DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 09/08/2026. Claims 11, and 13-24 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claims 11, and 22 were amended.
Reply to Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 7-8 of the Applicant's Remarks, filed 09/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11, and 13-24 under § 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Doi and Fukuoka does not teach determining estimated stopping times at traffic lights or traffic signs ahead of the vehicle. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner points to the cited paragraphs 88 and 91 that describe the determination of stopping periods at traffic lights. Stopping at stop signs are mandatory and the length of time a vehicle is halted at a stop sign is negligible and is driver dependent. Further, regardless of what time the vehicle is expected to be at rest at the stop signaling unit that is in front of the vehicle, if both stop signaling unit types require the vehicle to stop then the deceleration profile should be the same, therefore, it is important to know information about the condition of the traffic lights since those could change to green and thus alter the vehicle’s deceleration profile. Therefore, Doi and Fukuoka do in fact disclose the limitations for which they were cited as covering.
Claim Objections
Claims 23 and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities: There is a typo in the first paragraph, "arrange" should be changed to ". Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 13, 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Doi, US-20210261149-A1, in view of Fukuoka et al., US-20200233427-A1, hereinafter referred to as Doi, and Fukuoka.
As per claim 11
Doi discloses [a] vehicle system for providing a driving function for automated longitudinal guidance of a vehicle at a signaling unit, comprising (determines whether or not a predetermined deceleration target, which indicates the necessity of decelerating the vehicle 1 – Doi ¶30):
a processor of vehicle guidance system configured, during operation of the driving function, to (ECU 12 is configured to perform a deceleration assistance operation - Doi ¶20):
detect a first signaling unit which is arranged in front of the vehicle in a direction of travel on a road used by the vehicle (detect a predetermined deceleration target from the image captured by the camera 11, when the vehicle 1 is moving forward against the road sign detected by the sign assistance operation, which is a road sign indicating “STOP” - Doi ¶22 & ¶37);
determine whether the first signaling unit is a light signal installation or a traffic sign (step S17, when at least one of the road sign and the traffic light that is the target for the sign warning operation is same as the deceleration target (step S17: Yes) - Doi ¶39);
effect automated deceleration of the vehicle at the first signaling unit on the basis of the stopping information and the determination of whether the first signalizing unit is the light installation or the traffic sign (deceleration assistance unit 121 is configured to control the brake actuator 13 such that the vehicle 1 is decelerated to the target speed before the vehicle 1 arrives at the deceleration target…sign assistance unit 122 is configured to detect at least one of the road sign and the traffic light from the image captured by the camera 11. At least one of the road sign and the traffic light is an object for indicating or instructing the traffic of the vehicle 1 on a road, and may be thus referred to as a traffic indicator, step S17, when at least one of the road sign and the traffic light that is the target for the sign warning operation is same as the deceleration target (step S17: Yes) - Doi ¶22 & ¶39).
Doi does not specifically disclose determine stopping information with respect to an expected stopping period of the vehicle at the first signaling unit and with respect to the expected stopping period of the vehicle for the first signaling unit being the light signal installation or the traffic sign, the stopping period of the vehicle indicating an amount of time the vehicle will be at a standstill at the first signaling unit based on whether the first signaling unit is determined to be a light signal installation or a traffic sign.
However, Fukuoka teaches determine stopping information with respect to an expected stopping period of the vehicle at the first signaling unit and with respect to the expected stopping period of the vehicle for the first signaling unit being the light signal installation or the traffic sign, the stopping period of the vehicle indicating an amount of time the vehicle will be at a standstill at the first signaling unit based on whether the first signaling unit is determined to be a light signal installation or a traffic sign (stopping period predicting part 84 predicts the stopping periods…the lengths of time of the stopping periods (stopping times)…“stopping of the vehicle” includes a state where the vehicle temporarily stops in front of a traffic light, stopping period predicting part 84 may predict the stopping periods based on information received…traffic light information – Fukuoka ¶88 & ¶91).
Doi discloses a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object. Fukuoka teaches a machine learning system that predicts vehicle stopping periods.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Doi, a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object, with a machine learning system that predicts vehicle stopping periods, as taught by Fukuoka, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve the precision of prediction of the stopping periods even if the vehicle is used by several persons, and to improve the precision of calculation of the output parameter by the neural network model in a typical driving state of the vehicle, see Fukuoka ¶90 & ¶139 for details.
