DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
Magnetic suction assembly (as in claim 36)
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 26, 30, 32-33, & 35-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (CN212657786), hereinafter referred to as Chen, in view of Peng (CN107781910).
Regarding claim 26, Chen (CN212657786) shows an air deflection component comprising:
a deflector (see Annotated Figure 3); and an air deflection bar assembly (see Annotated Figure 3) connected to an inner side of the deflector and including two air deflection bars (see Annotated Figure 3) spaced apart from each other in a width direction of the deflector (see Annotated Figure 3),
wherein:
each of the two air deflection bars is configured to deflect an airflow flowing from the inner side to an outer side of the deflector in a direction facing away from another one of the two air deflection bars (see Annotated Figure 3); and
However, Chen lacks showing an airflow channel is formed between the two air deflection bars.
Peng (CN107781910), an air guide member for an air conditioner outlet, is in the same field of endeavor as Chen which is an air guide member for an air conditioner outlet.
Peng teaches an airflow channel (Fig. 4 – the airflow channel is formed between the two air deflection bars 222/223 from element 211 to any one of elements 221) is formed between the two air deflection bars (222/223, Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflector of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the deflector and the airflow channel of Peng, which would provide an air directing member, of a simple structure, with a greater range of direction and distribution for preventing uneven heating and cooling of areas that could negatively impact health of users (¶0004/0006).
Annotated Figure 3
Regarding claim 30, Chen shows wherein a side surface of at least one of the two air deflection bars facing away from the deflector:
includes a smooth surface (see Annotated Figure 3);
is at least partially constructed as a curved surface recessed towards the deflector (this claim limitation was not selected from the Markush group present in the claim);
or includes an extension portion extending smoothly towards a mid-perpendicular plane of the deflector (see next note), the extension portion being located at a side of the airflow channel distal from the deflector (this claim limitation was not selected from the Markush group present in the claim).
Regarding claim 32, Chen shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 26 including the deflector.
However, Chen lack showing wherein a plurality of ventilation holes are formed at the deflector, the plurality of ventilation holes being in communication with the airflow channel.
Peng teaches a plurality of ventilation holes (221, Fig. 4) are formed at the deflector (22, Fig. 4), the plurality of ventilation holes being in communication with the airflow channel (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflector of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the deflector and the airflow channel of Peng, which would provide an air directing member, of a simple structure, with a greater range of direction for preventing uneven heating and cooling of areas that could negatively impact health of users (¶0004/0006).
Regarding claim 33, Chen shows wherein the two air deflection bars are arranged symmetrically with respect to a mid-perpendicular plane of the deflector (see Annotated Figure 3).
Regarding claim 35, Chen shows wherein at least one of the two air deflection bars is:
formed integrally with the deflector (see Annotated Figure 3), or
formed separately from and assembled with the deflector (this claim limitation was not selected from the Markush group present in the claim).
Regarding claim 36, Chen shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 26 including the at least two air deflection bars and the deflector.
However, Chen lacks showing wherein at least one of the two air deflection bars is detachably connected to the deflector by at least one of a snap assembly or a magnetic suction assembly.
Peng teaches wherein at least one of the two air deflection bars is detachably connected to the deflector by at least one of a snap assembly (222, Fig. 4/8) or a magnetic suction assembly.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflector and the one air deflection bar of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the deflector and the one air deflection bar of Peng, which would provide an air directing member, of a simple structure, with a greater range of direction for preventing uneven heating and cooling of areas that could negatively impact health of users (¶0004/0006).
Regarding claim 37, Chen shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 26 including one air deflection bar of the two air deflection bars and the deflector.
However, Chen lacks showing wherein: one air deflection bar of the two air deflection bars is detachably connected to the deflector by a plurality of snap assemblies arranged at intervals in a length direction of the deflector; the plurality of snap assemblies are disposed at a side of the one air deflection bar facing towards the airflow channel; and a side of the one air deflection bar facing away from the airflow channel is engaged with the deflector by a limiting assembly in a position-limited manner.
Peng teaches one air deflection bar of the two air deflection bars (see Annotated Figure 5) is detachably connected to the deflector by a plurality of snap assemblies (222, Fig. 4/8) arranged at intervals in a length direction of the deflector (Fig. 8);
the plurality of snap assemblies are disposed at a side of the one air deflection bar facing towards the airflow channel (see Annotated Figure 5); and
a side of the one air deflection bar facing away from the airflow channel (see Annotated Figure 5) is engaged with the deflector by a limiting assembly (see Annotated Figure 5) in a position-limited manner (see Annotated Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflector and the one air deflection bar of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the deflector and the one air deflection bar of Peng, which would provide an air directing member, of a simple structure, with a greater range of direction for preventing uneven heating and cooling of areas that could negatively impact health of users (¶0004/0006).
