DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/28/2026 has been entered. No claims have been
cancelled. Claims 16-20 have been newly added. Therefore, claims 1-20 remain pending in this application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 3, delete “the method power distribution” and replace with “the power distribution method”
In claim 1, line 6, delete “thorough” and replace with “through”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endo et al. US Pub 2015/0162757 (hereinafter Endo) in view of Kinjo et al. US Pub 2012/0223670 (hereinafter Kinjo).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Endo discloses a power distribution method in an energy storage system including a plurality of battery racks (fig. 1, element 10A, 10B, 10C; battery with housing/casing) and one current/direct current (DC/DC) converter (fig. 1, element 30 and ¶ 0018; the charge/discharge controller 30 is a DC/DC converter) connected to each corresponding battery rack (10A to 10C),
the power distribution method comprising:
collecting, by a battery system controller (BSC) [controller 50], information about each battery rack (¶¶ 0024, 0025, 0052, 0072; The CAN gateway 20 may use, for example, an identifier notified by the charge/discharge controller 30 or controller 50 as the CANID of the storage devices 10A, 10B and 10C, or may use an identifier according to a position of a hardware configuration to which the storage devices 10A, 10B and 10C are attached as the CANID of the storage devices 10A, 10B and 10C) and information about the DC/DC converter (¶¶ 0023, 0027; the controller 50 communicates with the host system 80 by Ethernet, and communicates with the charge/discharge controller 30; if the overcharge or overdischarge of the battery cell is notified, the charge/discharge controller 30 notifies the controller of the abnormality and protects the storage devices by suspension of charging, suspension of discharging) through a switching hub (including elements 20A, 20B, 20C, 32, 42) connected to (directly/indirectly connected to) the DC/DC converter (fig. 6, element 30);
setting, by the charge/discharge controller (fig. 6, element 30), a power command for each battery rack according to a type and a state of each battery rack (¶ 0027; type and state: overcharge or overdischarge); and
performing, by the charge/discharge controller (fig. 6, element 30), charge/discharge control for each battery rack according to the set power command for each battery rack (¶ 0027; by suspension of charging, suspension of discharging) through the switching hub (including elements 20A, 20B, 20C, 32, 42).
Endo discloses the charge/discharge controller perform the charge/discharge control for each battery rack. Changing the location of a controller of the charge/discharge controller 30 from the location shown by Endo to a location in the controller 50, absent any criticality, is only considered to be an obvious modification of the Endo device that a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to provide using routine experimentation since the courts have held that there is no invention in shifting the position if the operation of the device would not be thereby modified. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and MPEP 2144.04 VI.
Endo fails to disclose the system includes a plurality of direct current/direct current (DC/DC) converters.
Kinjo further discloses each power storage device (fig. 16, element 107a to 107n) includes a DC/DC conversion unit (fig. 3, element 302) and a power storage battery (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Endo to incorporate with the teaching of Kinjo by connecting each power storage battery with a corresponding DC/DC conversion unit as suggested by Kinjo, because it would be advantageous to improve the battery balancing and further extend the service life of the whole system.
Regarding claims 2 and 8, Endo discloses wherein the collecting the information about each battery rack includes: collecting information about the type, the state of each battery rack (¶¶ 0023, 0027; the controller 50 communicates with the host system 80 by Ethernet, and communicates with the charge/discharge controller 30; if the overcharge or overdischarge of the battery cell is notified, the charge/discharge controller 30 notifies the controller of the abnormality and protects the storage devices by suspension of charging, suspension of discharging).
Endo fails to teach wherein the collecting the information about each battery rack and information about each DC/DC converter includes: collecting information about a power limit of each battery rack; and collecting information about a power limit and a state of each DC/DC converter.
However, Kinjo further discloses wherein the collecting the information about each battery rack and information about each DC/DC converter includes: collecting information about a power limit of each battery rack (¶ 0048; the determination unit can determine an upper limit of power to be outputted by each of the storage batteries, in accordance with a state of deterioration of storage battery with a highest temperature among the storage batteries); and collecting information about a power limit and a state of each DC/DC converter (¶¶ 0064, 0085, 0091, 0199-0201; the DC/DC conversion unit detect the voltage value by the voltage detection unit. The DC/DC conversion unit receives the PWM switching signal transmitted form the ECU, and outputs the power corresponding to the operating point of the maximum power in the voltage and the current characteristic of the solar cell).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Endo to incorporate with the teaching of Kinjo by determining the power limit of the batteries and the DC/DC converter as suggested by Kinjo, because it would be advantageous to prevent damaging the battery pack and the DC/DC converter and further prolong the service life of the whole system.
Regarding claims 3, 9, 14, Endo fails to teach wherein the setting the power command for each battery rack includes: for battery racks of the same type and having a similar state of health (SOH) range, calculating a charge power or a discharge power for each battery rack based on an output power requested by the energy storage system, a sum of states of charge (SOC) of plurality of battery racks in operation, and a SOC of each battery rack.
Kinjo teaches wherein the setting the power command for each battery rack includes:
for battery racks of the same type and having a similar state of health (SOH) range (¶ 0216; the ECU 105 can control the balance in the charge amounts among the power storage devices 107…Therefore, deterioration [SOH] of the entire power storage devices can be reduced),
calculating a charge power or a discharge power for each battery rack based on an output power requested by the energy storage system, a sum of states of charge (SOC) of battery racks in operation, and a SOC of each battery rack (claim 15; the determination unit calculates a value corresponding to SOC of each storage battery from the acquired voltage value of the storage battery…the power being determined by said determination unit, and the storage battery corresponding to the calculated current value).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Endo to incorporate with the teaching of Kinjo by setting the power command for each battery rack in the system as suggested by Kinjo, because it would be advantageous to avoid overcharging the battery packs and extend the service life of the battery packs.