As per claim 13
Doi further discloses wherein the traffic sign is a stop sign (an example of the deceleration target as described above. At least one of a road sign that requires a stop (i.e., a road sign indicating “STOP”), a road sign that requires slowdown - Doi ¶31).
As per claim 19
Doi further discloses wherein the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to: determine map data relating to signaling units in a road network used by the vehicle; and/or determine environmental data relating to the first signaling unit using one or more environmental sensors of the vehicle; and detect the first signaling unit on the basis of the map data and/or on the basis of the environmental data; and/or determine the stopping information on the basis of the map data and/or on the basis of the environmental data (detect a redetermined deceleration target from the image captured by the camera 11…deceleration target is a specific example of the “deceleration object”…detect at least one of the road sign and the traffic light from the image captured by the camera 11…At least one of the road sign and the traffic light is an object for indicating or instructing the traffic of the vehicle 1 on a road, and may be thus referred to as a traffic indicator - Doi ¶22).
As per claim 22
Doi discloses [a] method for providing a driving function for automated longitudinal guidance of a vehicle at a signaling unit, the method comprising: during operation of the driving function (determines whether or not a predetermined deceleration target, which indicates the necessity of decelerating the vehicle 1, a second driving scene in which the traffic light (and particularly, a red light) appears ahead of the vehicle 1 – Doi ¶30 & ¶61):
detecting a first signaling unit which is arranged in front of the vehicle in a direction of travel on a road used by the vehicle (detect a predetermined deceleration target from the image captured by the camera 11, when the vehicle 1 is moving forward against the road sign detected by the sign assistance operation, which is a road sign indicating “STOP” - Doi ¶22 & ¶37);
determining whether the first signaling unit is a light signal installation or a traffic sign (step S17, when at least one of the road sign and the traffic light that is the target for the sign warning operation is same as the deceleration target (step S17: Yes) - Doi ¶39);
effecting automated deceleration of the vehicle at the first signaling unit on the basis of the stopping information and the determination of whether the first signalizing unit is the light installation or the traffic sign (deceleration assistance unit 121 is configured to control the brake actuator 13 such that the vehicle 1 is decelerated to the target speed before the vehicle 1 arrives at the deceleration target…sign assistance unit 122 is configured to detect at least one of the road sign and the traffic light from the image captured by the camera 11. At least one of the road sign and the traffic light is an object for indicating or instructing the traffic of the vehicle 1 on a road, and may be thus referred to as a traffic indicator, step S17, when at least one of the road sign and the traffic light that is the target for the sign warning operation is same as the deceleration target (step S17: Yes) - Doi ¶22 & ¶39).
Doi does not specifically disclose determining stopping information with respect to an expected stopping period of the vehicle at the first signaling unit and with respect to the expected stopping period of the vehicle for the first signaling unit being the light signal installation or the traffic sign, the stopping period of the vehicle indicating an amount of time the vehicle will be at a standstill at the first signaling unit based on whether the first signaling unit is determined to be a light signal installation or a traffic sign.
However, Fukuoka teaches determining stopping information with respect to an expected stopping period of the vehicle at the first signaling unit and with respect to the expected stopping period of the vehicle for the first signaling unit being the light signal installation or the traffic sign, the stopping period of the vehicle indicating an amount of time the vehicle will be at a standstill at the first signaling unit based on whether the first signaling unit is determined to be a light signal installation or a traffic sign (stopping period predicting part 84 predicts the stopping periods…the lengths of time of the stopping periods (stopping times)…“stopping of the vehicle” includes a state where the vehicle temporarily stops in front of a traffic light, stopping period predicting part 84 may predict the stopping periods based on information received…traffic light information – Fukuoka ¶88 & ¶91).
Doi discloses a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object. Fukuoka teaches a machine learning system that predicts vehicle stopping periods.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Doi, a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object, with a machine learning system that predicts vehicle stopping periods, as taught by Fukuoka, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve the precision of prediction of the stopping periods even if the vehicle is used by several persons, and to improve the precision of calculation of the output parameter by the neural network model in a typical driving state of the vehicle, see Fukuoka ¶90 & ¶139 for details.
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Doi, in view of Fukuoka, as per claims 11, and 14, respectively, and further in view of Naserian et al., US-20220105925-A1, hereinafter referred to as Naserian.
