DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
An amendment was filed on 04/22/2026. Claims 1, 40, 57, and 73 have been amended, new claim 74 was added, and claim 65 has been canceled. Currently, claims 1, 7-11, 23, 31-34, 40, 42, 46, 50, 57, and 72-74 are pending, with claims 23 and 31-34 being withdrawn from consideration. Claims 1, 7-11, 40, 42, 46, 50, 57, and 72-74 are being examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 40, and 57 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the same combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Notably, newly cited Heymann (WO 2018162693) is utilized to teach the interconnect member connecting to the absorbent pads along the entire length of the absorbent pads, and Osborn (WO 2018162693) is utilized to teach the plurality of absorbent articles forming a reel. Further, with respect to newly added claim 74, newly cited Dragan (US 20120088205) is utilized to teach the respective limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Althabit (US 20180140380) in view of Foos (US 20160213448), and further in view of Swan-Gett (US 3772790) and Heymann (WO 2018162693).
Regarding claim 1, Althabit discloses an absorbent article comprising:
at least two absorbent pads (A and B) spaced apart from each other, each absorbent pad including an absorbent material configured to absorb a liquid (fig. 1, isolating pads A and B, paragraph 0010 describes each of them with a saliva absorbing layer) each absorbent pad further including an outer surface (fig. 1, each pad with an outer surface); and
an interconnect member joining the outer surfaces of the at least two absorbent pads (fig. 1, flexible tape C),
Althabit is silent to wherein the interconnect member is stretchable, and does not teach wherein the interconnect member comprises one or more through apertures configured to receive and surround at least one tooth, and wherein the interconnect member joins the outer surfaces of the at least two absorbent pads along substantially an entire length of each of the at least two absorbent pads.
However, Foos teaches a dental isolator (abstract) wherein an interconnect member (20) for two sides of an absorbent member (10) is elastomeric (fig. 3, retainment member 29 for absorbent member 20 as elastomeric, paragraph 001).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit such that the interconnect member is stretchable, as taught by Foos, for the purpose of providing a suitable material that can better adapt to different physiology, and since Foos teaches that such a construction is known in the art as an effective interconnect member between two absorbent pads and/or two parts of an absorbent pad, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to make the modification and would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Althabit does not teach wherein the interconnect member comprises one or more through apertures configured to receive and surround at least one tooth.
However, Swan-Gett teaches a dental isolation dam (abstract) that has two sides with a cushion material (see annotated fig. 2 below), and an interconnect member (see annotated fig. 2 below) that comprises one or more through apertures configured to receive and surround at least one tooth (see annotated fig. 2 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit by modifying the interconnect member such that the interconnect member comprises one or more through apertures configured to receive and surround at least one tooth, as taught by Swan-Gett, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that isolates a tooth and keep the area worked on dry, uncontaminated and exposed (see Swan-Gett, abstract).
Althabit, as modified by Swan-Gett, does not teach wherein the interconnect member joins the outer surfaces of the at least two absorbent pads along substantially an entire length of each of the two absorbent pads.
However, Swan-Gett already teaches the interconnect member connecting along the length of the two sides of cushion material (14), save for a break where the tooth (18) is uncovered. Moreover, Heymann teaches an area for openings (12) to treat a tooth being smaller such that it doesn’t entirely break the interconnect member (see annotated fig. 1 below). It is noted that while the saddles as pointed are not explicitly absorbent pads, they are analogous to the cushioning material in Swan-Gett as they surround the sides of the tooth
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit in view of Swan-Gett such that the interconnect member joins the outer surfaces of the at least two absorbent pads along substantially an entire length of each of the two absorbent pads, as taught and suggested by Heymann, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allows stretchability to sealingly abut surfaces the interdental gingiva (see translation, pg. 4, 3rd paragraph, “The tension cloth 10 is relaxed again, so that in this state of use of the partial dental dam 1, the webs 13 again width in such a way that they sealingly abut the interdental gingiva and the approximate surfaces of the teeth forming the interdental space”)
Regarding claim 7, Althabit discloses wherein each absorbent pad further comprises:
a first layer made of a liquid permeable material (fig. 4, first layer 1 as a thin absorbing material, paragraph 0021);
a second layer (fig. 4, last layer 4 as cardboard); and
a third layer disposed between the first layer and the second layer, the third layer comprising the absorbent material (fig. 4, second layer 2 as a fast-absorbing material, paragraph 0021),
wherein the first layer and the second layer together define the outer surface (fig. 4, last layer 4 and first layer 1 form the outer surface), and wherein the third layer is enclosed by the first layer and the second layer (fig. 4, second layer 5 encompassed by first layer 1 and cardboard layer 4).
