DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is written in response to applicant’s amendments received on 9/8/25.
All rejections and objections regarding claims 1-20 are moot due to the cancellation of claims 1-20.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 21, there is no support in the specification for the limitation “so as to remove phosphate byproducts”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over) Zhang (US20210246476A1). While Zhang has a later publishing date than the filing date of instant application it claims priority to 1/31/20 and therefore is valid prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 21, Zhang teaches methods to make NMN (abstract). Zhang teaches that their method can comprise using NR and ATP react to product NMN and ADP using NRK (fig 2). Zhang teaches their method can be used in engineered organisms ([0242-0245]). Zhang teaches ADP can be used to generate ATP (claim 1), and that ATP can regenerated by ATP-generating permeabilized living microorganisms comprising Saccharomyces cerevisiae (claim 12). Zhang teaches by-products are removed in situ (claim 1). Zhang teaches their system can be “one pot” (same reaction system) (abstract). Zhang teaches the engineered microbial cells can utilize (metabolize) carbohydrates ([0244]), and the permeabilized yeast cells serving as the ATP-generation system would inherently undergo oxidative phosphorylation metabolism (in which adenosine, phosphate, and carbohydrate metabolizable by yeast cells react under catalysis of the yeast cells) under such conditions. Zhang teaches their methods including microorganisms containing the claimed enzymes, leads to higher production of products (NMN, inclusion of adenosine, phosphate, carbohydrate, yeast cells, NR and NRK) ([0019]).
It is obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts to experiment within the inventive confines of Zhang to arrive at instant invention. All of the claimed components were known in the arts at the time of filing of instant invention and would be yield nothing more than predictable results with a reasonable expectation of success to one of ordinary skill in the arts.
Regarding claim 22, Zhang teaches the ATP regenerating yeast can use glucose (example 31).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang teaches that host organism used can be Saccharomyces cerevisiae (claim 4).
Regarding claims 24-25, Zhang teaches a Mg2+ ions can be added (magnesium) (claim 1).
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over) Zhang (US20210246476A1) and Akiyama (EP3690057A1). While Zhang has a later publishing date than the filing date of instant application it claims priority to 1/31/20 and therefore is valid prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 26, Zhang teaches the concentrations of substrates can be optimized ([0240-0241]). Zhang does not explicitly teach the molar ratios.
Akiyama teaches methods for producing NMN (abstract). Akiyama teaches ATP (adenosine) at a concentration 1 µg/L to 100 g/L ([0097]). Akiyama teaches these concentrations can be adjusted as appropriate ([0097-0098]). Therefore, this is a result effective variable and one of ordinary skill in the arts would be motivated to experiment and find the optimal concentration. See MPEP 2144.05 II. B. Akiyama teaches the ribose (NR from claim 1 rejection above) can be 1 µg/L to 100 g/L ([0095-0097]). Akiyama teaches that the substrate ribose (NR) concentration can be 30 mM ([0161]). This can yield a molar ratio of 1 when combined with 15 g/L ATP as taught by Akiyama above, rendering the claimed range obvious. Generally, differences in concentration will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (MPEP 2144.05).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use substrate concentration of Akiyama in the invention of Zhang above. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Zhang teaches their the substrate concentrations can be optimized. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because these enzymes and cellular systems have been successfully used to produce NMN and ATP, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. There would be a reasonable expectation of success as both Akiyama and Zhang are in the same field of endeavor of producing NMN using microorganisms.
Regarding claim 27, Akiyama teaches that the ratio of the phosphate to the substrate ribose (NR) can be 30 mM to 5mM (ratio of 6, rendering the claimed range obvious) ([0161]). Akiyama teaches that these ratios are important for concentrations to be set to maximize production and that altering the ratios changes the product concentration ([0151]). Therefore, this is a result effective variable and one of ordinary skill in the arts would be motivated to experiment and find the optimal concentration. See MPEP 2144.05 II. B.
Regarding claim 28, Akiyama teaches the cells can be frozen in buffer (wet yeasts once being stored cryogenically) ([0074).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach a reaction system where ATP is generated, consumed, and regenerated in situ (paragraphs 10 and 11). Zhang teaches that their method can comprise using NR and ATP react to product NMN and ADP using NRK (ATP consumed) (fig 2), and that the system can be a one-pot reaction system that includes an ATP-regeneration system comprising permeabilized yeast cells (claim 12).
Applicant argues that phosphate accumulation is eliminated (13). Zhang teaches by-products (which would include phosphate) are removed in situ (claim 1).
Applicant argues that Zhang requires continuous supply of ATP (12). Zhang teaches that yeast cells can be used for the regeneration of ATP (claim 12).
Applicant argues that a one-pot system and by-product metabolism is not taught by the references (15). Zhang teaches by-products are removed in situ (claim 1). Zhang teaches their system can be “one pot” (same reaction system) (abstract).
Applicant argues that the combination of the art would not result in instant invention (17). Both arts teach yeast can be used in their invention, see the rejection above. As yeast is used by both prior references, the use of the yeast oxidative phosphorylation system would be used.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TREVOR KANE/Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/ROBERT J YAMASAKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657
.