Response to Amendment/Arguments
This office action is in response to applicant’s reply filed 8/6/25. Amended Claims 2-11 are pending.
Regarding the previous drawing objection, the replacement drawing remedies the previous objection.
Regarding the previous 112(b) rejections, these have been remedied by the claim amendments.
Regarding the previous 112(d) rejection, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. While Claim 3 is now in independent form, the contents of Claim 3 continue to contain issues that, while no longer an presenting a problem under 112(d), raise issues under 112(b) for indefiniteness.
Regarding the previous prior art rejection of Nakajima, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. While Nakajima was discussed with respect to the pair of lands and the neutral position with respect to particular passages being closed in relation to one another, the current claim 1 requires “the pair of supply/discharge passages are closed by the pair of lands when the first spool is in a neutral position”; the claim does not more particularly point out and distinctly claim which parts are closed with respect to one another. Similarly, applicant’s arguments concerning the annular passage are likewise not persuasive and the example below could also be reversed for movement of the spool upwards. Nakajima teaches the current claim language:
Regarding Claim 3, applicant argues (begin excerpt/)
(end excerpt)
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. While language defining the instant invention in terms of plural spools like in instant Fig. 5 was discussed, the current Claim 3 language raises issues for clarity.
Regarding Claim 6, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. While language in the interview was discussed to define the “shortest distance”, the current claim language continues to contain greater breadth and Nakajima continues to teach the claimed invention as example annotated below:
Regarding applicant’s new claims, applicant argues (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Tougaski teaches a slide hole on a surface that is orthogonal to the spools’ axial direction - 26, Fig. 7.
Applicant has amended the claims. To avoid an undue multiplication of references, Getman and GB304 are cited as anticipatory references under 102 in the action below instead of Nakajima in view of Pieper under 103. Examiner notes Nakajima in view of Pieper appears to continue to teach at least independent claims 2 and 6, as discussed above.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner notes on claim interpretation:
In Claim 2, “smaller-diameter portion” is interpreted as relative to the lands rather than comparting against an absolute standard. Claim 11 may be similar but see 112(b) discussion below.
In the claims, “a pair of lands that opens and closes the pair of supply/discharge passages” has been interpreted broadly in accordance with the claim language, absent specifying particular connections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites in part “the spools include a first spool that is used in common for the first passage and the second passage, the slide holes include a merging slide hole that receives therein the first spool, the housing includes: ...the first spool is divided into: a third spool including a land that opens and closes one of the pair of supply/discharge passages; and a fourth spool including a land that opens and closes the other one of the pair of supply/discharge passages, the merging slide hole includes a pair of bottomed holes that receive therein the third spool and the fourth spool, respectively,”. This is indefinite. The claim language is inconsistent in number of parts present. The claim initially establishes a first spool then attempts to claim the one spool is two spools. Additionally, the claim establishes a merging slide hole then attempts to claim the one merging slide hole is a pair of holes. If the ultimate intent is for two spools to be present, then the presence of the first spool in the claim is not understood; conversely if the first spool is accurate, the presence of two spools is confusing. Similarly, if the ultimate intent is for two bottomed holes to be present, then the presence of the merging hole in the claim is not understood; conversely if the merging slide hole is accurate, the presence of two holes is confusing. The metes and bounds of the claimed invention are indefinite.
Claim 11 recites “wherein the first spool further includes another smaller-diameter portion, the other smaller-diameter portion being on an opposite side of one of the pair of lands from the smaller-diameter portion.”. This is indefinite. Claim 11 depends from Claim 2. Claim 2 recites in part “a smaller-diameter portion that couples the pair of lands to each other”. Claim 11 is indefinite if “includes another smaller-diameter portion” is intended to encompass the same limitations as the Claim 2 recitation. If it does, where the “an opposite side of one of the pair of lands from the smaller-diameter portion” is located with respect to the lands/smaller-diameter portion(s) is indefinite since Claim 2 establishes the “a smaller-diameter portion that couples the pair of lands to each other” and if the smaller-diameter portion is “opposite side” then the “couples” language is not understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2, 4, 6-11, as far as they are definite and understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GB 2143304 (previously cited), hereinafter GB304.