Annotated Figure 5
Regarding claim 38, Chen shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 37 including the one air deflection bar.
However, Chen lacks showing a recess is formed at a side surface of the one air deflection bar facing towards the airflow channel, and each of the plurality of snap assemblies includes a snapping block disposed in the recess and a snapping hook disposed at the deflector, the snapping hook being configured to be inserted into the recess and snap-engaged with the snapping block; or
the limiting assembly includes a limiting slot formed at a side edge of the deflector in a width direction of the deflector and a limiting block disposed on the side of the one air deflection bar facing away from the airflow channel, the limiting block being configured to be inserted and engaged into the limiting slot.
Peng teaches a recess is formed at a side surface of the one air deflection bar facing towards the airflow channel, and each of the plurality of snap assemblies includes a snapping block disposed in the recess and a snapping hook disposed at the deflector, the snapping hook being configured to be inserted into the recess and snap-engaged with the snapping block (the preceding limitations in this claim were not selected from the Markush group present in the claim); or
the limiting assembly includes a limiting slot (223, see Annotated Figure 5) formed at a side edge of the deflector (22, see Annotated Figure 5) in a width direction of the deflector (see Annotated Figure 5 – the limiting slot 223 is formed at a side edge of the deflector, extending along the width direction of the deflector) and a limiting block (see Annotated Figure 5) disposed on the side of the one air deflection bar facing away from the airflow channel (see Annotated Figure 5), the limiting block being configured to be inserted and engaged into the limiting slot (see Annotated Figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflector and the one air deflection bar of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the deflector and the one air deflection bar of Peng, which would provide an air directing member, of a simple structure, with a greater range of direction for preventing uneven heating and cooling of areas that could negatively impact health of users (¶0004/0006).
Regarding claim 39, Chen shows wherein a cavity (see Annotated Figure 3) is formed in at least one of the two air deflection bars (see Annotated Figure 3).
Regarding claim 40, Chen shows an air conditioner (Fig. 1) comprising:
a body (Fig. 1), an air passage (see Annotated Figure 3) being formed in the body (see Annotated Figure 3), and the body having an air inlet (see Annotated Figure 3) and an air outlet (see Annotated Figure 3) that are in communication with the air passage (see Annotated Figure 3);
the air deflection component according to claim 26, the air deflection component being disposed at the air outlet (Fig. 5); and
a drive mechanism (3, Fig. 1) connected between the air deflection component and the body (Fig. 1/8), the drive mechanism being configured to drive the air deflection component to move relative to the body (Fig. 5/8).
Claims 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (CN212657786), hereinafter referred to as Chen, in view of Peng (CN107781910), in further view of Li et al (CN211177354), hereinafter referred to as Li.
Regarding claim 27, Chen shows elements 4of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 26 including one air deflection bar of the two air deflection bars.
However, Chen lacks showing wherein one air deflection bar of the two air deflection bars includes: one flow guide groove extending from an air inlet end to an air outlet end of the one air deflection bar; or
a plurality of flow guide grooves arranged at intervals in a length direction of the one air deflection bar and extending from the air inlet to the air outlet.
Li (CN211177354), an airflow deflection member for an air conditioner, is in the same field of endeavor as Chen which is an airflow deflection member for an air conditioner.
Li teaches one flow guide groove (see following note) extending from an air inlet end to an air outlet end of the one air deflection bar (this claim limitation was not selected from the Markush group present in the claim)
or
a plurality of flow guide grooves (52, Fig. 1, see Annotated Figure 4) arranged at intervals (see Annotated Figure 4) in a length direction of the one air deflection bar (see Annotated Figure 4) and extending from the air inlet to the air outlet (see Annotated Figure 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflector of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the deflector and the plurality of flow guide grooves of Li, which would provide a means to expand the air guiding range of the air guide plate so that the air conditioner can take into account both the air outlet angle and the air volume. (¶0009).
Annotated Figure 4
Regarding claim 28, Chen shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 27 including the air deflection bar.
However, Chen lacks showing wherein: an extending direction of the one flow guide groove or
at least one of the plurality of flow guide grooves
is perpendicular to the length direction of the one air deflection bar or inclined with respect to both the length direction and a width direction of the one air deflection bar.
