Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendment of November 6, 2025 has been received and entered.. With the entry of the amendment, claims 2-3, 5-7 and 13 are canceled, claim 10 is withdrawn, and claims 1, 4, 8-9 and 11-12, and new claims 14-19 are pending for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on July 10, 2024 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 10, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17, this claim depends from claim 15 as worded, and lacks antecedent basis for “the jig” and “the plurality of objects”. It appears that the claim was actually intended to depend from claim 16, which supplies antecedent basis for “the jig” and “the plurality of objects”. For the purpose of examination, the claim is treated as depending from claim 16 for proper antecedent basis, however, applicant should clarify what is intended, without adding new matter.
Claim 18, “the cooling medium” lacks antecedent basis. For the purpose of examination, it has been treated as providing a cooling using dry ice. However, applicant should clarify what is intended, without adding new matter.
Claim 19, “suppresses an excessive increase in temperature of the top layer” is confusing and indefinite as to how much increase is “excessive”. For the purpose of examination, working to help keep the temperature in the of the top layer not higher than 450 degrees C is understood to meet the claim requirements, however, applicant should clarify what is intended, without adding new matter.
Claim Objections
The objection to claim 1 because in claim 1 at line 7, a comma should be provided after “solvent” is withdrawn due to the amendment of April 25, 2025 providing this clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-9, 11-12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/229406 (hereinafter ‘406) in view of Japan 2011-117012 (hereinafter ‘012, used with document and translation as provided with the IDS of April 12, 2023) and Hanson et al (US 2018/0195160), and (1) EITHER Burd et al (US 2014/0255158) OR Japan 2001-349201 (hereinafter ‘201) and (2) EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai, et a “Microstructure and phase stability of suspension high velocity oxy-fuel sprayed yttria stabilised zirconia coatings from aqueous and ethanol based suspensions” (hereinafter Bai article).
***Please Note: Bianchi et al (US 2021/0148238), the US national stage application of ‘406, is used as a translation of ‘406, so paragraph citations are to Bianchi. ***
Claims 1, 8, 19: ‘406 teaches a method of applying coating to a gas turbine engine part/member (note 0054, 0001). The method includes a step of forming a bond coat layer on an alloy base material of an object (note 0054-0055). The bond coat layer can be applied by thermal spraying (note HVOF, APS, LPPS, thermal spraying methods) (note 0055, 0061-0062, including noting HVOF which is used for present claim 9). Thereafter a top coat layer is formed on the bond coat (note 0057-0058). The top coat applied to the bond coat can be considered as a “thermal barrier coating” (where the top coat would be considered a top layer as it would be at least a top layer until further coating applied, and also because it is above the lower bond layer, and where the thermal barrier coating top coat can be made from yttriated zirconia with 7-8 mass% yttria (so considered yttria stabilized zirconia, as desired by claim 8)) (note 0058). Alternatively, the top coat can be considered as CMAS composite protection layer 22 (in figure 2A) made containing Gd2Zr2O7 (as desired by present claim 8), and where the composite protective layer has good thermal insulation properties, and so can also be considered as a thermal barrier layer giving a “thermal barrier coating” also comprising the bond coat (note 0047, 0050, 0057), and would be a top layer until further coating applied. Either the “thermal barrier coating” layer or the composite protection layer can be applied by thermal spraying, such as by plasma spraying methods or HVSFS (also known as suspension HVOF/S-HVOF) (note 0059-0065, which would be suspension high velocity oxygen fuel spraying). When applying the coatings by the S-HVOF method, this process would provide thermal spraying a suspension of liquid (solvent) containing ceramic powder (the material of the coating) to be applied by S-HVOF, given the ceramic material and the suspension for the S-HVOF, the ceramic would need to be a powder that is dispersed in solvent to provide for the suspension (note 0058-0060, 0065, 0050) and as well, note 0067, where a suspension used for thermal spraying (here plasma) can be provided for ceramic powder in liquid (solvent) suspension.
(A) ‘406 does not provide heating of the top coat features as claimed. However, ‘012 teaches providing a thermal barrier coating on a heat resistant alloy substrate (note 0001, 0005, note use for component of a gas turbine engine), where a bond coat is formed on the substrate (note 0005, 0015), and a top coat layer is formed on the bond coat using thermal spraying (note 0005, 0011, top coat of thermal barrier, with use of a thermal spray method described, with example of plasma spraying, note 0016) of a ceramic powder (0012, and note yttria stabilized zirconia, 0015), where the top coat layer temperature is maintained at a temperature of 450 degrees C or less during forming of the top coat layer (note 0005, 0018, claim 1), and where before spraying, the article can be preheated to 300 degrees C, indicating a lower temperature of at least 300 degree C would be suggested (note 0024), where the heating provides improved adhesion with still allowing desired pores (note 0011). Furthermore, ‘012 gives an example (Example 2) where the surface temperature was 450 degrees C at the end of coating (note 0025, Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘406 to provide the heating of the top layer while thermal spraying to an optimized temperature of between 300-450 degrees C, where this optimized temperature would be in the range of not lower than 410 degrees C and not higher than 450 degrees C as suggested by ‘012 with an expectation of providing a desirably adhered and porous thermal barrier coating, since both references indicate applying a bond coat to a gas turbine substrate alloy, and then applying a thermal barrier coating by thermal spraying, where ‘012 would indicate the benefits of applying the thermal barrier coating while heating in the range of 300-450 degrees C, and noting how temperature can be 450 degrees C at the end of coating as discussed above. Furthermore, as to the specific range claimed, it would have been obvious to optimize within the 300-450 degree C range, giving a value in the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Note that while applicant provides test results in the specification, the test results are at 413 degrees C, 477 degrees C , 586 degrees C, and 678 degrees C. No test results are shown below 410 degrees C to indicate that a critical range is 410 to 450 degrees C, and in fact, the specification indicates that a temperature not higher than 400 degrees C (outside the claimed range) is preferrable (note 0035 of the specification as filed). As well, no tests with different coating thicknesses, coating materials, etc. is made (where the claims as worded would allow such changes). Therefore, a showing a criticality commensurate in scope with what is claimed has not been made (note MPEP 716.02(d)).