Regarding Claim 2,
A multi-control valve comprising:
spools (ex. 14 and 19) that are located side by side in a first direction; and
a housing (with 10, 15) including slide holes (for spools) that receive therein the respective spools, the housing including a first passage (example as annotated) and a second passage (example as annotated) that extend in the first direction, the first passage and the second passage being located at two sides of the spools, relative to a second direction (example as annotated), perpendicular to the first direction, respectively, wherein
the spools include a first spool (14) that is used in common for the first passage and the second passage,
the slide holes include a merging slide hole (for 14) that receives therein the first spool,
the housing includes:
a first communication passage (as annotated) that is located at the first passage side of the merging slide hole and that extends from the first passage to the merging slide hole; and
a second communication passage (as annotated) that is located at the second passage side of the merging slide hole and that extends from the second passage to the merging slide hole,
the housing includes a pair of supply/discharge passages (with 11, with 12) respectively located at two sides, of the first communication passage or the second communication passage relative to the first direction,
the first spool includes:
a pair of lands that opens and closes the pair of supply/discharge passages; and
a smaller-diameter portion that couples the pair of lands to each other, and
at least one of the first communication passage or the second communication passage includes:
a bridge passage whose both ends communicate with an annular passage between an inner peripheral surface of the merging slide hole and the smaller-diameter portion; and
a communication hole, through which the first passage or the second passage communicates with the bridge passage, wherein
the pair of supply/discharge passages are closed by the pair of lands when the first spool is in a neutral position.
Regarding Claim 4,
The multi-control valve according to claim 2, wherein the spools include a second spool (ex. 19) that is used for one of the first passage or the second passage.
Regarding Claim 6,
A multi-control valve comprising:
spools (ex. 14 and 19) that are located side by side in a first direction (example as annotated); and
a housing (with 10, 15) including slide holes (for spools) that receive therein the respective spools, the housing including a first passage (example as annotated) and a second passage (example as annotated) that extend in the first direction, the first passage and the second passage being located at two sides of the spools, relative to a second direction (example annotated), perpendicular to the first direction, respectively, wherein
the spools include a first spool (14) that is used in common for the first passage and the second passage,
the slide holes include a merging slide hole (for 14) that receives therein the first spool,
the housing includes:
a first communication passage (as annotated) that is located at the first passage side of the merging slide hole and that extends from the first passage to the merging slide hole; and
a second communication passage (as annotated) that is located at the second passage side of the merging slide hole and that extends from the second passage to the merging slide hole,
the housing includes a first side surface (as annotated) and a second side surface (as annotated) that are parallel to an arrangement plane of the spools, the first side surface and the second side surface facing away from each other,
the first passage is located between the first side surface and the spools,
the second passage is located between the second side surface and the spools, and
a shortest distance from the first side surface to the first passage is greater than a shortest distance from the second side surface to the second passage (as annotated).
Regarding Claim 7,
The multi-control valve according to claim 6, wherein the housing includes a slide hole (for 13) that is located between the first side surface and the first passage and that receives therein another spool (13) different (by virtue of being a different location and/or by virtue of being controlled separately) from the spools.
Regarding Claim 8,
The multi-control valve according to claim 2, wherein
a logic valve (C1) that allows a flow from the first passage or the second passage toward the merging slide hole, but prevents a reverse flow, the logic valve being a valve whose opening degree when allowing the flow from the first passage or the second passage toward the merging slide hole is changeable, is located on at least one of the first communication passage or the second communication passage.
Regarding Claim 9,
The multi-control valve according to claim 7, wherein the slide hole that receives therein the other spool is open on a third side surface (as annotated for example) of the housing that is orthogonal to an axial direction of the spools.
Regarding Claim 10,
The multi-control valve according to claim 9, wherein the slide hole that receives therein the other spool overlaps the first passage when seen from the first side surface (as seen in Figures, ex. Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 11,
The multi-control valve according to claim 2, wherein the first spool further includes another smaller-diameter portion (example annotations below), the other smaller-diameter portion being on an opposite side of one of the pair of lands from the smaller-diameter portion.