As per claim 14
Doi does not specifically disclose wherein the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to: effect a first deceleration profile for the automated deceleration at the first signaling unit when it is determined that the first signaling unit is a light signal installation; and effect a second deceleration profile for the automated deceleration at the first signaling unit when it is determined that the first signaling unit is a traffic sign, wherein the first deceleration profile and the second deceleration profile are different.
However, Naserian teaches wherein the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to: effect a first deceleration profile for the automated deceleration at the first signaling unit when it is determined that the first signaling unit is a light signal installation; and effect a second deceleration profile for the automated deceleration at the first signaling unit when it is determined that the first signaling unit is a traffic sign, wherein the first deceleration profile and the second deceleration profile are different (cause the processor to determine, The deceleration prediction module 250… stop sign, traffic light or other road sign or other road infrastructure ( as an intersection) may indicate an upcoming requirement to decelerate the vehicle to a stop and this can be detected by the camera system 266…The deceleration prediction data 272 may also describe (in distance or time units) an immediacy of a required braking action. In the latter case, the deceleration prediction module 250 determines or estimates a change in speed required…deceleration rate (if a moving vehicle), A plurality of different levels of braking profile could be utilizes including low and high in one embodiment, low, medium and high…the deceleration prediction data 272 indicates a type of deceleration event (e.g. an unexpected obstacle versus a stop sign) or indicates an immediacy of the deceleration event as descried above…The regenerative braking adjustment module 252 adjusts a current or default regenerative braking profile based on the deceleration prediction data 272 and outputs adjusted regenerative profile data 278 describing the adjusted braking profile, a relatively low, medium and high braking profile can be calculated or selected depending on whether the traffic light is green, red (optionally also yellow is factored in) with a long wait time or red with a short wait time. - Naserian ¶6 & ¶54 & ¶55 & ¶72 - Examiner reasons that the first braking profile includes a green traffic signal where the vehicle brakes less in a low braking profile).
Doi discloses a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object. Naserian teaches methods and systems that determine whether regenerative braking should be applied based on accelerator pedal stroke data, predict an upcoming deceleration event, adjust a default braking profile based on the deceleration prediction data, and generate a regenerative braking command.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Doi, a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object, with methods and systems that determine whether regenerative braking should be applied based on accelerator pedal stroke data, predict an upcoming deceleration event, adjust a default braking profile based on the deceleration prediction data, and generate a regenerative braking command, as taught by Naserian, with a reasonable expectation of success to generate a regenerative braking command and the adjusted braking profile, and output the regenerative braking command to the motor/generator, see Naserian ¶4 for details.
As per claim 15
Doi does not specifically disclose wherein at least one of: the first deceleration profile has a greater total duration than the second deceleration profile; the first deceleration profile has a smaller maximum deceleration value than the second deceleration profile; or the second deceleration profile is such that the vehicle comes to a standstill more quickly at the first signaling unit with the second deceleration profile than with the first deceleration profile.
However, Naserian teaches wherein at least one of: the first deceleration profile has a greater total duration than the second deceleration profile; the first deceleration profile has a smaller maximum deceleration value than the second deceleration profile; or the second deceleration profile is such that the vehicle comes to a standstill more quickly at the first signaling unit with the second deceleration profile than with the first deceleration profile (the system applies braking at a faster rate (per unit pedal travel) than the default regenerative braking profile data 296, The OPD control system 202 transitions from the lower default braking profile to the higher adjusted braking profile such that the vehicle 100 decelerates faster and comes to a stop at the stop sign, a relatively low, medium and high braking profile can be calculated or selected depending on whether the traffic light is green, red (optionally also yellow is factored in) with a long wait time or red with a short wait time. - Naserian ¶60 & ¶55 & ¶72 - Examiner reasons that the first braking profile includes a green traffic signal where the vehicle brakes less in a low braking profile).
Doi discloses a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object. Naserian teaches methods and systems that determine whether regenerative braking should be applied based on accelerator pedal stroke data, predict an upcoming deceleration event, adjust a default braking profile based on the deceleration prediction data, and generate a regenerative braking command.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Doi, a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object, with methods and systems that determine whether regenerative braking should be applied based on accelerator pedal stroke data, predict an upcoming deceleration event, adjust a default braking profile based on the deceleration prediction data, and generate a regenerative braking command, as taught by Naserian, with a reasonable expectation of success to generate a regenerative braking command and the adjusted braking profile, and output the regenerative braking command to the motor/generator, see Naserian ¶4 for details.