Furthermore, as to the base material being plate shaped, this would be understood to be suggested by ‘406 and ‘012, since ‘406 shows the coating being applied to simply a flat rectangular shape (note figures 3-6, substrates 31, 51, 71, 91, 0066, 0069, 0072, 0075), which can thus be considered a plate-shaped member, and ‘012 also shows that the top coating has been applied to simply a flat rectangular shape with bond coat (note figure 2, substrate/bond coat at 131A for testing, note 0028), therefore it would have either been understood that the heat resistant alloy base material/substrate would either be in the form of a plate or predictably and acceptably in the form of a plate from the shown surfaces for use.
Optionally, further in view of Bai article: ‘406 as noted above, describes using HVSFS/suspension-HVOF spraying for coating the top coat. Specifically as to this process providing thermal spraying a suspension containing ceramic powder by HVOF spraying, Bai article describes providing a coating using suspension HVOF (which would be a high velocity flame spraying), where to provide the coating, a liquid suspension containing ceramic powder (yttria stabilized zirconia) (which would be a dispersion in a solvent) is provided to a thermal spray gun (SHVOF torch) to provide the thermal spraying by SHVOF (note the abstract, figure 2, page 1879, Table 1), where SHVOF understood to be thermal spraying (noting HVOF as thermal spraying, which would include modified HVOF with suspension, note page 1878).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘406 in view of ‘012 to specifically provide forming the top coat layer by thermal spraying a suspension of ceramic powder in liquid by S-HVOF as suggested by Bai article with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since ‘406 indicates using suspension HVOF for coating, and Bai article indicates how suspension HVOF can be provided by thermal spraying a suspension/dispersion of ceramic powder in liquid/solvent by HVOF spraying.
Additionally, as to the use of the base material in the form of a plate shaped member, Bai article describes how, at least for testing, a substrate/base material in the form of a plate shaped member (stainless steel substrate of dimensions 60 x 25 x 2mm3, so giving a flat plate) can be used onto which coatings are sprayed (note section 2.1, page 1879). Therefore, it would further have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘406 in view of ‘012 and Bai article to specifically use a plate shaped substrate with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, because ‘406 is going to apply the thermal barrier coating onto a base material/substrate, and Bai article indicates how plate shaped members can be predictably and acceptably thermal sprayed by S-HOVF for test samples, for example.
(B) As to the base material having a plurality of holes opened in a surface of the base material, and the step of forming the bond coat layer include ejecting a gas from the plurality of holes by injecting the gas from a cooling nozzle located on an opposite side of the plate shaped member/base material from a thermal spray gun onto a surface opposite to the surface on which the bond coat is formed, and forming the top coat layer comprises controlling the temperature by ejecting a gas from the plurality of holes by injecting the gas from a cooling nozzle located on an opposite side of the plate shaped member/base material onto a surface opposite to the surface on which the top coat is formed,
‘406 indicates that the base material/product can be a gas turbine engine part, such as blades, nozzle vanes, high pressure turbine rings and combustion chamber walls (note 0056). ‘012 further notes that the coating can be applied to gas turbine components such as blades, where the blades have passages for internal cooling, where cooling provided during the coating by flowing a cooling gas through the passage (note 0019). When used, Bai article also notes cooling the substrate with compressed air during spraying (page 1880, first column).
Hanson further notes how gas turbine parts (components) can have cooling holes with a plurality of holes opened in a surface of the part/base material, where the holes can be such that cooling fluid can flow therethrough during operation of the component, which can be a turbomachine blade, nozzle, etc. (note 0016, figure 2), where a thermal barrier coating is also provided on the parts by thermal spraying (note oo11), and there would be flow paths running through the inside of the component through which the air/gas passes to the outside for cooling (note 0016), where air is forced through the holes during thermal spraying coating (note 0002, 0003, 0011, 0012), where forcing air through the holes during coating helps prevent blockage of the holes, and also can provide cooling during the thermal spray coating (note 0012, 0013), where coating can include HVOF processes and other thermal spray processes, and can apply bond coating and other thermal barrier coating materials (note 0020, 0015), where it is described that various gases can be forced through including air or other gas (note 0017), where air can be forced though a controlled subset of holes during application of the coating material (note 0020), and airflow stopped after coating material applied (note 0021), and selective airflow helps prevent overcooling (note 0013). The gas/air that passes through the cooling holes during the spraying can be provided from outlet apertures 58 (which can be considered as acting as nozzles with the outlet of the apertures for flowing gas) that can be located on an opposite side of the base material from a thermal spray gun (or the surface with the holes opened up) to the surface of the base material (note figure 2, where outlets 58 can be provided to force air inside the component (so contacting passages/surface opposite to the surface of spray gun/applicator 72 and opposite to the surface of the base material on which holes exit and coating applied, note figure 2, where outlet 58 can be on the inside surface of the component 14 and air/gas exits 58 to the inside surface/passage of component 14 and then passes out holes 16, 16B, etc., note 0020, 0022, so the nozzles would be on an opposite side of the base material from the thermal spray gun or at the least be suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to be on the opposite side with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, as this opposite area is where the gas is desired to be provided, to give the flow out of the holes). Hanson would note that the coating system can first apply a metallic bondcoat and then apply a thermal barrier coating (top coat) to the component while airflow system 20 forces air through one or more subsets of cooling holes 16 (where it is desired to control the airflow for the bondcoaat application and the thermal barrier coating application, indicating airflow provided during both processes), where the bondcoat can be applied by HVOF or APS (thermal spraying processes), for example (0020).
Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘046 in view of ‘012, EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article to further provide that the base material has a plurality of holes opened in a surface of the base material, and the step of forming (1) the bond coat layer comprises ejecting a gas from the plurality of holes by injecting the gas from a cooling nozzle located on an opposite side of the base material/plate shaped member from a thermal spray gun onto a surface opposite the surface on which the bond coat is formed and (2) forming the top coat layer comprises controlling the temperature by ejecting a gas from the plurality of holes by injecting the gas from a cooling nozzle located on an opposite side of the base material/plate shaped member onto a surface opposite to the surface on which the top coat is formed as suggested by Hanson with an expectation of providing a desirable turbine product, since ‘046 indicates coating turbine components such as blades, ‘012 indicates how such blades can have internal passageways that can be cooled with gas during spraying, and Hanson describes how such blades can also have external cooling holes opened in a surface of the blade/base material where cooling gas desirably passes out of the holes to provide desired cooling in use of the blade, and where it is also desired to provide thermal barrier coating systems (including bond and top coat) on such blades by thermal spraying including HVOF processes (of bond coat, followed by top coat), and where it is desired to prevent blockage the holes during coating, which is provided by controlled passage of air/gas through inside passages of the blade and out the holes during the thermal spraying, and where this also acts to control the temperature of the component during the thermal spraying (since indicated as needing to be controlled as to the amount of cooling provided), where since ‘012 also wants cooling of the component with gas passage, it would have been obvious to optimize conditions to get desired cooling, and Hanson further indicates to use a cooling nozzle (or at least suggests that such a nozzle can be used with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, given the outlet hole 58 described which would be considered a nozzle or at least give nozzle like action) located on an opposite side of the base material from a thermal spray gun/surface with the holes opened and the surface with the holes where coating applied. Furthermore, when using a base material of a plate shaped member, it would have been obvious to provide the holes opening in a surface of the plate shaped member, such that gas is ejected from the cooling nozzle (which would be located on an opposite side of the plate shaped member than a thermal spray gun) and provided/injected onto an opposite surface of the plate shaped member (opposite to the thermal spray gun, for example, or surface where bond and top coating applied) and passes out of the cooling holes in the base material during the applying of the bond and top coating layer to provide the desired flow effect described by Hanson to prevent blockage, and the base material/plate shaped member would be suggested to have such holes for cooling and positioning for a substrate as discussed above, and further even if used for testing would have the same holes so that accurate testing to what is intended for the substrate can be performed. Furthermore, for claim 19, the ejecting of the gas from the cooling holes during forming the top layer is understood to suppress and excessive increase in temperature of the top coat layer, since the desire is to maintain the top coat temperature to 450 degrees C or less, and the cooling gas would help provide desired cooling to control temperature.
(C) further as to the diameter of the plurality of holes being not less than 0.533 mm,
(C)(1) Using Burd, Burd further notes how gas turbine engine parts, including blades, vanes, exhaust duct liners, etc. can be provided with cooling holes that communicate with internal passageways, where cooling air enters the internal passageway and exits through the cooling holes (22) to cool the outer surface through film cooling from the air that exits the cooling holes (note 0034, 0035), where the surface with the cooling holes 22 can be coated with a thermal barrier coating, including a bond coat and top coat of ceramic (note 0036, figure 2), where Burd describes how gas can pass through the interior and out the holes during a coating application with a thermal (plasma) spray system of the top coat to prevent or minimize adhesion in the air path of the coating holes (note 0040-0042, figures 3, 7). Burd describes that the diameter of the cooling holes can conventionally be approximately 0.5 to 3.2 mm, overlapping the claimed range (note 0035).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘046 in view of ‘012 and Hanson, EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article to provide that the plurality of holes have diameters of approximately 0,5 to 3.2 mm, as suggested by Burd with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since Hanson also describes providing gas through holes, and Burd indicates that in a similar system the holes can be approximately 0.5 to 3.2 mm in diameter. It would have been obvious to optimize from this range, giving a value in the claimed range. Note In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
(C)(2) Using ‘201, ‘201 further notes how gas turbine engine parts, of gas turbine blades, can be provided with cooling holes that communicate with internal flow paths 3, where air exits through the cooling holes (4) to form a cooling film on the outer surface of the blade (note figure 1, 0001-0003), where the surface of the blade with the cooling holes 4 can be coated with a thermal barrier coating (note 0002, 0003, 0023, figure 1), including a bond coat (MCrAlY coating considered a bond coat) and top coat of ceramic applied by thermal (plasma) spraying (note 0023), where it is desired not to block the cooling holes with the coating application (note 0008). ‘201 describes that the diameter of the cooling holes can conventionally be 0.8 to 1.2 mm, in the claimed range (note 0003), with examples at 1.0 mm (in the claimed range) (note 0020) or 0.8 to 0.9 mm (in the claimed range) (note 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘046 in view of ‘012 and Hanson, EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article to provide that the plurality of holes have diameters of 0.8 to 1.2 mm, such as 1.0 mm or 0.8-0.9 mm, all in the claimed range, as suggested by ‘201 with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since Hanson describes a system for coating turbine parts including blades that have cooling holes with no limit as to cooling hole size, and ‘201 indicates that in a similar system for turbine parts of turbine blades to be provided with thermal barrier coating systems, the holes in the turbine blade can have diameters of 0.8 to 1.2 mm, such as 1.0 mm or 0.8-0.9 mm, all in the claimed range, giving suggested diameters to use. Additionally, when ’201 used, it further describes and suggests how coating can be provided, at least for testing, on a plate shaped member with a plurality of cooling holes (note 0020 with the flat plate with a plurality of cooling holes used for the substrate), giving a further suggestion to apply the coating to a plate shaped member. Furthermore, when using a base material of a plate shaped member, it would have been obvious to provide the holes opening in a surface of the plate shaped member, such that gas is ejected from the cooling nozzle (which would be located on an opposite side of the plate shaped member than a thermal spray gun) and provided/injected onto an opposite surface of the plate shaped member (opposite to the thermal spray gun, for example, or surface where bond and top coating applied) and passes out of the cooling holes in the base material during the applying of the bond and top coating layer to provide the desired flow effect described by Hanson to prevent blockage, and the base material/plate shaped member would be suggested to have such holes for cooling and positioning for a substrate as discussed above, and further even if used for testing would have the same holes so that accurate testing to what is intended for the substrate can be performed.