Examiner note: In addition to a smaller-diameter portion cited earlier, either of the two example annotations appear to be a smaller-diameter portion.
Claims 2, 4, 6, 8, and 11, as far as they are definite and understood, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Getman (US 3322150, previously cited).
Regarding Claim 2,
A multi-control valve comprising:
spools (Figs. 1 and 2, example spool 36, ex. Col. 2, lines 61-70) that are located side by side in a first direction; and
a housing including slide holes (for 36) that receive therein the respective spools, the housing including a first passage (with 13) and a second passage (with 14) that extend in the first direction, the first passage and the second passage being located at two sides of the spools, relative to a second direction, perpendicular to the first direction, respectively, wherein
the spools include a first spool (36) that is used in common for the first passage and the second passage,
the slide holes include a merging slide hole (22) that receives therein the first spool,
the housing includes:
a first communication passage (with 30, 31)that is located at the first passage side of the merging slide hole and that extends from the first passage to the merging slide hole; and
a second communication passage (with 34, 35) that is located at the second passage side of the merging slide hole and that extends from the second passage to the merging slide hole,
the housing includes a pair of supply/discharge passages (with 23, with 24) respectively located at two sides, of the first communication passage or the second communication passage relative to the first direction,
the first spool includes:
a pair of lands (as annotated) that opens and closes the pair of supply/discharge passages; and
a smaller-diameter portion (as annotated) that couples the pair of lands to each other, and
at least one of the first communication passage or the second communication passage includes:
a bridge passage (as annotated) whose both ends communicate with an annular passage between an inner peripheral surface of the merging slide hole and the smaller-diameter portion; and
a communication hole (as annotated), through which the first passage or the second passage communicates with the bridge passage, wherein
the pair of supply/discharge passages are closed (in neutral, either 23 to 34/35 or 24 to 34/35, one example annotation) by the pair of lands when the first spool is in a neutral position.
Regarding Claim 4,
The multi-control valve according to claim 2,wherein the spools include a second spool (Fig. 2, four valves shown) that is used for one of the first passage or the second passage.
Regarding Claim 6,
A multi-control valve comprising:
spools (Figs. 1 and 2, example spool 36, ex. Col. 2, lines 61-70) that are located side by side in a first direction; and
a housing (made up from valves 10 with body members 21) including slide holes (for 36) that receive therein the respective spools, the housing including a first passage (with 13) and a second passage (with 14) that extend in the first direction, the first passage and the second passage being located at two sides of the spools, relative to a second direction, perpendicular to the first direction, respectively, wherein
the spools include a first spool (36) that is used in common for the first passage and the second passage,
the slide holes include a merging slide hole (22) that receives therein the first spool,
the housing includes:
a first communication passage (with 30, 31) that is located at the first passage side of the merging slide hole and that extends from the first passage to the merging slide hole; and
a second communication passage (with 34, 35) that is located at the second passage side of the merging slide hole and that extends from the second passage to the merging slide hole,
the housing includes a first side surface (as annotated below) and a second side surface (as annotated below) that are parallel to an arrangement plane of the spools, the first side surface and the second side surface facing away from each other,
the first passage is located between the first side surface and the spools,
the second passage is located between the second side surface and the spools, and
a shortest distance from the first side surface to the first passage is greater than a shortest distance from the second side surface to the second passage (as annotated below).
Regarding Claim 8,
The multi-control valve according to claim 2, wherein
a logic valve (32) that allows a flow from the first passage or the second passage toward the merging slide hole, but prevents a reverse flow, the logic valve being a valve whose opening degree when allowing the flow from the first passage or the second passage toward the merging slide hole is changeable, is located on at least one of the first communication passage or the second communication passage.
Regarding Claim 11,
The multi-control valve according to claim 2, wherein the first spool further includes another smaller-diameter portion, the other smaller-diameter portion being on an opposite side of one of the pair of lands from the smaller-diameter portion.
Examiner note: The claim language is indefinite. Either one of the smaller-diameter portions identified earlier is arranged in a similar fashion to applicant’s Fig. 4 annotated earlier and would appear to meet the claim language or the internal passages like 41 or 40 have each have a “smaller-diameter” than the “lands”, thereby meeting the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3, as far as it is definite and understood, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Getman in view of JP H04-83904 (machine translation attached), hereinafter JP904.
