DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action acknowledges the applicant’s amendment filed on 3/18/2026. Claims 1-12, 20-21, 23-28 and 30 are pending in the application. Claims 13-19, 22 and 29 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ali et al. US 9,635,959 B1.
With regards to claim 1, Ali discloses an article carrier (Fig. 2; shown above) for packaging at least one article, the article carrier comprising at least one panel 20 having at least one article engaging structure (at 50), the at least one article engaging structure comprising an article receiving aperture 50 and an annular series of tabs formed around the article receiving aperture, the annular series of tabs being defined at least in part by plurality of radial cut lines, the annular series of tabs being defined at least in part by plurality of circumferential cut lines, wherein at least a first one of the radial cut lines (shown above) extends to a corresponding circumferential cut line and at least a second one of the radial cut lines (shown above) extends toward a respective circumferential cut line yet stops short of the respective circumferential cut line.
With regards to claim 20, Ali (Fig. 2; shown above) discloses a blank for forming an article carrier, the blank comprising at least one panel 20 having at least one article engaging structure (around 50), the at least one article engaging structure comprising an article receiving aperture 50 and an annular series of tabs (shown above) formed around the article receiving aperture, the annular series of tabs being defined at least in part by plurality of radial cut lines (shown above), the annular series of tabs being defined at least in part by plurality of circumferential cut lines (shown above), wherein at least a first one of the radial cut lines (shown above) extends to a corresponding circumferential cut line and at least a second one of the radial cut lines (shown above) extends toward a respective circumferential cut line yet stops short of a respective circumferential cut line.
Claim(s) 1, 7, 20, 23 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Borg US 5,735,562.
With regards to claim 1, Borg (Fig. 2 annotated above) discloses an article carrier for packaging at least one article, the article carrier comprising at least one panel 20 having at least one article engaging structure, the at least one article engaging structure comprising an article receiving aperture (shown above) and an annular series of tabs (shown above) formed around the article receiving aperture, the annular series of tabs being defined at least in part by plurality of radial cut lines (shown above), the annular series of tabs being defined at least in part by plurality of circumferential cut lines (shown above), wherein at least a first one of the radial cut lines extends to a corresponding circumferential cut line and at least a second one of the radial cut lines extends toward a respective circumferential cut line yet stops short of the respective circumferential cut line.
With regards to claim 7, Borg (Fig. 2 annotated above) discloses the annular series of tabs (shown above) comprising a plurality of annularly connected tabs and a plurality of annularly disconnected tabs (shown above), the plurality of annularly connected tabs comprise at least a pair of adjacently disposed tabs which are connected by a bridging portion (shown above).
With regards to claim 20, Borg (Fig. 2 annotated above) discloses a blank for forming an article carrier, the blank comprising at least one panel 20 having at least one article engaging structure, the at least one article engaging structure comprising an article receiving aperture (shown above) and an annular series of tabs (shown above) formed around the article receiving aperture, the annular series of tabs being defined at least in part by plurality of radial cut lines (shown above), the annular series of tabs being defined at least in part by plurality of circumferential cut lines (shown above), wherein at least a first one of the radial cut lines extends to a corresponding circumferential cut line (shown above) and at least a second one of the radial cut lines extends toward a respective circumferential cut line yet stops short of a respective circumferential cut line.
With regards to claim 23, Borg (Fig. 2 annotated above) discloses the at least a second one of the radial cut lines (shown above) is spaced apart from a respective circumferential cut line (shown above).
With regards to claim 24, Borg (Fig. 2 annotated above) discloses the at least a second one of the radial cut lines is spaced apart from the respective circumferential cut line.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Borg US 5,735,562.
With regards to claim 21, Borg (Fig. 4 annotated above) discloses a blank for forming an article carrier, the blank comprising at least one panel having at least one article engaging structure, the at least one article engaging structure comprising an article receiving aperture and an annular series of tabs formed around the article receiving aperture, the annular series of tabs comprising a plurality of annularly connected tabs and a plurality of annularly disconnected tabs (shown above), the plurality of annularly connected tabs (shown above) comprise at least a pair of adjacently disposed tabs which are connected by a bridging portion (shown above), wherein the bridging portion comprises a nick defined between at least two cut lines (63 and shown above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 8-12, 25-28 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues Borg does not disclose “a plurality of annularly connected tabs and a plurality of annularly disconnected tabs, the plurality of annularly connected tabs comprise at least a pair of adjacently disposed tabs which are connected by a bridging portion, wherein the bridging portion comprises a nick defined between at least two lines”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Borg discloses the claimed structures highlighted again in the annotated drawing below. Borg discloses a plurality of annularly connected tabs (two tabs on each disconnected tab in each circle) and a plurality of annularly disconnected tabs (large tabs in the circle on each side of the large cut line), the plurality of annularly connected tabs comprise at least a pair of adjacently disposed tabs which are connected by a bridging portion (the spacing/area above the cut line 63), wherein the bridging portion comprises a nick defined between at least two lines.
Additionally, claims 1 and 20 have been reconsidered and rejected with Ali et al. US 9,635,959 B1 and claims 1, 7, 21 and 23-24 have been rejected with Borg US 5,735,562.
Conclusion
/JENINE SPICER/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/RAFAEL A ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736