DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary Amendment
The preliminary amendments of claims, filed 04/12/2023, has been fully considered.
Status of Claims
Claim 1-14 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) document(s) submitted on 04/12/2023 is compliant with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS document(s) has/have been fully considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 recites “an transmitting light source, an transmitting lens”. The examiner requests applicant amends “an” to “a” in each instance.
Claim 13 recites “the disc”. The examiner requests applicant uses the same terminology and/or modifiers throughout the entire claim set. In this case, “the disc” should recite “the detection disc”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 refers to “the optical path detection receiving base … the optical path detection transmitting base”. Claim 8 is dependent from claim 5 which does not recite either feature. Claim 6 further defines the device as having “an optical path detection transmitting base … an optical path detection receiving base”. Accordingly, there is insufficient antecedent basis for these terms in the claim and it is unclear what applicant is referring to. For purposes of examination, the examiner is interpreting claim 8 as depending from claim 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2017/0292967 – hereinafter “Kim”), in view of Sellars et al. (US 2007/0297946 – hereinafter “Sellars”), and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2019/0049476 – hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a biochemical analyzer (Kim; fig. 1; [0002, 0016, 0030]), comprising
a detection disc sample feeding device (Kim; fig. 1, #20, “X-axis conveying unit 20 which reciprocally moves in an X-axis direction with respect to the main body frame 10”; [0030]),
a detection disc device (Kim; figs. 1 & 2, #30, “a circular type cartridge accommodating housing which is installed to the X-axis conveying unit 20 so as to be reciprocally movable in the X-axis direction by the X-axis conveying unit 20”; [0030]),
an optical path detection device (Kim; figs. 1 & 2, #70, “a measurement unit 70 which measures reactions in the two or more wells 53 … the measurement unit 70 may include a light amplifying element that measure the light emission; [0030, 0063]), and
a temperature control device (Kim; fig. 3, #200, “heat is applied through the heater unit 200 by the control unit C”; [0073]),
wherein the detection disc device comprises a rotatable detection disc, the detection disc has a plurality of partitions (Kim; figs. 1 & 2, #50, “a circular type cartridge 50 which is installed at an upper side of the circular type cartridge accommodating housing 30 so as to be rotatably connected to the rotation drive unit 40, and has two or more wells 53 disposed to be spaced part from each other at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of a disc-shaped main body 51”; [0030]. Accordingly, wells 53 are a plurality of partitions), and to be detected (Kim; fig. 4, #53g; [0078]); and the detection disc is further provided with an optical limiting slot (Kim; fig. 4, #51a, #301, #303, [0050-0058]), and the optical limiting slot cooperates with a first limiting sensor located on a side face of the detection disc to monitor the number of rotations of the detection disc (Kim; fig. 3, #300, #301, [0055-0056, 0058]).
Kim does not teach each partition is correspondingly equipped with one chip to be detected.
However, Sellars teach the analogous art of a rotatable detection disc (Sellars; figs. 1-4, #1, [0037]), the detection disc has a plurality of partitions, and each partition is correspondingly equipped with one chip to be detected (Sellars disclose detection disc 1 has a plurality of partitions 6 which receive chips 8 that are detected by reflectometer 22 through viewing window 18; figs. 3-4 & 13, #6, #8, [0037, 0040]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the rotatable detection disc of Kim with the rotatable detection disc having each partition correspondingly equipped with one chip to be detected, as taught by Sellars, because Sellars teach each partition correspondingly equipped with one chip to be detected allows measurement to be performed by detector without the chip ever having to be removed from the partition (Sellars; [0040]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Kim and Sellars both teach analyzing samples in a partition of a rotatable disc.
Modified Kim does not teach the sensor is an optocoupler.
However, Zhang teach the analogous art of a sensor located on a side face to monitor the position of a detection rack (Zhang; fig. 1, #165, [0045]) wherein the position sensor is an optocoupler sensor (Zhang; fig. 1, #165, [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sensor of modified Kim with the optocoupler sensor, as in Zhang, because Zhang teach the optocoupler sensor may be configured to relay signals when a detection rack is at a predetermined position (Zhang; [0063]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Kim and Zhang both teach using a sensor to detect position.