As per claim 16
Doi does not specifically disclose wherein the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to: effect a temporal profile of the automated deceleration and/or a total duration of the deceleration of the vehicle at the first signaling unit on the basis of the stopping information.
However, Naserian teaches wherein the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to: effect a temporal profile of the automated deceleration and/or a total duration of the deceleration of the vehicle at the first signaling unit on the basis of the stopping information (cause the processor to determine, A sensing system detects a distance to the stop target and determines whether this is less than a nominal distance within which the vehicle would stop based on a default braking profile. An OPD deceleration trajectory is adjusted to stop behind the target., the amount of braking force by regenerative braking that is commanded is increased as compared to a default braking profile when an upcoming deceleration event within a certain distance of the vehicle 100 is predicted – Naserian ¶6 & ¶31 & ¶37).
Doi discloses a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object. Naserian teaches methods and systems that determine whether regenerative braking should be applied based on accelerator pedal stroke data, predict an upcoming deceleration event, adjust a default braking profile based on the deceleration prediction data, and generate a regenerative braking command.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Doi, a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object, with methods and systems that determine whether regenerative braking should be applied based on accelerator pedal stroke data, predict an upcoming deceleration event, adjust a default braking profile based on the deceleration prediction data, and generate a regenerative braking command, as taught by Naserian, with a reasonable expectation of success to generate a regenerative braking command and the adjusted braking profile, and output the regenerative braking command to the motor/generator, see Naserian ¶4 for details.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Doi, in view of Fukuoka, as per claim 11, and further in view of Goto et al., US-20210188268-A1, hereinafter referred to as Goto.
As per claim 17
Doi does not specifically disclose wherein the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to: adapt and/or effect the automated deceleration on the basis of the stopping information such that a total duration of the automated deceleration of the vehicle at the first signaling unit increases with an increasing expected stopping period of the vehicle at the first signaling unit.
However, Goto teaches wherein the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to: adapt and/or effect the automated deceleration on the basis of the stopping information such that a total duration of the automated deceleration of the vehicle at the first signaling unit increases with an increasing expected stopping period of the vehicle at the first signaling unit (control device 180 is a computer having a processor, autonomous…decelerating control when the stop line is detected to stop in front of the stop line, the control device 180 sets the look-ahead time based on the lighting state of the traffic light… When the lighting state is the stop instruction, the control device 180 sets the look-ahead time to a longer period., When the look-ahead time is set, the control device 180 predicts existence of the stop line to be reached at a time at which the look-ahead time is elapsed from the current time, subject vehicle is decelerated, the control device 180 calculates the look-ahead vehicle speed command value so that the timing to start the deceleration changes according to the length of the look-ahead time. When the look-ahead time is long, since the deceleration starts from a position at which the position of the subject vehicle is far from the stop line, the timing to start the deceleration is put forward. - Goto ¶25 & ¶31 & ¶41 & ¶42 & ¶43 – Examiner reasons that as the look ahead time increases the length of the deceleration increases).
Doi discloses a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object. Goto teaches a travel assisting method and a travel assisting device for controlling travel of a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Doi, a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object, with a travel assisting method and a travel assisting device for controlling travel of a vehicle, as taught by Goto, with a reasonable expectation of success to safely stop in front of the traffic light, see Goto ¶41 for details.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Doi, in view of Fukuoka, as per claim 11, and further in view of Hu et al., US-20180057001-A1, hereinafter referred to as Hu.
As per claim 18
Doi does not specifically disclose wherein the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to: determine a driving mode from a plurality of different driving modes that has been selected by a user of the vehicle, wherein the plurality of different driving modes comprise a sport mode, an ecomode and/or a comfort mode; and effect the automated deceleration of the vehicle at the first signaling unit also on the basis of the selected driving mode.
