DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 18-20 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
New claims 18-20 are directed to the non-elected invention: a granulate (restricted Group II in the 11/05/2025 requirement for restriction)
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 18-20 withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8, 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soons et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0201551 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Soons et al. teach a process for the production of a urea ammonium sulfate granulate (e.g. granulate of urea product comprising urea and a salt, such as urea ammonium sulfate) [abstract], using a granulator [Fig. 2] and providing a first fluidized bed of a granulate precursor material (e.g. seed particles) in a compartment of the granulator (e.g. granulator inlet for seed particles) (e.g. non-final granulation compartment (2) [para. 0046; 0062], the first fluidized bed continuously moving from a nuclei inlet to an outlet of the compartment (e.g. the granulator is configured to move the particles from the inlet to the outlet) [0046];
wherein a first spraying liquid (1) comprising a urea melt and an aqueous solution of ammonium sulfate (e.g. feed stream of granulation liquid UAS melt or suspension) [0055] is sprayed into the first fluidized bed to produce an intermediate granulate material (e.g. the granulation liquid will be provided in the form of atomized droplets, or as a sprayed film) [0051], the first fluidized bed having a bed temperature below the crystallization temperature of the sprayed mixture (e.g. ammonium sulfate reduces the crystallization temperature of the granulation liquid, typical temperatures for UAS granulation of the granulation liquid are in a range of 118-140° C) [0051];
wherein the intermediate granulate material is subsequently moved to a next compartment (e.g. second granulation compartment) [0057] where it is fluidized to form a second fluidized bed (e.g. fluidized bed granulator) [0057] while a second spraying liquid comprising a urea melt is sprayed into the second fluidized bed (e.g. other liquid stream is a solution comprising urea without salt, typically a homogenous urea liquid comprising no ammonium sulfate) [0025], the second fluidized bed having a bed temperature which is higher than the first fluidized bed and lower than the crystallization temperature of the sprayed second spraying liquid (e.g. temperature of the urea granulation liquid is in a range of 132-140° C) [0051],
the first spraying liquid comprising a mixture of urea ammonium sulfate (e.g. CE3: first non-final liquid in the form of a urea melt having 10% of AS) [0031] in an aqueous solution (e.g. urea is present as a urea liquid containing at most small amounts of water, generally the amount of water will not exceed 10%) [0039], wherein the mixture is considered a eutectic urea ammonium sulfate mixture as confirmed by Applicant (e.g., with about 1 to about 5 wt% water and about 2 to about 15 wt%, e.g. up to about 12 wt% of ammonium sulfate) [Specification, pg. 4, lines 20-24].
In regard to claims 6 and 16, Soons et al. teach the process of claim 1, wherein exhaust air from the granulator is scrubbed using an aqueous solution of sulfuric acid converting ammonium and ammonium cyanate from the exhaust to ammonium sulfate in an aqueous solution, which is collected (e.g. the off-gases and condensates from the UAS-evaporation section containing a high amount of NH3 are preferably transported to a dust-and NH3-washing section. There the NH3 is simply neutralized so as to form AS, i.e., converted by reaction with sulfuric acid to ammonium sulfate) [0049] and said ammonium sulfate in aqueous solution is used to produce said first spraying liquid after adjustment of the ammonium sulfate concentration (e.g. ammonium sulfate from the evaporation section reduces the amount of AS that has to be added separately) [0050].
In regard to claim 8, Soons et al. teach the process according to claim 1, wherein the second spraying liquid is a hypereutectic mixture of a urea melt and at least 15 wt% of ammonium sulfate in an aqueous solution (e.g. CE3: a second non-final liquid in the form of a urea melt having 25% of AS) [0031].
In regard to claim 21, Soons et al. teach the process of claim 1, wherein said eutectic mixture of urea ammonium sulfate in aqueous solution has 1 wt% to 5 wt% water (e.g. urea is present as a urea liquid containing at most small amounts of water, generally the amount of water will not exceed 10%) [0039] and 5 wt% to 12 wt% of ammonium sulfate (e.g. CE3: first non-final liquid in the form of a urea melt having 10% of AS) [0031].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soons et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0201551 A1).
In regard to claims 2-3, Soons et al. teach the process of claim 1, wherein the bed temperature of the second fluidized bed is maintained below the melting temperature of the dried mixture on the granulate precursor material (e.g. typical temperatures for UAS granulation of the granulation liquid are in a range of 118-140° C) (e.g. temperature of the urea granulation liquid is in a range of 132-140° C) [0051]. In this case the bed temperature of the second fluidized bed at least overlaps with sub-melting temperature of the UAS (claim 2) and the bed temperature in the second compartment is 10 - 12°C higher than the bed temperature in the first compartment at values across the range (claim 3). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [See MPEP 2144.05].