Regarding claim 13, modified Kim teach the biochemical analyzer according to claim 1 above, wherein each partition in the detection disc is provided with a first detection disc chip limiting structure at a position close to a center of the disc, and provided with a second detection disc chip limiting structure at a position away from the center of the disc, and the chip to be detected is fixed in each partition by the first detection disc chip limiting structure and the second detection disc chip limiting structure (The modification of the rotatable detection disc of Kim with the rotatable detection disc having each partition correspondingly equipped with one chip to be detected, as taught by Sellars, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Sellars disclose tabs 40 and sidewall 14 which secure the chips in the partition; figs. 5 & 11, #40, #14, [0039, 0043]).
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Sellars, in view of Zhang, and further in view of Mizuno (US Patent No. 5,897,837 – hereinafter “Mizuno”).
Regarding claim 2, modified Kim teach the biochemical analyzer according to claim 1 above, wherein the detection disc is mounted on a detection disc front and rear movement bracket (Kim; figs. 1-3, #30/#110, [0030, 0039]), and a detection disc rotation motor is connected below the detection disc front and rear movement bracket (Kim; motor 40 is below support 110; figs. 3 & 5, [0030]); and the detection disc front and rear movement bracket drives to move (Kim; bracket 30 is connected to rail 21 freely movable in the X-axis direction along stationary guide rail 23; figs. 2-3, [0031-0032]), and the detection disc front and rear movement bracket cooperates with a detection disc front and rear movement slider by means of a detection disc front and rear movement slide rail to realize front and rear sliding (Kim; bracket 30 is connected to rail 21 freely movable in the X-axis direction along stationary guide rail 23; figs. 2-3, [0031-0032]).
Kim does not teach the detection disc front and rear movement bracket is connected to a detection disc front and rear movement belt connector, the detection disc front and rear movement belt connector drives the detection disc front and rear movement bracket to move, and the detection disc front and rear movement bracket cooperates with a detection disc front and rear movement slider by means of a detection disc front and rear movement slide rail to realize front and rear sliding.
However, Mizuno teach the analogous art of an apparatus movement means (Mizuno; fig. 2, #30, col. 6 lines 51-58) comprising a movement bracket (Mizuno; fig. 2, #33, col. 6 lines 51-58) connected to a belt connector that drives the movement bracket to move (Mizuno disclose a clip attaching bracket 33 to the belt 34 to drive the bracket 34 and move with the belt; fig. 2), and the movement bracket cooperates with a movement slider by means of a slide rail to realize sliding (Mizuno disclose mounting bracket 33 is connected to slider 32 that moves along slide rail 31; fig. 2, col. 6 lines 51058).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the front and rear movement means of modified Kim with the movement means comprising the bracket mounted to a belt that cooperates with a slider and rail, as taught by Mizuno, because Mizuno teach the bracket mounted to a belt that cooperates with a slider and rail provides stable and precise positioning of an apparatus (Kim; col. 6 line 59 through col. 7 line 3). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Kim and Mizuno both teach a positioning system for moving an apparatus.
Claim 3-5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Sellars, in view of Zhang, in view of Mizuno, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2017/0328927 – hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kim teach the biochemical analyzer according to claim 2, comprising the detection disc sample feeding device comprises a detection disc front and rear movement motor, and the detection disc front and rear movement motor drives a detection disc front and rear movement belt that is wound on a detection disc front and rear movement driving pulley and a detection disc front and rear movement driven pulley to move; the detection disc front and rear movement belt connector is provided on the detection disc front and rear movement belt (The modification of the front and rear movement means of modified Kim with the movement means comprising the bracket mounted to a belt that cooperates with a slider and rail, as taught by Mizuno, has previously been discussed in claim 2 above. Mizuno teach the movement means comprises a motor 36 that drives pully 35 so that belt 34 transports bracket 33 with slider 32 along rail 31; fig. 2, col. 6 lines 51-28).