Examiner note: Given the indefiniteness of the claim language, the claim is being treated as if the third and fourth spools are present, not the first spool, and the pair of bottomed holes are present, not the merging slide hole.
Regarding Claim 3, Getman teaches
A multi-control valve comprising:
spools (Figs. 1 and 2, example spool 36, ex. Col. 2, lines 61-70) that are located side by side in a first direction; and
a housing (made up from valves 10 with body members 21)including slide holes (for 36) that receive therein the respective spools, the housing including a first passage (with 13) and a second passage (with 14) that extend in the first direction, the first passage and the second passage being located at two sides of the spools, relative to a second direction, perpendicular to the first direction, respectively, wherein
the spools include a first spool (36) that is used in common for the first passage and the second passage,
the slide holes include a merging slide hole (22) that receives therein the first spool,
the housing includes:
a first communication passage (with 30, 31) that is located at the first passage side of the merging slide hole and that extends from the first passage to the merging slide hole; and
a second communication passage (with 34, 35) that is located at the second passage side of the merging slide hole and that extends from the second passage to the merging slide hole,
the housing includes a pair of supply/discharge passages (with 23, with 24) respectively located at both sides of the first communication passage or the second communication passage, relative to the first direction,
Getman does not teach
the first spool is divided into:
a third spool including a land that opens and closes one of the pair of supply/discharge passages; and
a fourth spool including a land that opens and closes the other one of the pair of supply/discharge passages,
the merging slide hole includes a pair of bottomed holes that receive therein the third spool and the fourth spool, respectively,
there is a first pilot chamber between an end of one of the pair of bottomed holes and an end surface of the third spool, and
there is a second pilot chamber between a bottom of the other one of the pair of bottomed holes and an end surface of the fourth spool.
Getman teaches a manually operated spool.
JP904 teaches
For a valve,
the first spool (Fig. 9 vs Figs. 6-8) is divided into:
a third spool (example as annotated) including a land (either land for b to p or b to t) that opens and closes one of the pair of supply/discharge passages; and
a fourth spool (example as annotated) including a land (either land form a to t or a to p) that opens and closes the other one of the pair of supply/discharge passages,
the merging slide hole includes a pair of bottomed holes (example as annotated) that receive therein the third spool and the fourth spool, respectively,
there is a first pilot chamber (example as annotated) between an end of one of the pair of bottomed holes and an end surface of the third spool, and
there is a second pilot chamber (example as annotated) between a bottom of the other one of the pair of bottomed holes and an end surface of the fourth spool.
Since both references are directed to valves, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve of Getman to have third and fourth spools and pilot control as taught by JP904 in order to provide the ability to the operator to operate the valve from a distance with the pilot control and allow for independent metering of the supply and discharge flows.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Getman in view of JP 2002181008 - on applicant’s IDS, hereinafter JP008.
Regarding Claim 5, Getman teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for
The multi-control valve according to claim 4, wherein a maximum diameter of the first spool is greater than a maximum diameter of the second spool.
JP008 teaches
For a multi-control valve (Figs. 1-9),
a maximum diameter of a spool is greater than a maximum diameter of another spool.
From applicant’s provided translation (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Since both references are directed to valves, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve of Getman to have a larger maximum diameter than a maximum of the normal spool as taught by JP008 in order to “ensure the maximum required flow rate of the actuator” ([0016]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GB304 in view of JP008.
Regarding Claim 5, GB304 teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for
The multi-control valve according to claim 4, wherein a maximum diameter of the first spool is greater than a maximum diameter of the second spool.
JP008 teaches
For a multi-control valve (Figs. 1-9),
a maximum diameter of a spool is greater than a maximum diameter of another spool.
From applicant’s provided translation (begin excerpt/):
(/end excerpt)
Since both references are directed to valves, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve of GB304 to have a larger maximum diameter than a maximum of the normal spool as taught by JP008 in order to “ensure the maximum required flow rate of the actuator” ([0016]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MICHAEL QUANDT
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/MICHAEL QUANDT/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745