DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments and associated arguments filed 6/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Greenberg does not disclose electrodes formed as a hemispherical shape. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As seen in figures 39 and 40, the electrodes have curved corners. This is considered a “hemispherical shape.” “Hemispherical” is defined by Merriam-Webster (https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/hemispheric) as “having the shape of a half of a sphere or a roughly spherical body.” The shape of the electrodes in Greenberg is half of a roughly spherical body.
Figure 39 of Greenberg shows the electrodes 13 accommodated within a plurality of cavites formed in a matrix over the substrate.
Furthermore, while the claim states that the electrodes 13 extend from the top surface to the bottom surface, figures 3 and 4 of the applicant’s disclosure show that the electrodes 120 do not contact the bottom surface 112. As seen below in annotated figure 39 of Greenberg, the electrodes 13 extend from a top surface to a bottom surface, corresponding to the figures of the applicant’s disclosure:
The rejections are still considered proper.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the newly recited limitation of the electrodes having a hemispherical shape must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Greenberg et al. (US 2006/0259112, hereinafter Greenberg).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Greenberg discloses a 3D retinal stimulation device (see abstract). The device includes a substrate 11 having a top surface, a bottom surface and a plurality of edges connecting the top and bottom surfaces, as seen in figure 39. A plurality of electrodes 13 are provided between the top and bottom surfaces and the plurality of edges comprise at least one flat, inclined surface between the top surface and bottom surface, as seen in figure 39. The shape of the electrodes in Greenberg is half of a roughly spherical body, and thus is “hemispherical” by definition. while the claim states that the electrodes 13 extend from the top surface to the bottom surface, figures 3 and 4 of the applicant’s disclosure show that the electrodes 120 do not contact the bottom surface 112. As seen below in annotated figure 39 of Greenberg, the electrodes 13 extend from a top surface to a bottom surface, corresponding to the figures of the applicant’s disclosure:
Regarding claim 2, as seen in figure 39, the angle between the bottom surface and the inclined surface is 60 degrees or less when measured with a protractor, and the angle between top surface and the inclined surface is 120 degrees or more when measured with a protractor.
Regarding claim 3, whether something is vertical or not depends on how the object is held relative to the horizon. As seen below, when held appropriately, there is a vertical portion between the inclined surface and the bottom surface.
Regarding claim 6, as seen in figure 37, the electrode array is rectangular, so one edge is longer than another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenberg.
Greenberg is silent as to the portions of the top surface between the electrodes having concave shape. However, upon reviewing the applicant’s original specification, the applicant provided no criticality or importance to the concave shape. It has been held that the configuration of a claimed structure is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)). Furthermore, creating curved edges instead of sharp corners would allow for the contact portion of the top surface to be more atraumatic to the tissue of the patient. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the shape of the top surface to be concave as this would be a matter of choice since the applicant provided no criticality or importance to the concave shape, and since the concave shape would have the benefit of being atraumatic, as described above.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenberg in view of Scorsone et al. (US 2013/0228547, hereinafter Scorsone).
Greenberg discloses the applicant’s basic invention but is silent as to height of the 3D electrodes. Scorsone is also directed to a 3D retinal stimulation device and thus is analogous art with Greenberg. Scorsone discloses that the height of 3D electrodes in a retinal stimulation device may be 40 micrometers or less (par. 0116). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date that the 3D retinal electrodes of Greenberg can be 40 micrometers or less as taught by Scorsone without affecting the overall purpose and operation of the device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892, specifically US 2023/0034483, US 2002/0111658 and US 2007/005536, all of which disclose 3D retinal stimulation devices with electrode arrays.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796