In regard to claim 4, Soons et al. teach the process of claim 1, wherein the typical temperatures for UAS granulation of the granulation liquid are in a range of 118-140° C and the temperature of the urea granulation liquid is in a range of 132-140° C) [0051]. While Soons et al. teach the temperatures of the liquid material, the reference does not explicitly teach the temperature of the bed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the bed temperature in the first and second compartment are at values lower than the inlet liquid material temperature disclosed by Soons, within the claimed range. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand evaporative cooling necessarily causes a temperature difference between the inlet material and the bed temperature with bed temperature decreasing due to the evaporation of liquid (e.g. heat is also dissipated by evaporation of water present in the urea melt). Furthermore, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical [See MPEP2144.05 IIA].
In regard to claim 5, Soons et al. teach the process of claim 1, wherein the mean residence time of the granulate precursor material in the second fluidized bed is controlled to produce a granulate having a residual moisture content of at most 0.3 wt% (e.g. up the urea melt finishing metal utilizes urea having up to 1.5% water) (urea concentration is between 95 and 99% by weight) [0044-0045] which overlaps with the claimed range.
In regard to claims 7 and 17, Soons et al. teach the process of claim 6, wherein the aqueous solution of sulfuric acid is utilized in the reaction of sulfuric acid to ammonium sulfate [0049]. Soons does not explicitly disclose wherein the aqueous solution of sulfuric acid has a pH below 5, e.g., below 3. However, any aqueous solution of sulfuric acid in any concentration greater than 0.0.005 M exhibits a pH below 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an aqueous sulfuric acid with a concentration greater than about 0.0049 weight % to achieve a favorable reaction condition with the off-gas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose this predictable solution with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
The rejection of claims 1-8 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments (03/23/2026) to the claims.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/23/2026, with respect to the rejection of the claims based on the teachings of the Soon reference have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant argues (pg. 6, last para.) paragraph [0025] of Soons describes a stream comprising more than 20 wt% of ammonium sulfate and does not disclose a eutectic mixture of urea ammonium sulfate in an aqueous solution. The Soons reference is herein cited as teaching an alternative embodiment (CE3) in which a first non-final liquid is in the form of a urea melt having 10% of AS) [0031] in an aqueous solution (e.g. urea is present as a urea liquid containing at most small amounts of water, generally the amount of water will not exceed 10%) [0039]. The mixture taught by Soons is considered a eutectic urea ammonium sulfate mixture as described by Applicant (e.g., with about 1 to about 5 wt% water and about 2 to about 15 wt%, e.g. up to about 12 wt% of ammonium sulfate) [Specification, pg. 4, lines 20-24].
Applicant argues (pg. 7, 1st para) a eutectic mixture that has a lower crystallization temperature than the crystallization temperature of urea and requires a lower granulation bed temperature which results in a high moisture content. This argument appears to be arguing the use of a eutectic mixture, as required by claim 1, would not result in a urea ammonium sulfate granulate having a residual moisture content of at most 0.3 wt% as required by claim 1. If the amendments to the claims, which require a eutectic mixture, no longer results in a granulate with the moisture properties of claim 5, which appears TO be what Applicant is arguing, claim 5 should be cancelled. Here Soon discloses a urea melt having up to 1.5% water (urea concentration is between 95 and 99% by weight) [0044-0045] which overlaps with the claimed moisture values.
Applicant argues (pg. 7, 2nd para) the granulation temperatures disclosed by Soons relates to the present application’s background art which describes a lower granulation temperatures associated with a eutectic mixture. Soons et al. teach the process of claim 1, wherein the bed temperature of the second fluidized bed is maintained below the melting temperature of the dried mixture on the granulate precursor material (e.g. typical temperatures for UAS granulation of the granulation liquid are in a range of 118-140° C) (e.g. temperature of the urea granulation liquid is in a range of 132-140° C) [0051]. Applicant’s arguments appear to be discouraging the lower melting point achieving by using Soon’s eutectic system as required by the claim(s). A eutectic mixture, by definition, has a melting point lower than those of the constituents. For this reason, Applicant appears to confirm the granulation mixture of Soons is in the form of a eutectic mixture.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A SMITH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731 April 7, 2026