Li teaches an extending direction of the one flow guide groove (this claim limitation was not selected from the Markush group present in the claim) or
at least one of the plurality of flow guide grooves (see Annotated Figure 4)
is perpendicular to the length direction of the one air deflection bar (see Annotated Figure 4) or
inclined with respect to both the length direction and a width direction of the one air deflection bar (this claim limitation was not selected from the Markush group present in the claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflector of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the deflector and the plurality of flow guide grooves of Li, which would provide a means to expand the air guiding range of the air guide plate so that the air conditioner can take into account both the air outlet angle and the air volume. (¶0009).
Regarding claim 29, Chen shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 27 including the deflector and the air deflection bar.
However, Chen lacks showing wherein the one flow guide groove or the plurality of flow guide grooves include at least one of:
an outer flow guide groove formed at an exterior of the one air deflection bar and at a side surface of the one air deflection bar facing away from the deflector; or
an inner flow guide groove formed at an interior of the one air deflection bar, each of an inlet and an outlet of the inner flow guide groove penetrating a surface of the one air deflection bar.
Li teaches wherein the one flow guide groove or the plurality of flow guide grooves (see Annotated Figure 4) include at least one of:
an outer flow guide groove (see Annotated Figure 4) formed at an exterior of the one air deflection bar (see Annotated Figure 4) and at a side surface of the one air deflection bar facing away from the deflector (see Annotated Figure 4); or
an inner flow guide groove formed at an interior of the one air deflection bar (see following note), each of an inlet and an outlet of the inner flow guide groove penetrating a surface of the one air deflection bar (this claim limitation was not selected from the Markush group present in the claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflector of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the deflector and the plurality flow guide grooves of Li, which would provide a means to expand the air guiding range of the air guide plate so that the air conditioner can take into account both the air outlet angle and the air volume. (¶0009).
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (CN212657786), hereinafter referred to as Chen, in view of Peng (CN107781910), in further view of Vernier et al (US 6,386,970), hereinafter referred to as Vernier.
Regarding claim 31, Chen shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 26 including the deflector.
However, Chen lacks showing the airflow channel extends in a length direction of the deflector, and is opened at both ends in an extending direction of the airflow channel to form side air outlets.
Vernier (US 6,386,970), an airflow diffuser for an HVAC system, is in the same field of endeavor as Chen which is an airflow diffuser for an HVAC system.
Vernier teaches the airflow channel (135, Fig. 15) extends in a length direction of the deflector (10C, Fig. 15/16), and is opened at both ends in an extending direction of the airflow channel to form side air outlets (Fig. 3/9/15/16 – the airflow channel 135 extends in a length direction of the deflector 10C and is opened at both ends in an extending direction of the airflow channel to form side air outlets when elements 210/230 are moved).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the deflector of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the deflector and the airflow channel of Vernier, which would provide an improved air diffuser that provides a variety of airflow magnitudes and airflow directions (Col. 10, Lines 61-63).
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (CN212657786), hereinafter referred to as Chen, in view of Peng (CN107781910), in further view of Bai et al (WO2020147662), hereinafter referred to as Bai.
Regarding claim 34, Chen shows wherein at least one of the two air deflection bars includes a plurality of segments (26, Fig. 2/3) arranged sequentially in a length direction of the deflector (Fig. 2/3), each of the plurality of segments being detachably connected to the deflector, and mounting positions of the plurality of segments being interchangeable ().
Bai (WO2020147662), an air deflector for an air conditioner, is in the same field of endeavor as Chen which is an air deflector for an air conditioner.
Bai teaches each of the plurality of segments (11/13, Fig. 1/4) being detachably connected to the deflector (1, Fig. 2/4), and mounting positions of the plurality of segments being interchangeable (¶0042, Lines 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plurality of segments of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the plurality of segments of Bai being removable detached to the deflector and the mounting positions being interchangeable, which would provide a way to easily remove and replace the plurality of segments that might be deformed and creating a gap as a result of time and usage leading to leaks over time (¶0015, Lines 3-5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 41-42 & 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al (CN212657786), hereinafter referred to as Chen.
Regarding claim 41, Chen (CN212657786) shows an air deflection component (2, Fig. 6) comprising:
a first connection plate (see Annotated Figure 1) and a second connection plate (see Annotated Figure 1) that are arranged in a thickness direction of the air deflection component (see Annotated Figure 1);
wherein:
the air deflection component (2, Fig. 5) is configured to be movable between a first position (Fig. 5) for closing an air outlet (131, Fig. 1, ¶0038, Line 1) of an air conditioner (Fig. 1) and a second position (Fig. 8) for exposing the air outlet (Fig. 8), the air outlet being at an end of an air passage (see Annotated Figure 1) of the air conditioner (see Annotated Figure 1);
when the air deflection component is at the first position (Fig. 5), the first connection plate closes the air outlet (Fig. 5, ¶0038, Line 1); and
when the air deflection component is at the second position (Fig. 8):
a first airflow channel (see Annotated Figure 1) is formed between the air passage and a part of the first connection plate (see Annotated Figure 1);
a second airflow channel (see Annotated Figure 1) is formed between the air passage and another part of the first connection plate (see Annotated Figure 1); and
in an airflow flow direction, the first airflow channel and the second airflow channel extend towards two opposite sides of the air outlet, respectively (see Annotated Figure 1).