Regarding claims 4, 10, 15, Endo fails to teach wherein the setting the power command for each battery rack includes: for battery racks of different types or for battery racks having different state of health (SOH) ranges, calculating the power command for each battery rack based on an output power requested by the energy storage system, a nominal capacity of each battery rack, a SOH of each battery rack, and a state of charge (SOC) of each battery rack.
Kinjo teaches wherein the setting power command for each battery rack includes:
for battery racks of different types or for battery racks having different state of health (SOH) ranges (¶ 0216; the ECU 105 can control the balance in the charge amounts among the power storage devices 107..deterioration of the entire power storage devices can be reduced), calculating the power command for each battery rack based on an output power requested by the energy storage system, a nominal capacity of each battery rack, a SOH of each battery rack, and a state of charge (SOC) of each battery rack (claim 15; informing unit calculates the current value for each of the storage batteries based on the power to be outputted by the storage battery and distribution ratio calculated by said power distribution ratio calculation unit, and informs storage battery of the calculated current value, the power being determined by the determination unit, and the storage battery corresponding to the calculated current value).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Endo to incorporate with the teaching of Kinjo by setting the power command for each battery rack in the system as suggested by Kinjo, because it would be advantageous to avoid overcharging the battery packs and extend the service life of the battery packs.
Regarding claims 5, 11, Endo fails to teach the power distribution method further comprising, upon the calculated power command for each battery rack exceeding a power limit of a corresponding battery rack or a power limit of a corresponding DC/DC converter, recalculating the power command for each battery rack.
Kinjo teaches the power distribution method further comprising, upon the calculated power command for each battery rack exceeding a power limit of a corresponding battery rack or a power limit of a corresponding DC/DC converter, recalculating the power command for each battery rack (¶¶ 0051, 0064; the determination unit can update a charge amount of the storage battery and a state of deterioration of the storage battery each time the determination unit acquires the deterioration information. The cooperative ECU 105 then informs the power storage device 107 of power PSB to be charged or discharged to or form the power storage device 107, based on the state of deterioration of the storage battery).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Endo to incorporate with the teaching of Kinjo by setting the power command for each battery rack based on the power limit, because it would be advantageous to avoid overcharging the battery packs and extend the service life of the battery packs.
Regarding claims 6, 12, Endo fails to wherein the recalculating the power command for each battery rack includes recalculating power commands for other racks except for the battery racks among the plurality of battery racks of which the calculated power command exceeds the power limit of the battery rack or the power limit of the corresponding DC/DC converter.
Kinjo teaches wherein the recalculating the power command for each battery rack includes recalculating power commands for other racks (¶¶ 0098 and claim 18) except for the battery racks among the plurality of battery racks of which the calculated power command exceeds the power limit of the battery rack or the power limit of the corresponding DC/DC converter (¶¶ 0091, 0136, 0215; the power storage device performs the process in steps 902 to 905 until the stop command has been received).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Endo to incorporate with the teaching of Kinjo by recalculating the power command for each battery rack based on the power limit, because it would be advantageous to avoid overcharging the battery packs and extend the service life of the battery packs.
Regarding claim 7, Endo discloses an energy storage system comprising:
a battery management system (BMS) (fig. 6, element 12; BMUs) configured to manage a state of a plurality of battery racks (¶ 0017; The battery management unit 12 monitors temperature and voltage of the battery cells, equalizes charge amounts
of the battery cells, and controls charging and discharging of the assembled battery BT);
one direct current/direct current (DC/DC) converter (fig. 1, element 30 and ¶ 0018; the charge/discharge controller 30 is a DC/DC converter) respectively connected to (directly connected to) corresponding battery racks (fig. 6, elements 10A, 10B, 10C); and
a battery system controller (controller 50), in connection with the BMS and the DC/DC converter (fig. 6; via CAN gateway and Ethernet), battery system controller being configured to:
collect information about each battery rack (¶¶ 0024, 0025, 0052, 0072; The CAN gateway 20 may use, for example, an identifier notified by the charge/discharge controller 30 or controller 50 as the CANID of the storage devices 10A, 10B and 10C, or may use an identifier according to a position of a hardware configuration to which the storage devices 10A, 10B and 10C are attached as the CANID of the storage devices 10A, 10B and 10C) and information about the DC/DC converter (¶¶ 0023, 0027; the controller 50 communicates with the host system 80 by Ethernet, and communicates with the charge/discharge controller 30; if the overcharge or overdischarge of the battery cell is notified, the charge/discharge controller 30 notifies the controller of the abnormality and protects the storage devices by suspension of charging, suspension of discharging) through a switching hub (including elements 20A, 20B, 20C, 32, 42) connected to (directly/indirectly connected to) the DC/DC converter (30),
set a power command for each battery rack according to a type and a state of each battery rack (¶ 0027; type and state: overcharge or overdischarge), and
perform charge/discharge control for each battery rack according to the set power command for each battery rack (¶ 0027; by suspension of charging, suspension of discharging) through the switching hub (including elements 20A, 20B, 20C, 32, 42),
wherein the DC/DC converter controls an output of the corresponding battery rack according to the power command for each battery rack received from the battery system controller (¶ 0027; when the over-discharging of the battery cell is notified…protects the storage devices by suspension of discharging).
Endo fails to disclose the system includes a plurality of direct current/direct current (DC/DC) converters.
Kinjo further discloses each power storage device (fig. 16, element 107a to 107n) includes a DC/DC conversion unit (fig. 3, element 302) and a power storage battery (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Endo to incorporate with the teaching of Kinjo by connecting each power storage battery with a corresponding DC/DC conversion unit as suggested by Kinjo, because it would be advantageous to improve the battery balancing and further extend the service life of the whole system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 05/14/2026