FINAL REJECTION
Receipt is acknowledged of Applicants' Amendments and Remarks, filed May 20, 2026.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The rejections and/or objections set forth below are either maintained or newly applied, and constitute the complete set presently applied to the instant claims.
STATUS OF THE CLAIMS
Claims 7 and 21 have been canceled.
Claim 18 has been amended to correct a typographical error.
No new claims have been added.
Claims 2, 5, 9, and 18-20 stand withdrawn as drawn to nonelected inventions and/or species.
Thus, claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10-17, and 22 now represent all claims currently pending and under consideration.
INFORMATION DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 20, 2026 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final action on Jan. 9, 2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
MAINTAINED REJECTIONS
The following rejection is maintained from the previous Office Action dated Jan. 9, 2026, on the ground that the references cited therein continue to read on the limitations of the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 10-17, and 22 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Bie et al. (WO2019/034128).
Bie et al. disclose pyrrolotriazine derivatives of formula (I) and methods of use thereof as a therapeutic agent, particularly as a c-KIT inhibitor (abstract).
In particular, Bie et al exemplify compound 22 (table, p. 11), shown side-by-side with claimed formula (I) and the elected compound species for comparison:
Claimed Formula (I)
Elected Species (Compound 1)
Bie et al. Compound 22
Compound 22 of Bie et al. reads on claimed formula (I) as recited by claims 1, 16, and 22, and claimed formula (III) as recited by claims 3, 6, 8, and 10-15, to the extent that Y is N; Z is CH; X1 is N, X2 is C, a is a single bond, and b is a double bond; and B is NH2.
The compounds of Bie et al. are disclosed in pharmaceutical compositions comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a compound of formula (I), or a stereoisomer, tautomer or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, excipient or combination thereof (paras, [0178], [0226]; claim 27), as recited by claim 17.
Compound 22 of Bie et al. differs from the claimed compounds only in that the pyrazolyl ring is substituted by methyl, rather than A, having the structural formula,
as recited by claim 1;
and as required by the elected species, wherein A is hydroxyethyl (-CH2CH2OH).
However, Bie et al. disclose compound 22 as a species of generic formula (I),
wherein R4 is selected from, e.g., heteroaryl (e.g., pyrazolyl), which is optionally further substituted by one or more substituents selected from, e.g., alkyl (para. [0018]; claim 1).
Bie et al. define "alkyl" as a saturated aliphatic hydrocarbon group including C1-20 straight chain or branched chain, which can be substituted or unsubstituted (para. [0187]; emphasis added).
Bie et al. disclose that, unless otherwise specified, the terms "substitution" or "substituted" refer to the substitution of a group by one or more groups selected from, e.g., hydroxyl (paras. [0219]-[0220]; emphasis added).
Thus, the compounds of Bie et al. encompass both unsubstituted alkyl (methyl) and substituted alkyl (hydroxyethyl) pyrazole ring substituents as equivalent alternatives.
Further, the compounds of Bie et al. are disclosed and claimed for use in treating diseases mediated by wildtype c-KIT or PDFGRα, or mutated c-KIT or PDFGRα, e.g., gastrointestinal stromal tumors (GIST), systemic mast cell hyperplasia, acute myeloid leukemia, various cancers, mast cell tumors, or leukemia (claims 28 and 30).
Therefore, it would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify the pyrazole substituent of compound 22 of Bie et al., from methyl to hydroxyethyl, to arrive at the elected compound with a reasonable expectation of success, because the compounds of Bie et al. share extremely close structural similarity with the claimed compounds, differing only in the substituents on the identical pharmacophore, and are disclosed to have the same mechanism of action, as inhibitors of c-KIT and PDGFRα, as well as utility for treating the same diseases, e.g., gastrointestinal stromal tumors and systemic mastocytosis.
As recognized by MPEP § 2144.09, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have (1) very close structural similarities and (2) similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979); see also In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (and cases cited therein).
RESPONSE TO ARGUMENTS
Applicant's arguments filed May 20, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that R4 in Formula (I) of Bie et al. does not encompasses pyrazolyl substituted with hydroxyalkyl (or hydroxyethyl, as in the elected species). Bie et al. define R4 in para. [0018] and claim 1 as follows:
R⁴ is selected from alkyl, cycloalkyl, heterocyclic, aryl and/or heteroaryl, wherein the alkyl, cycloalkyl, heterocyclic, aryl or heteroaryl group is optionally further substituted by one or more substituents selected from halogen, nitro, cyano, alkyl, cycloalkyl, heterocyclic, aryl, heteroaryl, -OR8, -NR⁶R⁷, C(O)NR6R⁷, C(O)R⁸, OC(O)R⁸, -S(O)₂NR⁶R⁷ and/or -NR6C(O)R⁷.
Applicant contends that R⁴ can be a heteroaryl which is optionally substituted with a recited list of substituents, which includes alkyl and OR⁸ as separate substituents for R⁴, but it does not include alkyl substituted with hydroxy (i.e. hydroxylalky1).
Accordingly, the Examiner's position that Formula (I) encompasses compounds with pyrazolyl substituted with hydroxyalkyl is incorrect because Bie does not contemplate substituted alkyl (hydroxyethyl) as the possible substituents allowed for the heteroaryl of R⁴. Thus, Applicant contends that Bie et al. does not provide any motivation to replace the methyl group in Compound 22 with hydroxyethyl (Remarks, pp. 28-29).
In response, it is acknowledged that Bie et al. do not expressly include hydroxyalkyl as a substituent of R4. For example, in Compound 22 of Bie et al., R4 is heteroaryl (e.g., pyrazolyl), further substituted by alkyl (methyl) (para. [0018]; claim 1).
However, as discussed above, Bie et al. define "alkyl" as a saturated aliphatic hydro-carbon group, such as C1-20 straight or branched chain, which can be substituted or unsubstituted (para. [0187]; emphasis added).
Bie et al. disclose that, unless otherwise specified, the terms "substitution" or "substituted" refer to the substitution of a group by one or more groups selected from, e.g., hydroxyl (paras. [0219]-[0220]; emphasis added).
Thus, Bie et al. explicitly disclose, teach, and suggest both unsubstituted alkyl (e.g., methyl) and substituted alkyl (e.g., hydroxyethyl) as pyrazole ring substituents.
In addition, closely related prior art such as Zhang et al. (WO 2015/057873, cited on the IDS dated 1/26/2024) disclose c-KIT inhibitors of formula (I),
wherein Z is, e.g., heteroaryl (typically pyrazolyl), substituted with 0-5 RC, wherein RC is selected from, e.g., C1-6 hydroxyalkyl (claim 1).
Further, Zhang et al. exemplify compound 105 having a hydroxyalkyl substituent as a pyrazole ring substituent (see table p. 40):
The compounds of Zhang et al. are disclosed to have the same mechanism of action as the claimed compounds and the compounds of Bie et al., as inhibitors of c-KIT and PDGFRα, as well as utility for treating the same diseases, e.g., mastocytosis, gastrointestinal stromal tumors and acute myeloid leukemia (claims 17-19).
Thus, hydroxyalkyl substituents on the pyrazole ring of this class of pyrrolotriazine c-KIT inhibitors were known in the art.
A prima facie case of obviousness based on structural similarity is rebuttable by proof that the claimed compound(s) possess unexpectedly advantageous or superior properties. In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963). However, Applicant has not argued or pointed out any such evidence of unexpected results.
CONCLUSION
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CORRESPONDENCE
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SARA E. TOWNSLEY whose telephone number is 571-270-7672. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jeff S. Lundgren, can be reached at 571-272-5541. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SARA E. TOWNSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1629