DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Final Rejection is in response to the Amendment dated July 9, 2026 filed in response to the Non-final Rejection dated April 20, 2026.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in the previous Office action are withdrawn in view of the amendment to claim 1 distinguishing the claim from the rejection. However, the claims continue to be unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103 as explained below.
Response to Arguments
Starting in the first full paragraph of page 6 of the Amendment, Applicant asserts none of the cited art discloses the concept of an adjustable compacted bed of material for MBC milling. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bohm discloses an adjustable compacted bed of material for MBC milling in that grain 20 is first introduced to the process shown in Fig. 7 at the first material bed roller mill 16 in the upper left portion of the figure. This first material bed roller mill 16, which is adjustable as disclosed in paragraph [0084], produces the adjustable compacted bed of material as claimed which is then subsequently MBC milled by the other material bed roller mills 16 in the remainder of the process.
In the paragraph spanning from page 7 to 8, Applicant asserts Rudie, Jackering and Weinmann are silent on the concepts of performing MBC milling of an adjustable compacted bed of material that simultaneously dries the bed with controlled ventilation. However, Examiner respectfully submits Rudie at least teaches the concept of simultaneously drying the material while it is being ground such that it would have been obvious to apply this teaching to Bohm’s disclosed process which includes producing an adjustable compacted bed of material. See column 9, line 61 through column 10, line 49 of Rudie.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2011/0186661 A1 by Bohm et al., hereinafter “Bohm”, in view of United Kingdom Published Patent Application No. GB 2 269 976 A by Andreae-Jackering, hereinafter “Jackering”, and U.S. Patent No. US 7,097,871 B2 to Rudie, hereinafter “Rudie”.
Regarding claim 1, Bohm discloses a process for milling vegetable-based material, to produce dehulled or/and fractionate flour (the process mill diagram shown in Fig. 7; ¶[0116]), comprising:
- producing an adjustable compacted bed of material that preserves starch and fibers from the vegetable-based material (an adjustable compacted bed of material preserving starch and fibers is produced by adjusting the volume of grain 20 introduced into the variable roller gap of roller mills 16 in Fig. 7 as disclosed in ¶[0084]) including:
- compacting the vegetable-based material to a thickness to obtain the adjustable compacted bed of material (roller mills 16 in Fig. 7 compact vegetable-based material grain 20 in the variable roller gap to obtain the adjustable compacted bed of material),
- performing a Material Bed Compression (MBC) milling of the vegetable-based material on an adjustable compacted bed of material (Material bed roller mills 16 in Fig. 7 perform material bed compression as shown in Fig. 9. As explained in the Response to Arguments section above, ¶[0084] discloses increasing grain volume which would include adjusting the compacted bed of material.),
- performing a first air classification of the milled material to obtain a first fine fraction on one side and a first coarse fraction on another side (air classifier zigzag separators 13 and cyclone separators 18 in Fig. 7 removes coarse bran from the fine ground product),
- performing a first post-treatment to the first fine fraction to obtain separate flour (the fine ground product is successively milled and classified again in further stages as shown in Fig. 7), and
- recycling the first coarse fraction to the MBC milling (Fig. 7 shows the return of the coarse bran to bed roller mills 16).
Bohm does not disclose controlling fibre elasticity of the vegetable-based material with a hydration phase.
In the same field of processing wheat flour, Jackering teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to mix wheat grain with water and then condition the mixture prior to milling it in an impact mill. See the abstract and the figure. The last paragraph on page 1 of the written description teaches conditioners 11 in the figure are used in a hydration phase to hydrate the husked wheat by allowing moisture to fully seep into the wheat.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Jackering with the process disclosed by Bohm to achieve the predictable result of Bohm’s process where fibre elasticity of the wheat is controlled with a hydration phase as Jackering teaches.
Bohm also does not disclose performing material bed compression milling of the adjustable compacted bed of material that simultaneously dries the adjustable compacted bed of material with controlled ventilation.
In the same field of processing vegetable-based material, Rudie teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simultaneously dry the material using a controlled ventilation drying apparatus while being milled in a mill. See column 9, line 61 through column 10, line 49.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simultaneously dry the material being milled in one of Bohm’s subsequent mills 16 with a controlled ventilation drying apparatus in the same way Rudie teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Rudie to Bohm’s disclosed process would achieve the predictable result of adding simultaneous drying to Bohm’s process.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art reference combination of Bohm in view of Jackering and Rudie renders the process according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Fig. 7 of Bohm shows successive stages of milling and air classification where the coarser material is separated from the finer material so that the coarser material may be recycled to be further milled. However, Bohm does not disclose the milling material is peas seeds.
In the same field of processing vegetable-based material, Rudie teaches a method of milling vegetable powders which includes dehulling, steaming, milling and classifying millable vegetable material. See the abstract. Col. 3, line 5-14 defines “millable vegetables” to include peas.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use peas as the milling material in Bohm’s process in the same way Rudie teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Rudie to the process of Bohm would yield the predictable result of using Bohm’s process to mill peas.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art reference combination of Bohm in view of Jackering and Rudie renders the process according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Jackering teaches it is known to mix wheat grain with water and then condition the mixture to stabilize it prior to milling it in an impact mill. See the abstract and the last paragraph on page 1 of the written description.
