DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Claim Status
The amendment filed 3 February 2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the specification, drawings, and claims have overcome each and every objection set forth in the Office Action mailed 3 November 2025. Claim 11 has been added. Claims 1–11 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2006/0214632 A1; art already of record) herein referred to as Lee ‘632, in view of Oshima (JP 2006/136575 A; art already of record), as evidenced by Lee et al. (US 2011; art already of record) herein referred to as Lee ‘843, further in view of Cheong et al. (US 2018/0183112 A1), and further in view of Baek (US 2015/0155545 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee ‘632 discloses a battery pack (see polymer battery pack 100, [0031], FIG. 1 and 2), comprising:
a battery cell (see battery cell 111, [0033], FIG. 2) having a pair of electrode leads (see conductive tabs 116a and 116b, [0041], FIG. 3);
a protection circuit module (PCM) (see protective circuit module 117, [0033], FIG. 2 and 3) including a printed circuit board (PCB) (see PCB 117a, FIG. 2 and 3) having a pair of connection terminals (see conductive pads 117d and 117e, [0047], FIG. 3) respectively coupled to the pair of electrode leads (see conductive tabs 116a and 116b, [0041], FIG. 3, 5, 8a–8c); and
a connector (see terminal 117c, [0031], FIG. 2, 5, 8c–8f) coupled to a connector holder (see top of PCB 117a, [0034], FIG. 2, 3, 5, 8c–8e) that is exposed in a holder exposing portion (FIG. 5).
Lee ‘632 does not disclose a thermally contracting tube configured to surround the PCB, and instead discloses a resin (see resin 130, [0031], [0033], FIG. 1, 2, 5, 8e, 8f) configured to surround the PCB ([0039], FIG. 2, 5) and enclose it from the exterior ([0008]). Note that Lee ‘632 is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of battery design and safety.
Oshima teaches a thermally contracting tube (see insulating heat-shrinkable tube 15, [0026], FIG. 3 and 4) configured to surround a circuit board (see circuit board 11, [0026], FIG. 3 and 4). Oshima is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of thermally contracting tubes for protection of electronics. Furthermore, thermally contracting tubes are well-known in the field of battery design and safety to have excellent heat insulation properties and improve electrical insulation, waterproofing, and exterior protection, as evidenced by Lee ‘843 ([0044]).
KSR Rationale B (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to perform “simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results”. In the instant case, both resin, as disclosed by Lee ‘632, and thermally contracting tube, as taught by Oshima, are known elements configured to surround a circuit board. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the battery pack of Lee ‘632 by substituting the resin for the thermally contracting tube of Oshima in order to obtain the predictable result of a PCB which is suitably surrounded and enclosed from an exterior.
Lee ‘632 does not explicitly disclose the PCM being configured to prevent overcharging of the battery cell. However, it is well-known in the field of battery pack design and safety that a primary purpose of PCMs is to prevent overcharging of the battery cell, as evidenced by Lee ‘843 ([0039]), and thus one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the PCM of modified Lee ‘632 will necessarily be configured for this purpose.
Lee ‘632 does not disclose the connector being a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB). However, the connector of Lee ‘632 is disclosed as serving the purpose of connecting to a device ([0039]).
Cheong teaches a battery pack (see battery 500, [0078], FIG. 5), comprising: a battery cell (see battery cell, [0078]) having a pair of electrode leads (see conductive terminals 511 and 512, [0078], FIG. 5); a protection circuit module (see PCM 520, [0078], FIG. 5) including a printed circuit board (see circuit board 521, [0084], FIG. 8a) having a pair of connection terminals (see metal plates 523 and 524, [0084], FIG. 8a) respectively coupled to the pair of electrode leads ([0084]), the PCM being configured to prevent overcharging of the battery cell ([0083]); and a connector (see connector 525, [0085], FIG. 5, 8a), the connector being a flexible printed circuit board (see FPCB 5251, [0085], FIG. 5, 8a) which is extended by a specific length to electrically connect to a device ([0085]). Note that Cheong is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of battery design and safety.
KSR Rationale B (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to perform “simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results”. In the instant case, both the connector of Lee ‘632 and the connector which is a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) of Cheong are known elements for connecting to a device. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of modified Lee ‘632 by substituting the connector of Lee ‘632 for the connector which is a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) of Cheong in order to obtain the predictable result of a connector which can connect to a device, with the added benefit that the connector is extended by a specific length.
