DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 5/1/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the non-final Office Action mailed 2/2/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Application Publication No. 2016/0194589, hereinafter Linderfelt.
Regarding claim 1, Linderfelt teaches a bioprocessing apparatus (figure 1), comprising: a flexible bag (item 1) having an outer boundary that defines an interior volume configured to contain a fluid (paragraph [0021]); and an integral fluid conduit (item 3) within the flexible bag (figure 1), comprising: a panel of material (item 4) joined to an interior sidewall of the flexible bag (paragraph [0014]) so as to define a channel (item 3) between the interior sidewall of the flexible bag and the panel of material (paragraph [0014]), wherein the integral fluid conduit includes a first terminal end (the left side of item 3) and a second terminal end (the right side of item 3), each being located within the outer boundary of the flexible bag (figure 1), wherein the first terminal end (the right side of item 3) is fluidly connected to a first port on top of the flexible bag (the opening in the top of item 5), and wherein the second terminal end (the left side of item 3) is fluidly connected to a second port (the opening in the top of item 6) or a first bottom outlet opening that is in fluid communication with the interior volume (the lowest pore in the dialysis membrane).
Regarding claim 2, Linderfelt teaches the integral fluid conduit includes the first bottom outlet opening (the lowest pore in the dialysis membrane), the first bottom outlet opening being in fluid communication with the interior volume (paragraph [0021]).
Regarding claim 3, Linderfelt teaches wherein the first port (item 5) on top of the flexible bag (figure 1), wherein the first terminal end is fluidly connected to the first port on top of the flexible bag (figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Linderfelt teaches the second port (item 5) at a bottom of the flexible bag (figure 1, the bottom of the bag is considered to be the right side of the bag in figure 1); wherein the second terminal end of the integral fluid conduit is fluidly connected to the second port (figure 1), and wherein the channel of the integral fluid conduit is not in fluid communication with the interior volume (neither end of the fluid conduit is in fluid communication with the interior volume of the bag and as described in paragraph [00022] of the instant specification, not being in fluid communication means that both ends of the conduit is attached to a first and second port).
Regarding claim 7, Linderfelt teaches wherein the panel of material includes pores and /or comprises a porous membrane (paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 8, Linderfelt teaches wherein the panel of material is at least partially made from or coated with a foam-reducing material (paragraph [0024], the membranes would reduce foam compared to a large pored material).
Regarding claim 9, Linderfelt teaches wherein the integral fluid conduit is configured to act as a sparger, a filter (paragraph [0024]), a sterile addition tube (paragraph [0024]), a tube holder, a baffle, or a temperature regulating conduit.
Regarding claim 10, Linderfelt teaches further comprising at least one tube (items 5 and 6), wherein a length of the at least one tube is at least partially disposed within the channel of the integral fluid conduit (figure 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linderfelt in view of CA 2642174, hereinafter Hill.
Regarding claim 5, Linderfelt teaches wherein the second terminal end is fluidly connected to the first bottom outlet opening (the lowest pore in the dialysis membrane) that is in fluid communication with the interior volume (paragraph [0021]), and wherein the panel of material is an elongated piece of material fixed to the interior sidewall of the flexible bag so as to create opposed vertically extending seals with the interior sidewall (figure 1), such that the channel is formed between the elongated piece of material and the interior sidewall (figure 1).
Linderfelt is silent as to how the elongated piece of material is fixed to the inner sidewall of the flexible bag.
Hill teaches to use adhesive or plastic welding to fix an elongated piece of material to the interior sidewall of a flexible bag (Hill, pages 9-10, lines 22-2).
Examiner further finds that the prior art included each element claimed (as set forth above), although not necessarily in a single prior art reference, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements within a single reference. Moreover, an ordinarily skilled artisan could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., heat sealing or gluing the elongated piece of material), and that in combination, each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately (i.e., fixing the elongated piece of material), and an ordinarily skilled artisan would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Therefore, pursuant to MPEP §2143 (I), Examiner concludes that it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan at the time of invention to combine the elongated piece of material of reference Linderfelt with heat sealing or gluing the elongated piece of material of reference Hill, since the result would have been predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Linderfelt nor Hill teaches at least one of the opposed vertically extending seals is shorter than a length of the elongated piece of material, creating at least one flap at the first bottom outlet that opens in fluid communication with the interior volume, and wherein the at least one flap promotes turbulent flow when an introduced fluid flows in a substantially gravitational direction out of the first bottom outlet into the interior volume to aid in mixing when the interior volume contains the fluid.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument that Linderfelt does not teach “a first bottom opening that is in fluid communication with the interior volume is not found persuasive. Firstly, the claim recites that “the second terminal end is fluidly connected to a second port or a first bottom outlet opening that is in fluid communication with the interior volume” and therefore the prior art would anticipate the claim if the second terminal end is fluidly connected to the second port or the second terminal end is a first bottom outlet opening that is in fluid communication with the interior volume. The applicant is seeming to state that since the prior art does not teach the second terminal end is a first bottom outlet opening that is in fluid communication with the interior volume that Linderfelt would fail to teach the claim. However, as shown above, Linderfelt teaches if the second terminal end is fluidly connected to the second port. Additionally, Linderfelt can also be interpreted such that it also reads on the second terminal end is a first bottom outlet opening that is in fluid communication with the interior volume as the dialysis membrane which forms the integral fluid conduit has pores and the pores are considered to be openings and the lowest pore in the dialysis membrane is therefore considered to read on the first bottom outlet thereby anticipating the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796