Modified Kim does not teach a detection disc front and rear movement limiting stopper is provided on a side face of the detection disc front and rear movement bracket, and cooperates with a detection disc front and rear movement limiting optocoupler to limit front and rear movements of the detection disc.
However, Wang teach the analogous art of an apparatus movement means comprising a movement bracket 114 connected to a belt connector 110 that drives the bracket along belt 109 by motor 116 and pulleys 113, and a slider 119 that moves along slide rail 101 (Wang; figs. 3-4, 0059-0064]), where the movement means further comprise a movement limiting stopper (Wang; figs. 1-2, brackets attached at either end of shafts 2) that cooperates with a limiting optocoupler to limit movement (Wang; fig.3, #102, [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the movement means of modified Kim to further comprise a limiting stopper and limiting optocoupler, as taught by Wang, because Wang teach the limiting stopper and limiting optocoupler provide sensing a specific position of the movement means (Wang; [0046]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Kim and Wang both teach a positioning system for moving an apparatus.
Regarding claim 4, modified Kim teach the biochemical analyzer according to claim 3 above, wherein a fan is further provided on the side face of the detection disc front and rear movement bracket, and the fan cooperates with the temperature control device to control a reaction temperature of a detection cavity (Kim; fig. 3, #100, [0033]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim teach the biochemical analyzer according to claim 4, wherein a second limiting sensor is further provided on the side face of the detection disc, the second limiting sensor cooperates with a code wheel in the detection disc device, and when the second limiting sensor detects a spacing region of the code wheel, the optical path detection device performs optical detection on a detection chamber of a chip (The modification of the rotatable detection disc of Kim with the rotatable detection disc having each partition correspondingly equipped with one chip to be detected, as taught by Sellars, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Kim teaches position sensors 300/301 that cooperate with code wheel 51a/303/301 to detect a space region of the code wheel; figs. 2-3 [0050-0058]).
Modified Kim does not teach the second sensor is a second limiting optocoupler.
However, Wang teach the analogous art of a plurality of position sensors (Wang; fig. 2, #102, [0063]) wherein the plurality of position sensors are optocouplers (Wang; fig. 2, #102, [0063]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the plurality of sensors that detect a spacing region of the code wheel of modified Kim to be a plurality of optocoupler sensors, as taught by Wang, because Wang teach the optocoupler sensors provide sensing a specific position (Wang; [0046]).One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Kim and Wang both teach a plurality of sensors for sensing a position.
Regarding claim 11, modified Kim teach the biochemical analyzer according to claim 5, wherein the detection disc device further comprises a detection disc adapter block; the detection disc rotation motor is connected to the detection disc front and rear movement bracket by means of a motor base, and the code wheel is fixedly connected to the detection disc adapter block and rotates with a motor shaft of the detection disc rotation motor; and the detection disc adapter block is connected to the detection disc (Kim; figs. 2-3 & 5, #110, #40, #41, [0039, 0041]).
Claims 6-10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Sellars, in view of Zhang, in view of Mizuno, in view of Wang, in view of Kim (US 2014/0017705 – hereinafter “Kim ‘705”, and further in view of Goldman (US Patent No. 4,476,468 – hereinafter “Goldman”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kim teach the biochemical analyzer according to claim 5 above, comprising the optical path detection device.
Modified Kim does not teach wherein the optical path detection device comprises an optical path detection transmitting assembly and an optical path detection receiving assembly, wherein the optical path detection transmitting assembly is provided in an optical path detection transmitting base, and the optical path detection receiving assembly is provided in an optical path detection receiving base; and the optical path detection transmitting assembly comprises an transmitting light source, and a transmitting circuit board, and the optical path detection receiving assembly comprises a filter, a receiving lens, a circuit board, and a photocell.