Claim 9: as to forming the bond coat layer by HVOF, this would have been suggested by ‘406 (note 0055 with HVOF, high velocity oxygen fuel spraying, 0062), and Hanson also notes this (note 0020).
Claims 11, 12: as to no masking pin being inserted into the plurality of holes during formation of the bond coat layer and top coat layer, Hanson provides flowing air through holes during the coating (note 0020), and does not require a masking pin inserted in the holes (where even if only a subset of holes have gas flowing through a masking pin is not required as described, and also one or more subsets of holes can be provided with air forced through which would allow all subsets to be used) (note 0020).
Claims 1, 8-9, 11-12 and 19 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/229406 (hereinafter ‘406) in view of Japan 2011-117012 (hereinafter ‘012, used with document and translation as provided with the IDS of April 12, 2023), Hanson et al (US 2018/0195160), and Matsumoto et al (US 2005/0129972), EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai, et a “Microstructure and phase stability of suspension high velocity oxy-fuel sprayed yttria stabilised zirconia coatings from aqueous and ethanol based suspensions” (hereinafter Bai article).
***Please Note: Bianchi et al (US 2021/0148238), the US national stage application of ‘406, is used as a translation of ‘406, so paragraph citations are to Bianchi. ***
Claims 1, 8, 19: ‘406 teaches a method of applying coating to a gas turbine engine part/member (note 0054, 0001). The method includes a step of forming a bond coat layer on an alloy base material of an object (note 0054-0055). The bond coat layer can be applied by thermal spraying (note HVOF, APS, LPPS, thermal spraying methods) (note 0055, 0061-0062, including noting HVOF which is used for present claim 9). Thereafter a top coat layer is formed on the bond coat (note 0057-0058). The top coat applied to the bond coat can be considered as a “thermal barrier coating” (where the top coat would be considered a top layer as it would be at least a top layer until further coating applied, and also because it is above the lower bond layer, and where the thermal barrier coating top coat can be made from yttriated zirconia with 7-8 mass% yttria (so considered yttria stabilized zirconia, as desired by claim 8)) (note 0058). Alternatively, the top coat can be considered as CMAS composite protection layer 22 (in figure 2A) made containing Gd2Zr2O7 (as desired by present claim 8), and where the composite protective layer has good thermal insulation properties, and so can also be considered as a thermal barrier layer giving a “thermal barrier coating” also comprising the bond coat (note 0047, 0050, 0057), and would be a top layer until further coating applied. Either the “thermal barrier coating” layer or the composite protection layer can be applied by thermal spraying, such as by plasma spraying methods or HVSFS (also known as suspension HVOF/S-HVOF) (note 0059-0065, which would be suspension high velocity oxygen fuel spraying). When applying the coatings by the S-HVOF method, this process would provide thermal spraying a suspension of liquid (solvent) containing ceramic powder (the material of the coating) to be applied by S-HVOF, given the ceramic material and the suspension for the S-HVOF, the ceramic would need to be a powder that is dispersed in solvent to provide for the suspension (note 0058-0060, 0065, 0050) and as well, note 0067, where a suspension used for thermal spraying (here plasma) can be provided for ceramic powder in liquid (solvent) suspension.
(A) ‘406 does not provide heating of the top coat features as claimed. However, ‘012 teaches providing a thermal barrier coating on a heat resistant alloy substrate (note 0001, 0005, note use for component of a gas turbine engine), where a bond coat is formed on the substrate (note 0005, 0015), and a top coat layer is formed on the bond coat using thermal spraying (note 0005, 0011, top coat of thermal barrier, with use of a thermal spray method described, with example of plasma spraying, note 0016) of a ceramic powder (0012, and note yttria stabilized zirconia, 0015), where the top coat layer temperature is maintained at a temperature of 450 degrees C or less during forming of the top coat layer (note 0005, 0018, claim 1), and where before spraying, the article can be preheated to 300 degrees C, indicating a lower temperature of at least 300 degree C would be suggested (note 0024), where the heating provides improved adhesion with still allowing desired pores (note 0011). Furthermore, ‘012 gives an example (Example 2) where the surface temperature was 450 degrees C at the end of coating (note 0025, Table 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘406 to provide the heating of the top layer while thermal spraying to an optimized temperature of between 300-450 degrees C, where this optimized temperature would be in the range of not lower than 410 degrees C and not higher than 450 degrees C as suggested by ‘012 with an expectation of providing a desirably adhered and porous thermal barrier coating, since both references indicate applying a bond coat to a gas turbine substrate alloy, and then applying a thermal barrier coating by thermal spraying, where ‘012 would indicate the benefits of applying the thermal barrier coating while heating in the range of 300-450 degrees C, and noting how temperature can be 450 degrees C at the end of coating as discussed above. Furthermore, as to the specific range claimed, it would have been obvious to optimize within the 300-450 degree C range, giving a value in the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Note that while applicant provides test results in the specification, the test results are at 413 degrees C, 477 degrees C , 586 degrees C, and 678 degrees C. No test results are shown below 410 degrees C to indicate that a critical range is 410 to 450 degrees C, and in fact, the specification indicates that a temperature not higher than 400 degrees C (outside the claimed range) is preferrable (note 0035 of the specification as filed). As well, no tests with different coating thicknesses, coating materials, etc. is made (where the claims as worded would allow such changes). Therefore, a showing a criticality commensurate in scope with what is claimed has not been made (note MPEP 716.02(d)).