Regarding claim 8, Althabit discloses wherein each absorbent pad further comprises a seal formed between the first layer and the second layer (fig. 4, as the absorber 2 is enclosed between the two layers, layers 1 and 4 appear to be sealed together).
Regarding claim 9, Althabit discloses wherein the first layer is hydrophilic (paragraph 0021 describes first layer as absorbing material like cotton).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Althabit in view of Foos, Swan-Gett, and Heymann, and further in view of Jacobs (US 20190209389).
Regarding claim 10, Althabit is silent to wherein the second layer is made of a liquid permeable material.
However, Jacobs teaches an absorbent article (abstract) wherein the second layer, made from the same material as the first layer, is made of a liquid permeable material (paragraph 0036 describing the envelope having a net-like form, and paragraph 0054 describes the polymeric material being absorbent structures such as cotton)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit such that the second layer is made of a liquid permeable material, as taught by Jacobs, since Parke discloses that such a construction is known in the art as an effective form of absorbent pad, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to make the modification and would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Althabit in view of Foos, Swan-Gett, and Heymann, and further in view of Parke (US 20180250173).
Regarding claim 11, Althabit is silent to wherein the second layer is made of a liquid impermeable material.
However, Parke teaches a dental absorbent pad (abstract) that has a permeable outer layer and a moisture impermeable second outer layer (paragraph 0005).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit such that the second layer is made of a liquid impermeable material, in addition to the liquid permeable material of the first layer recited in claim 1, as taught by Parke, since Parke discloses that such a construction is known in the art as the most effective form of absorbent pad, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to make the modification and would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim 40, 42, and 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Althabit in view of Foos and Swan-Gett, and further in view of Jacobs and Osborn (WO 2018162693).
Regarding claim 40, Althabit discloses an absorbent article (abstract), the absorbent article comprising:
at least two absorbent pads (A and B) spaced apart from each other, each absorbent pad including an absorbent material configured to absorb a liquid (fig. 1, isolating pads A and B, paragraph 0010 describes each of them with a saliva absorbing layer), each absorbent pad further including an outer surface (fig. 1, each pad with an outer surface)
Althabit does not teach a plurality of absorbent articles, wherein the interconnect member is stretchable and at least one line of weakness, wherein the at least one line of weakness joins two adjacent absorbent articles of the plurality of absorbent articles, wherein the at least one line of weakness joins the at least two absorbent pads and the interconnect member of one absorbent article to the at least two absorbent pads and the interconnect member of an adjacent absorbent article, and wherein the plurality of absorbent articles forms a reel.
However, Foos teaches a dental isolator (abstract) wherein an interconnect member (20) for two sides of an absorbent member (10) is elastomeric (fig. 3, retainment member 29 fir absorbent member 20 as elastomeric, paragraph 001).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit such that the interconnect member is stretchable, as taught by Foos, for the purpose of providing a suitable material that can better adapt to different physiology, and since Foos teaches that such a construction is known in the art as an effective interconnect member between two absorbent pads and/or two parts of an absorbent pad, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to make the modification and would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Althabit does not teach a plurality of absorbent articles, wherein the device includes at least one line of weakness, wherein the at least one line of weakness joins two adjacent absorbent articles of the plurality of absorbent articles, wherein the at least one line of weakness joins the at least two absorbent pads and the interconnect member of one absorbent article to the at least two absorbent pads and the interconnect member of an adjacent absorbent article, and wherein the plurality of absorbent articles forms a reel.
