DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8, 16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soons et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0201551 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Soons et al. teach a process for the production of a urea ammonium sulfate granulate (e.g. granulate of urea product comprising urea and a salt, such as urea ammonium sulfate) [abstract], using a granulator [Fig. 2] and providing a first fluidized bed of a granulate precursor material (e.g. seed particles) in a compartment of the granulator (e.g. granulator inlet for seed particles) (e.g. non-final granulation compartment (2) [para. 0046; 0062], the first fluidized bed continuously moving from a nuclei inlet to an outlet of the compartment (e.g. the granulator is configured to move the particles from the inlet to the outlet) [0046];
wherein a first spraying liquid (1) comprising a urea melt and an aqueous solution of ammonium sulfate (e.g. feed stream of granulation liquid UAS melt or suspension) [0055] is sprayed into the first fluidized bed to produce an intermediate granulate material (e.g. the granulation liquid will be provided in the form of atomized droplets, or as a sprayed film) [0051], the first fluidized bed having a bed temperature below the crystallization temperature of the sprayed mixture (e.g. ammonium sulfate reduces the crystallization temperature of the granulation liquid, typical temperatures for UAS granulation of the granulation liquid are in a range of 118-140° C) [0051];
wherein the intermediate granulate material is subsequently moved to a next compartment (e.g. second granulation compartment) [0057] where it is fluidized to form a second fluidized bed (e.g. fluidized bed granulator) [0057] while a second spraying liquid comprising a urea melt is sprayed into the second fluidized bed (e.g. other liquid stream is a solution comprising urea without salt, typically a homogenous urea liquid comprising no ammonium sulfate) [0025], the second fluidized bed having a bed temperature which is higher than the first fluidized bed and lower than the crystallization temperature of the sprayed second spraying liquid (e.g. temperature of the urea granulation liquid is in a range of 132-140° C) [0051],
the first spraying liquid comprising a mixture of urea ammonium sulfate (e.g. CE3: first non-final liquid in the form of a urea melt having 10% of AS) [0031] in an aqueous solution (e.g. urea is present as a urea liquid containing at most small amounts of water, generally the amount of water will not exceed 10%) [0039], wherein the mixture is considered a eutectic urea ammonium sulfate mixture as confirmed by Applicant (e.g., with about 1 to about 5 wt% water and about 2 to about 15 wt%, e.g. up to about 12 wt% of ammonium sulfate) [Specification, pg. 4, lines 20-24].
In regard to claims 6 and 16, Soons et al. teach the process of claim 1, wherein exhaust air from the granulator is scrubbed using an aqueous solution of sulfuric acid converting ammonium and ammonium cyanate from the exhaust to ammonium sulfate in an aqueous solution, which is collected (e.g. the off-gases and condensates from the UAS-evaporation section containing a high amount of NH3 are preferably transported to a dust-and NH3-washing section. There the NH3 is simply neutralized so as to form AS, i.e., converted by reaction with sulfuric acid to ammonium sulfate) [0049] and said ammonium sulfate in aqueous solution is used to produce said first spraying liquid after adjustment of the ammonium sulfate concentration (e.g. ammonium sulfate from the evaporation section reduces the amount of AS that has to be added separately) [0050].
In regard to claim 8, Soons et al. teach the process according to claim 1, wherein the second spraying liquid is a hypereutectic mixture of a urea melt and at least 15 wt% of ammonium sulfate in an aqueous solution (e.g. CE3: a second non-final liquid in the form of a urea melt having 25% of AS) [0031].
In regard to claim 21, Soons et al. teach the process of claim 1, wherein said eutectic mixture of urea ammonium sulfate in aqueous solution has 1 wt% to 5 wt% water (e.g. urea is present as a urea liquid containing at most small amounts of water, generally the amount of water will not exceed 10%) [0039] and 5 wt% to 12 wt% of ammonium sulfate (e.g. CE3: first non-final liquid in the form of a urea melt having 10% of AS) [0031].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 7 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soons et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2018/0201551 A1).
In regard to claims 2-3, Soons et al. teach the process of claim 1, wherein the bed temperature of the second fluidized bed is maintained below the melting temperature of the dried mixture on the granulate precursor material (e.g. typical temperatures for UAS granulation of the granulation liquid are in a range of 118-140° C) (e.g. temperature of the urea granulation liquid is in a range of 132-140° C) [0051]. In this case the bed temperature of the second fluidized bed at least overlaps with sub-melting temperature of the UAS (claim 2) and the bed temperature in the second compartment is 10 - 12°C higher than the bed temperature in the first compartment at values across the range (claim 3). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [See MPEP 2144.05].