Optionally, further in view of Bai article: ‘406 as noted above, describes using HVSFS/suspension-HVOF spraying for coating the top coat. Specifically as to this process providing thermal spraying a suspension containing ceramic powder by HVOF spraying, Bai article describes providing a coating using suspension HVOF (which would be a high velocity flame spraying), where to provide the coating, a liquid suspension containing ceramic powder (yttria stabilized zirconia) (which would be a dispersion in a solvent) is provided to a thermal spray gun (SHVOF torch) to provide the thermal spraying by SHVOF (note the abstract, figure 2, page 1879, Table 1), where SHVOF understood to be thermal spraying (noting HVOF as thermal spraying, which would include modified HVOF with suspension, note page 1878).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘406 in view of ‘012 to specifically provide forming the top coat layer by thermal spraying a suspension of ceramic powder in liquid by S-HVOF as suggested by Bai article with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since ‘406 indicates using suspension HVOF for coating, and Bai article indicates how suspension HVOF can be provided by thermal spraying a suspension/dispersion of ceramic powder in liquid/solvent by HVOF spraying.
(B) As to the base material having a plurality of holes opened in a surface of the base material, and the step of forming the bond coat layer include ejecting a gas from the plurality of holes by injecting the gas from a cooling nozzle located on an opposite side of the base material from a thermal spray gun onto a surface opposite to the surface on which the bond coat is formed, and forming the top coat layer comprises controlling the temperature by ejecting a gas from the plurality of holes by injecting the gas from a cooling nozzle located on an opposite side of the base material onto a surface opposite to the surface on which the top coat is formed,
‘406 indicates that the base material/product can be a gas turbine engine part, such as blades, nozzle vanes, high pressure turbine rings and combustion chamber walls (note 0056). ‘012 further notes that the coating can be applied to gas turbine components such as blades, where the blades have passages for internal cooling, where cooling provided during the coating by flowing a cooling gas through the passage (note 0019). When used, Bai article also notes cooling the substrate with compressed air during spraying (page 1880, first column).
Hanson further notes how gas turbine parts (components) can have cooling holes with a plurality of holes opened in a surface of the part/base material, where the holes can be such that cooling fluid can flow therethrough during operation of the component, which can a turbomachine blade, nozzle, etc. (note 0016, figure 2), where a thermal barrier coating is also provided on the parts by thermal spraying (note oo11), and there would be flow paths running through the inside of the component through which the air/gas passes to the outside for cooling (note 0016), where air is forced through the holes during thermal spraying coating (note 0002, 0003, 0011, 0012), where forcing air through the holes during coating helps prevent blockage of the holes, and also can provide cooling during the thermal spray coating (note 0012, 0013), where coating can include HVOF processes and other thermal spray processes, and can apply bond coating and other thermal barrier coating materials (note 0020, 0015), where it is described that various gases can be forced through including air or other gas (note 0017), where air can be forced though a controlled subset of holes during application of the coating material (note 0020), and airflow stopped after coating material applied (note 0021), and selective airflow helps prevent overcooling (note 0013). The gas/air that passes through the cooling holes during the spraying can be provided from outlet apertures 58 (which can be considered as acting as nozzles with the outlet of the apertures for flowing gas) that can be located on an opposite side of the base material from a thermal spray gun (or the surface with the holes opened up) to the surface of the base material (note figure 2, where outlets 58 can be provided to force air inside the component (so contacting passages/surface opposite to the surface of spray gun/applicator 72 and opposite to the surface of the base material on which holes exit and coating applied, note figure 2, where outlet 58 can be on the inside surface of the component 14 and air/gas exits 58 to the inside surface/passage of component 14 and then passes out holes 16, 16B, etc., note 0020, 0022, so the nozzles would be on an opposite side of the base material from the thermal spray gun or at the least be suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to be on the opposite side with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, as this opposite area is where the gas is desired to be provided, to give the flow out of the holes). Hanson would note that the coating system can first apply a metallic bondcoat and then apply a thermal barrier coating (top coat) to the component while airflow system 20 forces air through one or more subsets of cooling holes 16 (where it is desired to control the airflow for the bondcoaat application and the thermal barrier coating application, indicating airflow provided during both processes), where the bondcoat can be applied by HVOF or APS (thermal spraying processes), for example (0020).
Therefore, it further would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘046 in view of ‘012, EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article to further provide that the base material has a plurality of holes opened in a surface of the base material, and the step of forming (1) the bond coat layer comprises ejecting a gas from the plurality of holes by injecting the gas from a cooling nozzle located on an opposite side of the base material from a thermal spray gun onto a surface opposite the surface on which the bond coat is formed and (2) forming the top coat layer comprises controlling the temperature by ejecting a gas from the plurality of holes by injecting the gas from a cooling nozzle located on an opposite side of the base material onto a surface opposite to the surface on which the top coat is formed as suggested by Hanson with an expectation of providing a desirable turbine product, since ‘046 indicates coating turbine components such as blades, ‘012 indicates how such blades can have internal passageways that can be cooled with gas during spraying, and Hanson describes how such blades can also have external cooling holes opened in a surface of the blade/base material where cooling gas desirably passes out of the holes to provide desired cooling in use of the blade, and where it is also desired to provide thermal barrier coating systems (including bond and top coat) on such blades by thermal spraying including HVOF processes (of bond coat, followed by top coat), and where it is desired to prevent blockage the holes during coating, which is provided by controlled passage of air/gas through inside passages of the blade and out the holes during the thermal spraying, and where this also acts to control the temperature of the component during the thermal spraying (since indicated as needing to be controlled as to the amount of cooling provided), where since ‘012 also wants cooling of the component with gas passage, it would have been obvious to optimize conditions to get desired cooling, and Hanson further indicates to use a cooling nozzle (or at least suggests that such a nozzle can be used with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, given the outlet hole 58 described which would be considered a nozzle or at least give nozzle like action) located on an opposite side of the base material from a thermal spray gun/surface with the holes opened and the surface with the holes where coating applied. Furthermore, for claim 19, the ejecting of the gas from the cooling holes during forming the top layer is understood to suppress and excessive increase in temperature of the top coat layer, since the desire is to maintain the top coat temperature to 450 degrees C or less, and the cooling gas would help provide desired cooling to control temperature.