Annotated Figure 1
Regarding claim 42, Chen shows wherein:
the first connection plate includes:
a first air deflection member (see Annotated Figure 1) having an end connected to an end of the second connection plate (see Annotated Figure 1); and
a second air deflection member (see Annotated Figure 1) having an end connected to another end of the first air deflection member (see Annotated Figure 1) and another end connected to another end of the second connection plate (see Annotated Figure 1), the second air deflection member and the first air deflection member being arranged in a width direction of the first connection plate (Fig. 1/2);
when the air deflection component is at the first position (Fig. 5), the first air deflection member and the second air deflection member close the air outlet (Fig. 5, ¶0038, Line 1); and
when the air deflection component is at the second position (Fig. 8):
the first airflow channel is formed between the first air deflection member and the air passage (see Annotated Figure 1), and
the second airflow channel is formed between the second air deflection member and the air passage (see Annotated Figure 1).
Regarding claim 45, Chen shows an air conditioner (Fig. 1) comprising:
an air passage component (see Annotated Figure 1) including an air passage (see Annotated Figure 1), an air outlet (see Annotated Figure 1) being formed at an end of the air passage (see Annotated Figure 1); and
the air deflection component according to claim 41, the air deflection component (2, Fig. 2) being connected to the air passage component and configured to move between the first position for closing the air outlet (Fig. 5) and the second position for exposing the air outlet (Fig. 8).
Claim 43 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (CN212657786), hereinafter referred to as Chen, in view of Tang et al (CN107036265), hereinafter referred to as Tang.
Regarding claim 43, Chen shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 41 including the first air deflection member and the second air deflection member.
However, Chen lacks showing wherein an angle is formed between the first air deflection member and the second air deflection member.
Tang (CN107036265), an air deflector for an air conditioner, is in the same field of endeavor as Chen which is an air deflector for an air conditioner.
Tang teaches wherein an angle (Fig. 1/2) is formed between the first air deflection member (112, Fig. 1/2) and the second air deflection member (122, Fig. 1/2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air deflector of Chen to incorporate the teachings of the air deflector of Tang, which would provide a deflector that avoids backflow or self-circulation of airflow, thus improving the purification efficiency of the purifier and reducing wind resistance and noise (¶0008).
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (CN212657786), hereinafter referred to as Chen, in view of Peng (CN107781910).
Regarding claim 44, Chen shows elements of the claimed invention as stated above in claim 42 wherein:
a wall surface of the first air deflection member adjacent to the air outlet is formed into a concave surface (Fig. 5, see Annotated Figure 1);
the air deflection component is further configured to be rotatable to the first position (Fig. 5).
However, Chen lacks showing the air deflection component is further configured to be rotatable to the first position and a third position ; and when the air deflection component is at the third position, the first air deflection member is located at a lower end of the air outlet, and the wall surface of the first air deflection member adjacent to the air outlet is tangential to a lower wall surface of the air passage.
Peng (CN107781910), an air guide member for an air conditioner outlet, is in the same field of endeavor as Chen which is an air guide member for an air conditioner outlet.
Peng teaches the air deflection component (2, Fig. 2) is further configured to be rotatable between the first position (Fig. 2) and a third position (Fig. 1); and
when the air deflection component is at the third position (Fig. 1), the first air deflection member (see Annotated Figure 2) is located at a lower end of the air outlet (see Annotated Figure 2), and the wall surface of the first air deflection member adjacent to the air outlet is tangential to a lower wall surface of the air passage (see Annotated Figure 2 – as the Applicant claims the wall surface of the first air deflection member adjacent to the air outlet is tangential to a lower wall surface of the air passage by showing the wall surface of the first air deflection member 111a being located at a lower end of the outlet 22a, as does Peng show with the wall surface of the first air deflection member adjacent to the air outlet is tangential to a lower wall surface of the air passage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the air deflection component to incorporate the teachings of the air deflection components third position and the first air deflection member of Peng, which would provide an air directing member with a greater range of direction for preventing uneven heating and cooling of areas that could negatively impact health of users (¶0004/0006).
Annotated Figure 2
Conclusion
/RYAN L FAULKNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/AVINASH A SAVANI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762