In regard to claim 4, Soons et al. teach the process of claim 1, wherein the typical temperatures for UAS granulation of the granulation liquid are in a range of 118-140° C and the temperature of the urea granulation liquid is in a range of 132-140° C) [0051]. While Soons et al. teach the temperatures of the liquid material, the reference does not explicitly teach the temperature of the bed. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the bed temperature in the first and second compartment are at values lower than the inlet liquid material temperature disclosed by Soons, within the claimed range. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand evaporative cooling necessarily causes a temperature difference between the inlet material and the bed temperature with bed temperature decreasing due to the evaporation of liquid (e.g. heat is also dissipated by evaporation of water present in the urea melt). Furthermore, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical [See MPEP2144.05 IIA].
In regard to claim 5, Soons et al. teach the process of claim 1, wherein the mean residence time of the granulate precursor material in the second fluidized bed is controlled to produce a granulate having a residual moisture content of at most 0.3 wt% (e.g. up the urea melt finishing metal utilizes urea having up to 1.5% water) (urea concentration is between 95 and 99% by weight) [0044-0045] which overlaps with the claimed range.
In regard to claims 7 and 17, Soons et al. teach the process of claim 6, wherein the aqueous solution of sulfuric acid is utilized in the reaction of sulfuric acid to ammonium sulfate [0049]. Soons does not explicitly disclose wherein the aqueous solution of sulfuric acid has a pH below 5, e.g., below 3. However, any aqueous solution of sulfuric acid in any concentration greater than 0.0.005 M exhibits a pH below 5. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize an aqueous sulfuric acid with a concentration greater than about 0.0049 weight % to achieve a favorable reaction condition with the off-gas. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to choose this predictable solution with a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 07/09/2026, with respect to the rejection of the claims based on the teachings of the Soon reference have been fully considered. Applicant argues (pg. 8, 2nd para.) Soons describes a first non-final liquid (c) having 10% AS in paragraph [0027] whereas paragraph [0039] discloses the amount of water in granulation liquids having more than a soluble amount of the same (e.g. >20% by weight) and the combination of the teachings of Soons paragraph [0027] and [0039] are unallowable regarding the composition of the first non-final liquid (c). With respect to the claim limitation “the first spraying liquid comprising an eutectic mixture of urea ammonium sulfate in an aqueous solution”, the teachings of Soons, when view as a whole, anticipate this limitation. The “first non-final liquid” described throughout Soons is “(c) having 10% of AS” [0027]. Paragraph [0039] describes the continuous phase of the slurry regarding the granulation liquids having more than a soluble amount of the salt. Urea will generally be highly concentrated and generally the amount of water will not exceed 10% [0039]. This statement is not limited to only the granulation liquids having more than a soluble amount of salt when taken at its face value. This would be understood by one of skill in the art because Soons describes a first non-final liquid (emphasis added). Urea is a solid material and ammonium sulfate is a solid material. To achieve the required liquid material as disclosed by Soons, when no other solvents or liquids are described in the reference, the presence of water and description of water in the liquid(s) in paragraph [0027] would not be limited to only a subsection of the liquids described. Applicants arguments invoke prior art limitations which are not recited or implied by Soons. The mixture taught by Soons is considered a eutectic urea ammonium sulfate mixture as described by Applicant (e.g., with about 1 to about 5 wt% water and about 2 to about 15 wt%, e.g. up to about 12 wt% of ammonium sulfate) [Specification, pg. 4, lines 20-24]. For these reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
It is not immediately clear if Applicant's arguments, filed 07/09/2026, are a bona fide attempt to advance the application or the reexamination proceeding to final action. Simply duplicating prior arguments without any changes or new information is generally not proper or effective. The intent of an RCE is to move prosecution forward, usually through some form of substantive action by the applicant. Any subsequent Request for Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114 requires a submission that is a bona fide attempt to advance the application which requires (in the absence of amendments or new evidence) NEW arguments. If no submission is made (no amendments, no new arguments/evidence) any future RCE will be considered deficient and the application will be abandoned.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ding (CN 103086808 A) describes a urea-ammonium sulphate melt: whereby a melting tank containing ammonium sulphate, urea, water and ammonium sulphate by weight ratio of 100: 5-15: 10-20 is heating and stirred to form a urea-ammonium sulphate eutectic molten liquid [0005].
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A SMITH/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731 August 13, 2026