Regarding claim 4, the prior art reference combination of Bohm in view of Jackering and Rudie renders the process according to claim 3 unpatentable as explained above. Bohm further discloses wherein said material comprises wheat grain, and the first post-treatment to the first fine fraction delivers wheat bran on one side and wheat flour on another side. Paragraph [0116] discloses wheat is milled in mill 16 and is then separated into bran and ground product flour.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art reference combination of Bohm in view of Jackering renders the process according to claim 4 unpatentable as explained above. Fig. 7 of Bohm shows successive stages of milling and air classification where the coarser material is separated from the finer material so that the coarser material may be recycled to be further milled.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art reference combination of Bohm in view of Jackering and Rudie renders the process of claim 3 unpatentable as explained above. Bohm does not disclose the milling material is peas seeds as claim 6 claims.
In the same field of processing vegetable-based material, Rudie teaches a method of milling vegetable powders which includes dehulling, steaming, milling and classifying millable vegetable material. See the abstract. Col. 3, line 5-14 defines “millable vegetables” to include peas.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use peas as the milling material in Bohm’s process in the same way Rudie teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Rudie to the process of Bohm would yield the predictable result of using Bohm’s process to mill peas.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art reference combination of Bohm in view of Jackering and Rudie renders the process of claim 6 unpatentable as explained above. Bohm further discloses sieving the first coarse fraction in plan sifters 15 shown in Fig. 7 and Fig. 12. See paragraphs [0116] and [0123]. When peas are used as the milling material according to the teaching of Rudie, milled peas will be sieved in Bohm’s plan sifter sieves 15 to obtain coarser and finer fractions.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art reference combination of Bohm in view of Jackering and Rudie renders the process of claim 7 unpatentable as explained above. Fig. 7 of Bohm shows successive stages of milling and air classification where the coarser material is separated from the finer material so that the coarser material may be recycled to be further milled. When peas are used as the milling material according to the teaching of Rudie, peas will be processed in these successive stages.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art reference combination of Bohm in view of Jackering and Rudie renders the process according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Bohm further discloses sieving the milled material in plan sifter 15 shown in Figs. 7 and 12 and recycling the coarse fraction. See paragraphs [0116] and [0123]. However, Bohm does not disclose the milling material is pulse seeds. Applicant defines “pulse seed” to include peas. See paragraph [0002] of the written description.
In the same field of processing vegetable-based material, Rudie teaches a method of milling vegetable powders which includes dehulling, steaming, milling and classifying millable vegetable material. See the abstract. Col. 3, line 5-14 defines “millable vegetables” to include peas.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use peas as the milling material in Bohm’s process in the same way Rudie teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Rudie to the process of Bohm would yield the predictable result of using Bohm’s process to mill peas.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art reference combination of Bohm in view of Jackering and Rudie renders the process according to claim 1 unpatentable as explained above. Bohm further disclose adjusting a thickness of the adjustable compacted bed of material by varying the roller gap and/or adjusting the grain volume fed to the roller gap. See paragraph [0084]. Bohm does not disclose a thickness range of from 10mm to 100mm. However, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the thickness of the adjustable compacted bed of material within the range of 10mm to 100mm since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, Bohm’s process would not perform differently with the claimed range. Further, applicant has placed no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply the bed thickness ranges from 10mm to 100mm. See paragraph [0044] of applicant’s written description.
Regarding claim 14, the prior art reference combination of Bohm in view of Jackering and Rudie renders the process according to claim 3 unpatentable as explained above. Jackering teaches adjusting moisture content of the vegetable-based material with the hydration phase. See the last paragraph of page 1. The sample process taught in the bottom half of page 2 of Jackering teaches a hydration phase contact time between 4-8 hours.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohm in view of Jackering and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0252141 A1 by Weinmann et al., hereinafter “Weinmann”.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art reference combination of Bohm in view of Jackering and Rudie renders the process of claim 3 unpatentable as explained above. Bohm does not disclose the milling material is sunflower as claim 9 claims.
Weinmann teaches a method for producing flour by passing raw material through a roller press. See the abstract and Fig. 1. Paragraphs [0009] and [0010] teach the raw material milled by the roller press may be sunflower seeds.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use sunflower as the milling material in Bohm’s process in the same way Weinmann teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Weinmann to the process of Bohm would yield the predictable result of using Bohm’s process to mill sunflower.
Regarding claim 10, the prior art reference combination of Bohm in view of Jackering and Rudie and further in view of Weinmann renders the process of claim 9 unpatentable as explained above. Bohm further discloses sieving the first coarse fraction in plan sifters 15 shown in Fig. 7 and Fig. 12. See paragraphs [0116] and [0123]. When sunflower is used as the milling material according to the teaching of Weinmann, milled sunflower will be sieved in Bohm’s plan sifter sieves 15 to obtain coarser and finer fractions.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art reference combination of Bohm in view of Jackering and Rudie and further in view of Weinmann renders the process of claim 10 unpatentable as explained above. Fig. 7 of Bohm shows successive stages of milling and air classification where the coarser material is separated from the finer material so that the coarser material may be recycled to be further milled. When sunflower is used as the milling material according to the teaching of Weinmann, sunflower will be processed in these successive stages.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P DEREK PRESSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/JARED O BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725 28 September 2026