(C) Furthermore, as to the diameter of the plurality of holes being not less than 0.533 mm, and the base material being plate shaped, ‘406 shows the coating being applied to simply a flat rectangular shape (note figures 3-6, substrates 31, 51, 71, 91, 0066, 0069, 0072, 0075), and ‘012 also shows that the top coating has been applied to simply a flat rectangular shape with bond coat (note figure 2, substrate/bond coat at 131A for testing, note 0028), but they do not specifically state that the base member is plate shaped. However,
Matsumoto notes providing thermal barrier coatings on metal substrates which can be used for gas turbine parts (note 0002), and notes the turbine parts can have cooling holes on the surface and be turbine blades (note 0017), where the cooling holes can have a diameter of about 1 mm, in the claimed range, and where the cooling gas is ejected from the inside of the blade (note 0017) and where it is described that the substrate being sprayed can be super alloys and heat resisting alloys (note 0053), and where the substrate being coated can be plate shaped (note 0059, 0069). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘406 in view of ‘012, Hanson, EITHER alone or further in view of Bai article to specifically use a plate shaped member as the base material/substrate and provide that the cooling holes have a diameter of about 1 mm as suggested by Matsumoto with an expectation of providing a desirably treated article, since ‘406 does not specifically limit the substrate, and Hanson indicates use of cooling holes in the turbine part substrate but does not limit the hole size, and Matsumoto indicates that for thermal barrier coating similar gas turbine parts, the substrate can be a plate shaped member and cooling holes can be provided for the gas turbine parts with a diameter of about 1 mm, in the claimed rage. Furthermore, when using a base material of a plate shaped member, it would have been obvious to provide the holes opening in a surface of the plate shaped member, such that gas is ejected from the cooling nozzle (which would be located on an opposite side of the plate shaped member than a thermal spray gun) and provided/injected onto an opposite surface of the plate shaped member (opposite to the thermal spray gun, for example, or surface where bond and top coating applied) and passes out of the cooling holes in the base material during the applying of the bond and top coating layer to provide the desired flow effect described by Hanson to prevent blockage, and the base material/plate shaped member would be suggested to have such holes for cooling and positioning for a substrate as discussed above, and further even if used for testing would have the same holes so that accurate testing to what is intended for the substrate can be performed.
Claim 9: as to forming the bond coat layer by HVOF, this would have been suggested by ‘406 (note 0055 with HVOF, high velocity oxygen fuel spraying, 0062), and Hanson also notes this (note 0020).
Claims 11, 12: as to no masking pin being inserted into the plurality of holes during formation of the bond coat layer and top coat layer, Hanson provides flowing air through holes during the coating (note 0020), and does not require a masking pin inserted in the holes (where even if only a subset of holes have gas flowing through a masking pin is not required as described, and also one or more subsets of holes can be provided with air forced through which would allow all subsets to be used) (note 0020).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (I) ‘046 in view of ‘012 and Hanson, (1) EITHER Burd OR ‘201, and (2)EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article OR (II) ‘046 in view of ‘012, Hanson, Matsumoto, and EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article as applied to claims 1, 8-9, 11-12, and 19 respectively, above, and further in view of FR 3029814 (hereinafter ‘814).
Claim 4: As to the gas being compressed air compressed by a compressor, ‘012 notes that cooling medium can be provided with coating applied to gas turbine components such as blades with passages for internal cooling, where cooling provided during the coating by flowing a cooling gas through the passage (note 0019). Hanson notes that air can be used for the gas that flows through the part and out the cooling holes during coating, where the air is forced out and can be ambient or treated air (note 0017). When used, Bai article also notes cooling the substrate with compressed air during spraying (page 1880, first column). When used, ‘201 also notes using compressed air for cooling (0003). When used, Burd notes that gas (air) forced out of the holes during coating can be pressurized air (at 10-200 psi, with an example at 100 psi, which is understood to be compressed air) (note 0040-0042).
‘814 notes providing turbine parts with fluid flow passages for cooling (note cooling holes, cooling channels), where cooling air in the form of compressed air from a compressor can pass through the passages (note page 2, translation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify (I) ‘046 in view of ‘012 and Hanson, (1) EITHER Burd OR ‘201, and (2)EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article OR (II) ‘046 in view of ‘012, Hanson, Matsumoto, and EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article to provide the gas for ejecting through the holes in the form of compressed air from a compressor through passages in the turbine component as suggested by ‘814 with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since ‘012 notes how cooling gas for cooling during the spraying can be provided through internal passages, Hanson notes that the gas ejected during coating can be air that is ambient or treated, and act to cool, and ‘814 indicates how when providing cooling gas through internal passages of a turbine component, where cooling holes can be present, it can be conventionally provided a compressed air from a compressor, and therefore gives indication of how air (treated air) can be provided for passing through the cooling holes, giving a suggested gas to use through the holes when coating as indicated by Hanson with an expectation of predictably acceptable results. When using Burd, it would further suggest that compressed air can be used as the gas ejected through the holes during coating, and ‘814 indicates how compressed air can be provided from a compressor for passing through cooling holes, indicating a suggested way to predictably and acceptably get the desired compressed/pressurized air of Burd.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (I) ‘046 in view of ‘012 and Hanson, (1) EITHER Burd OR ‘201, and (2)EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article OR (II) ‘046 in view of ‘012, Hanson, Matsumoto, and EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article as applied to claims 1, 8-9, 11-12, and 19 respectively, above, and further in view of Gupta et al (US 2005/0282032).