However, Hu teaches wherein the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to: determine a driving mode from a plurality of different driving modes that has been selected by a user of the vehicle, wherein the plurality of different driving modes comprise a sport mode, an ecomode and/or a comfort mode; and effect the automated deceleration of the vehicle at the first signaling unit also on the basis of the selected driving mode (controller 12 includes one or more digital computers each having a microprocessor or central processing unit (CPU), controller 12 also receives signal 14 indicative of a user selection of any of various propulsion system operation modes., Depending on the desired objective, any of several different fuel consumption modes may be implemented affect operation of the propulsion system. For example, an “eco” mode, At about location 210, an upcoming stopping event is detected as discussed above. The controller may recognize and opportunity to engage in an eco-approach towards the vehicle stop location, a method 300 is an example control logic of an algorithm to perform an eco-approach to a stop location…plurality of available fuel consumption modes…“eco” modes…determines at step 304 whether an upcoming stopping condition is forecast., selects an optimal deceleration profile to approach the stop condition based on the particular fuel consumption mode in effect. - Hu ¶17 & ¶18 & ¶23 & ¶31 & ¶32 & ¶33).
Doi discloses a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object. Hu teaches a method of controlling a vehicle propulsion system.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Doi, a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object, with a method of controlling a vehicle propulsion system, as taught by Hu, with a reasonable expectation of success for forecasting the stopping event as early as possible to minimize the fuel consumption by allowing the vehicle to run at the most efficient powertrain operating modes and maximize the recovery of potential energy through coasting, see Hu ¶27 for details.
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Doi, in view of Fukuoka, as per claims 11, and 20, respectively, and further in view of Fukuda et al., US-20180178796-A1, hereinafter referred to as Fukuda.
As per claim 20
Doi further discloses determine, on the basis of environmental data from one or more environmental sensors of the vehicle and/or on the basis of map data relating to the road used by the vehicle, that the vehicle must stop at the first signaling unit (detect a redetermined deceleration target from the image captured by the camera 11…deceleration target is a specific example of the “deceleration object”…detect at least one of the road sign and the traffic light from the image captured by the camera 11…At least one of the road sign and the traffic light is an object for indicating or instructing the traffic of the vehicle 1 on a road, and may be thus referred to as a traffic indicator, an example of the deceleration target as described above. At least one of a road sign that requires a stop (i.e., a road sign indicating “STOP”), a road sign that requires slowdown - Doi ¶22 & ¶31);
in response to said determination, effect the automated deceleration of the vehicle at the first signaling unit in order to stop the vehicle in an automated manner at the first signaling unit (deceleration assistance unit 121 is configured to control the brake actuator 13 such that the vehicle 1 is decelerated to the target speed before the vehicle 1 arrives at the deceleration target…sign assistance unit 122 is configured to detect at least one of the road sign and the traffic light from the image captured by the camera 11. At least one of the road sign and the traffic light is an object for indicating or instructing the traffic of the vehicle 1 on a road, and may be thus referred to as a traffic indicator, step S17, when at least one of the road sign and the traffic light that is the target for the sign warning operation is same as the deceleration target (step S17: Yes) - Doi ¶22 & ¶39).
Doi does not specifically disclose wherein the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to: longitudinally guide the vehicle in an automated manner within the scope of the driving function on the basis of a target speed and/or on the basis of a target distance from a leading vehicle driving in front of the vehicle.
However, Fukuda teaches wherein the processor of the vehicle guidance system is configured to: longitudinally guide the vehicle in an automated manner within the scope of the driving function on the basis of a target speed and/or on the basis of a target distance from a leading vehicle driving in front of the vehicle (LK following control that is executed so that a following distance from a preceding vehicle on a travel lane becomes an LK target following distance, under a situation of lane keep, vehicle 10 is equipped with an ECU (Electronic Control Unit) 18 - Fukuda ¶18 & ¶67).
Doi discloses a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object. Fukuda teaches a control device for vehicle travelling, and particularly relates to a control device for vehicle travelling suitable for causing a vehicle to travel autonomously.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Doi, a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object, with a control device for vehicle travelling, and particularly relates to a control device for vehicle travelling suitable for causing a vehicle to travel autonomously, as taught by Fukuda, with a reasonable expectation of success so that excessive braking can be prevented from being performed in the high speed region while a sufficient stop ability is ensured during travel in an urban area and so that it is possible to allow a vehicle speed to change quickly, see Fukuda ¶9 & ¶50 for details.
As per claim 21
Doi further discloses wherein the stop is at a stop line of the first signaling unit (deceleration assistance operation may also include the stop assistance operation. Thus, the deceleration target may include not only a target indicating the necessity of decelerating the vehicle 1, but also a target indicating a necessity of stopping the vehicle 1…At least one of a stop line indicating a stop position - Doi ¶31).
Claim 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Doi, in view of Fukuoka, as per claims 11, and 22, respectively, and further in view of Miura et al., US-20210001856-A1, hereinafter referred to as Miura.
