DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of the specie: water, isopropanol, sodium lauryl sulfate, and peroxymonosulfate, in the reply filed on 10/8/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Species by definition cannot lack unity of invention. This is not found persuasive because the species recited in the claims are not so linked to form a single general inventive concept. Furthermore, these species are well-known in the art which makes such technical feature not being contributing to the prior art.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2007/127330 (‘330).
‘330 teaches a disinfectant composition that effectively disinfect livestock, animal carcasses, equipment, and consumer goods (see the abstract). ‘330 teaches the composition comprising surfactant such as sodium lauryl sulfate (see claim 16), alcohol such as isopropanol (see claim 24), peroxygen compound such as peroxymonosulfate (see claim 30). ‘330 teaches the composition comprising buffering agents including aceto, phosphorus, amino, or sulfur based acid to get the pH to range of 2-4, 4-6, 6-8, 8-10, or 10-12 (see page 3, lines 10-12; page 7, lines 19-21).
‘330 does not expressly teach the amount of the components of the disinfectant composition.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the amount of the excipients into the disinfectant composition.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the amount of the excipients into the disinfectant composition. The optimization of result effect parameters (dosage range, dosing regimens) is obvious as being within the skill of the artisan. The optimization of known effective amounts of known active agents to be administered, is considered well in the competence level of an ordinary skilled artisan in pharmaceutical science, involving merely routine skill in the art. It has been held that it is within the skill in the art to select optimal parameters, such as amounts of ingredients, in a composition in order to achieve a beneficial effect. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). It is also noted that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Pharmacokinetic properties and stability of the composition would be affected by the amount of the excipients. And therefore, adjusting the amount of the excipients would therefore be considered obvious as being within the purview of the skilled artisan.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,331,265 (‘265). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘265 teaches the disinfectant composition comprising the herein claimed components with the same pH (see claim 1, 2, 4, 6). ‘256 teaches the amounts of various components in the composition (see claim 1, 9-11). Since the scope of ‘256 reads on that of the instant case, it is an anticipatory type of double patenting rejection.
No claims are allowed.
/SAN MING R HUI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627