However, Kim ‘705 teach the analogous art of a rotatable detection disc (Kim ‘705; fig. 1, #10, [0052]) and an optical path detection device (Kim ‘705; fig. 16, #1333, #1410, [0108]) comprises an optical path detection transmitting assembly (Kim ‘705; fig. 16, #1333, [0108]) and an optical path detection receiving assembly (Kim ‘705; fig. 16, #1410, [0108]), wherein the optical path detection transmitting assembly is provided in an optical path detection transmitting base (Kim ‘705 teach transmitting assembly 1333 positioned on upper housing 1012; fig. 8, [0108]), and the optical path detection receiving assembly is provided in an optical path detection receiving base (Kim ‘705 teach optical path receiving assembly 1410 positioned on lower housing 1011; fig. 7, [0108]); and the optical path detection transmitting assembly comprises an transmitting light source (Kim ‘705; [0108]), and a transmitting circuit board (Kim ‘705; [0108]. The examiner notes light emitting element 1333 is connected to and controlled by control 1200 and thus comprises circuit board; [0134]), and the optical path detection receiving assembly comprises a filter, a receiving lens, a circuit board, and photocell (Kim ‘705 teach detection receiving assembly 1410 comprises a CMOS image sensor or CCD image sensor which are controlled by control 1200; [0134, 0140]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the optical path detection device of modified Kim to comprise the transmitting assembly and receiving assembly, as taught by Kim ‘705, because Kim ‘705 teach the transmitting assembly and receiving assembly allow reaction detection in the rotatable detection disc (Kim ‘705, [0101]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Kim and Kim ‘705 both teach biochemical analysis devices that rotate to detect a reaction.
Modified Kim does not teach the light transmitting assembly comprises a transmitting lens.
However, Goldman teach the analogous art of a light transmitting assembly comprising a light source and lens (Goldman; fig. 12, #138, #142, col. 14, lines 29-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the light transmitting assembly of modified Kim to comprise a lens, as in Goldman, because Goldman teach the lens focuses the light source onto the passing object (Goldman; col. 14, lines 29-31). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Kim and Goldman both teach optical sensing devices comprises a photocell and light source.
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim teach the biochemical analyzer according to claim 6 above, wherein the circuit board is connected to a temperature sensor (The modification of the optical path detection device of modified Kim to comprise the transmitting assembly and receiving assembly, as taught by Kim ‘705, has previously been discussed in claim 6 above. Kim ‘705 additionally teach a temperature sensor 1412 on the circuit board (Kim; fig. 16, #1412, [0134]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kim teach the biochemical analyzer according to claim 5, comprising the optical path detection receiving base and the optical path detection transmitting base (As best understood, modified Kim teach the biochemical analyzer according to claim 6 above. Further, the modification of the optical path detection device of modified Kim to comprise the transmitting assembly and receiving assembly, as taught by Kim ‘705, has previously been discussed in claim 6 above wherein transmitting assembly 1333 is positioned on upper housing 1012 above the detection disc and optical path receiving assembly 1410 is positioned on lower housing 1011 below the detection disc; fig. 16, [0108]).
Modified Kim does not teach the optical path detection receiving base is located above the detection disc, and the optical path detection transmitting base is located below the detection disc. However, modified Kim does teach the optical path detection receiving base and optical path detection transmitting base arranged such that the rotatable detection disc is placed between them (Kim ‘705; [0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the location of the transmitting assembly and receiving assembly such that the transmitting assembly is positioned on lower housing 1011 and receiving assembly is located on upper housing 1012, because modifying the position the each assembly is merely a rearrangement of parts that is a matter of design choice and does not patentably distinguish over the prior art (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)C). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Kim teach each assembly mounted on opposing bases of the rotatable detection disc.