However, Jacobs teaches a unit for hemostasis (abstract) that includes a line of weakness between two adjacent absorbent articles of a plurality of absorbent articles (fig. 6A, predetermined breaking point 45 between two units 1 with absorbent material, paragraph 104), wherein one absorbent article is connected to an adjacent absorbent article.
Moreover, if the device of Althabit, with the absorbent pads and interconnect member, is interpreted as an “absorbent article”, the two absorbent pads and interconnect member of one absorbent article would be connected to the two absorbent pads and interconnect member of an adjacent absorbent article.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed in Althabit such that the system a plurality of absorbent articles, wherein the device includes at least one line of weakness, wherein the at least one line of weakness joins two adjacent absorbent articles of the plurality of absorbent articles, wherein the at least one line of weakness joins the at least two absorbent pads and the interconnect member of one absorbent article to the at least two absorbent pads and the interconnect member of an adjacent absorbent article, as taught by Jacobs, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure allows for simple and rapid handling of multiple articles in a given procedure, or to allow for easy access to a single article (see Jacobs, paragraph 104).
Althabit, as modified by Jacobs, is silent to wherein the plurality of absorbent articles forms a reel.
However, Osborn teaches an absorbent article dispenser (abstract) wherein multiple absorbent articles are formed as a reel (fig. 5, packages 80 in the form of a reel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit in view of Jacobs such that the plurality of absorbent articles forms a reel, as taught by Osborn, for the purpose of providing a suitable means of conveniently storing multiple absorbent articles within a case (see Osborn, fig. 6)
Althabit does not teach wherein the interconnect member comprises one or more through apertures configured to receive and surround at least one tooth.
However, Swan-Gett teaches a dental isolation dam (abstract) that has two sides with a cushion material (see annotated fig. 2 below), and an interconnect member (see annotated fig. 2 below) that comprises one or more through apertures configured to receive and surround at least one tooth (see annotated fig. 2 below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit by modifying the interconnect member such that the interconnect member comprises one or more through apertures configured to receive and surround at least one tooth, as taught by Swan-Gett, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that isolates a tooth and keep the area worked on dry, uncontaminated and exposed (see Swan-Gett, abstract).
Regarding claim 42, Althabit does not teach wherein the at least one line of weakness joins the at least two absorbent pads and the interconnect member of one absorbent article to the at least two absorbent pads and the interconnect member of an adjacent absorbent article.
However, Jacobs teaches wherein the at least one line of weakness joins the absorbent pad of one article to an adjacent absorbent pad of an adjacent absorbent article (fig. 6A, breaking point 4 connects two units 1). Althabit already teaches wherein the absorbent articles comprise two absorbent pads and an interconnect member, so one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the teaching of Jacobs to connect two adjacent absorbent articles together would have the two absorbent pads and the interconnect member of one absorbent article connect to two absorbent pads and interconnect member of an adjacent absorbent article.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit such that the at least one line of weakness joins the at least two absorbent pads and the interconnect member of one absorbent article to the at least two absorbent pads and the interconnect member of an adjacent absorbent article, as taught by Jacobs, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure allows for simple and rapid handling of multiple articles in a given procedure, or to allow for easy access to a single article (see Jacobs, paragraph 104).
Regarding claim 50, Althabit discloses wherein each absorbent pad further comprises:
a first layer made of a liquid permeable material (fig. 4, first layer 1 as a thin absorbing material, paragraph 0021);
a second layer (fig. 4, last layer 4 as cardboard); and
a third layer disposed between the first layer and the second layer, the third layer comprising the absorbent material (fig. 4, second layer 2 as a fast-absorbing material, paragraph 0021)
wherein the first layer and the second layer together define the outer surface (fig. 4, last layer 4 and first layer 1 form the outer surface), and wherein the third layer is enclosed by the first layer and the second layer (fig. 4, second layer 5 encompassed by first layer 1 and cardboard layer 4).