Modified Lee ‘632 does not disclose the flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) having an insulated surface.
Baek teaches a battery pack (see battery pack 10, [0042], FIG. 1), comprising: a flexible printed circuit board (see flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) 300, [0042], FIG. 2) having an insulated surface (see insulation layer 330, [0054], FIG. 4) which insulates the wiring patterns of the flexible printed circuit board from each other and the outside ([0059]). Note that Baek is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of battery design and safety.
It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of modified Lee ‘632 such that the flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) has an insulated surface, as taught by Baek, for the purpose of insulating the wiring patterns of the flexible printed circuit board from each other and the outside.
Regarding Claim 2, modified Lee ‘632 discloses the battery pack as set forth above. Lee ‘632 further discloses wherein the battery cell includes:
an electrode assembly (see electrode assembly 115, [0043], FIG. 4);
the pair of electrode leads connected to the electrode assembly ([0059], FIG. 5 and 8a); and
a cell case (see pouch 112, [0034], FIG. 2) configured to accommodate the electrode assembly so that each electrode lead is drawn to an outside of the cell case ([0046], FIG. 3, 5, 8a, and 8b).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Lee ‘632 discloses the battery pack as set forth above. Lee ‘632 further discloses wherein the pair of electrode leads are drawn in a same direction ([0041], FIG. 3, 8a, and 8b).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Lee ‘632 discloses the battery pack as set forth above. Lee ‘632 further discloses wherein the cell case includes:
an accommodation portion (see portion of pouch 112 containing the electrode assembly, [0059], FIG. 8a) configured to include an accommodation space for accommodating the electrode assembly; and
a sealing portion (see combination of folded portions 113 and first region 114, [0059], FIG. 8a) configured to extend outward from a circumference of the accommodation portion.
Regarding Claim 5, modified Lee ‘632 discloses the battery pack as set forth above. Lee ‘632 further discloses wherein the sealing portion includes:
a terrace portion (see first region 114, [0059], FIG. 3 and 8b) including a region where the pair of electrode leads are drawn; and
a pair of wing portions (see folded portions 113, [0059], FIG. 3 and 8b) formed at opposite sides of the battery cell in a width direction.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Lee ‘632 discloses the battery pack as set forth above. Lee ‘632 further discloses wherein the PCM is located on the terrace portion ([0061], FIG. 3 and 8c).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Lee ‘632 discloses the battery pack as set forth above. Lee ‘632 further discloses wherein the pair of electrode leads are bent toward the accommodation portion at an outer side of the cell case (FIG. 3, 5, 8b, and 8c).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Lee ‘632 discloses the battery pack as set forth above. Modified Lee ‘632 can be understood as further disclosing wherein the pair of connection terminals are exposed to an outside of the thermally contracting tube and are respectively coupled to the pair of electrode leads, because Lee ‘632 discloses wherein the pair of connection terminals are exposed to an outside of the resin and are respectively coupled to the pair of electrode leads (e.g. FIG. 5 shows that the resin is not formed between the pair of connection terminals (117d, 117e) and the pair of electrode leads (116a, 116b) so that the pairs can be coupled), and thus this will also necessarily be the case for modified Lee ‘632 wherein the resin is substituted for the thermally contracting tube as set forth above.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Lee ‘632 discloses the battery pack as set forth above. Modified Lee ‘632 further discloses an electronic device (see external device, Lee ‘632 [0039]) comprising the battery pack according to Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11, modified Lee ‘632 discloses the battery pack as set forth above. Modified Lee ‘632 can be understood as further disclosing wherein the thermally contracting tube includes a pair of open portions exposing the pair of connection terminals, because Lee ‘632 discloses wherein the resin includes a pair of open portions exposing the pair of connection terminals (e.g. FIG. 5 shows portions where the resin is not formed in order to expose the pair of connection terminals (117d, 117e) such that they can couple with the pair of electrode leads (116a, 116b)), and thus this will also necessarily be the case for modified Lee ‘632 wherein the resin is substituted for the thermally contracting tube as set forth above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the applied references Lee ‘632, Oshima, and Lee ‘843 failing to disclose the new limitations added to Claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725