Claim 14: As to the surface roughness of the bond coat, ‘406 teaches the use of a bond coat, that can be applied by thermal spraying (note 0054-0056).
Gupta teaches that when applying a bond coat by thermal spraying, over which a ceramic top coat is to be applied by thermal spraying, a desirable surface roughness of the bond coat is at least 10 micrometers Ra to promote adhesion fo the ceramic layer to the bond coat (note 0014-0016).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify (I) ‘046 in view of ‘012 and Hanson, (1) EITHER Burd OR ‘201, and (2)EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article OR (II) ‘046 in view of ‘012, Hanson, Matsumoto, and EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article to provide the bond coat has a surface roughness of at least 10 micrometers Ra (in the claimed range) as suggested by Gupta with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since ‘406 provides for a thermally sprayed bond coat, and a top ceramic coating, and Gupta indicates that when providing such a format, it is desirable for the bond coat to have a surface roughness greater than 10 micrometers Ra to provide adhesion of the ceramic layer to the bond coat.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (I) ‘046 in view of ‘012 and Hanson, (1) EITHER Burd OR ‘201, and (2)EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article OR (II) ‘046 in view of ‘012, Hanson, Matsumoto, and EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article as applied to claims 1, 8-9, 11-12, and 19 respectively, above, and further in view of Cavanagh et al (US 4338360).
Claim 15: As to the angle of spraying for the top coat layer,
Cavanagh teaches providing a bond coat, and then a top ceramic coating on a substrate surface with air flow holes (note figures 3-5, abstract). For the top coat, the thermal spray angle is described as 45 degrees relative to the bond coat surface (which corresponds to the substrate surface) (note figure 5, column 5, lines 10-20), where since the holes have an extension direction of 90 degrees to the substrate surface, the angle difference between an extension direction of a hole and an injection direction of the thermal spray material would be 45 degrees as well, giving an application angle as claimed of 45 degrees, in the claimed range (figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify (I) ‘046 in view of ‘012 and Hanson, (1) EITHER Burd OR ‘201, and (2)EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article OR (II) ‘046 in view of ‘012, Hanson, Matsumoto, and EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article to provide the application angle of 45 degrees, in the range claimed, as suggested by Cavanagh with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since the combined references would suggest providing a thermal spraying of a ceramic over a substrate surface with holes and Cavanagh indicates that when providing similar such spraying, it is conventional to provide an application angle as claimed of 45 degrees, in the claimed range.
Claim 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (I) ‘046 in view of ‘012 and Hanson, (1) EITHER Burd OR ‘201, and (2)EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article OR (II) ‘046 in view of ‘012, Hanson, Matsumoto, and EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article as applied to claims 1, 8-9, 11-12, and 19 respectively, above, and further specifically in view of Bai article, EITHER alone OR further in view of Hazel et al (US 2015/0252464, cited on the PTO-892 of July 22, 2024).
Claim 16-17: As to the sequential spraying of a plurality of the objects attached to a jig (claim 16), where the jig holds the plurality of objects in an annular arrangement, and where the application of the top coat layer includes sequentially thermal spraying the plurality of objects while relatively rotating the objects and the thermal spray gun (claim 17, note claim 17 treated as depending from claim 16 as discussed in the 35 USC 112 rejection above), the cited references above would suggest thermal spraying (so using a thermal spray gun) bond coat and top coat layers (note ‘406, 0055, 0059-0065), for example. ‘406 indicates that gas turbine engine parts can be coated (note 0054).
Bai article describes providing a coating using suspension HVOF (which would be a high velocity flame spraying), where to provide the coating, a liquid suspension containing ceramic powder (yttria stabilized zirconia) is provided to a thermal spray gun (SHVOF torch) to provide the thermal spraying by SHVOF (note the abstract, figure 2, page 1879, Table 1), where SHVOF understood to be thermal spraying (noting HVOF as thermal spraying, which would include modified HVOF with suspension, note page 1878). Bai article notes mounting (attaching) substrates (so understood to be plural) on a carousel (jig) rotating to impart a surface speed to the substrates, with the spray gun/torch mounted in front of the rotating carousel (to be scanned vertically up and down) to form the coating (note pages 1879-1880, section 2.2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify (I) ‘046 in view of ‘012 and Hanson, (1) EITHER Burd OR ‘201, and (2)EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article OR (II) ‘046 in view of ‘012, Hanson, Matsumoto, and EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article to provide forming the top coat layer by providing a jig capable of holding a plurality of objects annularly arranged and forming the top coat layer by sequentially thermal spraying a plurality of the objects attached to a jig, with relatively rotating the plurality of objects and a thermal spray gun as suggested by Bai article with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, as ‘406 wants to provide thermal barrier coating on turbine parts with thermal spray, which would include suspension HVOF, so would use a spray gun for the spraying (noting figure 3, for example, indicates using a spray gun), and Bai article would further indicate that when coating with suspension HVOF, a plurality of objects to be coated can be arranged on a jig and the coating is formed by sequentially spraying the plurality of objects attached to a jig (as in claim 6, since objects would rotate by in turn as the jig rotates), and further it would be understood that the jig capable of holding a plurality of objects annularly arranged (since a rotating carousel shape, so the jig would be at least capable of holding annularly arranged objects, or at the least it would have been obvious that this would be provided to allow each object to face the gun as desired) and forming the top coat layer by sequentially thermal spraying a plurality of the objects attached to a jig, with relatively rotating the plurality of objects and a thermal spray gun (where Bai article shows using a thermal spray gun/torch for suspension HVOF), suggesting a format to also use for the suspension HVOF process, giving the features of claims 16 and 17.
