DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagumo (U.S. Patent No. 5,908,572).
Regarding claim 1.
Nagumo Discloses Figs. 3a/b:
A method for prolonging the service life of a ceramic electric heating body(fig. 3a, 1) attached to a direct-current power source(3) via a control unit(8), wherein a positive electrode of the direct-current power source(3 +) is connected to a terminal I (1) of the control unit(3+ connected to 8 at top), a negative electrode(3 bottom) of the direct-current power source is connected to a terminal II (3- bottom)(2) of the control unit(8), a terminal III (3) of the control unit(8+ connected to 1+) is connected to a positive electrode of a ceramic electric heating body(1 +), and a terminal IV (4) of the control unit(8-) is connected to a negative electrode of the ceramic electric heating body(1-), the method comprising:
alternately operating the control unit in a first mode I and in a second mode II, wherein; (See col. 1, lines 22-37)
during the first-mode I, matching the terminal I (1) with the terminal III (3) and matching the terminal II (2) with the terminal IV (4), wherein the control unit transmits electric energy of the direct-current power source to the ceramic electric heating body in a first direction between the positive and negative electrodes of the ceramic heating body and transmits the electric energy in a pulse manner; and (col. 3, lines 25-50 )
during the second mode II, matching the terminal I (1) with the terminal IV (4) and matching the terminal II (2) with the terminal III (3), wherein the control unit transmits electric energy of the direct-current power source to the ceramic electric heating body in a second direction between the positive and negative electrodes of the ceramic heating body and transmits the electric energy in a pulse manner. (col. 3, lines 25-50 )
Nagumo discloses that the device is alternated in the rectangular waveform, and the alternation is performed. When Q1 and Q4 are turned on and Q3 and Q2 are turned off, electric flows in the direction of Arrow A. When Q3 and Q2 are On and Q1 and Q4 are Off, the electric flows in the direction of Arrow B. in Fig. 3A. As such, it would have at least been obvious to perform the recited switching for the obvious benefit of performing heating using the ceramic heater of Nagumo. Thus, the features of claim 1 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 3.
Nagumo Discloses Figs. 3a/b:
The method for prolonging the service life of a ceramic electric heating body under a direct-current power supply condition according to claim 1, wherein the ceramic electric heating body is made of a ceramic material with ionic conductance and operating in the first mode I and in second mode II reduces directed migration of metal ions(abstract, Nagumo disclose the changes in directions from A to B in fig. 3a, which would change the Migration of the metal ions.).
Regarding claim 4. Nagumo Discloses Figs. 3a/b:
A device for prolonging the service life of a ceramic electric heating body under a direct-current power supply condition, wherein the device comprises:
a ceramic electric heating body(1) having an input end with a positive electrode and a negative electrode;
a direct-current power source having an output end with a positive electrode and a negative electrode(3 col. 3, lines 8-25);
a control unit(8, ), alternately in a first mode I and a second mode II, selectively connecting the positive and negative electrodes of the ceramic electric heating body with the positive and negative electrodes of the direct-current power source, wherein:
the positive electrode of a direct-current power source is connected to a first terminal I of the control unit(Fig. 3a, power supply3 connected to 8), the negative electrode of the direct-current power source is connected to a second terminal II of the control unit(Fig. 3a, power supply connected to 8), a third terminal III of the control unit is connected to a positive electrode of a ceramic electric heating body, and a fourth terminal IV of the control unit is connected to a negative electrode of the ceramic electric heating body(Fig. 3a);
wherein during the first mode I, the control unit is configured to match the first terminal I with the third terminal III and match the second terminal II with the fourth terminal IV (4), wherein the control unit transmits electric energy of the direct-current power source to the ceramic electric heating body in a first direction between the positive and negative electrodes of the ceramic heating body and transmits the electric energy in a pulse manner(See col. 3, lines 25-50 Figs. 3a/b and Q1-Q4); and
wherein during the second mode II, the control unit is configured to match the terminal I (1) with the terminal IV (4) and match the terminal II (2) with the terminal III (3), wherein the control unit transmits electric energy of the direct-current power source to the ceramic electric heating body in a second direction between the positive and negative electrodes of the ceramic heating body and transmits the electric energy in a pulse manner(See col. 3, lines 25-50 Figs. 3a/b and Q1-Q4).
Regarding claim 5. Nagumo Discloses Figs. 3a/b:
The device for prolonging the service life of a ceramic electric heating body under a direct-current power supply condition according to claim 4, wherein the ceramic electric heating body is made of a ceramic material with ionic conductance. (abstract, Nagumo disclose the changes in directions from A to B in fig. 3a, which would change the Migration of the metal ions.).
Regarding claim 6.
Nagumo Discloses Figs. 3a/b:
The device for prolonging the service life of a ceramic electric heating body under a direct-current power supply condition according to claim 4, wherein: the control unit comprises a controller (P)(3) and an H-bridge circuit-based forward-reverse inverting circuit(See 1, fig. 3a, Q1-Q4 and A/B).
