DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 5-17 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election of group 1, claims 1-4, and 18-19 drawn to a process of manufacture for a noncurable silicone composition, was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/10/2025.
The Applicant submits claim 20 should fall in group 1. However, claim 20 relates to a process of manufacturing an insulator rather than a process to manufacture a non-curable silicone composition. Notably, claim 20 relates to a processes of manufacturing a curable composition.
The technical feature common to claim 20 and the previously articulated groups of claims, is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Carbary US 20120124931 A1. Claim 20 is therefore considered withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carbary US 20120124931 A1.
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 18-19, Carbary teaches a composition comprising a silicone resin and an organopolysiloxane (Abstract). This reads on the claimed “silicone composition” and the claimed “organopolysiloxane.” Carbary teaches the composition can be non-curable (Paragraph [0016]). This reads on the claimed “non-curable.” Carbary also teaches the composition comprises a filler which is carbon black (Paragraph [0051]). Carbary teaches a production method wherein the resin is extruded through a twin screw extruder (Paragraph [0076]). This reads on the claimed “twin screw extruder.”
Regarding claim 2, Carbary also teaches the silicone resin (a) includes alkenyl groups like vinyl or allyl (Paragraph [0019]). This reads on the claimed polyorganosiloxane comprising an unsaturated group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carbary US 20120124931 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Carbary teaches the filler is carbon black. Carbary teaches in example 8 a composition that comprises 19.2 parts polyorganosiloxane and 5 parts filler (Table 3). This corresponds to a ratio of 79.34:20.6. This overlaps with the claimed range of 90:10 to 75:25. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the ratio of filler to polyorganosiloxane in example 8 as the ratio of filler to organopolysiloxane in the composition because this is taught to be a suitable ratio of polyorganosiloxane to filler for the composition.
Conclusion
/LILY K SLOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762