As per claim 23
Doi does not specifically disclose further comprising: determining a number of different signal groups of the first signaling unit for different directions of travel at a junction of a road network at which the first signaling unit is arrange or with which the first signaling unit is associated; wherein the automated deceleration of the vehicle is further effected based on the determination of the number the number of different signal groups of the first signaling unit for different directions of travel at the junction of the road network at which the first signaling unit is arrange or with which the first signaling unit is associated.
However, Miura teaches further comprising: determining a number of different signal groups of the first signaling unit for different directions of travel at a junction of a road network at which the first signaling unit is arrange or with which the first signaling unit is associated; wherein the automated deceleration of the vehicle is further effected based on the determination of the number the number of different signal groups of the first signaling unit for different directions of travel at the junction of the road network at which the first signaling unit is arrange or with which the first signaling unit is associated (number of recognized traffic lights recognized by the traffic light recognition unit is plural, sets, one recognized traffic light and another recognized traffic light,…as a traffic light of interest to be noted by the own vehicle, at least one among the plurality of nearby traffic lights; and a travel control unit which performs an…deceleration control on the own vehicle, vehicle control device includes: a traffic light recognition unit configured to recognize a traffic light that displays a signal for traffic in a user's own vehicle lane where the user's own vehicle is traveling…in a case where a plurality of recognition traffic lights that are recognized by the traffic light recognition unit exist… set the one recognition traffic light and the other recognition traffic light as close traffic lights…an assistance control unit configured to perform at least acceleration/deceleration control for the user's own vehicle - Miura Fig 1 (108a/b) + Abstract & ¶5).
Doi discloses a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object. Miura teaches a vehicle control device and a vehicle control method for performing travel control of a user's own vehicle at least partially automatically.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Doi, a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object, with a vehicle control device and a vehicle control method for performing travel control of a user's own vehicle at least partially automatically, as taught by Miura, with a reasonable expectation of success for restricting the acceleration of the user's own vehicle to prevent the user's own vehicle from braking suddenly or passing the stop line, see Miura ¶101 for details.
As per claim 24
Doi does not specifically disclose wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a number of different signal groups of the first signaling unit for different directions of travel at a junction of a road network at which the first signaling unit is arrange or with which the first signaling unit is associated; wherein to effect automated deceleration of the vehicle, the processor is further configured to effect the automated deceleration based on the determination of the number the number of different signal groups of the first signaling unit for different directions of travel at the junction of the road network at which the first signaling unit is arrange or with which the first signaling unit is associated.
However, Miura teaches wherein the processor is further configured to: determine a number of different signal groups of the first signaling unit for different directions of travel at a junction of a road network at which the first signaling unit is arrange or with which the first signaling unit is associated; wherein to effect automated deceleration of the vehicle, the processor is further configured to effect the automated deceleration based on the determination of the number the number of different signal groups of the first signaling unit for different directions of travel at the junction of the road network at which the first signaling unit is arrange or with which the first signaling unit is associated (number of recognized traffic lights recognized by the traffic light recognition unit is plural, sets, one recognized traffic light and another recognized traffic light,…as a traffic light of interest to be noted by the own vehicle, at least one among the plurality of nearby traffic lights; and a travel control unit which performs an…deceleration control on the own vehicle, vehicle control device includes: a traffic light recognition unit configured to recognize a traffic light that displays a signal for traffic in a user's own vehicle lane where the user's own vehicle is traveling…in a case where a plurality of recognition traffic lights that are recognized by the traffic light recognition unit exist… set the one recognition traffic light and the other recognition traffic light as close traffic lights…an assistance control unit configured to perform at least acceleration/deceleration control for the user's own vehicle - Miura Fig 1 (108a/b) + Abstract & ¶5).
Doi discloses a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object. Miura teaches a vehicle control device and a vehicle control method for performing travel control of a user's own vehicle at least partially automatically.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Doi, a driving assistance apparatus that assists in decelerating a vehicle upon detection of a deceleration object, with a vehicle control device and a vehicle control method for performing travel control of a user's own vehicle at least partially automatically, as taught by Miura, with a reasonable expectation of success for restricting the acceleration of the user's own vehicle to prevent the user's own vehicle from braking suddenly or passing the stop line, see Miura ¶101 for details.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Fadey S. Jabr/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3668