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Althabit in view of Foos, Swan-Gett and Jacobs, and further in view of Schaack (US 3734081).
Regarding claim 46, Althabit, as modified by Foos, is silent to wherein the interconnect member is made of a liquid impermeable material.
However, Foos teaches wherein the interconnect member is a dental floss (paragraph 0019), and Schaack teaches a floss (abstract) that is impermeable to saliva and liquids (col. 2, lines 1-13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit in view of Foos such that the interconnect member is made of a liquid impermeable material, as taught by Schaack, for the purpose of providing a suitable material that has the interconnect member not chemically altered by the patient’s saliva (see Schaack, col. 2, lines 1-13), thus ensuring structurally integrity to the interconnect member while in use.
Claims 57 and 72-73 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Althabit in view of Osborn, and further in view of Foos, Swan-Gett, and Heymann.
Regarding claim 57, Althabit discloses a dispensing system comprising:
an absorbent system, the absorbent system comprising:
at least two absorbent pads (A and B) spaced apart from each other, each absorbent pad including an absorbent material configured to absorb a liquid (fig. 1, isolating pads A and B, paragraph 0010 describes each of them with a saliva absorbing layer), each absorbent pad further including an outer surface (fig. 1, each pad with an outer surface); and
an interconnect member joining the outer surfaces of the at least two absorbent pads (fig. 1, flexible tape C)
Althabit is silent to wherein the interconnect member is stretchable, and fails to teach the system comprising a plurality of absorbent pads, wherein the system further comprises at least one line of weakness, wherein the at least one line of weakness joins two adjacent absorbent articles of the plurality of absorbent articles, and a dispenser, wherein the dispenser at least partially receives the absorbent system therein, such that at least one absorbent article of the plurality of absorbent articles at least partially extends outwardly from the dispenser, and wherein the interconnect member spaces the at least two absorbent pads apart from each other in a width direction, and the interconnect member connects to the absorbent pads along the entire length of the absorbent pads.
However, Osborn teaches a dispenser for a plurality of absorbent articles (abstract) that teaches a line of weakness joining between two adjacent absorbent articles (abstract, “The packages are joined together by a frangible connection located in between seals that provides a line of weakness, that when broken, separates the packages into individual packages of absorbent interlabial products”, see perforations 82 in fig. 7), and a dispenser (70) that receives the absorbent system such that at least one absorbent article of the plurality of absorbent articles (80) at least partially extends outwardly from the dispenser (fig. 5, interlabial devices 80 extending out of case 70). The packaging in Osborn is considered to also be a part of the absorbent article.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed in Althabit such that it includes at least one line of weakness, wherein the at least one line of weakness joins two adjacent absorbent articles of the plurality of absorbent articles, and a dispenser, wherein the dispenser at least partially receives the absorbent system therein, such that at least one absorbent article of the plurality of absorbent articles at least partially extends outwardly from the dispenser, as taught by Osborn, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allows for ease of use and convenience of transporting and dispensing more than one absorbent article (see Osborn, abstract).
Althabit is silent to wherein the interconnect member is stretchable.
However, Foos teaches a dental isolator (abstract) wherein an interconnect member (20) for two sides of an absorbent member (10) is elastomeric (fig. 3, retainment member 29 fir absorbent member 20 as elastomeric, paragraph 001).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit such that the interconnect member is stretchable, as taught by Foos, for the purpose of providing a suitable material that can better adapt to different physiology, and since Foos teaches that such a construction is known in the art as an effective interconnect member between two absorbent pads and/or two parts of an absorbent pad, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to make the modification and would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Althabit does not teach wherein the interconnect member comprises one or more through apertures configured to receive and surround at least one tooth, and wherein the interconnect member spaces the at least two absorbent pads apart from each other in a width direction, and the interconnect member connects to the absorbent pads along the entire length of the absorbent pads.
