (“coasting operation” or “coasting process”; 12), without using a coasting operation (“sailing operation” or “sailing process”), and then in a braking operation (“braking operation” or “braking process”; 14) in a driving mode of the vehicle (as depicted by at least Figs. 1-3 and as discussed by at least ¶ 0005-0011, 0031-0034, 0037-0039 & 0046).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified the vehicle system of Lee with the teachings of Baumann, if even necessary, such that the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured, when approaching the first signaling unit at times including when the driving mode that has been set is the comfort driving mode, to first operate the vehicle in the towing operation, without using the coasting operation, and then operate the vehicle in the braking operation, because Baumann further teaches that first operating the vehicle in a towing operation, without using a coasting operation, and then operating the vehicle in a braking operation beneficially improves rate of deceleration as compared to first operating the vehicle in the coasting operation and then operating the vehicle in the braking operation, while also beneficially reducing energy consumption as compared to only operating the vehicle in the braking operation.
Conclusion
/JOHN M ZALESKAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747