DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0099061 A1 to Price et al. (Price).
As to claims 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16 and 18, Price teaches a catalyst coated membrane comprising a three layered proton exchange membrane, an anode catalyst comprising iridium oxide with a noble metal loading of, for example, 0.4 mg/cm2 applied to a first side of the membrane and a cathode catalyst comprising platinum on a carbon support applied to an opposite second side of the membrane. Price further teaches that each of the membrane layers can be formed of Nafion, and that any three layers of the membrane can comprise a reinforcing material formed of expanded PTFE with the thickness of each layer being independently, for example, 7 to 40 microns (Abstract; Paragraphs 0055-0060, 0068, 0069, 0070, 0082, 0086-0088, 0101 and 0106; Figure 1), thus teaching an embodiment wherein the central layer is not reinforced and the outer layers are reinforced and an embodiment substantially equivalent to Applicant’s own disclosure (Specification Example 1) and thus, as evidenced by Applicant’s disclosure, inherently possessing the property of “an areal expansion of the catalyst-coated membrane is less than 15% after being held for two hours in water heater to 100°C” (MPEP 2113).
As to claim 17, Price teaches the membrane of claim 11. Price further teaches that the iridium catalyst can be supported on antimony doped tin oxide (Paragraph 0101).
As to claim 19, Price teaches the membrane of claim 11. As discussed above, Price teaches that the membrane thickness is from 7 to 40 microns. Price further teaches that the proton exchange membrane comprises a recombination catalyst (Paragraphs 0055-0060).
As to claim 20, as discussed above, Price teaches the catalyst coated membrane of claim 11. Price further teaches that the membrane is utilized in a water electrolysis cell (Abstract).
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794