However, Swan-Gett teaches a dental isolation dam (abstract) that has two sides with a cushion material (see annotated fig. 2 below), and an interconnect member (see annotated fig. 2 below) that comprises one or more through apertures configured to receive and surround at least one tooth (see annotated fig. 2 below). Moreover, the interconnect member attaches the cushions at a width direction and extends along the length (see annotated fig. 2 below)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit by modifying the interconnect member such that the interconnect member comprises one or more through apertures configured to receive and surround at least one tooth, wherein the interconnect member spaces the at least two absorbent pads apart from each other in a width direction, and the interconnect member connects to the absorbent pads along a substantial length of the absorbent pads, as taught by Swan-Gett, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that isolates a tooth and keep the area worked on dry, uncontaminated and exposed (see Swan-Gett, abstract).
Althabit, as modified by Swan-Gett, does not teach wherein the interconnect member joins the outer surfaces of the at least two absorbent pads along substantially an entire length of each of the two absorbent pads.
However, Swan-Gett already teaches the interconnect member connecting along the length of the two sides of cushion material (14), save for a break where the tooth (18) is uncovered. Moreover, Heymann teaches an area for openings (12) to treat a tooth being smaller such that it doesn’t entirely break the interconnect member (see annotated fig. 1 below). It is noted that while the saddles as pointed are not explicitly absorbent pads, they are analogous to the cushioning material in Swan-Gett as they surround the sides of the tooth
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit in view of Swan-Gett such that the interconnect member joins the outer surfaces of the at least two absorbent pads along substantially an entire length of each of the two absorbent pads, as taught and suggested by Heymann, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that allows stretchability to sealingly abut surfaces the interdental gingiva (“see translation, pg. 4, 3rd paragraph, “The tension cloth 10 is relaxed again, so that in this state of use of the partial dental dam 1, the webs 13 again width in such a way that they sealingly abut the interdental gingiva and the approximate surfaces of the teeth forming the interdental space”).
Regarding claim 72, Althabit, as modified by Swan-Gett, discloses wherein the at least two absorbent pads are disposed on opposite sides of the one or more through apertures of the interconnect member (Althabit previously described the pads as being absorbent pads, and Swan-Gett teaches the two cushions being on opposite sides of the aperture in fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit such that the at least two absorbent pads are disposed on opposite sides of the one or more through apertures of the interconnect member, as taught by Swan-Gett, for the purpose of providing a suitable structure that isolates a tooth and keep the area worked on dry, uncontaminated and exposed (see Swan-Gett, abstract).
Regarding claim 73, Althabit discloses wherein the first layer is positioned to directly contact oral tissue when the absorbent article is in place (paragraph 0021 describes first layer 1 facing mouth tissue, and fig. 6 shows contact with mouth tissue), and wherein the first layer comprises a hydrophilic material having a water absorption rate (paragraph 0021 describes first layer being cotton).
Claim 74 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Althabit in view of Osborn, Foos, and Swan-Gett, and further in view of Dragan (US 20120088205)
Regarding claim 74, Althabit does not teach wherein the hydrophilic material comprises at least one of: cellulose ethyl sulfonate, carboxymethyl cellulose, sodium polyacrylate, hydrogel particles, hydrogel-based non-woven material, cellulose foam, hydrogel polyurethane, silicone foam, or polyurethane foam.
However, Dragan teaches a bite block that utilizes sodium polyacrylate as a drying material, as well as any other equivalent or known absorbing or drying material (paragraph 0137).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device disclosed in Althabit such that the hydrophilic material comprises sodium polyacrylate, as taught by Dragan, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
/Brandon W. Levy/Examiner, Art Unit 3781