Optionally, further using Hazel: Hazel describes a format for coating parts such as gas turbine engine components (note 0032), including with thermal spraying with a suspension including using a spray gun/torch (note 0032-0033, 0038), where ceramic material can be sprayed (note 0033). Hazel describes sequentially applying the coating by thermal spraying a plurality of objects attached to a jig (turntable) (note figure 4, 0039, 0044, 0046), where the jig holds the plurality of objects in an annular arrangement, and where the application of the top coat layer includes sequentially thermal spraying the plurality of objects while relatively rotating the objects and the thermal spray gun (note figure 4, 0039, 0044, 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify (I) ‘046 in view of ‘012 and Hanson, (1) EITHER Burd OR ‘201, and (2) Bai article OR (II) ‘046 in view of ‘012, Hanson, Matsumoto, and further in view of Bai article to provide the sequential spraying of a plurality of the objects attached to a jig, where the jig holds the plurality of objects in an annular arrangement, and where the application of the top coat layer includes sequentially thermal spraying the plurality of objects while relatively rotating the objects and the thermal spray gun as suggested by Hazel with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since ‘406 would suggest providing a thermal spraying a top coat of ceramic on an object, Bai article indicates providing objects to be coated on a rotating carousel (jig) that faces a spray gun for coating, and Hazel would indicate that when thermal spraying ceramic coatings over similar objects, it is well known to provide the thermal spraying by sequential spraying of a plurality of the objects attached to a jig, where the jig holds the plurality of objects in an annular arrangement, and where the application of the top coat layer includes sequentially thermal spraying the plurality of objects while relatively rotating the objects and the thermal spray gun, which would allow for efficient spraying of multiple objects.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (I) ‘046 in view of ‘012 and Hanson, (1) EITHER Burd OR ‘201, and (2)EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article OR (II) ‘046 in view of ‘012, Hanson, Matsumoto, and EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article as applied to claims 1, 8-9, 11-12, and 19 respectively, above, and further in view of FR 2912072 (hereinafter ‘072, note this reference provided with the PTO-892 of July 22, 2024).
Claim 18: as to the cooling medium/providing cooling using dry ice,
‘072 notes providing cooling a surface while thermal spraying by applying dry ice to the surface while spraying, which helps keep a constant coating/substrate temperature (note pages 1-3 translation, figure 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify (I) ‘046 in view of ‘012 and Hanson, (1) EITHER Burd OR ‘201, and (2)EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article OR (II) ‘046 in view of ‘012, Hanson, Matsumoto, and EITHER alone OR further in view of Bai article to further provide cooling with dry ice as suggested by ‘072 with an expectation of predictably acceptable results, since ‘’012 would indicate how cooling during spraying can be provided, and ‘072 notes how providing cooling with dry ice of the surface helps keep a constant surface/substrate temperature, which would be desired for the maintaining of temperature. Additionally, while ‘072 describes providing dry ice to the front of the coating, this would still provide additional desired cooling as demonstrated by ‘072, or alternatively, the cooling would also be predictably and acceptably provided to the back with the dry ice with an expectation of similar desired cooling, since it is shown that dry ice cools the coating surface, and ‘012 indicates that cooling can be provided from the back surface as well.
Xiang, et al, “Characterisation of micrometre- and nanostructured atmospheric plasma sprayed zirconia-8%yttria thermal barrier coatings”, describes how a substrate onto which thermal barrier coatings are deposited can be in the form of a 50 mm x 30 mm x 3 mm specimen, which is described as plate shaped (note page 594, abstract).
Moertle et al (US 2003/0200752) notes gas turbine engine parts (combustor liners) with cooling holes that can have diameters of 0.25 to 0.35 inch (0.635 mm to 0.889 mm), in the claimed range (note 0020, abstract).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 6, 2025 have been fully considered.
(a) Note the adjustment to the rejections due to the amendments to the claims, including the additional use of references to Gupta, Cavanagh, Hazel and ‘072 due to the newly claimed features. Also note the new 35 USC 112 rejections due to the amendments to the claims.
(b) as to the 35 USC 103 rejections, it is argued that ‘012 would not suggest the newly claimed temperature range of 410-450 degrees C, but rather teach away, and that the data in the specification indicates benefits of this range. The Examiner has reviewed these arguments, however, the rejection is maintained. The range of ‘012 includes 450 degrees C or less as discussed in the rejection above, and therefore would not teach away from a range within this scope. Note MPEP 2123. Furthermore, as discussed in the rejections above, there has been no showing of criticality commensurate in scope with what is claimed.
It is further argued that one would not be suggested to combine the SHVOF of ‘406 with the teachings of ‘012, as the thermal parameters of these fundamentally different processes would not be assumed to be interchangeable, and Hanson’s gas ejection system would not be obviously used for a plate shaped member. The Examiner has reviewed these arguments, however, the rejection is maintained. ‘406 describes spraying processes using APS, HVOF, SPS, SPPS, and SHVOF (note 0059-0065), which can all be considered thermal spraying processes (note the flame spraying in SHVOF). Note Bai article would also indicate SHVOF as thermal spraying as it uses the thermal spraying system of HVOF (note section 1.1 and 2.2). ‘012 generally describes it’s process for “thermal spraying” in general (note 0005), with plasma spraying merely a preferred option (note 0012). Therefore, the process would be understood to apply to thermal spraying in general, including HVOF. As to Hanson not applying to plate shaped members, Hanson describes using articles for turbomachines (note 0011), which is also the case for ‘406 (note 0054 with gas turbine engine parts), and thus even if used for test parts for such machines, it would provide for testing under conditions for use for the desired parts.
It is further argued that the claimed features function synergistically, with preventing clogging and enabling precise temperature control for SHVOF. The Examiner has reviewed these arguments, however, the rejection is maintained. As discussed above, the same features claimed are suggested without a showing of criticality.
As to the new claims, these claims are rejected as discussed in the rejections above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE A BAREFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718