Regarding claim 9, modified Kim teach the biochemical analyzer according to claim 7 above, wherein the biochemical analyzer is further provided with a detection cover (The modification of the optical path detection device of modified Kim to comprise the transmitting assembly and receiving assembly, as taught by Kim ‘705, has previously been discussed in claim 6 above wherein transmitting assembly 1333 is positioned on upper housing 1012 above the detection disc and optical path receiving assembly 1410 is positioned on lower housing 1011 below the detection disc. The examiner is interpreting the housing 1010 of Kim ‘705 as the detection cover), the temperature sensor is provided on the detection cover (Kim teach temperature sensor 1412 on an interior surface of lower housing 1011 of housing 1010; fig. 16, [0108]), and the detection cover is further provided with a cover plate (Kim ‘705 bottom surface of lower housing 1011 of housing 1010; [0108]); and the optical path detection receiving base is provided on the detection cover (Kim ‘705 module 1410 is on an interior surface of lower housing 1011; [0108]), and the photocell located on the optical path detection receiving base is connected to the circuit board (Kim ‘705 teach detection receiving assembly 1410 comprises a CMOS image sensor or CCD image sensor which are controlled by control 1200; [0134, 0140]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kim teach the biochemical analyzer according to claim 9 above, wherein the biochemical analyzer is further provided with a scanner, and the scanner is located above the detection disc, scans the chip to be detected located on the detection disc, and uploads obtained information (The modification of the rotatable detection disc of Kim with the rotatable detection disc having each partition correspondingly equipped with one chip to be detected, as taught by Sellars, has previously been discussed in claim 1 above. Sellars additionally teach a scanner 90 located above the rotatable detection device and scans a chip to be detected and uploads the information; fig. 13, #90, [0055-0056]).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kim teach the biochemical analyzer according to claim 6, comprising the optical path detection receiving base and the optical path detection transmitting base (The modification of the optical path detection device of modified Kim to comprise the transmitting assembly and receiving assembly, as taught by Kim ‘705, has previously been discussed in claim 6 above wherein transmitting assembly 1333 is positioned on upper housing 1012 above the detection disc and optical path receiving assembly 1410 is positioned on lower housing 1011 below the detection disc; fig. 16, [0108]).
Modified Kim does not teach the optical path detection receiving base is located above the detection disc, and the optical path detection transmitting base is located below the detection disc. However, modified Kim does teach the optical path detection receiving base and optical path detection transmitting base arranged such that the rotatable detection disc is placed between them (Kim ‘705; [0108]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the location of the transmitting assembly and receiving assembly such that the transmitting assembly is positioned on lower housing 1011 and receiving assembly is located on upper housing 1012, because modifying the position the each assembly is merely a rearrangement of parts that is a matter of design choice and does not patentably distinguish over the prior art (See MPEP 2144.04(VI)C). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Kim teach each assembly mounted on opposing bases of the rotatable detection disc.
25. Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Sellars, in view of Zhang, in view of Mizuno, in view of Wang, in view of Kim ‘705.
Regarding claim 12, modified Kim teach the biochemical analyzer according to claim 11 above.
Modified Kim does not teach wherein a magnet is provided in a center of the detection disc adapter block, and a detection disc magnetic block is magnetically assembled with the magnet.
However, Kim ‘705 teach the analogous art of a detection disc device (Kim ‘705; fig. 6, #1000, [0100]), a rotatable detection disc (Kim ‘705; fig. 1, #10, [0052]), wherein a magnet is provided in a center of a detection disc adapter block, and a detection disc magnetic block is magnetically assembled with the magnet (Kim ‘705; fig. 11, #1331, [0104, 0115]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the detection disc device, rotatable detection disc, and the adapter block of modified Kim to comprise a magnet in a center of the detection disc adapter block and a detection disc magnetic block, as taught by Kim ‘705, because Kim ‘705 teach the magnetic assembly may prevent shaking of the rotatable detection disc during operation (Kim ‘ 705; [0116]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since modified Kim and Kim ‘705 both teach biochemical analysis devices that rotate to detect a reaction.
Other References Cited
The prior art of made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure include:
Hilson et al. (US 2003/0032191) disclose a detection chip feeding assembly and a detection disc device.
Lee et al. (US 2008/0273205) discloses an optical detection apparatus and method for a microfluidic disk.
Fujiwara et al. (US 2018/0003732) disclose a biochemical analyzer comprising a detection disc device, a rotatable detection disc, and an optical transmitting assembly that direct light upwards through the rotatable detection disc and reflects off a mirror disposed on a plate member of a lid.
Citations to art
In the above citations to documents in the art, an effort has been made to specifically cite representative passages, however rejections are in reference to the entirety of each document relied upon. Other passages, not specifically cited, may apply as well.
Conclusion
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/C.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/BENJAMIN R WHATLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798