Claims 2, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Nagumo (U.S. Patent No. 5,908,572) in view of Ying (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0294187)
Regarding claim 2.
Nagumo Discloses Figs. 3a/b:
The method for prolonging the service life of a ceramic electric heating body under a direct-current power supply condition according to claim 1, wherein the control unit comprises a controller (P) (8)and an H-bridge circuit-based forward-reverse inverting circuit having four high-speed switch elements and corresponding connection conductive wires(1, Q1-Q4), wherein the four high-speed switch elements are respectively marked as switch I (K1)(Q1), switch II (K2)(Q2), switch III (K3)(Q3) and switch IV (K4)(Q4); each high-speed switch element comprises a connection end I, a connection end II(Q1-Q4 having a connecting ends) and a control end, wherein the control end is connected to the controller, and the controller (P) controls the connection and disconnection between the connection end I and the connection end II by outputting high or low level to the control end; and connection ends I of the switch I (K1) and the switch II (K2) are connected in parallel to the terminal I (1), connection ends II of the switch I (K1) and the switch III (K3) are connected in parallel to the terminal III (3), connection ends II of the switch II (K2) and the switch IV (K4) are connected in parallel to the terminal IV (4), and connection ends of the switch III (K3) and the switch IV (K4) are connected in parallel to the terminal II (2),(See Fig. 3a, and arrangement of switches Q1-Q4) the method further comprising:
operating the controller to control the connection and disconnection of the four high-speed switches to establish the first mode I and the second mode II.(See Col. 3, lines 25-60.)
Nagumo does not discloses:
and a control end, wherein the control end is connected to the controller, and the controller (P) controls the connection and disconnection between the connection end I and the connection end II by outputting high or low level to the control end; and connection ends I of the switch I (K1) and the switch II (K2) are connected in parallel to the terminal I (1), connection ends II of the switch I (K1) and the switch III (K3) are connected in parallel to the terminal III (3), connection ends II of the switch II (K2) and the switch IV (K4) are connected in parallel to the terminal IV (4), and connection ends of the switch III (K3) and the switch IV (K4) are connected in parallel to the terminal II (2),(See Fig. 3a, and arrangement of switches Q1-Q4) the method further comprising:
In related art Ying discloses:
and a control end, wherein the control end is connected to the controller, and the controller (P) controls the connection and disconnection between the connection end I and the connection end II by outputting high or low level to the control end; and connection ends I of the switch I (K1) and the switch II (K2) are connected in parallel to the terminal I (1), connection ends II of the switch I (K1) and the switch III (K3) are connected in parallel to the terminal III (3), connection ends II of the switch II (K2) and the switch IV (K4) are connected in parallel to the terminal IV (4), and connection ends of the switch III (K3) and the switch IV (K4) are connected in parallel to the terminal II (2),(See Fig. 3a, and arrangement of switches Q1-Q4) the method further comprising:.([0075])
Ying discloses that the recited arrangement provides the benefit of allowing the switching of the H-Bridge to be done fast. As such, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Nagumo in view of Ying’s teachings to include the control end connection for the obvious benefit of enhanced switching speed. As such, the features of claim 2 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7.
Nagumo Discloses Figs. 3a/b:
The device for prolonging the service life of a ceramic electric heating body under a direct-current power supply condition according to claim 6, wherein: the forward-reverse inverting circuit comprises four high-speed switch elements switch I (K1), switch II (K2), switch III (K3) and switch IV (K4)(Q1-Q4) and corresponding connection conductive wires (Q1-Q4 having corresponding connection wires), wherein each high-speed switch element comprises a connection end I,
Nagumo does not discloses:
a connection end II and a control end, wherein the control end is connected to the controller (P), wherein the controller (P) is configured to control the connection and disconnection between the connection end I and the connection end II by outputting high or low level to the control end.
In related art Ying discloses:
a connection end II and a control end, wherein the control end is connected to the controller (P), wherein the controller (P) is configured to control the connection and disconnection between the connection end I and the connection end II by outputting high or low level to the control end.([0075])
Ying discloses that the recited arrangement provides the benefit of allowing the switching of the H-Bridge to be done fast. As such, it would have been obvious to modify the device of Nagumo in view of Ying’s teachings to include the control end connection for the obvious benefit of enhanced switching speed. As such, the features of claim 7 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8.
Nagumo Discloses Figs. 3a/b:
The device for prolonging the service life of a ceramic electric heating body under a direct-current power supply condition according to claim 7, wherein connection ends I of the switch I (K1)and the switch II (K2) are connected in parallel to the terminal I (1), connection ends II of the switch I (K1) and the switch III (K3) are connected in parallel to the terminal III (3), connection ends II of the switch II (K2) and the switch IV (K4) are connected in parallel to the terminal IV (4), and connection ends of the switch III (K3) and the switch IV (K4) are connected in parallel to the terminal II (2)(see Figs. 3a, switches Q1-Q4 are connected to each other in parallel).
Conclusion
/ROBERT G BACHNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898